Sterling, IL
Sinnissippi Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
5 / 473ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Play This Course!

1    3/30/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: TRyan
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sinnissippi Park is a large park on the Rock River offering a great place to host a disc golf course. There are two baseball diamonds, two shelters with bathrooms, and a playground. However, the bathrooms close for the winter season.

The park is light to moderately wooded by mature trees; in the fall and spring time, the fallen leaves can densely blanket the ground. Be prepared to watch your disc disappear. Signs at every hole show the different basket placements, tree locations, and next tee box. I really appreciated the signs, as it made it easy to navigate, even for my first time. The different basket locations offer a wide variety of shots. The tee pads are long and narrow, but big enough to complete a full X-step on. On the original front nine, there is good use of elevation change, but the remaining are relatively flat. The fairways use the large trees, and there is a degree of difficulty to each hole.

There is a bike/walk path, and some holes play near to the path. During the winter months, there is a large hill that sledders utilize, and one or two hole(s) use the same hill. If playing during a Ice Bowl (or winter months), this could cause some delays. One hole plays down into a small creek area surrounding the basket, creating a island so to speak, and is a joy to play. A footbridge paves the way for dry access to the basket.

There is a great view of the Rock River and the new addition of holes 20 - 24 play along bank's edge. If you're not too careless, there isn't a big risk of losing any discs on this course. The worst spots being by the cemetery, and by the river. The cemetery has a large chain link fence surrounding it, but would require a big arm, and a bad line to end up on the wrong side of the fence. Along the new holes, a rolling disc could end up in the river. The new holes have different baskets from the rest of the course, but are great baskets as well. Holes 20-24 have only one basket placement.
Cons: -Bathrooms close
-Minor inconvenience of pathways
-Leaves hid my disc a few times.
Other Thoughts: I drove from the Quad Cities, and feel that the hour drive it took to get there was worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

decent, but some design limitations

1    7/22/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 113  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has several holes which are long enough to test the big arms, and some holes which are more technical with elevation and woods in play. I liked the downhill island hole (#5) and there were a couple of other really fun holes on the front 9. Hole 22, having a wooded cliff 10ft to the left of the basket really tests the skill in landing a backhand shot flat with no skip (I thought I had a solid shot for an easy deuce, but failed the landing and ended up with a 4).

Big trees, nice tee pads, good facilities, ample parking. The park is clean and well-maintained, very little garbage on the course.
Cons: There were problems with course flow, a couple unnecessarily long walk between holes. Especially on hole 23 where you have to backtrack the entire hole to get to 24. Finding the next hole in holes 21-24 are not straightforward if you have not been on this course before.

Holes 22-23 play along a very steep cliff and I think there will be some erosion issues from people bushwhacking down to find their discs. One year in, and there were already a lot of trees damaged from people using them to pull themselves up the hill. I played on a dry day but if that was mud it would be very tough to get up and down to find an errant disc.

There are many holes which play across or along walking paths, and usually its a minor safety hazard because at least there is a view of oncoming walkers. The basket on hole 23 is right next to a walking path and I would be shocked if there are not injuries to pedestrians here because it is a keyhole shot down a cliff toward the walking path, and the trees block the views so there is no way to tell if pedestrians are about to step into the path of a shot.

There is a lot of redundancy on this course. It is 24 holes but a lot of them are similar.

There are too many holes that are purely a test of distance drives. For most people they will be be an easy 3 and rarely a 4. Too far for most people to have a birdie chance, and no real obstacles to cause any 4s. (Edit: Note that many holes have more than one placement but only one hole length is listed on here.)
Other Thoughts: I saw a red fox stop in front of my car as I was driving into the park. It just stood there and looked at me.

This is a decent course, but at the time I write this the average DGCR rating is 4.15 and I think that is overrated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: I played in the sinnissippi open and had a ton of fun. Overall the course is well thought out and has some great diversity.

Shot variety- there were multiple lines on each of the 24 holes. Some had low tunnels which might require rollers as well as holes where you might need some nice finnesse hyzer flip shots through smalller gaps. Ther was ob throughout which made you think even more about what shot to take. I felt like everyole had a regular route and an aggressive route.

Elevation- elevation was a prominent factor on the front nine. Big downhills on 1,3,5,7, uphills on 4 and six.

Multiple pin placements- during the tournament an easier layout was played during the first round and a much longer, more challenging layout was played the second round. This allows for alot of varietyfor locals. Each pinplacement was clearly stated on the tee sign. If i remember correctly the the distance variety from long layout to the short layout was 15 hundred feet. Thats a pretty big game changer. I also enjoyed the distance variety. The longest hole on the short layout was 465 with the shortes hole being 200. The second round the longest hole was 550 and shortest around 225. This distance variety betwen layouts turned easy threes into tough 3s and 80 ft upshots into 150ft upshots on some of the longer holes.

Creative pin placements- some of the long pins were place precariously close to rivers and one of the baskets was even place on a large tree stump.

Amenities- there is a pavillion with bathrooms and the tee signs were pretty good.

Favorite holes-
#5 downhill shot through a wooded gap onto an island surrounded by a river with the river being ob. Approximately 370-480 feet depending on pin placement.
#23 top of the world shot- you start on the top of a large canyon throwing a tight downhill shot to an open green area. A cliff borders the right side. Road is ob. Makein for a tough island-like shot. Hole length approximately 260 feet.
Cons: Saftey issues- some of the holes were to close for comfort. A shanked drive could easily result in a disc on another fairway. "Fore" was used often during our two rounds

The baskets for the back six needed to be mach 3's as the baskets used seemed to have a cheeply made chains.

