Napa, CA 
Skyline Wilderness Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #15 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 255ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15B Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Napa Roll

2-4    1/10/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: DCdiskgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Before you get to the course there is a practice tee nice for worming up. The hike to the course is not bad.Beautiful setting in the Napa Valley. Multiple pin placements makes it a great challenging course.
Cons: "NAPA ROLL" and poisen oak

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A perfect 18

1    12/24/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: ChillyWilly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Probably the most beautiful setting of any course I've ever been to.
-Good Signage - each hole has a pretty new map
-Makes for a good variety of shots - short and long, uphill and downhill, low visibility and high visibility.
-It's pretty accessible. If you are going to the Napa Valley, chances are you'll find yourself within a few miles of this course at some point.
Cons: -Tees are a little short, which is understandable considering most of them are carved out of the hill the course is on. They are in very good condition though.
-My wife thinks the course could have been more spread out, but I didn't think that was a problem.
Other Thoughts: Gave it 5 stars because I think it's pretty much perfect for what it is. Not the longest, most difficult course, but it's very well designed, kept in great shape, and more picturesque than any course I've seen.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Get Ready

2-4    10/17/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Beautiful views
• Wide variety of holes
• Benches
• Nice park overall
• Good tee boxes
• Poles for disc-in-tree retrieval, brooms, fire extinguishers, trash cans
Cons:
• Mean mean MEAN rollaways on a few holes
• Impossible pin location on one hole (around 13-15, temporary maybe?)
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Bring water
• Bring more water
• Bring snacks
• Use the restroom before you hike to #1

Random Thoughts:
I really struggled with this review. My girlfriend and I are beginners and we love a good hike. Having said that, we started this course and had a great time through the first 3rd, although this definitely isn't a beginner course as most holes are well outside our range, but once we got to what I will call 'The Devil's Slope', things changed. The bottom line on the holes in this area is that you can throw a good or even great throw and if the disc gets on its edge, kiss it goodbye, because it's going to roll down the slope a loooooooooong way, and even throwing it back from the bottom of the slope may just have it roll right back to you or even past you. In truth, this was quite funny the first few times it happened, but right around the 4th or 5th sweaty trek, it lost some of the fun. I found myself wondering if this was a fair fight. Who knows, maybe it's better at certain times of the season. But here's the thing, it finished up well on the last few holes, I look back on it and laugh...and I can't wait to go back. The Pros simply outweigh the Cons.

Bottom line: Bring water. Get ready for a hike. Set aside three hours. You'll laugh, cry, and swear, but it'll be fun.

Update 11/2009: We played this again a couple weeks ago during a tournament. WOW. I didn't realize how much more difficult this course could get when they moved the baskets to the pro spots. I have a lot of improvement to make... They were also installing some more improvements such as new signs, which are MUCH better. I'm also 90% sure that the basket I mention above is either a duplicate or remnant or something. It's around the basket area for 13 and as there was another basket in the area, I'm reasonably confident you don't need to throw at the impossible one. Anyway, keep up the great work guys!

Update 03/2010: Got to play this again with the latest improvements. All new signs are up and most of the holes are back in human-range (more on this in a minute). I also think I figured out the mystery basket, which is now non-duplicated. I believe this basket is used twice. I believe it's the basket for 13 and for 15A which I didn't see before until they put basket #14 on the far side of the moon (Love this shot btw but wow is it far). 15A is a tough tough shot. I see why it's an alternate. The conditions are also quite a bit different this time of year with the grass high. The rollaways are still lurking but not quite as much. Now, back to the basket positions….attention Mr. and/or Miss Course Designer(s), I have a question: Seriously, EVERY shot is a par 3? Really?! Not even a hint of an amateur par 4 on some of those over 400 ft. uphill shots? I mean, no love at all?! Seriously though, even if it is so that the 3 reigns supreme, I continue to love this course and appreciate your efforts. I just think it might be the hardest course to shoot par on in the Bay Area, with the longer basket positions anyway. Not that this is a bad thing. It just means I have lots of practice ahead of me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Truly a great day of Discing

