Fairfield, ME 
Skyriders DGC Share
Uploaded By: nstraz Hole #14 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 well maintained, interesting course

1    7/17/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: digitsguy@msn.com
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. very well maintained
2. interesting layout
3.chairs, covered trash can at each tee.
4.incredible pine tree in middle of one hole....fascinating and awe-inspiring
5. good footing on tees [slightly elevated, wood or trex construction]
Cons: Tees are shaped nicely...they COULD be about 8 inches longer, as my playing partner ran out of room on a couple of tees....I did not have that problem,,,but some folks who use a big run-up on teeing off may be affected slightly
Other Thoughts: i am looking forward to coming back to Maine again and play so more!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open but challenging

2-4    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: ErixTheRed
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course demonstrates proper use of trees. The fairways are open and have strategically placed trees that force you to make good shots. You wont have to play thread-the-trees all day like you do at many other courses.
Cons: It can get a little swampy and the tees aren't in perfect shape.
The front nine has very generous pars. I played the worst round of my life on my first time there and was still -4 halfway through.
The arrows at the tee and on various trees are not the best at navigating players through the course. Don't expect a lot until you're used to the layout.
Other Thoughts: To me this course really is the ideal mix of trees and open space. Additionally, the rough is dense and can get pretty tough to get out of. Throw smart.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 love this course

2-4    5/15/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: hotdam
Played: 55  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: tee sign's and distance are marked on wood sign's .tee pads are in good shape . the course is not done so I liked it the front 9 is not hard or easy but the back 9 is no joke !!!!! Be smart off the tee or pay for it this course well make you a better player it forces you to make shots and be safe all in one ..I well be back to play this course every year I go back to maine .. pro shop in the works

Cons: I well wait till the course is done before I write anything here
Other Thoughts: this is great course it well be around for a long time...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This course will make you earn the low scores.

5+    11/30/2013   4/29/2010
Review By: davistd0
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just played for the first time in over a year. Have to bump my previous 3.5 rating to a 4.0

Each tee has hole information (fairway shape, hole number, par, and distance) carved into wood signs.

Every tee is now a slightly elevated wooden box. Looks/fells like sand-blasted coating which is grippy and looks/plays very well. This is a big improvement from the previous gravel tees. All 18 are the same size and are plenty big enough.

Great hole variety ranging from a few crushing drives off the tee to some controlled shots. Lines for beginners and pros.

Only $5 lets you play all day.

There are 2 baskets at the start to practice putting on.

Owner lives on site and is very friendly and helpful.

Course is very clean. Fairways are clean.
Cons: No stocked club house.

1 or 2 of the fairways have a lot of stumps and holes, which can be treacherous on the foot work when trying to reach the basket from afar.

A few soggy areas after heavy rain and in the spring. These areas are mostly avoidable.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on the long fairways that snake through the woods. Often you can see the basket from 450 ft away or more and it looks close enough to reach... until your driver tree-bounces into the DEEP rough. Play a little conservative and your score will be 3 or 4 shots better for it.

Course is in excellent shape and is a blast to play.

With Quaker HIll only 10 minutes away, these 2 courses make a great pairing for a day of golf.

I wish I had taken a few pictures of the new tees to post because they are beautiful.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.