Napa, CA 
Skyline Wilderness Park Share
Uploaded By: Eli_P Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 258ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Some work to do.

1    12/26/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: n8director
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenery
-Challenging. You'll use most of your discs and many of your throws.
-Almost always putting on an angle
-Dramatic elevation changes
-Signage and navigation(for the most part)
-Ranger at the gate was SUPER helpful. Thanks!
Cons: -$ to play
-Surprisingly lacked an epic downhill bomber hole. The elevation would certainly allow for it.
-Some tees felt short, and I don't have a long run-up.
-Holes 15A, 15B, 16, and 17 detract from what could be great experience. Unclear fairways and navigation are the issue here. FIX THIS!
Other Thoughts: Challenging course that's also a nice workout. I didn't mind the hike in and out. Made for a good warm-up/warm-down. Great scenery and topography. Time for a little more work to be done on holes 15-17, along with some tees that should be longer here and there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    12/10/2011   12/11/2011
Review By: miniboult
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MY home course, so I am a little biased.
-Very technical. During the winter the course is in the short pin positions due to daylight hours.This does cause most of the shots to be short and technical. Only about 9 pins are visible from tee pads.
-During summer pins are usual in long positions, which makes the course that much more difficult.
-"Napa Rolls"....Some don't like it, but it makes the game much more challenging.
-Beautiful outdoor secluded scenery. Its not in a city or urban setting.
Cons: -Pay to play.
-Very HOT in the summer, sometimes up to 100 degrees in the middle of the day. Very dry, bring lots of water.

Other Thoughts: This course is great for a short round in the winter, or long round in the summer. Tee pads are being replaced by concrete, and signage is really good. The major drawback of this course is the 1/4 mile walk to the first tee, and the constant elevation change. For those not in good shape, take your time as the course can wear you out. If you can shoot par on this course, most other courses are putty in your hands!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Goat Course

1    9/24/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic scenery. My 20-something daughter stopped playing and just took photos. The steep hills are a great walking workout. Fun to do some of those swooping downward throws. Good rubber pads. Nice baskets. Hills plus trees and wind made this a very challenging course.
Cons: Costs $5 to get into the park, but it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: If you wear shorts, your legs will get scratched up from the scrubby thorny bushes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult fun in wine country

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a large wilderness park. Feeling of remoteness, even though there were a number of groups playing. The entire course is surrounded by gorgeous, untouched scenery. Variety of different drives required from teebox. Retrieved all 3 temporarily lost discs! Nice teeboxes and decent baskets. Got lucky my first time playing here as most baskets were playing short.
Cons: Grass is very high right now, making me very glad that I wore khakis. Lots of poison oak, even in the fairways. Ideal to play with a partner to help spot & look for discs. I spent nearly 90 minutes more that I should have looking for & retrieving lost discs. Bad drives on both 6 & 9 got stuck in some tall trees. I was lucky enough to get one down with a rock, and the other with a young DGer willing to climb and shake the tree!
Other Thoughts: Getting into and out of the course is about a half mile hike into the foresty area from the parking lot. The office at the entrance gate stocks about 75 brand new Star/Champion discs for sale. $Five dolla, no holla! You get a map of the park, along with a hand drawn map of the DG course & some hospitality. The teebox at #4 makes for an ideal smoke spot.
=================
Uniqueness: A (very rugged & hilly; toughest course I've played; worth it tho)
Difficulty: A+ (long; elevation changes; narrow in spots; super hungry trees)
Fun factor: B+ (pars are rewarding; familiarity will lead to more fun)
Aesthetics: A (untouched scenery; clean; beautiful integration of course with nature)
---------------------
Overall: A

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet spot

2-4    2/22/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Read all the pros on the other reviews, they are all true. If you love a good disc course this is it. You follow a ridge through little draws and along the face of the ridge. Lots of great things about this course including a wilderness feel, no road noise. There are a variety of throws available but if you love the tomahawk throw you will especially love it here.
Cons: Long walk but its just part of the courses draw.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have been to. Great views of napa valley. Play it if you can!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Another Cali Wilderness Course!

1    8/20/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Skyline Wilderness is another California course cut from the same rugged wilderness terrain as Stafford Lake, Lake Casitas and Ryan's Ranch. That is rugged rolling hills, mature oaks, deep cut ravines, srub brush, some panoramic views and wildlife abounds. As with the other courses it makes for the almost perfect topography on which to build a course. This is a private campground. We played on a Friday in August and the cost was $6. So the course was at it's driest and brownest but the grass was not so long. There is a fairly long hike in past the archery range (just over a 1/4 mile) past the sign warning you about wild boar, rattle snakes and mountain lions. This is not a course for families or newbies. Or the un-armed. Maybe bring your 45 cal. discs. We did see deer and also caught glimpses of wild turkeys on a couple of occasions. It's for the serious player up to the tournament level player. The pads were extra long rubber with brooms at each hole. They were benches usually placed in the shade. Great informative signs. Great variety of long-short-right-left holes. 3-5 basket placements per holes would make playing the course a different expierience each time out.
Cons: I felt # 16 played like a filler hole. All others had a fair route while this one just felt it had been stuck in there. Didin't care for it! The long walk in at the beginning and end. Bring water and maybe snacks. Doesn't have the natural beauty of Lake Casitas or Stafford Lake. The dreaded Napa roll got me on one hole and definitely adds to the challenge. Doesn't have a scenic "Top Of The World Shot."
Other Thoughts: A not to be missed course in the Bay Area. It's fun to compare it to the other so very similar courses. This is pretty much a carbon copy of the Ryan's Ranch course in Monterey. Play it and compare the two. Play it and compare your score. Play it and compare your sunburn and blisters, and aching bones.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to beat Napa