2-4    9/24/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Discslingertai
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting in the napa valley with beautiful views and very natural setting. Much wildlife and well maintained park with camping horsebackriding and the like. The course is a challenge for any player as the variety on shots that you need to score well (-3 or -4) for an experienced player. it is advised to use a spotter on many of the holes as you may get a bad roll or skip and there are some spots that will eat some plastic. only $5 to get a day pass and there is a store down the road that sells discs if you loose something you dont have a double. If the family likes the out doors this is a great destination = fun for all. never saw more than 10 people on the course and no waiting ever there is a thursday night weekly 5:00pm $5 with an ace pool. a great group of guys and a good place to go to get an invete to "the arm farm" also in napa.
Cons: there are some patches of poison oak here and there but not near ant pathes but a stray disc may be discovered in a patch and in the ckeek bed ith weeds will hide a lost disc ouy could walk right over it and never see it. Rough landings near some of the baskets can be hard on dicscs bot worth it to sacrifice for a great shot. The trees are pretty thick and can hold onto a high driver but there are poles and long pvc tubes under the most popular traps to try to get them down with
Other Thoughts: the bonus hole between 14 &15 is a nice bonus if you dont get in the brambles. i yhink this is one of the nicest courses i have played in california

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challenging

2-4    1/30/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've played in California, and also one of the most picturesque. It is situated along the north side of the mountains on the southeastern edge of Napa Valley in Skyline Wilderness Park. It is amazing that a course this nice can be found in what is truly a wilderness area (they say there are mountain lions, bears, etc. on occasion). We saw all sorts of wildlife, I paused several times while teeing off for a herd of deer to cross the fairway.

The landscape is classic rolling California hills and valleys, with varying degrees of chaparral and some larger trees along creeks. Old stone walls from the ranchero days can be found along some sides of the course.

There is a good amount of topography on this course, and the design makes great use of these features. One of my favorite holes played over a valley that sloped steeply to the left...if you throw right-hand backhand and the disc stalls out too early, it'll fade all the way downhill and you'll have a descent/climb to retrieve your disc.

Some holes are grassy fairway lined with small trees and shrubs, some play over wide-open valleys, and some play over shrubs and small trees. There are both right and left turning holes, and quite a few are blind (i.e., no view of the basket from the tee).

The rubber tees are very nice, the foundations flat and stable, and the signage is great. Brooms are ubiquitous for sweeping, which is often needed. If you set a fire, extinguishers are available for you to put it out before it burns the whole place down.

At the entrance gate to the park (where you will pay a park-use fee) you can borrow/rent discs. they also seem to have a last-and-found collection there, but I'm not sure how it works.
Cons: The hike to the course isn't long or difficult, but it also isn't very scenic until you get to the course itself. (Really this isn't a con so much for me, I like to loosen my legs with a walk after driving in the car, before playing a round.)

It would be nice if they could put a small bathroom/toilet out there some where for the ladies, maybe next to the incoming trail near #1.
Other Thoughts: When we were on on the course, we really felt like we were well-secluded from the rest of the world. This is a very nice feeling on such a beautiful course.

There are a lot of opportunities to lose your disc if you are throwing long into blind areas...maybe get your partners to spot on some of the holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Eli_P
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, challenging course on some killer steep terrain. Good workout. A lot of "all or nothing" shots to make it to the baskets. Brooms and fire extinguishers on every hole.
Cons: The hike to get to the first hole is a bit long and concrete tees would make it a little nicer.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't suggest this course for beginners. Could lead to a lot more unwanted exercise. Fire danger is extremely high, so please be careful.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Skyline Wilderness

