Napa, CA 
Skyline Wilderness Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #4 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beautiful Park

1    11/23/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rubber tees
18 baskets
This course is set in a fantastic multi use park in Napa CA.
Even though it is multi use, the course is set away from other activities in the park.
This scenic park offers great views of Napa and the surrounding area.
The course was not incredibly long, but was a challenge because of the hilly terrain.
Lots of roll away potential.
Offers a variety of shots, and didn't favor any particular shot.
Dense oaks provide tough obstacles if you have an errant shot.
Birdies are available if you can get a disc to stay on the fast greens.
Putting offered some pucker factor because of the fast greens.
Really nice benches at tee boxes were welcomed because this course is a hike.
The place was not busy at all!! (not sure if that is normal)
Cons: Not a lot of cons to think of.

Never got a top of the world type shot despite the hilly terrain.

The only restrooms are at the entrance which is not that close to the course.

Greens were so fast that it seemed that there was maybe to much luck involved on some of them.
Other Thoughts: This course was set up in an medium distance when I played it. The flow was nice and the trails were easy to follow. We had no problems with thistles and foxtails, but I heard that is a problem during the summer. This is a hike, but not bad compared to other mountain style courses I have played. That being said, a pair of boots would be a good call.

This place is definitely worth playing if you are in the area!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 worth the trip

5+    8/11/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a really neat layout, with a nice combination of holes and differing pin locations. Good signage with a round disc pointing out the basket location, as A, B or C. Despite this, rarely can you see the basket you are throwing to. You will get to use all sorts of throws to get around the tree obstacles, though it is certainly within reason to score a few birdies with good shots.
Cons: The tee boxes are not very solid, basically carpeted dirt, and the limited space can make it difficult to figure out which basket you should be throwing at. Also, the numbers on the basket are not very visible, and rarely pointed at the tee box, so you have to walk all the way to them, and around them before you figure out what number the basket has. Of course, the dreaded Napa roll can and will strike when you screw up, but that is part of the game.
Other Thoughts: Skyline Park is a great multi-use park with hiking, biking, horseback riding and an archery course. You can camp out there, and all the activities are well worth the minimal $5 per car entry fee. There is a nice walk from the parking lot to the first tee, maybe a half mile, and I would highly recommend hiking shoes or boots. I played it in my Chacos, and the steep slopes and high grass when you go off course make for difficult walking. There is also a good bit of poison oak and brambles, so long pants are not out of the question.

This is the first course i ever played, and is pretty difficult compared to the others. I go out there every time I am in Napa, and really love it. It's basically my California home course, and easily as challenging, though different, from my La home course, Buhlow.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Roll away in the Napa Wilderness

1    3/3/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 142  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Skyline Wilderness offers excellent variety and is absolutely worth the $5 entry fee. When you enter the park and start the 10-15 minute hike to Hole #1, it is very easy to see why this is a top-notch course.

Although this is a muti-use facility, the disc golf course is well separated from other activities.

More than a few times during the round, I found myself soaking in the panoramic views and taking pictures instead of concentrating on my next throw.

The tee signs on every hole certainly helped with navigation.

The teepads were a mix of concrete and rubber. I understand the locals are working to install concrete pads on all of the holes. There were also brooms and benches on most of the teepads, which is very nice.

The baskets are not new, but they are in good shape.

Elevation is utilized very well on most of the holes here. I heard a few groups mention the "Napa Rollers" that easily turn a birdie into a bogey or double bogey. Thankfully, I did not experience my own Napa Roller until #14.

While there were plenty of warning signs for the local wildlife, I did not see any boars, snakes or anything else.

There are plenty of opportunities to throw hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers and pretty much any other shot you are able to throw.

