Disc Golf Store
Huntsville, UT 
Snowbasin Share



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Underrated

2-4    8/3/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: The course is just a short trip up the canyon from Ogden and offers some great views in the mountains with a lot of fresh air.

They just installed (today) new rubber tee pads that are really nice. Fully framed and solid for throwing. It's a huge improvement from what was there previously. The amateur pads are still wood chips, but that's acceptable to me.

The staff is extremely helpful in providing a course map and directions.

They make pretty good use of elevation changes. You get a couple uphill (Holes 1 and 5) throws and a few downhill (6, 8 and 9) with some level ones mixed in.

Tee signs are very helpful. They make it easy to determine where the baskets are, (not that it's hard they are almost all out in the wide open). The distance ratings seem off to me though, the holes were really short.
Cons: The course is kind of bitter sweet. They had all this potential and instead they only utilize trees on holes 5 and 7, the rest are wide open shots, most of which can be hit with your mid or putter. Even the elevation shots downhill are so short that I overthrew them with my putter (6 and 8).

The baskets are Disc Catcher temp baskets with one ring of chains. Again, so close but flopping at the end. I only chained out on one hole in two rounds but still.

The new tee pads are a tad short. This doesn't matter too much as you don't need a runup on most of the holes, but on the ones you may want one they are about a foot or two short. Not a huge con.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was pleasantly surprised with this course. It's not amazing by any means, but it is certainly better than the 2.08 it had at this writing. Even without the new tee pads I'd have rated it a solid 2.5+ so with them it gets a 3.

The course is being re-designed in the spring, at which time this course review will be out-dated anyhow. They are only planning to do 9 holes still which is disappointing.

dull

1    11/18/2012   3/12/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Free bottom loop
-Good mountain air and nice views
-Not many pros to name except that technically, it is actual disc golf with ok baskets and poor tee pads
Cons: If you love challenging and creative course design, don't bother with this course. Wide open and uninteresting. Plus the native plants grow tall out in the open so you can watch your disc land and still spend 15 min looking. The tragic part is that there are wooded areas in abundance close by. Plenty of scenic beauty and potential. This course just needs to be relocated into the pines and redesigned by a knowledgeable player/designer who is familiar with risk/reward and obstacles.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Like a child painting on an expensive canvas

1    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: kingk6
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The scenery is gorgeous. The tee signs are easy to find and they have great info on them regarding hole distance and elevation change. The course does seem to flow and only a few pins were tough to find from the tee boxes.

The pins do have pink flags on top which make them much easier to see than unmarked pins.
Cons: The tee pads are abysmal. They're a mix between wood chips, good-sized rocks, and black tarp. The brush isn't too long, but will irritate your calves if you're wearing shorts. There are no garbage bins to be seen, or benches at any of the tee boxes.

The course is also uncreatively designed. Aside from two tucked-away pins, each hole is a straight shot to the basket, and few holes are longer than 300 ft. It could qualify as a pitch-n-putt dg course, if there was such a thing.
Other Thoughts: I only played the first 9 (at the bottom of the hill) so I don't know if paying the gondola fee would be worth it to play the upper 9, but if the lower 9 is any indication, save your money and just play the lower 9 twice - or not.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

wasted potential

1    7/17/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stunning views
am and pro tees
Flourescent number signs to find next tee
score cards with map
tee signs with distance
Cons: Complete lack of imagination in hole design--every hole, except two of them, is just a wide open shot without a single obstacle between the tee and the basket

However, even though there are no obstacles, there is a huge potential to lose a disc in the tall grass. We did not lose any discs, but we were very careful to keep an eye on our shots.
Other Thoughts: There has been an effort to mow a narrow fairway and I really appreciate the work that has gone into this free course. The wood chip teepads are more than adequate. We had a good time (I took my nieces and nephews), but I just can't give a rating higher than 2 because of the boring and unimaginative hole design since, to me, that is the most important aspect of a disc golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 best 9 hole course you've played

1    6/29/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wow! talk about existing under the radar. 9 wonderful holes along the base on snow basin. for free!
ample elevation change! is at foot of ski slope after all. good mix of longer and shorter holes. a creek behind one of the early holes to dunk your hat in.
feet markers are alarmingly accurate!
plenty of trees.
just everything you could hope for in a 9 hole free dg course at the base of a ski slope!
Cons: ummmm, only 9 holes?
but guess what, you can play them twice, for free.
the real issue is that if you were ever in this region of earth, you would play Solitude for sure.
Other Thoughts: came here not knowing what to expect and had a gorgeous time.
8th course out of 9 on week long road trip, in no way a disappointment!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

1    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: JohnnyB
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice area, beautiful views.
Cons: The tee pads are a small patch of concave dirt with large rocks protruding. If you manage to drive without breaking your ankle consider yourself lucky.
The majority of the holes are short, expect to park most shots within 20' of the basket. That in no way effects how quick you'll play your round. The course is so overgrown that you'll be searching for that parked shot for 10-30 minutes. If you find your disc at all.
It took over 2 hours with 3 lost discs to finish nine holes.
Other Thoughts: The area has tons of potential and a few of the hole layouts weren't that bad.
This is a challenging course, much in the way that tennis would be a greater challenge if you were forced to play with a spoon.
As it stands the course is unacceptable in my book. They need to get some real teepads and at the very least trim down the 5' tall grass from the fairways and greens.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Basin

5+    8/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Justin H
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is located on an upscale ski resort with million dollar logdes and restrooms to match. A resturaunt is located at the top. disc golf equipment is available to rent. free score cards when you buy a lift pass. Beautiful environment for dgolf. The bottom loop is free to play.
Cons: high price for a lift ticket to only play nine holes. The fee seems to be going up every year.
- Discatcher sports.
-rough, undeveloped tee pads
Other Thoughts: course was redesigned in 2007. The new design is big improvement from what was almost an impossible layout.
this course has the potential to be world class, someday.
Great get away for other activities too.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.