Sterling, IL 
Sinnissippi Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beautiful Park

1    9/3/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: Scramble630
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
Pros: - Well manicured park, beautiful landscape
- Baskets were aged but all kept in good condition(didnt notice any unattached chains or bent baskets)
-Tee pads were aged but all worked perfectly fine
-Tee signs were very nice
-Multiple pin placements, this is awesome if you frequent this course regularly.
- Course design forces you to use many different shots.
-Short and long technical holes but also has plenty opportunity to launch some drives on more open fairways.
-Fair amount of garbage cans
-Fair amount of benches/picnic tables
Cons: -walkpaths cutting through fairways on some holes
-no tape on baskets or anything to direct you to the next hole AFTER you finish a hole.(there were arrows on the tee signs but i suffer from severe short term memory loss so by the time i'm finishing up a hole i can barely remember what par it is)
-mulitple pin placements were confusing at times and made the round take a bit longer than expected. some sort of indicator on the tee signs and this is definitely a 4/5 course
Other Thoughts: We had a great time playing this course and will definitely be back. If you're playing this course from out of town as we were, definitely check out Air Play Sports in downtown Sterling. Very nice selection of discs and accessories.

LOVE this course!!!!!

1    7/18/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: WhippetChucker
Played: 198  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Great mix of distances...short, medium, and long holes
2. Manicured city park...guys were cutting and weed-eating the day I played...super beautiful!
3. Holes 5 and 23...you want to throw them over and over and over...
4. You have to throw several shots...hyzers, anhyzers, straignt, uphill, downhill, spikes, ceilings...
5. Choices...multiple lines with varying degree of risk and reward on most holes
6. Multiple pin locations

This is easily in my top 5 courses played!
Cons: This course is 900 miles from Denver...wish I could pick the whole thing up and drop it where I live!
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course!

1    6/8/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing I can say about Sinnissippi is that its a course that will make you a better player. It forces you to throw a lot of different shots: long bomber shots, low ceiling shots, rollers, sidearms, putter shots, etc etc.

The course is truly a fun course that really tests every aspect of your game. Its a mostly open park but the obstacles are placed well to really make you think. You can stand on a hole and think that a certain shot is the best shot and realize there are two more options off of the tee.

The course has many different alternate pin locations. This is both a pro and a con. See below for the con. Some holes have between 4 and 6 alternate pins. There are so many different options with this course that it truly is mind boggling. The difference in the amount of strokes between the hardest setup and the easiest setup could easily exceed 8 to 9 shots.

The course features 24 holes and that's a good thing here because the extra 6 holes are nice holes. Hole 23 in particular is just a fun hole to throw. Its straight downhill with a huge rock cliff to the right. Hole 20 is also one of the more interesting and scary holes you will throw, as it dives straight downhill from the teepad to one of the fastest greens you will ever play. Hole 5 is probably the signature hole, a blind, downhill hole to an amazing island green.

You can really tell that a lot of effort has been put into the course. The tee-signs are phenomenal, the maintenance of the course is great and the alternate pins really show a lot of hard work and dedication.
Cons: There's not a lot of bad things with this course but there are a few things worth mentioning:

While the alternate pins are great, they are maddening in one regard: you just don't know what you are playing on any given day. When I played the course my buddy and I were beyond frustrated that we had to continue to walk ahead (sometimes walking nearly 3/4 of the hole) just to find the location of the basket on that day. In particular, the first half of the course really had some blind shots and required a lot of searching for what position the basket was in that day. This could easily be fixed by a simple "washer" system on the tee signs, along the lines of what Highbridge Hills features. Simply place a screw on the sign for each pin and place a washer next to that day's pin. We spent a lot of time walking up the fairways to location the position of the basket and it was frustrating. I will say that the back half of the course was fairly easy because most of the holes were not blind shots.

The baskets are beginning to wear and are showing their age. We had a few putts go right through the chains and you can tell by looking at the baskets that they are older.

Other Thoughts: This is an area of Illinois with not too much in terms of disc golf, and having a course like this is a huge bonus. This is a phenomenal course with a great setting. Kudos to the area for putting in and maintaining such a nice disc golf course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

3.3

1    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sinnissippi seems to be one of the area's more popular courses, and I made sure to stop by on my way home from Iowa this past weekend. Here's what I liked about the course:

*Decent golf, particularly toward the beginning of the round. Hole one was a blast.

*24 holes! If you are looking at this review then you probably like disc golf, which means that more disc golf is viewed as a good thing :)

*Nice mix of shots demanded. There are short holes and long, hyzers and anhyzers. Everything that a good disc golf course should have without the intensity of a super wooded course.

