Cordele, GA
GA Veterans State Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #17
5 / --   5 / 560ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
GA Veterans, We Salute You

1    4/22/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The GA Veterans State Park is home to a variety of things to do, but the only one I took advantage of was disc golf. There is a lovely lake, camping, bicycle rentals, a ball golf course, a veterans monument and several examples of vintage military planes and armored vehicles. The grounds were very nicely kept and the rangers I spoke with were all quite friendly.

The disc golf course was very playable, with a simple to follow layout, and is not adjacent to any facilities used by other park patrons. There is no elevation changes or water hazards, and while there are many trees on most holes, as long as you hit your lines, the fairways usually provide ample flight paths for a disc. There are some lengthy holes, but generally I found the posted scores to be more generous than most courses. I wasn't playing great, but I did have three twos on the scorecard, and my final score was under par by three or four strokes.

The tee boxes were all concrete, and each one had a sign. The baskets were all present and in order. Scorecards are available in the main office, as well as some Disc Golf products for sale. All in all it was a fun and fast round of disc golf, with the wind being the most challenging aspect.

Cons: The entrance fee to the park was $5, and green fees for the disc golf course was $3 more (or maybe vice versa), which is sort of a steep price for a very average course IMO. The tee pads were smaller than I like, and the edges of the fairways were cluttered with down branches and debris on much of the front 9. The wind was blowing pretty hard throughout my round. Some of the holes seemed to have another very similar hole elsewhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: The GA Veterans State Park is quite nice, but as far as disc golf goes there are a lot of courses in Georgia that I would recommend before this one. Unless you are seeking new courses to play, or live nearby, I can't say this is a destination you should go out of your way to visit, although it is a complete and very well kept course. Another notch in the belt, but nothing to write home about. Reminds me of: Honey Creek DGC without water, cabins, campgrounds and other recreational facilities in play so near the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Great, But not bad either

1    10/13/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Well defined fairways on just about every hole
2) A mix of technical and long bomb holes
3) Lots of shade on a sunny day
4) Good use of the land they we're given
5) good flow to the course. Never got lost
6) Adequate signage (seemed a little off on one or two holes...but overall very good
Cons: 1) No benches, trash cans, ect.
2) Gets repetitive at a few points (long straight shots)
3) It is pay to play ($2 for the whole day)

Other Thoughts: Decent course in South Central Georgia. Plays through a pine forest, so theres really only so much that you can do with the land. Approx. 10 miles form I-75, and is worth the diversion if you're looking for a quick round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 better than other reviews

1    11/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Flow well, no long walks, easy to spot next hole and well marked with all signs intact and fairly accurate.
-Cement tees.
-Well designed, with variety and a mix of terrain, not all tight pine alleys but some open grassy areas and mixed holes.
-Good length, plenty of short holes but more than a couple big driver shots, a few are tight, and one more open 500' hole near the end.
-Clean playing, no ivy/nasty thorns/water hazard.
-*Only course in the southern central part of the whole state* (I guess that's a con, too).
Cons: -Tough to actually find #1 if you don't know the park, and to figure out where you are supposed to pay the park entrance fee and disc golf fee.
-Pay-to-play (I always say it's a con but some don't and that's fine).
-Grass hasn't seen a mower since like last year, up to a foot high in some woods fairways, full of burrs that stick to you but not thick enough to eat a disc or anything.
-Tees layered with pine needles and need swept off before you throw.
Other Thoughts: With mowed fairways, give it a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/19/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Generous pars with open 400 foot par 4s and one open 500 foot par 5 (This is a pro for me)
-Numerous birdie opportunities
-Mix of moderately wooded and open holes.
-Concrete Tee pads and good signs
-Course flows well ending back at the beginning and no one will ever have any problem finding the next tee.
- Very fair to southpaws.
Cons: -Very Flat.
-Because of the lack of elevation change and the similar foliage, holes could be considered monotonous.
-Lots of ant hills and tons of nats in the summer.
Other Thoughts: GA Veterans State Park is plenty of fun for a beginning to moderate player and has enough obstacles for the advanced player. About the only trees, you will see are Georgia pines so the wooded holes tend to be similar to each other. This is not helped by the lack of elevation in the Cordele area. I would not be surprised to see no more than two foot elevation difference in the whole course. The open holes stay mowed and you will frequently have a view of the remote controlled airplane enthusiasts in the open field beside 11, 17 and 18. The open holes are long enough for the long arm players but the pars are generous enough not to discourage a player with a short drive. Be prepared to come out with some ant bites. Even if you say out of the biggest ant hills I have ever seen, you will still see ants crawling on your freshly thrown discs. If you throw a long drive and see it land with no roll and a cloud of dust you will know you just hit an ant hill. Also if you have never been below the Nat-line in Georgia, be prepared to have them all around you for the majority of the course in the hotter summer months.
Another thing to consider is the pay requirements for this course. GA Veterans State Park has a three dollar park fee but it is not always taken. Three out of the four times I have been, there is no one taking money but a sign that says to drop the money in the drop box at the parking lot. The disc golf course lot does not have a drop box so I don't pay. I asked the person at the gas station across from the park and she said that no one pays unless a person is working the booth. Also the sign says that a two dollar all day playing fee is required but I have never met anyone that has paid or even knows how to pay. I paid 3 dollars once and nothing the other three times. Bring some cash, but chances are you will not need it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.