Bakersfield, CA
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: nuttinbutchain Hole #5 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 252ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    3/25/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 54  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the plus side the baskets are nearly brand new and have the heaviest/sturdiest baskets I have ever seen. The other big plus is that the park is always well maintained: grass cut, trash picked up, etc. Very friendly local players...this is a must as the course is impossible for a first-timer to navigate without someone to assist. Those are the pluses.
Cons: Despite what was said in other reviews, the tees for 1-9 are not easy to find. They are super easy to find after you played the course a half dozen times but before that some are basically impossible to find without someone showing you. I am sure someone will mark this as a bad review for me being negative...I just want new people coming to the course to be aware and not have to hunt around and hope someone comes by who can help you find it.

If you play when kids are out of school (school is next door) or on a weekend, expect to wait and have some unplayable holes. People throw footballs all around the baskets, kids hang from them, others play ball all over the fairways. There are just times you shouldn't go. The course is really short, great for a beginner but super easy with almost no obstacles (except hole 1) for an experienced player.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the fact that the course exists and that it is close to my house. I appreciate that the locals are super nice. If it weren't so close to home I probably wouldn't ever choose to play this course.

I really don't like my reviews to be too far off the average but I just can't bring myself to give this course a 3 (good). I hate to say that...I love disc golf and I love that this course is only a half mile from my home but it is really a tough course to play for a variety of reasons, listed above. The course really is "reasonable" at best. Sorry if you think this is a 4, it just isn't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

9 baskets + 18 tees = good times

1    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 33  Reviewed: 20
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wide open space, with trees providing moderate obstacles
-tee pads/sidewalk are solid
-alternate teepads easy to find (Holes 10-18)
-dga mach 3 baskets
-locals' bonus hole: from basket 9 to basket 6...sink it and you get one stroke off your game
-chill little park with basketball, skateboarding, jungle gym for the little ones
Cons: -signs are all missing
-main teepads (Holes 1-9) are on sidewalk, faintly marked by a red line, hard to find/see
-no signature hole that stands out
-flat
Other Thoughts: I'd give this a 3.25, but you can't do that on dgcoursereview. Layout is relatively easy; the layout circles the outside of the park. Hole 1 is right by the parking lot (to the left of the main building of the park). If you go inside, you can ask for a map. Locals are cool, played with a group and they were really helpful. Alternate tees are pretty close to the regular tees, usually not adding much distance. It may or may not make you change your shot. Overall a sweet little course for everyday play with not too many technical shots. Very easy to get through 9 or 18 holes (I played around 12 on a Thurs, not sure how it gets when this park is at peak hours).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate 9 Hole in Nice Park

1    12/12/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of cement tees for each basket. Some lengthy holes. Lightly wooded with trees dictating your shot on most holes. Moderately easy to navigate with hole 1's sign still standing right next to the parking long. Very nice, well manicured park with many facilities and many other recreational areas on site.
Cons: Very open course playing around and through a large open field. Most of the signs are missing or destroyed. The baskets have seen better days. The layout can get a little tricky after hole 3. The disc golf course is definitely not the main attraction at this park, and waiting to shoot is common. A lot of holes have one tee that throws from the sidewalk and there are no markings indicating where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: This is a 9 hole course with two sets of tees for each hole, not an 18. The difference between the tees is significant on some holes, but mostly on what type of shot to throw, and not on the overall difficulty of the shot. The difference is minimal on some holes. The layout after hole 3 is a bit tricky, so if you're playing this course for the first time and aren't sure about the layout, just ask the closest person to you. I asked a ~65 year old woman walking her dog and she told me the layout as if she had played it a hundred times. The park is usually packed, and I think most people that frequent this park know the layout of the disc golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Police driving on course?!

5+    8/26/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: MotaLynn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice place to play. Great place to learn the game. Friendly players. No water to loose your disc!
Cons: Police cars driving and parking on the course... alot of soccer players.
Other Thoughts: Always a fun time....See ya there..

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    8/4/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: bguiniling
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a nice park; trees create difficult lines to the basket for beginners, yet are placed so even veteran golfers need to think out their game a head of time. Sidewalk is used for Tee Pads 1-9 and standard Tee Pads are used for 10-18; both are in excellent condition. A lot of golfers play this course, and so you'll hardly ever be alone
Cons: Signs have been damaged or removed; was difficult to follow course the first time I played it. Park has a lot of walkers along the path, and the surrounding fields are usually occupied w/ a picnic/softball/soccer practice of some sort.
Other Thoughts: Course plays fast; trees at the park are large and give plenty of shade. Playground onsite if you bring the rugrats along while you play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5+    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: SoCalDg'r
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park for beginners and experienced players alike. Lots of shade. Very easy to follow the course, easy to locate tees. 18 Tees, 9 baskets. Great for back handers and flickers alike.
Cons: Baskets are a little haggard, signs are missing in most spots. Lots of people playin soccer and football and teeball on a lot of night. Basketball court near hole 9 can be a prob.
Other Thoughts: This park could use a little restoration to the signs and repairs to a couple baskets. Lots of people playin this park, great place to meet fellow dgr's. Great place to learn to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    9/27/2008   10/3/2008
Review By: SoCal-Wraith
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course in a nice park, that has 18 tee's and 9 baskets. Tee's 1-9 are from a side walk and 9-18 are standard concrete tee's.

This course is designed very well. The second half of the course is very diffrent from the first half, even though the tee's are only ~30ft apart.
Cons: This Course is located in a some what popular park so there is some people during peak hours.

There is no shade for a 3 of the holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.