*Beginner friendly... as mentioned above, this is not a super wooded course where a beginner can lose their discs or get thorns in their leg etc. If you are the type of person who is considering taking a girl disc golfing on a date, then this may be the course for you!

*Signs and teepads seemed to be in good condition.

*Scenic views of the Rock River surround the course, so make sure to take some time to walk around the park and enjoy the view before or after your round.
Cons: I had heard quite a lot about this course prior to my round here and everything I heard gave me reason to have high hopes. I'd even heard golfers proclaim that this course was among the best in Illinois.

Unfortunately, this course did not live up to the hype, and I would NOT consider it to be in the top 15 courses in IL. Here's what led to my disillusionment:

*Safety... This is a very dangerous course that interacts heavily with park traffic. The best golf holes on the course are holes 1-5, but these holes cross walking paths, go near pavilions, and in general make no attempt to isolate themselves from the rest of the park. Many pins are either next to streets or in line of fire from other holes.

*None of the holes here blew my mind. They were slightly above average for a public community park but after the first few holes there was no elevation change, and most holes are fairly open with just a few trees separating the tee pad from the pin. I would consider the golf slightly above average

*There is no indication at the teepad of which pin position the basket is in... This caused some frustration as most of the holes have between three and five drastically different pin placements!
Other Thoughts: It may not be worth a special trip on its own, but be sure to hit up Sinnissippi on your way to or from the Quad Cities.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Play This Course!

1    3/30/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: TRyan
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sinnissippi Park is a large park on the Rock River offering a great place to host a disc golf course. There are two baseball diamonds, two shelters with bathrooms, and a playground. However, the bathrooms close for the winter season.

The park is light to moderately wooded by mature trees; in the fall and spring time, the fallen leaves can densely blanket the ground. Be prepared to watch your disc disappear. Signs at every hole show the different basket placements, tree locations, and next tee box. I really appreciated the signs, as it made it easy to navigate, even for my first time. The different basket locations offer a wide variety of shots. The tee pads are long and narrow, but big enough to complete a full X-step on. On the original front nine, there is good use of elevation change, but the remaining are relatively flat. The fairways use the large trees, and there is a degree of difficulty to each hole.

There is a bike/walk path, and some holes play near to the path. During the winter months, there is a large hill that sledders utilize, and one or two hole(s) use the same hill. If playing during a Ice Bowl (or winter months), this could cause some delays. One hole plays down into a small creek area surrounding the basket, creating a island so to speak, and is a joy to play. A footbridge paves the way for dry access to the basket.

There is a great view of the Rock River and the new addition of holes 20 - 24 play along bank's edge. If you're not too careless, there isn't a big risk of losing any discs on this course. The worst spots being by the cemetery, and by the river. The cemetery has a large chain link fence surrounding it, but would require a big arm, and a bad line to end up on the wrong side of the fence. Along the new holes, a rolling disc could end up in the river. The new holes have different baskets from the rest of the course, but are great baskets as well. Holes 20-24 have only one basket placement.
Cons: -Bathrooms close
-Minor inconvenience of pathways
-Leaves hid my disc a few times.
Other Thoughts: I drove from the Quad Cities, and feel that the hour drive it took to get there was worth it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

decent, but some design limitations

1    7/22/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has several holes which are long enough to test the big arms, and some holes which are more technical with elevation and woods in play. I liked the downhill island hole (#5) and there were a couple of other really fun holes on the front 9. Hole 22, having a wooded cliff 10ft to the left of the basket really tests the skill in landing a backhand shot flat with no skip (I thought I had a solid shot for an easy deuce, but failed the landing and ended up with a 4).

Big trees, nice tee pads, good facilities, ample parking. The park is clean and well-maintained, very little garbage on the course.
Cons: There were problems with course flow, a couple unnecessarily long walk between holes. Especially on hole 23 where you have to backtrack the entire hole to get to 24. Finding the next hole in holes 21-24 are not straightforward if you have not been on this course before.

Holes 22-23 play along a very steep cliff and I think there will be some erosion issues from people bushwhacking down to find their discs. One year in, and there were already a lot of trees damaged from people using them to pull themselves up the hill. I played on a dry day but if that was mud it would be very tough to get up and down to find an errant disc.

There are many holes which play across or along walking paths, and usually its a minor safety hazard because at least there is a view of oncoming walkers. The basket on hole 23 is right next to a walking path and I would be shocked if there are not injuries to pedestrians here because it is a keyhole shot down a cliff toward the walking path, and the trees block the views so there is no way to tell if pedestrians are about to step into the path of a shot.

There is a lot of redundancy on this course. It is 24 holes but a lot of them are similar.

