Indianapolis, IN
Sahm Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 350ft.   4 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Learner's course

1    10/8/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: This would be a good course for a beginner to play. There are a few holes with decent distance but nothing that is excessively long (everything under 400'.)
Plenty of shots that give a person an ace run (and I actually got one, only my 2nd ever, on hole 9.)
This course is pretty easy to navigate, with only a couple of holes where the basket isn't visible from the tee.
The course is easy to find and is in a nice, safe setting.
Cons: The baskets are in kind of rough shape. They're old and rusty. The chains do OK but the older style is shallow and it's easy to have a disc go in and spin back out of the basket.
There has been damage done to the course, as there are almost no signs available. While the baskets all have the numbers listed atop them, if the teepads weren't in close proximity to the previous baskets you'd have no way of knowing where you were going.
Very little to no elevation change and most holes are fairly wide open. Holes 5/14-8/17 are the most challenging. Five is a blind shot that turns around the woods (the only real time the woods come into play, although you do have them to the left on the next hole,) and six and seven may require you to keep it low on approaches.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good place for a person to learn the game, as there are few obstacles, limited places to lose discs, and no overly long holes to discourage a person who hasn't gained distance yet, but given the opportunities nearby I don't think anyone would make this a regular stop. Nearby is The Hill in Carmel (which is only slightly more difficult but far more picturesque with brand new baskets,) and Hazel Landing, which I think will soon be considered one of the best in the Indianapolis area if not all of Indiana.

Needs some work

5+    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 63  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 grippy baskets - starting to rust. Could be replaced. Hole #s are listed on the basket.

2 concrete tees per hole. Alternate tees are listed as holes 10-18. Hole number spray painted on tees.

Variety - course is not completely flat. 1, 2, and 9 have slight uphill shots. Hole 3 has a slight downhill shot. Most holes around 250-350 feet. Hole 6/15 is the longest hole. One hole (including alternate tee) has a blind shot.

Not too challenging but can be more difficult than it looks.

Beginner friendly. I learned how to play using this course. Enough trees to be challenging.

Bench after hole 5 / 14 that is in the shade. A few trash cans.

Quick play. Great for practice. Easy to get to.

Easy to navigate. If tied with another player after 9 or 18 holes, you can play holes 1-3 for a quick tie breaker loop and would end next to parking lot.

Room to expand.
Cons: Several trees have been removed due to the emerald ashbore bug. Most significant on hole 4. No longer the difficult "thread the needle" hole that it used to be.

Signs need replaced or at least updates so they can last years to come. Only a few still standing and readable.

Alternate tees (holes 10-18) do not bring much change to the original holes. Hole 16 and 18 are much longer. Others are within 25 feet of the original tee pad.

Holes 7-9 (16-18) run along the road. I've hit a few cars in my day. Obvious danger factor of getting hit or hitting a car.

Easy to throw into a different fairway on holes 8 (17) and 5 (14). Fairways border each other.

Course can become very muddy along holes 3-5, 8 & 9 after rain. A small temporary water hazard can remain after a heavy rain on hole 7.

Course could use a few new trees to add to challenge factor.
Other Thoughts: Before the trees were removed I would rate this course a 3. If the signs were replaced, baskets were replaced, and a few more trees were planted (to replace the old ones, this course could be at least a 3 out of 5.

There is enough room to expand this course to a full 18 holes but the holes would be mostly flat with similar mature trees. There could be some holes in the woods but the park doesn't want any trees cut down to make fairways.

There is a pavilion for family events next to hole 1 basket. At times they take over the area around hole 1 and tee for hole 2. Can be unplayable if so.

