St. Ignace, MI 
Silver Mountain Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #4 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rolling meadows and awesome elevation

1    5/20/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays on a ski resort. Plays up and down the mountain several times. Area during the summer is dotted with hiking trails. I'm not sure how often the trails are used in DG times but I would still watch out.

TeeSigns-- really quite nice. Hole numbers, distances, and a diagram showing both tees.

Routing and nav-- Super easy. the over abundance of next "T" signs make routing a snap. In areas where it could be tricky, there are signs that spell out exactly what to do. Course can be played as 18 or 24 if you don't want to play the alternates.

Baskets-- nice to have innovas. Makes for easy spotting in the heavy woods here. The advertising chastity belts are interesting.

Challenge-- crazy challenging course. The narrow fairways and amazing elevation changes make this course an insane challenge.

Risk v Reward-- no water persay but conservative play is rewarded in many places.

Signature holes-- two bomber holes here are the signatures #9 and #F are amazingly. I almost parked 9 and F was a sweet challenging blind hole with a dog leg left.
Cons:
Teepads-- gravel with red and blue stakes marking the "foul line."

Missing stuff-- All baskets except #3 were in the ground. I could not find #4's tee area.
Other Thoughts:
I found myself shaking my head at this place more than not. I had an absolute blast as this place is a perfectly balanced ski course. The workout here was pretty intense but not overwhelming.

**As a note, the course pictures are not accurate to what the course is today. The course needs some new pictures taken but I didn't realize this or I would have. Some are the same but a lot are not**

 One of the hardest

1    7/7/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the hardest course I have played. Almost every shot is through a very skinny line flat or uphill with hard hyzer or anhyzers at the end of the shot and a couple downhill bombers. The holes are not extremely long but are very technical. If you miss your line you will end up in some thick ruff where you will have to throw out. The ruff isnt so bad that I think you would lose a disc but you will have a hard time trying to play out from it.

There are signs everywhere and the design is in such a way that you play loops that bring you back to where you were 3 or 4 holes ago. So you wont get lost on this course but because of the difficulty the course will take a few hours.
Cons: Its not closer to me.
Other Thoughts: If you are near this course and could master it you would probably instantly be pro at discgolf. It is that hard and hitting those lines everytime for a under par score would mean that you are fantastic at this sport.

I thought deerfield was hard (and it is) but this course makes deerfield look easy.

Also there is tons of hiking on this course, be ready to get tired after a round here!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best in da UP

1    9/14/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: Hollywood88
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Course marked very nicely. Mixture of challenging holes and some more on the beginner side. Fun course to play and flows well. Score cards at tee 1 as well.
Cons: Long grass in some areas and mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: Best in the UP, seems almost private to due its isolation. Too bad it isn't closer to Marquette

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bug-zilla

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety on this course. There wasn't a single time when playing all 24 of the holes (yep its got 6 bonus holes for ya) did I think "you know, I feel like I already played this hole."

The baskets are in great condition.

The flow to the course is really good. You would really have to work to get lost out there. You do need to do a little back tracking if you decide to play the 6 extra holes, but there are more than adequate signs to keep you on the right track.

The fairways are mowed (but relatively narrow)

Has some of the roughest 'rough' you will ever see. If you miss your line, the course punishes you not by sending you to jail, but 'federal pound me in the A$$ penitentiary. Some would say this is a con but it really ads to the excitement of the course.

There are a few downhill bomber holes, but they really require some finesse as well.
Cons: BUGS BUGS BUGS!! I have NEVER been one to complain about bug bites but there are times when on this course where you really feel like you have to rush your putts just to get on and get moving because those mosquito are RELENTLESS!

Don't try to play this one alone. My brother and I played this one and sent one of us about half way through each fairway to have a spotter on the disc. I'm sure that we were just being paranoid but it really helped, and would suggest it to anyone trying to play because it gets THICK if you get off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: It is an awesome course that really has a sense of seclusion to it. There was 1 other car in the parking lot when we played and they said that they were out of towners as well. There is a sign in sheet and scorecards with maps at the kiosk before the first hole that really adds to the experience. Looked like a pretty diverse group has played the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Variety is the Spice of Life!

1    6/13/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This review is based on the main 18 holes only!