There are too many holes that are purely a test of distance drives. For most people they will be be an easy 3 and rarely a 4. Too far for most people to have a birdie chance, and no real obstacles to cause any 4s. (Edit: Note that many holes have more than one placement but only one hole length is listed on here.)
Other Thoughts: I saw a red fox stop in front of my car as I was driving into the park. It just stood there and looked at me.

This is a decent course, but at the time I write this the average DGCR rating is 4.15 and I think that is overrated.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played in the sinnissippi open and had a ton of fun. Overall the course is well thought out and has some great diversity.

Shot variety- there were multiple lines on each of the 24 holes. Some had low tunnels which might require rollers as well as holes where you might need some nice finnesse hyzer flip shots through smalller gaps. Ther was ob throughout which made you think even more about what shot to take. I felt like everyole had a regular route and an aggressive route.

Elevation- elevation was a prominent factor on the front nine. Big downhills on 1,3,5,7, uphills on 4 and six.

Multiple pin placements- during the tournament an easier layout was played during the first round and a much longer, more challenging layout was played the second round. This allows for alot of varietyfor locals. Each pinplacement was clearly stated on the tee sign. If i remember correctly the the distance variety from long layout to the short layout was 15 hundred feet. Thats a pretty big game changer. I also enjoyed the distance variety. The longest hole on the short layout was 465 with the shortes hole being 200. The second round the longest hole was 550 and shortest around 225. This distance variety betwen layouts turned easy threes into tough 3s and 80 ft upshots into 150ft upshots on some of the longer holes.

Creative pin placements- some of the long pins were place precariously close to rivers and one of the baskets was even place on a large tree stump.

Amenities- there is a pavillion with bathrooms and the tee signs were pretty good.

Favorite holes-
#5 downhill shot through a wooded gap onto an island surrounded by a river with the river being ob. Approximately 370-480 feet depending on pin placement.
#23 top of the world shot- you start on the top of a large canyon throwing a tight downhill shot to an open green area. A cliff borders the right side. Road is ob. Makein for a tough island-like shot. Hole length approximately 260 feet.
Cons: Saftey issues- some of the holes were to close for comfort. A shanked drive could easily result in a disc on another fairway. "Fore" was used often during our two rounds

The baskets for the back six needed to be mach 3's as the baskets used seemed to have a cheeply made chains.

Back nine worse than front- if i was just rating the front nine and back six this would easily be a 4.5. I think the lack of elevation on the back nine left more to expect.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the middle of suburban illinois and without the saftey issues and a better back nine it could become a real gem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 awsome course!!

5+    12/17/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: thedilla
Played: 119  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Everytime i come to this course it gets better and better.
1.concrete pads & signs
2.great use of the land
3.beautiful park and views of the rock river
4.4-5 different placements for most holes
5.24 holes now is awsome give the couse
more elevation
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about this cousre thats why i rated it 5 stars because it such a beautiful and scenic course.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Illinois if your in sterling or driving by i suggest u play it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  "one of the best courses in Illinois"

5+    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bigriv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -nice signs
-concrete pads
-great use of the land for all 24 holes
-restrooms
-trash cans and benches throughout the course
-3-5 placements for each hole
-nice memorial putting area (rip Leo)
-and finally the "Jetman" yea!!
Cons: -the only thing i could think of is the 6 new baskets need to be mach III's(to many spit outs that are dead center)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses Illinois has to offer it will test even the most advanced players you'll learn how to play disc golf here...Hole 5 is a beautiful downhill blind island green shot(the best hole in Illinois) in my opinion...Hole 8 in the tree placement also known as the "stinky skunk"...Hole 23 the cliff shot a beautiful limestone cliff... Those are just some of the signature holes on this course but there are also many more. If your anywhere close to this course its a must play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fun Fun (Doug Doug Doug)

5+    7/8/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 173  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course. There are tons of pin positions out there and the course has been new to me every time I play there. The course is now 24 holes instead of 18. The front 9 here is very filled with elevation and is in turn the best part of the course. Hole 5 is one of the most signature holes in IL. It is a downhill gap shot through large trees onto a legit island. There are a couple par 4s here depending on the pin positions. Hole 7 is fun downhill rip hole. Hole C is very cool hole with 2 routes, an outside hyzer route and an up the middle route with the fairway sloping towards ob. The cliff hole E is always a classic and a tricky shot to stay in bounds on.
Cons: The signage and pin position indicators are not the best. This course has a large amount of flat holes. Many of the holes are too open and allow for a hyzer too often. The new golden baskets feel cheaply made and I have seen a lot of bad spits with them.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you use a spotter on hole 5. Watch for other park users.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center