Augusta, ME 
Quarry Run Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Rustic Classic

1    6/19/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The setting -beautiful. The gently sloping land. The scattered birches. The mixture of mid-sized evergreens and deciduous trees which form the woods which play host to over half the holes. The small glades which separate sections of the woods. The remains of an old stone wall which wends its way throughout the course. Even the bog, which held my Valk captive for a few hours, in which many wildflowers bloom.

Fully-stocked clubhouse. Ball-golf driving range and batting cages as alternate forms of entertainment. Greg, the owner, who searched for and found my disc after I left the course, called me, and held onto it until I passed back through the area several days later.
Cons:
Not much - the tees, while level and concrete, are formed by a collection of smaller pieces, vice being a single piece.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length of juts under 350', but a range of 193' to 777', variety of length is certainly on display here. While some holes are wide open and a couple (too) tight, most fairways fall into the fair-but-challenging category. Half the holes are quite flat, while the other half have subtle elevation changes - no extremes here. A fair blend of left/right/no-turn shots needed from the teepad, with maybe a slight bias towards the left-turners.

Favourite holes: #3. A few birch trees await your disc at the midpoint of this 434' hole, with just enough space between to consider going through, short enough to consider going over, and enough room to the sides to consider going around. The approach to the basket is then framed by some bushes, again offering you several different lines. Numbers 14-15 form a nice combination. Coming in at just under 400', #14 starts in the open, needing a sharp left-turn at the midpoint to enter the slightly up-slope, wooded approach to the basket. Then comes nearly 600' #15, down the gentle slope, woods along the sides of the generous fairway the first few hundred feet, followed by a long right-turn across open space to reach the basket.

Least favourite holes: #4 and its ever-narrowing irregularly-shaped funnel, and #12, with its 4'-wide window to hit from 150'. Note - the owner is aware of both these problem children, correctly predicting I'd name these two holes when he asked me what holes I liked least! :-)

Simple course to navigate with only one "gotcha" - after finishing #15, head towards the visible tee to the left, which is actually number-18. A few feet before reaching it, look for an opening into the woods on your right to find a path to tee-16.

Greg plans on redesigning the course, creating a beginner/intermediate level course at the front and along the left side of the property, and an advanced/pro course which will delve deeper into the woods towards the back of the property. If these two courses end up being as good as the current course, Quarry Run will certainly be a must-play if anywhere in the area - it practically is such a course now!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bold, challenging course offers nice mix of tight and open holes. Beware of bugs!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: JasonK
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
Pros: The Quarry Run disc golf course is an exciting course that is very challenging. I played in the summer when the temperature was nice but the mosquitoes were out in full force, especially deep in the woods. A combination of wooded and open holes will put even the best disc golfer to the test. Its a diverse course with short tight holes as well as expansive ones so you can let it rip. The course winds in and out of the woods and the designers maximized the landscape for some really interesting shots and obstacles. Terrain is a mix of short grass, tall grass, swamps, mountain dirt and large rocks and angular boulders so hiking boots are your best bet. One of the best holes requires the golfer to throw over a small quarry. The 18th hole is a monster at almost 800 feet (par 5 was wishful thinking for this amateur golfer). Anothr hole was 600 feet. Beware of the tall grass and swampy areas - a few of the holes are disc graveyards. While most of it was well-groomed (wildflowers in bloom throughout), the rough was pretty deep and my mates lost 3 discs the other day. All in all, well worth the $5 and a very enjoyable golfing experience (even if I posted an unimpressive score.)
Cons: Bring bug spray in the summer months. Natural terrain required some bushwacking. A few holes in the woods were forgettable. Some tees are uneven and were in rough shape after some rainy weather. Only one tee per hole left few options for players of varying abilities. Not recommended for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Food at the All American Steakburger was far from gourmet but hit the spot after a grueling 18 holes. Locals were friendly and I joined a group for 9 holes.

  The good the bad and the hungry

5+    4/12/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: pyloth
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is open year round, with a honor box during the off season. There is a good mix of open and tight fairways. Which will challenge your accuracy on some holes, but also lets you just rip it on others. There is a nice central island of trees that a few holes converge on. Offering nice cover for hot summer days to cool off and take a break. Picnic tables are also setup at this island as well as a couple of other key holes.
Cons: Tee boxes need to be worked on. Some have grass/dirt other concrete or astroturf. Some full boxes while others are half boxes. I'd rather have all dirt than the mix match. That is really the only thing holding me back from a 4+ score on this course.
Other Thoughts: Grab a menu before you go play your round/rounds. If you order at the start of 18(which is the longest hole) it should be done by the time you finish.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 All Steak/ Quarry run

5+    8/17/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: Huff
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well developed course with a nice mix of long/short holes. Scenic rock walls throughout and good use is made of the natural granite in the area.
Cons: Mixed tee boxes between concrete, dirt, and astroturf. Some tee boxes are too small to allow adequate run up for longer holes.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite close courses. reasonable rate (4.00 day pass) and nice on site facilities. While the 'All Steak' business is closed during the winter, the course is still open year round to play with an honor box. Tee's are not shoveled or maintained during this time, and can be completely covered with snow or ice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.