Similar to other California courses I have played (Coyote Point, Ryan Ranch, Stafford Lake, etc) this is a physically demanding course and it is not for the faint of heart. Bring plenty of water, snacks, etc. You will not want to run back to the parking lot in the middle of a round here.
Cons: As other reviews have mentioned, there is no huge downhill bomber shot. While the terrain certainly allows for it, I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of at least 1 opportunity to truly grip it and rip it here.

I'm reaching now, but the lack of concrete teepads is always a con for me. I also noticed that some of the rubber teepads were too short. I typically use a 3 or 4 step approach and did not have enough room on several holes.
Other Thoughts: The $5 entry fee will come along with a rough course map. I found that the map was not completely accurate. However, this only caused a problem for me between #13 and #14.

Napa is not for beginners, especially those that do not know how to handle constant elevation changes. Having said that, any new players should check out some other courses and then find a guide and get to Napa for a very challenging and fun disc golf experience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some work to do.

1    12/26/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: n8director
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenery
-Challenging. You'll use most of your discs and many of your throws.
-Almost always putting on an angle
-Dramatic elevation changes
-Signage and navigation(for the most part)
-Ranger at the gate was SUPER helpful. Thanks!
Cons: -$ to play
-Surprisingly lacked an epic downhill bomber hole. The elevation would certainly allow for it.
-Some tees felt short, and I don't have a long run-up.
-Holes 15A, 15B, 16, and 17 detract from what could be great experience. Unclear fairways and navigation are the issue here. FIX THIS!
Other Thoughts: Challenging course that's also a nice workout. I didn't mind the hike in and out. Made for a good warm-up/warm-down. Great scenery and topography. Time for a little more work to be done on holes 15-17, along with some tees that should be longer here and there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    12/10/2011   12/11/2011
Review By: miniboult
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MY home course, so I am a little biased.
-Very technical. During the winter the course is in the short pin positions due to daylight hours.This does cause most of the shots to be short and technical. Only about 9 pins are visible from tee pads.
-During summer pins are usual in long positions, which makes the course that much more difficult.
-"Napa Rolls"....Some don't like it, but it makes the game much more challenging.
-Beautiful outdoor secluded scenery. Its not in a city or urban setting.
Cons: -Pay to play.
-Very HOT in the summer, sometimes up to 100 degrees in the middle of the day. Very dry, bring lots of water.

Other Thoughts: This course is great for a short round in the winter, or long round in the summer. Tee pads are being replaced by concrete, and signage is really good. The major drawback of this course is the 1/4 mile walk to the first tee, and the constant elevation change. For those not in good shape, take your time as the course can wear you out. If you can shoot par on this course, most other courses are putty in your hands!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Goat Course

1    9/24/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 56  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic scenery. My 20-something daughter stopped playing and just took photos. The steep hills are a great walking workout. Fun to do some of those swooping downward throws. Good rubber pads. Nice baskets. Hills plus trees and wind made this a very challenging course.
Cons: Costs $5 to get into the park, but it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: If you wear shorts, your legs will get scratched up from the scrubby thorny bushes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult fun in wine country

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a large wilderness park. Feeling of remoteness, even though there were a number of groups playing. The entire course is surrounded by gorgeous, untouched scenery. Variety of different drives required from teebox. Retrieved all 3 temporarily lost discs! Nice teeboxes and decent baskets. Got lucky my first time playing here as most baskets were playing short.
Cons: Grass is very high right now, making me very glad that I wore khakis. Lots of poison oak, even in the fairways. Ideal to play with a partner to help spot & look for discs. I spent nearly 90 minutes more that I should have looking for & retrieving lost discs. Bad drives on both 6 & 9 got stuck in some tall trees. I was lucky enough to get one down with a rock, and the other with a young DGer willing to climb and shake the tree!
Other Thoughts: Getting into and out of the course is about a half mile hike into the foresty area from the parking lot. The office at the entrance gate stocks about 75 brand new Star/Champion discs for sale. $Five dolla, no holla! You get a map of the park, along with a hand drawn map of the DG course & some hospitality. The teebox at #4 makes for an ideal smoke spot.
=================
Uniqueness: A (very rugged & hilly; toughest course I've played; worth it tho)
Difficulty: A+ (long; elevation changes; narrow in spots; super hungry trees)
Fun factor: B+ (pars are rewarding; familiarity will lead to more fun)
Aesthetics: A (untouched scenery; clean; beautiful integration of course with nature)
---------------------
Overall: A