2-4    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: mackabean
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played pretty much all the courses in the Bay Area, and this one has recently become my most favorite. There's just so much to recommend it. A few of the best attributes:

-Nice layout, use of terrain
-Nice variety of holes, some short, some longer, different curves
-Great shaded chill spots next to every hole. Especially crucial cause it gets hot out there
-Beautiful setting
-Super well marked, best tee signs I have ever seen at any course
-Nice walk out to the course
-Never anyone there, even on a weekend
-Plenty of birdieable holes
-At the same time, plenty of challenging holes where if you hit some trees you could easily end up with a 6
-Also some tough landing areas, where if you miss it you could roll a long way
-Not too far away (50 mins from Berkeley)
Cons: -Hot hot hot. Just played on a July Sunday and it was 90 degrees. It's manageable, but definitely takes something out of yo.
-A lot of trees, and the trees are easy to get stuck in
-A couple holes are kind of stupid in the sense that the pathway for driving is so small, it's a little ridiculous. But even those make for decent holes cause if you get through they are typically short
-It could do with one or two longer holes. There are not a lot of holes where you can really open up and let loose. Although that can be good if you are playing with a mixed group because length becomes less of an issue.
-Needs better tee pads, but really not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: I just really like playing this course. it's well put together, beautiful terrain, good conditions. Fun days guaranteed for sure.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What's in a name?

1    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NorCal wilderness. Virtually perfect land for a course. It has everything you need to build a course around with the exception of a water hazard. Mutliple basket positions. Good signs at the tee pads with a washer and screw that show current position. Navigation was simple. Trails are pretty obvious. Good use of trees and elevation to create challenging holes. Basket positions were good. Nothing seemed squeezed in without a plan. I was also never bored, or felt like there was repetitive shots.

It's tough, but there are ace and birdie opportunities. I hit 3 birdies my first time out. Thank you thumber!. It helps to be able to go over the trees on some holes.

Course is off a trail well away from the rest of the park. You are in the wilderness. Bring water.
Cons: Rubber tee pads. They are in good shape, but not concrete. I didn't really have any problems with them so I 'd rate this as a pretty insignificant con. They could be better, but they don't have a negative effect.

Long walk to course from the parking area. Including walking along the archery range. Yes, that's what all those fake elk are about. I hope the archers are good. Horse poop on the trail. You are sharing the trail so watch where you walk.

Some blind shots that should really have a spotter. Tall grass also makes locating discs tough. The name says wilderness for a reason. A few of the holes are very heavily wooded, and have significant 'rough'. Watch where you throw.
Other Thoughts: A nice, solid course. The cons are pretty small. Course plays fair, and makes you use multiple shots. I would highly recommned this course as a destination spot. It's only about 30 minutes form Stafford Lake and close to all the joys of wine country.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/1/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/13/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting
-Nice footpath to first tee. Feels like your hiking into secluded back country to play a round. This was great being a visitor to the course but I can see how it can get old if you're a local.
-Very well maintained
- Good tee pads with brooms and benches
-Great elevation change
-Full spectrum of technicality with most holes being technical to very technical
-Not too busy. My buddy and I came in the middle of the day and we only saw one other group playing the course
-Nice signs that indicate basket placement
-uphill and downhill holes
Cons: -No dogs allowed (disc golf is a little lonely without my furry companion)
-Needs some longer, more open bomber holes
-Napa roll
-Pay to play
-Might consider upgrading to cement tees
-Grass can get long requiring some searching to find your disc
Other Thoughts: Although many of the holes are on the short side, they are mostly uphill which requires giving everything you have to reach the basket on your drive. World Class Course. Must play if in Northern Cali

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Roll, roll, rollin away

2-4    2/28/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beutifull location with hills, valleys, creeks, mature oaks, wildlife, and great views.
-Lots of variety, uphill, downhill, sidehill, across valleys, left turning, right turning, etc...
-Secluded seting in the hills of Napa, close to town, but far enough away to not feel crowded by the city.
-Challenging. I saw some of the best players I know chewed up by this course.
-Benches on most holes
-Area of the park thats not used much by other park users
-Fire Extingushers on every hole
-Multiple pin positions on all holes
-Rubber teepads in good condition with brooms on each hole.
-Great Locals, these guys are lots of fun.
Cons: -Some holes almost require you to throw a thumber (hole 15).
-"Napa Rolls": The art of landing within 20' of the basket (or hitting the basket) then rolling 300' down the hill behind you.
-Signage didn't feel 100% accurate.
-Not a beginers course, as it will beat up on even an experenced golfer
Other Thoughts: Napa is a beutifull course with many great fun holes that will both challenge and entertain players with some experence in disc golf. For beginers and people who are out of shape this course will frustrate and wear you out. It is full of massive elevation change throughout the course. Some holes I thought were a little unfair if you don't have a big thumber in your bag (hole 15). Everyone it seems, no mater how good you are, will get at least one disc that will roll away and down the hill way far away from where you want it, this is just the way it is, that's Napa for you. Make sure to bring some snacks and water as this will be a long round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.