St. Ignace, MI 
Silver Mountain Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun, but buggy

1    8/11/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: glassila
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. I felt there was a nice variety of holes, nothing cookie cutter going on here.
2. Really awesome views on a few holes.
3. Innova baskets with local ad banners on the upper rings.
4. I loved the elevation changes, which might be a negative to some people. It was not an up-down-up-down situation like I have seen at some ski hill courses.
5. It appeared that the fairways had been recently mowed.
Cons: 1. The biggest issue for me was the mosquitos. I figured by mid-August they would have died off...nope.
2. Quite a few of the tee markers are knocked down and scattered. One set of red markers are backed up to a steep bushy area. Not sure if someone did it as a joke or not.
3. It is about a 2 minute walk from the parking lot to tee #1. On the other hand, hole 18 ends up at the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that would love to play in the fall when the mosquitos are gone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rolling meadows and awesome elevation

1    5/20/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays on a ski resort. Plays up and down the mountain several times. Area during the summer is dotted with hiking trails. I'm not sure how often the trails are used in DG times but I would still watch out.

TeeSigns-- really quite nice. Hole numbers, distances, and a diagram showing both tees.

Routing and nav-- Super easy. the over abundance of next "T" signs make routing a snap. In areas where it could be tricky, there are signs that spell out exactly what to do. Course can be played as 18 or 24 if you don't want to play the alternates.

Baskets-- nice to have innovas. Makes for easy spotting in the heavy woods here. The advertising chastity belts are interesting.

Challenge-- crazy challenging course. The narrow fairways and amazing elevation changes make this course an insane challenge.

Risk v Reward-- no water persay but conservative play is rewarded in many places.

Signature holes-- two bomber holes here are the signatures #9 and #F are amazingly. I almost parked 9 and F was a sweet challenging blind hole with a dog leg left.
Cons:
Teepads-- gravel with red and blue stakes marking the "foul line."

Missing stuff-- All baskets except #3 were in the ground. I could not find #4's tee area.
Other Thoughts:
I found myself shaking my head at this place more than not. I had an absolute blast as this place is a perfectly balanced ski course. The workout here was pretty intense but not overwhelming.

**As a note, the course pictures are not accurate to what the course is today. The course needs some new pictures taken but I didn't realize this or I would have. Some are the same but a lot are not**

Not good, not bad, just kinda....

1    8/2/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Signs are awesome here
+I like the hilly terrain
+Holes 1 and 2 were a lot of fun
+The very tight and narrow fairways were
mowed and clean
+Really easy to find
+Mostly long narrow tunnel shots
+Some of the views are great!
+Not too far down US2
Cons: -Even though the fairways were mowed, the
rough was just too thick
-Too many narrow fairways
-Chances are losing a disc are really good!
-The 600' bomber hole was not mowed and
you were almost certain to lose ANOTHER
disc
-Risk vs. reward just wasn't here
-Mostly long narrow tunnel shots
Other Thoughts: ^I thought this course was 'ok', I will probably
play it again but only because it's not too far
^Bug spray is a must! You may get carried
away by the skeeters!
^Not a great course for a righty backhand
like myself. I did not take away points
because of that but I didn't feel like it was a
good mix.
^I guess I feel like good options because of the topography were missed.
^Watch for poison ivy! Quite abit of it!
^Overall I would say if you are in the area,
it is worth a stop but I wouldn't plan a trip just to play it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the hardest

1    7/7/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the hardest course I have played. Almost every shot is through a very skinny line flat or uphill with hard hyzer or anhyzers at the end of the shot and a couple downhill bombers. The holes are not extremely long but are very technical. If you miss your line you will end up in some thick ruff where you will have to throw out. The ruff isnt so bad that I think you would lose a disc but you will have a hard time trying to play out from it.

There are signs everywhere and the design is in such a way that you play loops that bring you back to where you were 3 or 4 holes ago. So you wont get lost on this course but because of the difficulty the course will take a few hours.
Cons: Its not closer to me.
Other Thoughts: If you are near this course and could master it you would probably instantly be pro at discgolf. It is that hard and hitting those lines everytime for a under par score would mean that you are fantastic at this sport.

I thought deerfield was hard (and it is) but this course makes deerfield look easy.

Also there is tons of hiking on this course, be ready to get tired after a round here!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best in da UP

1    9/14/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: Hollywood88
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Course marked very nicely. Mixture of challenging holes and some more on the beginner side. Fun course to play and flows well. Score cards at tee 1 as well.
Cons: Long grass in some areas and mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: Best in the UP, seems almost private to due its isolation. Too bad it isn't closer to Marquette

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bug-zilla

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety on this course. There wasn't a single time when playing all 24 of the holes (yep its got 6 bonus holes for ya) did I think "you know, I feel like I already played this hole."

The baskets are in great condition.

