Disc Golf Store
Cordele, GA 
GA Veterans State Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #17
5 / --   5 / 560ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun

5+    3/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: carpan09
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: 1. Fun
2. clean
3. usually not crowded
4. good teeboxes and markings
5. mostly shaded
Cons: 1. seems like millions of trees
2. long par 5
3. pay to play
4. some of the plant life is annoying
5. OB is really close to the fairway
Other Thoughts: Good course that is worth the play if you are around the area. On a bad day the trees here can make it a catastrophic day

 GA Veterans, We Salute You

1    4/22/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The GA Veterans State Park is home to a variety of things to do, but the only one I took advantage of was disc golf. There is a lovely lake, camping, bicycle rentals, a ball golf course, a veterans monument and several examples of vintage military planes and armored vehicles. The grounds were very nicely kept and the rangers I spoke with were all quite friendly.

The disc golf course was very playable, with a simple to follow layout, and is not adjacent to any facilities used by other park patrons. There is no elevation changes or water hazards, and while there are many trees on most holes, as long as you hit your lines, the fairways usually provide ample flight paths for a disc. There are some lengthy holes, but generally I found the posted scores to be more generous than most courses. I wasn't playing great, but I did have three twos on the scorecard, and my final score was under par by three or four strokes.

The tee boxes were all concrete, and each one had a sign. The baskets were all present and in order. Scorecards are available in the main office, as well as some Disc Golf products for sale. All in all it was a fun and fast round of disc golf, with the wind being the most challenging aspect.

Cons: The entrance fee to the park was $5, and green fees for the disc golf course was $3 more (or maybe vice versa), which is sort of a steep price for a very average course IMO. The tee pads were smaller than I like, and the edges of the fairways were cluttered with down branches and debris on much of the front 9. The wind was blowing pretty hard throughout my round. Some of the holes seemed to have another very similar hole elsewhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: The GA Veterans State Park is quite nice, but as far as disc golf goes there are a lot of courses in Georgia that I would recommend before this one. Unless you are seeking new courses to play, or live nearby, I can't say this is a destination you should go out of your way to visit, although it is a complete and very well kept course. Another notch in the belt, but nothing to write home about. Reminds me of: Honey Creek DGC without water, cabins, campgrounds and other recreational facilities in play so near the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Great, But not bad either

1    10/13/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Well defined fairways on just about every hole
2) A mix of technical and long bomb holes
3) Lots of shade on a sunny day
4) Good use of the land they we're given
5) good flow to the course. Never got lost
6) Adequate signage (seemed a little off on one or two holes...but overall very good
Cons: 1) No benches, trash cans, ect.
2) Gets repetitive at a few points (long straight shots)
3) It is pay to play ($2 for the whole day)

Other Thoughts: Decent course in South Central Georgia. Plays through a pine forest, so theres really only so much that you can do with the land. Approx. 10 miles form I-75, and is worth the diversion if you're looking for a quick round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 GA Veterans Memorial

1    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: rocinron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, course flow, very beginner friendly, accurate tee signs
Cons: A few baskets' chains were tangled and couldnt fix them so I think the upkeep may be low, lots of pine branches and pinecones throughout fairways. maybe a little too easy for any experienced player, mosquitos
Other Thoughts: Has a few holes that are dead straight and lined with pines so it makes for a accurate shot. Hole 17 was the lone high calibur hole on the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/29/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 100  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty park in south central Georgia.
The course is very well laid out with wide variety of shots required. The course was in very good shape the day I played with all grass mowed and no thorns or poison ivy seen. There were also some nice white wild flowers blooming all around the course. Navagateing the course pretty much intutive, I did not have to go for longg walks to find the next tee. Nice signs at each tee pad face the direction of to throw. If you could read the sign you were faceing the fairway. Allmost every hole had a definite fairway or path to the basket. Tee pad are concrete altho a little on the short side, however they are flush with the ground so no trip hazard for a longer run up. The main obsticles here are the large southern pines with a few oak trees thrown in for variety. The large quanity of trees will be very welcome in the summer georgia heat. Very techinical course with both hyzer and anhyzer shots needed. There are no whimpy holes under 200 feet with a few in the 400 foot range and one long hole 560 feet for the big boys. Hole 17 is the big boy with oak trees lineing the righ side and pines on the left with about 20 feet between them. There are two holes dead straight with pine trees lineing both sides of the fairway with about a 15 foot lane to thow down.
Cons: The biggest con is probably the ant mounds. These are some truly big ant mounds and being Georgia are probably fire ants so you will want to avoid the mounds. There were some mosquitos also. Some trash can and benches would be nice also.
Other Thoughts: Being souther Georgia you will not find evelation changes here, just the nature of the area. However there id planty of fun / challenge available for all here. An accomplished player will find plenty of opertunity for 2s. However there is also plenty of challenge to make the course fun indeed. I thought the posted "par" was reasonable for new / rec players. If you have been playing awhile I would play everything as a 3. This course is not far from I 75 and worth the short diversion.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 better than other reviews

