Carbondale, IL 
SIU - Rec Center Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 291ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Boring

5+    7/25/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 97  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: 1. Pretty little spot on campus

2. Should not lose any discs

3. couple of cool holes by rec center

4. good for airing some shots out on first few holes

Cons: 1. crowded when students are around

2. not enough obstacles

3. Baskets are not that great

4. no concrete

5. no yardage signs
Other Thoughts: After Hole #1 you have to walk forward near towers stop before you get to the road and walk along it to the left to get to Hole #2. basket is pretty far and near a big tree.


Snoozefest

1    6/26/2012   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - long, open holes for drives
- in town
- beginner friendly
Cons: - very simple and boring
- almost no obstacles
- busy with pedestrian traffic during the school year (?)
Other Thoughts: built in a field between the dorms and the rec center, this course is the most boring i've personally played. that being said, it's very beginner friendly and would be good for introducing a new player to the game. it's also conveniently placed if you lived in the towers or if you wanted to squeeze a round in before/after a workout at the rec. i played in the summer when there were no students around, so i have no idea how busy it gets during the school year.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing

1    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: DGfan68
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its better than nothing.
Its free.
Cons: Poor signs or the lack there of
Lack of tee boxes
Cheap baskets (lack of chains)
Lack of obstacles
Holes not in order
Had to hunt to find hole two and its basket
Some holes unmarked
Other Thoughts: I made an hour drive for this, I will not be back. My son kept asking why we had bothered to make the trip for such a disappointment.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/8/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: macraigimm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short course, good for beginners, and good for a quick game. well marked signs.
Cons: parts of the course are not well groomed. no tee pads, doesn't seem as if it gets played very much. also by noisy dorms during school, which can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: not a terrible course, but it could use some more variety in tee placement.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open

1    8/20/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: SIU Rec Center is located on a very flat open piece of land. The grounds are mowed and clean like you'd expect on a college campus. Holes 1 thru 5 play on one side of Grand Ave and 6 thru 9 play on the other side. We parked right by Hole #1's tee pad.

The course is located near some dorms and the rec center. It's a very beginner friendly and exposes the game to college kids. There are no places to lose discs.

There are several holes that you can bust out the driver and rip it. Those are the 1st 5 holes. When you cross the street the last 4 have more obstacles to contend with and are shorter.

I printed a map from this site and had no issue navigating it. There are general tee signs. Without a map it might be hard to find hole #2 and crossing the street to #6.

The Mach 1 baskets are in good shape. They are painted Saluki Maroon.
Cons: The tee pads are natural grass.

There are not enough obstacles to keep this 9 hole course interesting. It'd get boring playing a lot.

There are a few long walks between holes. You have to cross a busy street as well.

Pedesrians, roads, and walking paths come into play. Be careful!
Other Thoughts: Having the Lake course right down the street is a bonus for SIU students. They are 2 drastically different courses which both offer great practice areas.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 skip this area of golf until they put some permanent courses in shawnee

1    12/19/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 360  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the holes here do have some distance on the first 5 holes.
-the back 4 have some interesting obstacles including building and some guard trees.
-Some concrete OB adds to the challenge, rather than just long throw after long throw. unlisted OB (concrete) in play on 1,2, 3, 5 (but 2 and 3 only have OB with bad shots)
-The baskets are in decent shape.
Cons: -The first thing I noticed when walking up to the first tee was the lack of hole distance on the teesign.
-Navigation was pretty terrible, I couldnt find hole 2 for awhile, it is all way down by the dorms, by the concrete volleyball (possibly tetherball) courts.
-No variety here, all shots on the front are straigght ahead with little to no obstacles, the 1 piece of variety on the course was 8 which went l to r with a building as an obstacle.
-Which brings me to the next con, I can imagine this course is pretty dangerous because it plays across sports field, along a parking lot, along a side walk, and by buildings. Also be careful crossing the street to 6-9.
-No restrooms or water in sight, and there is no real place to hide for some relief.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was pretty terrible, I wouldn't recommend it, better to take a portable basket and play in the forest and rocks when camping.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 salukis

1    10/11/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: tntbuffallo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the hole had some distance to them. You play in the shadows of the dorm for S.I.U. and there are some great camping nearby.
Cons: Yes they had tee markers, but they were very primitive. I wish they would include yardage. I guess the college students can figure out the distance with all their knowledge.
Other Thoughts: The cross over to the rec center for the last three holes were ok. The coarse in general is too wide open and holes placed to close to streets. Hard to navigate where the next tee box is, they aren't always really close to the last basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 money

1    9/12/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly open course with a few trees to go around. If you were living in the dorms this would be a great place of an evening to just park and put around. Only 9 holes but there is enough room to bomb a few.
Cons: The targets weren't the best and finding the dirt tees were a litte tough. Kids did get in the way but this is a college campus so no biggie. Boring for the most part but there was a couple of cool holes.
Other Thoughts: I found a 20 dollar bill and went out to eat! Thanks to mom and dad who was sending the unlucky idiot to school. He probably learned not to loose mom's cash. The 9 holes at the campus lake are a lot better but these would be great for glow rounds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SIU

1    4/2/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean. Nice and quite on Sunday morinings.Baskets are in good shape and so are the tee boxs.
Cons: Hole 4 has a foot path in the way. Hole 6 is to close to the sidewalk and a busy road. Hole 7 to close to the building. no parking up close, must park down the road and walk back up.
Other Thoughts: Change Hole 6 to Hole1, that way you can loop back around more nicely.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

6/28/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Close to another campus course
-Tee signs
-Well mowed
-Windy
Cons: -Mostly WIDE open
-Hard to navigate
-Have to cross busy road to play #6-9
Other Thoughts: Very basic course

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.