Fort Dodge, IA 
Snell-Crawford Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tough Course to Review

1    6/6/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The layout on this course is very extreme. It has many different elements which make it a challenge for even the best players.
-The stream is used well as is especially a challenge on holes 3 and 4.
-Elevation is incorporated on holes 1-3, 5-7, and 9.
-The woods here are a fair level of density and the underbrush is unlikely to eat your disc.
Cons: -The baskets are the originals and are crap.
-The layout has changed over time and some of the tees do not aim at the proper basket. The first time I played I shot from the 2nd tee to the 9th basket before getting there and realizing that it was the wrong basket.
-There were sketchy people all over. I played near dusk and was actually scared of being ganged up on by a few guys. I was prepared to run at moments notice. I also have never heard 7 year old boys swear 9 times in a sentence, except here.
-The park just overall doesn't look that good. The steps are in rough shape and are dangerous, the signs are falling over or are vandalized. Trash here and there.
-You really have to watch out for other park users. I waited awhile until hole 3 was clear enough and that shot is tough enough that I was still worried I would hit someone.
-Despite it's condition there are still many players on the course. It can get crowded and cause you to wait.
-The layout could be adjusted a little to make it more smooth. I didn't always know where the next tee was and sometimes when on a tee you have to watch out for people throwing at other holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time giving this course a rank. By layout alone it is one of my favorite 9 holers and a challenge worthy of pretty much any disc golfer. In it's current rundown state it is probably a 2. I went somewhere in the middle to be fair and also to bring the rank up a little bit overall. I have played 0 disc courses before and this is not one of them. It may be in rough condition but the layout is still good. The people of Ft Dodge, no matter how rough, deserve a better course than this one. Overall, I would recommend this course. It will be a history lesson as well as a challenge. I would recommend you to go with at least one other person and not in the evening. Ft Dodge, help this course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  It Has Potential

5+    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: ChickenFD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Great water hazard over many holes.
~Good use of elevation


Cons: ~Dangerous paths. Some stairs are missing, some stairs aren't there at all. Some have fallen trees in the way.
~High traffic. For a few of the holes you have to go right through an area that is almost always populated.
~Every basket is damaged in one way or another. Some are just bent, others are even falling off.
Other Thoughts: ~Another thing I discovered just today, is that on hole number 4 there is a spot where your disc can actually fall out of the basket after it is inside. ~If the city were to maintain the course, it could be fantastic. However right now, it is in sorry shape.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Once a fun course

5+    5/28/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: mostanno
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was a fun course in it's day. I threw it when it was brand new. Didn't even have real plastic then, only frizbees.
There were at least 6 groups playing the course the day I was there. I think only because it's there only choice.
The only Good thing about this course now is the nastalgia.
Cons: Baskets are in the worst shape I've ever seen of any course I've ever seen. Hole #3 basket sits on the ground. Most are all bent up. Some of the concrete under the baskets are getting washed away. Many signs are missing now.
Other cons as listed by Porkchop above.
Other Thoughts: It was great seeing people throwing the course even in the shape the course is in. It's too bad the City has not taken better care of this course. It looks like they are spending about $50,000 or more for new playground equipment. Nine new baskets would only cost about $3600.
I would like to see Ft. Dodge disc golf club finish up the course at Phinney Park so Ft. Dodgers could play on a real course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Course Showing Its Age

1    10/17/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: Porkchop
Played: 132  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Elevation
~ Water Hazards
~ Woods
~ Ample Parking
~ New Tee Signs
Cons: ~ Flow / Layout
~ Old Mach 1 Baskets
~ Hazardous trails / Stairs
Other Thoughts: Snell-Crawford was the second basket courses in the state of Iowa so from historical perspective you would come to expect the course does not stand up to today's disc technology. With this being said there are many issues with the course. First off the baskets are the original targets from 1979 and they have seen better days; most have bent cages or damaged in some way or another. On a couple of holes the original route is very tight, but over the years the locals have made alternate routes. These routes are fairer and better golf shots, but the tee is not pointing in that direction forcing you to throw sideways across the tee. A few holes throw over park roads, one of which the road is pretty much the fairway. For some of the holes you have to walk way out of your way to get to a bridge to cross the creek to get to the pin from the tee. Some of the holes throw directly across another fairway or only a couple of feet from the previous pin. The course has seen better days, including the steps which have become rather dangerous. Overall the course has a terrible design/flow, has some really fluky lines, and is in really rough shape (and dangerous). The day I was there a family was helping their son clean the park as part of his scout project. They installed new tee signs, mulched the fairways and paths in the woods along with the pins and tees, and they painted the edges of the steps with bright construction paint. The work is commendable and I'm glade to see someone step-up and take pride in their parks, but I fear this is not enough to help this course. The land in that park is prime; with a solid re-design it could be an awesome course. For now the course is sub-par and rather unenjoyable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/5/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: Sho-Nuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation.
Scenic.
Some great risk / reward shots.
Challenging.
Fun to Play.
Cons: Course is showing its age.
Only 9 holes.
Layout can be a little confusing.

Other Thoughts: Its got its issues, mostly due to its age. But overall this course is really fun to play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center