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet spot

2-4    2/22/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Read all the pros on the other reviews, they are all true. If you love a good disc course this is it. You follow a ridge through little draws and along the face of the ridge. Lots of great things about this course including a wilderness feel, no road noise. There are a variety of throws available but if you love the tomahawk throw you will especially love it here.
Cons: Long walk but its just part of the courses draw.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have been to. Great views of napa valley. Play it if you can!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Another Cali Wilderness Course!

1    8/20/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Skyline Wilderness is another California course cut from the same rugged wilderness terrain as Stafford Lake, Lake Casitas and Ryan's Ranch. That is rugged rolling hills, mature oaks, deep cut ravines, srub brush, some panoramic views and wildlife abounds. As with the other courses it makes for the almost perfect topography on which to build a course. This is a private campground. We played on a Friday in August and the cost was $6. So the course was at it's driest and brownest but the grass was not so long. There is a fairly long hike in past the archery range (just over a 1/4 mile) past the sign warning you about wild boar, rattle snakes and mountain lions. This is not a course for families or newbies. Or the un-armed. Maybe bring your 45 cal. discs. We did see deer and also caught glimpses of wild turkeys on a couple of occasions. It's for the serious player up to the tournament level player. The pads were extra long rubber with brooms at each hole. They were benches usually placed in the shade. Great informative signs. Great variety of long-short-right-left holes. 3-5 basket placements per holes would make playing the course a different expierience each time out.
Cons: I felt # 16 played like a filler hole. All others had a fair route while this one just felt it had been stuck in there. Didin't care for it! The long walk in at the beginning and end. Bring water and maybe snacks. Doesn't have the natural beauty of Lake Casitas or Stafford Lake. The dreaded Napa roll got me on one hole and definitely adds to the challenge. Doesn't have a scenic "Top Of The World Shot."
Other Thoughts: A not to be missed course in the Bay Area. It's fun to compare it to the other so very similar courses. This is pretty much a carbon copy of the Ryan's Ranch course in Monterey. Play it and compare the two. Play it and compare your score. Play it and compare your sunburn and blisters, and aching bones.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to beat Napa

2-4    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: mackabean
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played pretty much all the courses in the Bay Area, and this one has recently become my most favorite. There's just so much to recommend it. A few of the best attributes:

-Nice layout, use of terrain
-Nice variety of holes, some short, some longer, different curves
-Great shaded chill spots next to every hole. Especially crucial cause it gets hot out there
-Beautiful setting
-Super well marked, best tee signs I have ever seen at any course
-Nice walk out to the course
-Never anyone there, even on a weekend
-Plenty of birdieable holes
-At the same time, plenty of challenging holes where if you hit some trees you could easily end up with a 6
-Also some tough landing areas, where if you miss it you could roll a long way
-Not too far away (50 mins from Berkeley)
Cons: -Hot hot hot. Just played on a July Sunday and it was 90 degrees. It's manageable, but definitely takes something out of yo.
-A lot of trees, and the trees are easy to get stuck in
-A couple holes are kind of stupid in the sense that the pathway for driving is so small, it's a little ridiculous. But even those make for decent holes cause if you get through they are typically short
-It could do with one or two longer holes. There are not a lot of holes where you can really open up and let loose. Although that can be good if you are playing with a mixed group because length becomes less of an issue.
-Needs better tee pads, but really not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: I just really like playing this course. it's well put together, beautiful terrain, good conditions. Fun days guaranteed for sure.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.