The flow to the course is really good. You would really have to work to get lost out there. You do need to do a little back tracking if you decide to play the 6 extra holes, but there are more than adequate signs to keep you on the right track.

The fairways are mowed (but relatively narrow)

Has some of the roughest 'rough' you will ever see. If you miss your line, the course punishes you not by sending you to jail, but 'federal pound me in the A$$ penitentiary. Some would say this is a con but it really ads to the excitement of the course.

There are a few downhill bomber holes, but they really require some finesse as well.
Cons: BUGS BUGS BUGS!! I have NEVER been one to complain about bug bites but there are times when on this course where you really feel like you have to rush your putts just to get on and get moving because those mosquito are RELENTLESS!

Don't try to play this one alone. My brother and I played this one and sent one of us about half way through each fairway to have a spotter on the disc. I'm sure that we were just being paranoid but it really helped, and would suggest it to anyone trying to play because it gets THICK if you get off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: It is an awesome course that really has a sense of seclusion to it. There was 1 other car in the parking lot when we played and they said that they were out of towners as well. There is a sign in sheet and scorecards with maps at the kiosk before the first hole that really adds to the experience. Looked like a pretty diverse group has played the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Terrific variety, and a rare level of seclusion. Good tee signs and color-coded posts for blue and red tees. Other signs posted help navigation.

Hole 6 is a design triumph; a 'compound hole' with a short and straight uphill slope leading to a plateau with Flip City type stacked rocks and a terrific vista of the Straits of Mackinac. Hole 15 is another hilltop plateau hole with similar views.

Downhill ski hill holes differ from each other significantly, with 9 being a wide-open 600' crusher hole, and F being a tight dogleg left with tree obstacles.

Holes 1 and 2 are shorter holes in dense woods that differ significantly from the other holes, but being in the minority, they are a welcome contrast.

Holes 16-18 differ from the rest by having nicely mowed fairways and rough areas with heavy brush. 16 has a slightly elevated tee.

Many unique and terrific holes. 24 Holes equals two full hours of disc golf.
Cons: Some tough navigation finding and playing the alternates, with some backtracking involved.

The bugs are so bad here (biting flies and mosquitos), that you will finish quickly, or else. They even follow you out into the open sun.

Thick cover on many holes (12, 13, F, 9) means you will lose a disc, not just 'maybe'. Long pants are recommended for walking through rough to find your disc.

Tee pads are natural, but are better than most because of rough, gravelly soil. However, cement tees would help a bit.

A slight majority of holes (especially the alternates) are so-so woods holes. Quite a few shorter holes on the front nine.

Other Thoughts: The only course to give that unmistakeable U.P. smoked whitefish-and-Gordon Lightfoot vibe (The Tailings, a new course in Iron River, is a couple of hours away).

Lots of flora and fauna, with deer, ravens, mating butterflies and brilliantly colored wildflowers.

An ideal location a couple of hundred feet off of US-2. A few miles west of the city of St. Ignace.

Great stopping point for Detroit or GR to Marquette travellers.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 U.P.'s Best

1    7/1/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Shuie
Played: 627  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scorecards and sign-in sheet right in the parking lot.
- decent signs telling you were to go
- nice variety( Some straight tight shots, open to wooded, wooded to open, uphill, downhill, left and right.)
-a few interesting holes like C(very wooded and tight "L" shaped fairway or D(tight and wooded elongated "S" fairway. I also enjoyed F it was a downhill shot threw the woods with small islands of trees scattering the fairway
- grass is being planted on hole 18(looks real nice already)
- Course utilizes the land quite well
- Very Secluded, yet easy to find(northbound take a left of Hwy 2 just out side on St. Ignace and its ur first drive way on the right)
Cons: - natural tees most were good but a few were bad.
- hole 16 just didn't seem to fit, it was just wide open.
- Some of the rough perticularly on 9 needs to be trimmed a lil' bit(i lost my disc on the hillside by the lifts)
-no portapotties or bathrooms on site
Other Thoughts: Even tho i lost my disc, i really enjoyed St. Ignac and do believe that it is the Up's best.
With that being said i can oly give it a 3.5 cause some holes need refinement, the course is lacking any water in play, no restrooms on site and no concrete tee pads....

