Simpsonville, SC 
Simpsonville City Park Share
Uploaded By: S.Cann Hole #4 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun course, but a bit crowded

5+    5/26/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: AlexClemmy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Fun shots, a few chances to get an ace. Nice to learn in. Generally well laid out.
Cons: The park is usually busy so you have to watch out for people. A lot. Not particularly gorgeous, but a course is a course.
Other Thoughts: Played my first round here several years back. I have a special feeling for this course. The tees and pins are all in good spots where it helped me learn as I got better. Though no shots are particularly long, it can help you out if you need to work on your power game. Generally a good course.

 Great place to learn

5+    6/7/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 71  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great open holes. Excellent learning environment. I learned to play here. Fun shots. Ace runs. Some obstacles that keep it somewhat exciting. OB comes into play which helps improve accuracy. Tight shots here and there also improve your game. Low scores can be had, improving confidence.
Cons: City park = pedestrians.

No trash cans on most of the course and sadly some patrons of the park litter.

Gets super busy during football season. Coaches bring their teams out and use open area to practice. This wouldnt be terribly bad if the coaches weren't arrogant pains in the butt. They won't make their teams move as if it is beneath them.

Dirt tees can get muddy with rain. Many are washed out and in need of replacing.
Other Thoughts: Great place to bring your family. You can meet new people here. Fresh paint on baskets is nice. Inner chains have been added. New metal tee signs give correct distances. Not a must go destination for DG but it plays quick if you are crunched for time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 for casual convenient rounds only

2-4    5/19/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: ssittler
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Convenient location - not out of the way or far from town.
Great course for kids - flat, short, easy.
Easy to navigate, good baskets, great for approach and putting practice.
Cons: If you're looking for a challenge dont' stop here.
Definitely not a destination course.
Crowded park.
Dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: Good for what it is - a short, practice or date night course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Park Course

2-4    5/30/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: Smileyaili17
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Great course for a casual round
--Good use of 9 baskets for 18 holes (the second set of tees for each hole are put in different spots and it really does make the holes look different a second time around)
--Good baskets
--Surprisingly challenging on some holes (it is easily par-able, and birdies are possible on all holes, but I did not expect this course to offer some of the challenges it did)
Cons: --The park is busy during baseball games and traffic noises are a constant distraction on most holes
--The course gets boring quickly after you play the first round
--The tees were just sand/dirt and were often uneven
--Pedestrians could be a problem on many holes since 6 holes play either over or along sidewalks
--The course flow was confusing the first time
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for what it is. It gets boring fast, but it's a decent course for a casual round.

Grading Criteria:

Landscape quality
4/5

Baskets, Tees and Hole Diagrams
2/5

Variety in hole distances
1/5

Variety in hole types
(field/wooded holes; hilly/level holes; etc)
1.5/5

Difficulty/Challenge
2/5

Course flow
3/5

Outside interference
(pedestrians; traffic noises; etc)
1.5/5

Fun factor
2.5/5

Use of Available Land
4/5

Rounded Total: 2.5/5 (Actual total: 2.4/5)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    8/17/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Justin Garr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course multiple tees only 9 pins, kinda short, other areas of interest such as a playground a tennis court and basketball court. A coupld of good ace runs
Cons: Kinda tight and many things in the way such as cars buildings, people, roads. some pins blocked by lines of trees or bushes

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Practice Course

5+    5/10/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: JROC77
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Great Practice Course!
Very open so it allows you to practice hyzers, anhyzers, rollers etc.
Good for a quick round.
Semi-Long Holes
Some tree's over baskets....instead of being just out in the open
Cons: Not for advanced players.
No Tee Signs
Pedestrians
Basketball Course
Only 9 Baskets....18 tee's...repetitive
Single Chained Baskets
Other Thoughts: Though an easy course, it will help you practice!
Great for beginners or just anyone looking to go have some quick fun.

 Another Nine Holer In A Busy City Park!

1    7/20/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simpsonville Park seems to be a pretty busy place. With that being said, you have to be careful here on some of the holes with the other park users. Baskets are single chain Discatchers. The teepads are three-sided posts with sand inside. The longest hole is probably 250 ft. Holes # 1 and # 9 play into some heavy pedistrian traffic. Another course that's a bit too long to be considered a pitch and putt.
Cons: The course is a little short on the "Wow Factor." It's just not real exciting overall. The sand teepads are kind of a pain. Definitely you have to be careful and watch out for the oblivious park users.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course on which to practice my rollers. That way, there was no chance of decking someone with one of my powerful drives. It's truly not a destination course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    4/18/2004   5/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice city park

1    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It uses dual tees marked #1-18 (really just the same as having a short and a long tee) to make an 18 hole layout for 9 baskets. Uses empty park space mostly, turning nothing into something. A few longer shots. Clean, mowed. Tees all marked by post. Good for new players, just enough shots for an experienced player to play.
Cons: Limited variety as there are not a lot of trees but for #1, #9. You can throw a hyzer around most any obstacle and park it. Expect spit-throughs on the yellow baskets.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.