5+    1/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ingenious use of steep terrain and a rather smallish area for disc golf. Shots aren't very long, but are plenty challenging. Park makes money off disc golf which helps improve the sport's overall viability.
Cons: not too many. Perhaps it's time to get concrete tees?
Other Thoughts: Every course in steep terrain has challenges with erosion from use. Skyline Park is no different. The local club has done a fine job mitigating this with appropriate infrastructure. Since the risk of fire is also huge, they've place extinguishers on every hole, something that should be standard practice on every course where fire danger is high.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Punitive

5+    11/22/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: bneely
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Secluded setting, with rolling hills, mature oaks, local wildlife including deer, turkeys, rabbits. The course area is dedicated to disc golf, and has a real "country club" feel, with benches and chairs on every teebox, as well as brooms and fire extinguishers on almost every hole.

This hilly setting allows for a great variety of uphill and downhill fairways, and of course a number of treacherously fast greens. Shot shaping is at a premium with many side-hill pin positions, forcing the thrower to consider not only the shot trajectory but also the landing angle. Good variety between each of the multiple pin positions featured on each hole, with some of the C positions being truly nasty, such as hole 4, which plays to ~380 ft in length with about a 30ft gain in elevation, the pin tucked back in a small grove of trees.
Cons: Tee signage is adequate but could stand to be re-done, as there have been numerous new positions installed since the signs were produced. About a third of the holes basically require a forward spotter due to the blind nature of the fairway and the possibility for a random roll-away.

There's one hole - #15 - that doesn't have a wide enough fairway for regular air shots due to the density of the trees. If you've got a 240ft overhand shot, it's birdieable, but the hole is otherwise unfair.

Other Thoughts: The time of year plays a big role in determining just how bad the "Napa Roll" can be- if you're playing in the summer or fall, the ground is hard and barren of vegetation, but the spring grasses can sometimes help stop a runaway roller.

Despite all the hard knocks this course gets for what are deemed to be 'random rollaways', the reality is that almost all of those rolls can be minimized if the player executes a shot with the proper landing angle. The exception is having a putt spit through the chains and roll 200 feet away, which is just plain horrible luck.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Napa Skyline

1    11/11/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice retreat into the hills of Napa. Better players rave about the challenge. Great exercize, some of it by accident. Good test of all DG shot making skills.
Cons: Not a fun course for newbs. Very frustrating if don't have a lot of control or shot selections in your bag. Except for the tee boxes, not many level stances on the course - hard to generate power and throw with much confidence. Can be unfair even for the best players because of the rediculous rolls you can get on any given hole. It is a hike to get to the first tee, but that's not a big deal (at least not for me). There is a $5 per car parking fee, again, not a problem for me.
Other Thoughts: 2 friends and I happened to play with a couple of the course caretakers, possibly the course designers as well. They helpd in the location of pins, when they weren't obvious, but the course is pretty well marked and flows well. My freinds are better than me (by quite a bit) and they enjoyed the challenge, whereas I (about 1 month of DG experience) had little fun outside the company. I wasn't throwing well (even for my meager standards), but even with my few quality throws, I found frustration. I had an approach shot land within 10 feet of the basket - only to watch it roll 100 feet or so down a hill, behind some trees costing me 3 strokes just to get back near the basket. Not fun. I'll give it another try someday after I get a few more shots in the bag. The "guides" showed several quality shots including some Tomahawks (nearly required on a couple holes). If you have decent control and a good set of shot options, it's worth the challenge.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Hike in Wine Country...

1    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: mjheckman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well thought-out challenging course. All tee pads have clear direction of each pin as well as direction to the next tee pad. All pads have brooms and fire-extinguishers (NO SMOKING ANYWHERE) due to the dry conditions. The course is rolling hills and you will be guaranteed a good work-out; especially when you have to chase down your disc! It's fun to see how many deer you can find hiding in the underbrush and the giant hawks flying overhead are beautiful.
Cons: If you're gonna play this course play it early in the morning when the winds are calm; it's challenging enough without wind gusts.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to the ask the ranger at the park entrance for directions to the course. It can be a little tuff to find the trail-head that leads to the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.