St. Ignace, MI 
Silver Mountain Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
  Played in Passing

1    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: shawndeweeerd
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great lay out with a even better view from the top. Some challenging holes where you have a narrow long path to shoot through. Very tough up hill holes as the course is laid out on a ski area.
Cons: Fairly easy to navigate but a few holes are unmarked or marked with cardboard. The parking lot was closed and locked, we got dropped off to play. VERY BUGGY! If you have ever been to the UP you know how bad the bugs get. It made the last half of our round un bearable.
Other Thoughts: Great overall play experience minus the bugs.
Fun to play something different on different terrain. Holes that went up hill were quite difficult. Great course I would definitely play again next time I am up in that area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your old stuff

1    6/7/2006   10/29/2008
Review By: RonRoc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice views, nice baskets, good workout, holes are laid out nicely with a good variety of shots, with some long ones mixed in. We were able to navigate around pretty easily.
Cons: My number one complaint is that if you bring your good discs, prepare to beat them up. Many of the holes are covered by gravel and rock. On those holes it seems like you are throwing on a parking lot or against a brick wall. Where there was grass, it was pretty high and full of bugs and crazy spiders. We lost a disc on 3 or 4? (White XS). Not too many other complaints, I don't expect many moderate to beginner players enjoying this place.
Other Thoughts: There was not a soul around (kinda erie), until the French guy showed up just as we were leaving and we talked to him for a while, nice guy.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    10/5/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: perfect purple
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great view of the lake.
Cons: No rest area/seats after you climb the hills. You can trip and fall on the fare-ways because of twigs and branches on the ground. BE CAREFUL
Other Thoughts: I'll play again, I found a Disc.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very good challenging course

1    9/21/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: chuckit
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout of fairways and baskets. Nicely signed with NextTee direction signs + Fairway maps at Tees. Most fairways clear of brush and weeds. Love the hills and scenery. Privy style restrooms available at highway scenic outlook nearby. Course maps available at hole 1. No bugs in September!
Cons: Poison ivy on some fairways. Some fairways could be a bit wider.
Other Thoughts: A printable online course layout map would be a great addition. Really enjoyed this, our very first disc golf course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/19/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: Nickwells
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging. The first 9 are great. There was only one other group when I was up there. The signs on the holes are real nice, pretty clear. Pro and am tees marked in red or blue tree stumps. Two sweet long holes, real epic. Beautiful view.
Cons: Real buggy. Bugs spray doesn't even effect these mutant mosquitos. Needs to be maintained. Real high grass; so it's real easy to loose a disc. Poison ivy on some holes, signs posted to let you know. The back 9 aren't as good as the first. can be a little hard to navigate. There's a couple blind holes that you'd need a look out for or you're gonna loose a disc. No restrooms. No fountains.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the tip of the mitten or going to the U.P. I'd check it out... but I wouldn't go out of my way for it inless they ran a lawn mower through there.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    7/5/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 82  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place was a lot of fun. The first few hole were nice and easy to bring the game in and then added a lot of challenge. Some good down hill ones.
Cons: Can be kind of confusing following all the holes, and it looks like someone needs to come clean a few holes up because even it you get to near the basket itself, you can still have a hell of a time finding it.
Other Thoughts: It's easy to find discs here because the grass is so high, but it's also very easy to lose them. ***BRING BUG SPRAY.****

I think this place has been change don layout since I played this place.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


4/12/2008   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, lots of challenges, elevation, scenery. One amazingly long downhill run. Many holes, plan to spend the day at this one.
Cons: can be very strenuous, some of the early holes have rather tight fairways with dense unforgiving rough. We spent a lot of time looking for errant discs at this course.
Other Thoughts: A bit rustic in places and sometimes tricky to navigate, but obviously a labor of love for the owner/course director.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.