Back nine worse than front- if i was just rating the front nine and back six this would easily be a 4.5. I think the lack of elevation on the back nine left more to expect.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the middle of suburban illinois and without the saftey issues and a better back nine it could become a real gem.

 awsome course!!

5+    12/17/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: thedilla
Played: 119  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everytime i come to this course it gets better and better.
1.concrete pads & signs
2.great use of the land
3.beautiful park and views of the rock river
4.4-5 different placements for most holes
5.24 holes now is awsome give the couse
more elevation
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about this cousre thats why i rated it 5 stars because it such a beautiful and scenic course.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Illinois if your in sterling or driving by i suggest u play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "one of the best courses in Illinois"

5+    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bigriv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -nice signs
-concrete pads
-great use of the land for all 24 holes
-restrooms
-trash cans and benches throughout the course
-3-5 placements for each hole
-nice memorial putting area (rip Leo)
-and finally the "Jetman" yea!!
Cons: -the only thing i could think of is the 6 new baskets need to be mach III's(to many spit outs that are dead center)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses Illinois has to offer it will test even the most advanced players you'll learn how to play disc golf here...Hole 5 is a beautiful downhill blind island green shot(the best hole in Illinois) in my opinion...Hole 8 in the tree placement also known as the "stinky skunk"...Hole 23 the cliff shot a beautiful limestone cliff... Those are just some of the signature holes on this course but there are also many more. If your anywhere close to this course its a must play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Fun Fun (Doug Doug Doug)

5+    7/8/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course. There are tons of pin positions out there and the course has been new to me every time I play there. The course is now 24 holes instead of 18. The front 9 here is very filled with elevation and is in turn the best part of the course. Hole 5 is one of the most signature holes in IL. It is a downhill gap shot through large trees onto a legit island. There are a couple par 4s here depending on the pin positions. Hole 7 is fun downhill rip hole. Hole C is very cool hole with 2 routes, an outside hyzer route and an up the middle route with the fairway sloping towards ob. The cliff hole E is always a classic and a tricky shot to stay in bounds on.
Cons: The signage and pin position indicators are not the best. This course has a large amount of flat holes. Many of the holes are too open and allow for a hyzer too often. The new golden baskets feel cheaply made and I have seen a lot of bad spits with them.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you use a spotter on hole 5. Watch for other park users.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/8/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Mofrisbee
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course has it all long holes short holes water hazard trees lots of hills
Cons: the signs to the course are needed and to next hole
Other Thoughts: I did lose a disc on 16 I will play this next time I'm in town. It meanders throghout the park giving players a nice long hilly walk

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Sir E-O
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple basket locations for each hole that can change from week to week. The grass is always mowed. There are uphill, downhill, over the stream, far-far-away, and close-up shots available. Sometimes, there is even a free disc on the ground. This park gets lots of play and you get to see some really good players throw.
Cons: It can be difficult to play alone without a spotter. Sometimes, you have to search for basket location, which slows game play. There is also falling walnuts in the autumn. The only other con I can think of is, fatigue. Which for me, equals errant shots and frustration. This is a personal con, I'm sure.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, which is an extreme pro. I have been playing Sinnissippi for over 10 years. I have seen it morph many times over the years. It has become a very full and rich, play experience. I used to work (in Florida) with a pro. He stated that this was one of his favorite parks and knew it well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great City Park Disc Course

5+    5/15/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: EventHorizon
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful scenery. Nice big trees which gives the course challenge and might. There are a variety of placements for the pin as indicated on the signage. Signage is well done, clear, and all intact. Concrete pads are well done with being level and have good traction. Stream on a flew holes greatly adds to the course and it diversity of pin placement layout. Also seen there is some new concrete pads poured for new pins. Maybe upgrading course to 27 holes to close the gap between hole18 and 1.
Cons: Just a few minor things not detract from this course. When you come into the park, there was no signage that I saw to indicate where to drive, to park and start the course. I ended up starting on 10 and wondering over to find hole 1 after 18. Another thing that slightly detracts is the signage and all the possible pin placements. Some holes had up to 5 possible placements which made finding some of the front 9 difficult and somewhat guess work. I like a course having 2-3 possible placements, but 4-5 placements are a bit much. I understand the idea to change up the course so it doesn't grow old, but 3 placements should be enough on a 18 holed course as spread out as this. Last thing was the quarter mile gap between 18 and 1. Once you finish with 18, there is a pretty good walk back to parking area and hole 1. This might not be an issue in the future because of the new concrete pads i seen that seem to play the way back to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Despite starting at hole 10 and playing through from there, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. To date I've only played 51 courses but of those, I really liked this course and would drive out of my way to play it again. You get a little bit of everything at this course. You have holes that have elevation changes, huge oak trees, big pine trees, over a stream, long pins and short. With the surrounding scenery, i think the locals are very lucky to have such a wonderful course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Public Park Course

5+    3/10/2009   9/30/2011
Review By: DeertayD
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Sinissippi Park is a very nice public park. The concrete tees are in good condition, and the signage is adequate. Nice baskets are featured on all of the holes. The first five or so holes are great. Elevation changes, large trees, and water hazards make the first handful of holes very fun and challenging to play.
Cons: This is a very busy park. It has a number of shelters, softball fields, and walking trails that have a high volume of use. This takes away from the "scenery" that makes disc golf fun for me. After the first five or so holes, they become very typical public park disc golf holes. Not extermely challenging or scenic.
Other Thoughts: I lived in Sterling for about two years, and played this course multiple times, as it is the only quality course anywhere around. I can't remember a time that our group didn't have to wait to throw for people using the park for other activities. This becomes frusterating, as it makes your round take much longer than it should. The layout could be much better, as shelters, softball fields and walking trails come into play on many of the holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.