Indianapolis, IN 
Sahm Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 339ft.   4 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Learner's course

1    10/8/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This would be a good course for a beginner to play. There are a few holes with decent distance but nothing that is excessively long (everything under 400'.)
Plenty of shots that give a person an ace run (and I actually got one, only my 2nd ever, on hole 9.)
This course is pretty easy to navigate, with only a couple of holes where the basket isn't visible from the tee.
The course is easy to find and is in a nice, safe setting.
Cons: The baskets are in kind of rough shape. They're old and rusty. The chains do OK but the older style is shallow and it's easy to have a disc go in and spin back out of the basket.
There has been damage done to the course, as there are almost no signs available. While the baskets all have the numbers listed atop them, if the teepads weren't in close proximity to the previous baskets you'd have no way of knowing where you were going.
Very little to no elevation change and most holes are fairly wide open. Holes 5/14-8/17 are the most challenging. Five is a blind shot that turns around the woods (the only real time the woods come into play, although you do have them to the left on the next hole,) and six and seven may require you to keep it low on approaches.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good place for a person to learn the game, as there are few obstacles, limited places to lose discs, and no overly long holes to discourage a person who hasn't gained distance yet, but given the opportunities nearby I don't think anyone would make this a regular stop. Nearby is The Hill in Carmel (which is only slightly more difficult but far more picturesque with brand new baskets,) and Hazel Landing, which I think will soon be considered one of the best in the Indianapolis area if not all of Indiana.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

1    10/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My wife and I played this 9 hole course on a whim just to burn time. It provided ample entertainment for a quick 30 minute round. The course weaves through some very mature trees which made it at least interesting. Signage was decent and we found the course quite easy to navigate. Concrete tees were in good shape.
Cons: The baskets are quite old and corroded. This is not a terribly challenging course once you've played it a few times so a beginner could quickly outgrow it.
Several trees need cut down in the course. It's only a matter of time before several fall.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again, but if I'm in the area and have time to kill, I'd definitely come back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Of the 9 hole courses with dual tee pads in this area, I found Sahm to be more challenging than the others (Morse Beach & Biddle Park). It has more length and requires more skilled shots to get your birdies. The course plays through numerous large, mature trees. There's a little undergrowth an errant should could encounter on a few holes, but I didn't find it to be very thick. With holes ranging in length from about 260 - 370, there's a good variety of hole lengths here.
Cons: I was a bit concerned about safety at this course. While holes 1/10, 7/16, 8/17 & 9/18 aren't extremely close to the road, they're still close enough a bad drive could easily end up there.

Like the other 9 hole courses in this area, the second pad rarely changes the shot and there isn't a lot of shot diversity.

Some of the tee signs weren't in very good condition, they only list distance and don't have a hole diagram. Thankfully it's easy to figure out what basket you're shooting at so this wasn't a problem.

The baskets look old and rusted but catch just fine and that's the important part.

The course was nice and dry when I was here since we haven't had much rain recently. I saw no problems with standing water or a muddy course on my visit.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course has a bit for everyone. There's little rough so newer players shouldn't have a problem losing discs, but it's long enough to not be a birdie fest for more advanced players. While this is certainly no destination course, it's close proximity to the highway would make it a nice stop to stretch your legs while passing by.

I want to rate this course a 2.5 because I really did enjoy it, but the lack of shot selection and safety concerns make me keep it to a 2.0.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Really 18 Holes...

2-4    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent amount of trees to provide obstacles
-Concrete teepads
-Two different teepads per hole to make 18 (most of the teepads make the holes a little different rather than just adding distance)
-Pretty easy to navigate
-The few times I've played there it has never seemed very crowded
Cons: -I find it a little decieving to label this course as a 18 hole course, while each hole does have two different teepads, I don't feel like each teepad makes each hole different enough to call this an 18 hole course, because there are not 18 distinct holes here at this course
-The baskets are old and rusted and look like they could use replacing sometime soon
-The tee signs are absolutely aweful. They are all either really faded away or have holes in them, and they give you no usefule information about the holes. Some of the teepads don't even have tee signs with them.
-There are definitely some muddy and wet spots on this course so don't wear your best shoes.
-Holes 7,8,9 play right along side a pretty busy road that could lead to some dangerous situations if a bad shot is made.
Other Thoughts: Even though this isn't the greatest course I have ever played it is still a fun place to stop for a quick round. This course is in need a quite a lot of maintenance, and said maintenance would really help to improve this course. If you are in the area and looking for a quick round this is a decent place to stop, but unlike the page says don't really expect a full 18 hole course rather nine holes with two teepads per hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/10/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good for a quick round
-Navigation through the course is pretty easy
Cons: -Most holes are rather short, not much variety in distance
-Only 9 holes (dual tee pads don't alter the play much)
-Not much variety in holes, shot types

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for beginners

1    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of big trees to make it a harder pitch and putt. Good use of the land for a nine hole. dual tees to make it a little different the second time through.
Cons: Short holes and very old rusted baskets. Tee signs need a lot of help.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Condition Course that's fun to play

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's a nice, clean park with mature trees as the description says, I enjoyed the natural/scenic aspect of this course.
- The people in Indiana are so nice! I found this to be true in the other courses I played here as well. Very forgiving and helpful and just overall nice people.
Cons: - The signs and baskets are all rusty and falling apart (I'll upload pictures when I get back from my road trip)
- Tons of people + only 9 holes = discs flying everywhere and lots of waiting and rushing = not too fun.
- The last 3 holes/baskets were right by a road with a lot of traffic. I was really worried about hitting the cars or landing on the road that I always completely messed up my shots. :/
-Didn't take advantage of the whole park. This park had potential, but it didn't really live up to it's potential.
-The dual tees don't really add anything to it. They're only about 10 feet apart.
Other Thoughts: I played this course after I played Dr. James A Dillon course and it's more wooded but that's about it...if you're in the area, go to JAD park and spend your time there. :)

Some pics of the park for those interested:
Basket 4/13. Pretty rusted and bad condition. :(
http://i26.tinypic.com/iyio7d.jpg
Sign 5. Again...bad condition.
http://i31.tinypic.com/2z9dsaa.jpg
View from 5th Tee
http://i29.tinypic.com/acfvr6.jpg

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to cut your teeth on. Most of the holes are pretty easy. Even though it has dual tee pads and they are relatively close together you have to play the holes slightly differently from each tee pad.
Cons: Almost completely flat. Very muddy when it rains. Bring your bug spray. Fairways are right next to each other so you have to watch out for players that are teeing off on an adjacent fairway.
Other Thoughts: There are a decent amount of trees on the course and you have to take them into account on a few holes right off the tee pad. Overall this isn't a great course for those that have played for a while and not worth going out of your way to play. There are other courses in the Indy area that I would recommend over this course. One of which is Dr James A Dillon Park in Noblesville.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not that fun

5/30/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of trees creating a challenge on certain holes.
Cons: No elevation, often wet and muddy after rain, not much variety on shots, not much fun.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 2 miles from my house, yet I've played every other course in Indy much more than this one. This just isn't a great course, I usually don't play the 18, just the 9 since it's just dual tees.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.