Tabernash, CO 
Snow Mountain Ranch YMCA Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 321ft.   4 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/13/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: a54studio
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Has a variety of holes.
Not overcrowded.
Most holes were fun and challengingm
Cons: Tall grass on quite a few holes.
One hole I spent 10 minutes trying to find my disc within a 5 ft radius of the hole.
Being from out of state, we stopped at the desk to get directions to the #1 tee, it took 4 people before one knew they even had a course.
Other Thoughts: Played with my 8 year old daughter who liked the course, but the lack of fairways on most holes punished her short shots by forcing us to dig through the grass. It wouldn't take much for the course to be in good shape though. It isn't too bad if you have long accurate shots though.

Breathtaking views

2-4    7/17/2012   3/22/2013
Review By: Username
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Landscapes mountains in the background, wide open shots, interesting holes, hole 3 and 4 are really interesting. Three has a big stream running from the basket to the tee so your disc can land on either side of bank, and hole four is on top of a huge hill with a huge incline, hole 11 is across this stunning valley
Cons: Hard to navigate if never played before, but not to the extend that you can't play it,
Other Thoughts: Holes are pretty far apart, and the terrain can be extreme,

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/24/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hidden away in a YMCA ranch so theres no crowds. Good technical tree shots. Huge wide open shots too.
Cons: Signs could be better and some baskets have the wrong number on them which makes things more confusing. Dirt tees and funky home made baskets.
Other Thoughts: Once you figure the course out its one of the best in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Continually Being Reworked

1    9/11/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a great location up near mountains in Colorado providing for some amazing views. At the same time there is not a lot of elevation change on this course as there is on a typical mountain course making the hike significantly easier. Each hole provides a unique challenge with very little overlap. It is at a YMCA so there are plenty of other activities for other family members including an indoor pool and what at least used to be an indoor skating rink. There are plenty of accomodations on site, including camping. The locals that take care of this course are a huge blessing (You Rock TOM!!)
Cons: For a course that was so much fun to play it is hard to write a lot in the cons section but there are a lot of cons to this coures. Most of the staff that I talked to at the YMCA had no clue as to where the course was. It made it hard to find the night before the tournament I played here. The baskets were perhaps the worst part of the course, but lets be honest the course has been here for a very long time with not much love from the YMCA. Older single chain baskets had trouble catching discs and the custom baskets that are at this course, despite their pleasant appearance had just as much trouble with very poor basket design. The tees are natural and were apparently well taken care of four the tournament that I was playing in and yet still on the poor side as far as tee boxes are concerned. Navigation is going to be an issue. Not even Tom, the TD had a course map for this course and you are certain not to find one at the YMCA buildings. There were some wood steaks put in the ground to help during the tournament but I am not sure they are always there. Even still it would have been hard to figure out where to go if I had not been playing with people who had played it the night before.
Other Thoughts: So I used to go to this YMCA all the time as a kid and when we drove up for a tournament, no one in my family even recognized the place. Beatle kill has literally devestated the land at the YMCA and made this course a mere shadow of its former self. There is hope that trees will grow back over time and with a good base of local players including Tom who keeps this course evolving every year to make the most of what is there this course will continue to get better. Despite all the problems it is still a very fun course to play and one that I will come back to. I figure the more people that come to play this course, the more the YMCA will have to spend money on it to improve it so you should go play this course if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 YMCA

1    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The ymca hooked this coarse up. Good homemade baskets and long. They let you open your arm up, but it gets real tight at times
Cons: no dogs, but if yours doesn't go after the Clydesdales you should be fine

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good mnt. course

2-4    8/6/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very scenic. I have had a great time both times i have played here. Long drives. Very nice layout.
Cons: High winds the first time I played here.
Other Thoughts: marking could be better. we were lucky to run into a local by hole #7. next round was easy to follow.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: villup
Played: 101  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course 20 holes. Look for hole 7B after #7 and then a long tee for #8. Wooden stakes in the ground point to the next tee. Course sometimes changes due to logging, but there are still plenty of pines to get stuck in. Medium length course; longest hole about 450' and the shortest about 230'. Nice elevation change and beautiful scenery. Fun, challenging course.
Cons: No really tight wooded holes but still easy to lose a disc if you don't watch it. Course sometimes changes so watch for the wooden stakes in the ground that point to the next tee. Sometimes they are hard to see at first.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Snow Mountain Ranch YMCA

8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Incredible location with beautiful scenery and a good variety of elevation and concentration of trees. Free to play.
Cons: Back 9 unplayable due to logging. Course is very poorly marked and lacks tee signs and directional markers on most holes. Tall grass and thick vegetation makes losing discs probable if you don't see where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: If you want a course map to help you find your way, one can be found in the Programs Building.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape of pine forest surrounded by tall mountains. Mix of everything from open, to extremely tight to moderately wooded. Free to play. Has some longer holes good for ripping drives over trees. 7 miles from another course.
Cons: Kind of in the middle of nowhere, takes a long time to get here if not on your route. Not very well marked-but is navigable.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out, especially if you're headed to the Winter Park area or course 7 miles away.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.