Wow! This course is challenging, exciting, and bunches of fun! The first couple of holes feature very tight, straight fairways through heavy woods to really test your accuracy skills before the course gets hairy. A couple of holes in mostly open areas with left and right doglegs let you stretch your power muscles and warm up your hyzers/anhyzers before striking out on your venture up, over, and around the rest of the ski hill. I'm having a hard time really choosing any highlight holes because each hole was just totally different and amazing, be it due to terrain or elevation change, foliage change, or just general course layout. #5 features a narrow fairway straight up the hill with a slightly elevated basket. #6's route up and over, then left around the top of a rocky gravelly outcropping to a blind basket caused some "Arrrgggs!" in our group, as did the water/mud puddle in the middle of the fairway on #10 and the huge, sharp left turn and dense evergreen forest of #18 (especially when my disc took a much needed rest break way high up in the soft branches of one of the aforementioned evergreens). #9 offers a beautiful view of the surrounding area as well as a long downhill soar over some really rough terrain. Make sure you stop and admire the astounding view of Lake Michigan from the fairway of #15, too! Holes range from 150 to 600 feet and offer all manner of lay outs including dead straight, doglegs, hooks, long curves, over hills, up hills, down hills, and "S"s. Fairways were well defined and very well tended.

New tee placement has changed #16 from a 763' downhill run with plenty of opportunities to lose a disc to a 290' mostly open cross field shot.

Signage was exceptional and some of the nicest I've ever seen. It was direct, descriptive, colorful, and unique. Only at the top of the mountain where #F and the old #16 tee are/was located was there ever any question on where to go next. Even the route to the new #16 tee was clearly marked, though not yet in the stunning manner of all the other signage.

Having both long and short tees is a real bonus for a course that's this challenging. The shorter tees really allows for a fun and relaxing game with a group of mixed abilities.

Scorecards were available at the course head kiosk, but no other facilities are available on site (unless I just missed it). The scorecard and map are now also available on the Links tab.
Cons: The tee pads need some help on most holes. The natural dirt/sand/gravel topsoil in this area made for lots of loose tee boxes with questionable footing. The sharp edged gravel was particularly irritating.

The elevation change inherent in placing a course on a ski hill makes for a strenuous workout with rough and uneven footing in many areas. Hiking boots or VERY sturdy tennies highly recommended!!

Outside the well-mowed fairways, this area is very wild. Thick, heavy rough and lost disc opportunities abound! Spotter use and brightly colored discs highly recommended as are long sleeves and pants.

The mosquitos here are the nastiest I've ever seen. We grow them big and ugly in Michigan, but the ones here take the cake!! Even applying various formulations of Off every other hole, we were still swarmed! The spray appeared to have literally no effect whatsoever. Wowzer!!
Other Thoughts: On your way out to Silver Mountain, make sure to stop at Leito's for the best pasties anywhere in the state. It's on the south (left) side of US-2, just before the well-marked turn off to Silver Mountain. It looks like a tiny little hole in the wall, but.....YUMMMMM (get some frozen ones to take home, too)!!

ps..Everyone in our group, from players with 4+ years (and league) experience to my Mom, who's played twice before, LOVED this course. Just be prepared for the hiking, the disc searching, and the mosquitos!

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/20/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate through the course. I loved hole 9, very long 600 ft down hill shot. I also loved the signs at the tee's, and directing you to the next tee.
Cons: Very tiring, bring drinks. Long grass, keep your eye on your disc. There are plenty of spots to lose your disc (as I did twice). The natural pads were a lil' rough, but that is almost expected with the area the course is built.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course, will play again any chance I get.... remember your bug spray...helps to have more than one person watching where your disc goes...while your in St. Ignace, you should go up town to Bentley's B-n-L cafe, the Patty melt was great, and they have ice cream too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Played in Passing

1    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: shawndeweeerd
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great lay out with a even better view from the top. Some challenging holes where you have a narrow long path to shoot through. Very tough up hill holes as the course is laid out on a ski area.
Cons: Fairly easy to navigate but a few holes are unmarked or marked with cardboard. The parking lot was closed and locked, we got dropped off to play. VERY BUGGY! If you have ever been to the UP you know how bad the bugs get. It made the last half of our round un bearable.
Other Thoughts: Great overall play experience minus the bugs.
Fun to play something different on different terrain. Holes that went up hill were quite difficult. Great course I would definitely play again next time I am up in that area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

4/12/2008   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, lots of challenges, elevation, scenery. One amazingly long downhill run. Many holes, plan to spend the day at this one.
Cons: can be very strenuous, some of the early holes have rather tight fairways with dense unforgiving rough. We spent a lot of time looking for errant discs at this course.
Other Thoughts: A bit rustic in places and sometimes tricky to navigate, but obviously a labor of love for the owner/course director.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.