1    11/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Flow well, no long walks, easy to spot next hole and well marked with all signs intact and fairly accurate.
-Cement tees.
-Well designed, with variety and a mix of terrain, not all tight pine alleys but some open grassy areas and mixed holes.
-Good length, plenty of short holes but more than a couple big driver shots, a few are tight, and one more open 500' hole near the end.
-Clean playing, no ivy/nasty thorns/water hazard.
-*Only course in the southern central part of the whole state* (I guess that's a con, too).
Cons: -Tough to actually find #1 if you don't know the park, and to figure out where you are supposed to pay the park entrance fee and disc golf fee.
-Pay-to-play (I always say it's a con but some don't and that's fine).
-Grass hasn't seen a mower since like last year, up to a foot high in some woods fairways, full of burrs that stick to you but not thick enough to eat a disc or anything.
-Tees layered with pine needles and need swept off before you throw.
Other Thoughts: With mowed fairways, give it a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Well Kept

1    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads. Tee markers showing the distance to the basket. 100 foot pine trees. Not crowded...I was the only one there. The holes are close together so it is easy to navigate.
Cons: The course is very "natural"...which is a nice way to say the grass is ankle / calve high every where...including many fairways. Lots of flying bugs and ants. I was covered with little grabby, green seed things. If you go during business hours, you will likely have to pay to enter the state park...I went after 5:00 and didn't see anyone taking money.
Other Thoughts: There aren't a lot of options in South Georgia...but if you have time, I would play some where else. The design is o.k....but the bugs, weeds, and time spend pulling seeds out of my socks made it not worth it to me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

6/27/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Easy to find, just 5 miles from the interstate, located in nice a state park
*Great variety of shots required -- straight holes, hard right turns, hard left turns, long & open, tight & wooded
*2 holes are great tunnel shots with a 15' wide fairway flanked by pine trees on both sides
*Concrete teepads & innova bogey band baskets
*Plenty of shade -- much needed in this part of the state!
Cons: *One set of teepads, one set of baskets....could be drastically improved by adding alternate teepads - makes it a tough course for beginner/intermediate level, fun for advanced level, and shreddable for pro
*Posted pars are off base -- IMHO there is only one par 4, listed as a par 5 (#17 @ 560 ft)
*As Blang mentioned, no elevation changes -- extremely flat -- terrain & foliage on holes get monotonous
*A couple of the holes are missing fairways (hole 4 or 5 is a throw & hope you don't hit a tree type; 18 has no fairway)
Other Thoughts: Blang's review is right on the money for this course. It's a fun beginner/intermediate course set in a south GA pine forest with a couple of open holes (3 open, 15 wooded). Ants & bugs were present, and my legs were covered in hundreds of small black seeds? after playing.

I paid to enter (voluntarily) but not to play -- no signage indicating that you need to pay for DG.

Worth a stop if you're passing through, but definitely not a destination.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/19/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Generous pars with open 400 foot par 4s and one open 500 foot par 5 (This is a pro for me)
-Numerous birdie opportunities
-Mix of moderately wooded and open holes.
-Concrete Tee pads and good signs
-Course flows well ending back at the beginning and no one will ever have any problem finding the next tee.
- Very fair to southpaws.
Cons: -Very Flat.
-Because of the lack of elevation change and the similar foliage, holes could be considered monotonous.
-Lots of ant hills and tons of nats in the summer.
Other Thoughts: GA Veterans State Park is plenty of fun for a beginning to moderate player and has enough obstacles for the advanced player. About the only trees, you will see are Georgia pines so the wooded holes tend to be similar to each other. This is not helped by the lack of elevation in the Cordele area. I would not be surprised to see no more than two foot elevation difference in the whole course. The open holes stay mowed and you will frequently have a view of the remote controlled airplane enthusiasts in the open field beside 11, 17 and 18. The open holes are long enough for the long arm players but the pars are generous enough not to discourage a player with a short drive. Be prepared to come out with some ant bites. Even if you say out of the biggest ant hills I have ever seen, you will still see ants crawling on your freshly thrown discs. If you throw a long drive and see it land with no roll and a cloud of dust you will know you just hit an ant hill. Also if you have never been below the Nat-line in Georgia, be prepared to have them all around you for the majority of the course in the hotter summer months.
Another thing to consider is the pay requirements for this course. GA Veterans State Park has a three dollar park fee but it is not always taken. Three out of the four times I have been, there is no one taking money but a sign that says to drop the money in the drop box at the parking lot. The disc golf course lot does not have a drop box so I don't pay. I asked the person at the gas station across from the park and she said that no one pays unless a person is working the booth. Also the sign says that a two dollar all day playing fee is required but I have never met anyone that has paid or even knows how to pay. I paid 3 dollars once and nothing the other three times. Bring some cash, but chances are you will not need it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.