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional Course

1    7/11/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The pins were nice innova pins
-There were great elevation changes
-The pins had the number of the hole on them so it was easy to know what pin to aim for
-You can play all 24 holes within a couple hours
-They give you a score sheet at the very beginning so it is easy to keep track of your score
-There is a map so you know exactly where every hole is
-The next sign allows you to know where the next hole will be
Cons: -There is rarely anyone there
-The tee was just grass and sometimes the tee was on a hill so you were throwing at a weird angle
-The sign at the tee was not very nice
-The sign at the tee didn't even show what the par was
-If you throw your disc in the woods it is tough to find it because the woods are so thick
-You have to sign in
-Holes A-F are not right after the 18th hole so you must walk back a few holes if you are planning to play all 24 holes
-You have to walk up and down hills the whole time so it can be tough
Other Thoughts: I came up here on vacation and i was expecting to come to a very nice disc golf course and i was kind of disappointed. It wasn't terrible but i was kind of expecting something better than what i got. This is the only course within alot of miles so it would be nice if they would take a little bit more care of it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Mountain Gets a Silver Medal

1    6/2/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Tight wooded shots, long downhill bombers, balanced righty/lefty holes, risky pin placements; great use of the terrain of this small mountain ski hill course overlooking Lake Michigan. Notable holes were Hole #9, the 600' downhill bomber reminiscent of Hole #15 at Winter Park in Kewaunee, WI (I parked my tee shot within 20' but dicked the deuce), Hole #11F (400' sharp downhill--like 35 degrees!--dogleg left, blind off the tee, narrow landing area), and Holes #12 and #13 with interesting pin placements.
2. Maintenance. Surprisingly clean (although the lack of traffic here may be a factor), abundant trash cans. The rough can be really rough, but the fairways were great and aren't overgrown as these styles of courses can easily become. Props to the staff here.
3. Good quality ("gently used") Discatchers.
4. Easy navigation. For a 24-hole wooded ski hill course, it seems like a good idea to have a map, which were located on the board near the parking lot. However, it became quickly evident by the "Next T" signs--and our ease of finding the next hole by following these signs--that even without a map, they've taken measures here to ensure you won't get too lost. There were a few confusing areas, I think one was up by Hole #8 where I started throwing to #11C's pin, but all in all it was easy getting around.
5. Easy to find, located right off of US-2, big sign on the highway and a sign for the parking lot. Info kiosk with map/scorecards near course entrance.
6. Spectacular views. Take a few moments when you are up by Hole #14 and #15, high above US-2 and overlooking Lake Michigan. I had the privilege of playing this course later in the day, and by the time we got to #15 there was a fantastic sunset over the lake, and as much as I wanted to watch it from this awesome viewpoint, I realized I had to finish my round or risk finding my way off this mountain in the dark.
7. Well-marked dual tees. Painted wood blocks (red and blue) are usually visible from the last hole, or by following "Next T" signs.
Cons: 1. Tees. Dirt/grass tees aren't my favorite, but I can handle them when they're clear and level. Not the case here. Many tees with roots, rocks, poor footing, holes...some of these areas are potentially dangerous as far as foot/ankle injuries or falling, and I will mention some specific areas of concern: Hole #6 tee is pretty awkward feeling (213' uphill over a hump, blind off the tee), where you're facing INTO the hill, thus the tee is a ledge of earth facing this hill with not much follow-through space; Hole #11F short tee (this is the 400' blind downhill from the long tee, which was fine) was dangerous with a drop-off just off the tee where someone (a child playing the red tees?) could slip up and tumble down this rough hill, the Hole #16 tee (red and blue shared tee) was uneven with a bit of a drop-off as well, and Hole #17 tee had big fist-sized rocks sticking out of the earth.
2. While design-wise there wasn't much repetition, Hole #16 (I guess this is a replacement hole for the original) is such a lackluster filler hole--with woods and other surrounding natural obstacles completely ignored!--that I would've forgotten about it completely if I wasn't taking notes about the Pros and Cons for writing this review. Yawn.
3. Some of the lines you're supposed to hit are questionable. Granted, I only played this course once and perhaps locals more familiar with the layout will have developed enough of a relationship with this course to know all its little nuances, but I still wonder about some of the "routes" off the tee. Sometimes it seems like you're given no option except for a real luck shot, and then you're on the fence about whether to go with a driver luck shot or a midrange luck shot, so I guess the fact that you can second-guess your disc decision on the tee is a bit of a plus, just some areas are questionable.
4. The signage is nice and all, but not very helpful (reminded me of the Hudson Mills Metropark tee signs). Many holes required a bit of a walk off the tee just to see where exactly you were shooting. Doglegs were obvious on the signs, but usually required a walk in order to contemplate your shot placement.
Other Thoughts: This was a cool little stop on our trip from Highbridge to Flip City. I know good courses (or courses in general) are rare in the U.P., but this and The Tailings in Iron River (from what I've heard) are setting the standard for how some of this awesome and under-utilized terrain can be used.

Technically, I'd say this course is a 3.75 (and if you search for only Trusted Reviewers' reviews for this course, that's exactly what it is!). In some circumstances that'd bump it up to a 4, but with the tee issues I really can't give it that high of a rating, also compounded by the fact that amenities (restrooms, water) are zip here...but there is a rest stop off US-2 just east of Silver Mountain, so take advantage of that before your round if necessary.

I'm definitely doing a Highbridge-to-Flip-City road trip again next year, and I'll definitely be stopping back here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.