This course is aimed towards beginner/intermediate players. If this course is too difficult, try Lawrence Inlow park to the north. If it is too easy,

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

1    10/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My wife and I played this 9 hole course on a whim just to burn time. It provided ample entertainment for a quick 30 minute round. The course weaves through some very mature trees which made it at least interesting. Signage was decent and we found the course quite easy to navigate. Concrete tees were in good shape.
Cons: The baskets are quite old and corroded. This is not a terribly challenging course once you've played it a few times so a beginner could quickly outgrow it.
Several trees need cut down in the course. It's only a matter of time before several fall.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again, but if I'm in the area and have time to kill, I'd definitely come back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Course

1    12/10/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - No risk of losing discs
- Can play full 18 in under 1 hour
- great mid-range workout
- fairly technical, must hit gap to score well
Cons: - horrible drainage, first few days after a rain are muddy and have "lakes" in play on some holes.
-old baskets, must hit perfect putt to stay in, while great for practice, is frustrating while playing the round.
- hole 7/16, 9/18 require a RHBH slight anny, or a RHFH toss. Running right next to the road is concerning/frustrating. When it's busy there are constant cars, which REALLY disrupts my tosses.
Other Thoughts: It's an average course, in a nice area. I love that I can take just my putter, mid-range and a couple fairway drivers and get some good work in. Looks like it should be an easy course, but the trees are fairly well placed and do require a bit of accuracy to the hole. There are normally multiple paths to the basket, which does make it a bit easier. The baskets are old, so my putting confidence is less here than other course, which makes it a great practice course.
- No chance of losing a disc, which is a nice comfort compared to some other courses around.
- With the second set of tees (forming the 18 holes), 5 basically just add some length to the same line (most cause a different disc to be needed, which changes the toss for me). 2 are further on the same line, but much tougher to hit the gap, and 2 completely change the line I throw (hyzer to anny and straight to hyzer)

This is not a destination course, or even a drive out of your way. But if you happen to be at the mall, and want to get away, or you need a sub-1 hour chance to throw at some baskets, this is the perfect course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Of the 9 hole courses with dual tee pads in this area, I found Sahm to be more challenging than the others (Morse Beach & Biddle Park). It has more length and requires more skilled shots to get your birdies. The course plays through numerous large, mature trees. There's a little undergrowth an errant should could encounter on a few holes, but I didn't find it to be very thick. With holes ranging in length from about 260 - 370, there's a good variety of hole lengths here.
Cons: I was a bit concerned about safety at this course. While holes 1/10, 7/16, 8/17 & 9/18 aren't extremely close to the road, they're still close enough a bad drive could easily end up there.

Like the other 9 hole courses in this area, the second pad rarely changes the shot and there isn't a lot of shot diversity.

Some of the tee signs weren't in very good condition, they only list distance and don't have a hole diagram. Thankfully it's easy to figure out what basket you're shooting at so this wasn't a problem.

The baskets look old and rusted but catch just fine and that's the important part.

The course was nice and dry when I was here since we haven't had much rain recently. I saw no problems with standing water or a muddy course on my visit.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course has a bit for everyone. There's little rough so newer players shouldn't have a problem losing discs, but it's long enough to not be a birdie fest for more advanced players. While this is certainly no destination course, it's close proximity to the highway would make it a nice stop to stretch your legs while passing by.

I want to rate this course a 2.5 because I really did enjoy it, but the lack of shot selection and safety concerns make me keep it to a 2.0.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Really 18 Holes...

2-4    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: -Decent amount of trees to provide obstacles
-Concrete teepads
-Two different teepads per hole to make 18 (most of the teepads make the holes a little different rather than just adding distance)
-Pretty easy to navigate
-The few times I've played there it has never seemed very crowded
Cons: -I find it a little decieving to label this course as a 18 hole course, while each hole does have two different teepads, I don't feel like each teepad makes each hole different enough to call this an 18 hole course, because there are not 18 distinct holes here at this course
-The baskets are old and rusted and look like they could use replacing sometime soon
-The tee signs are absolutely aweful. They are all either really faded away or have holes in them, and they give you no usefule information about the holes. Some of the teepads don't even have tee signs with them.
-There are definitely some muddy and wet spots on this course so don't wear your best shoes.
-Holes 7,8,9 play right along side a pretty busy road that could lead to some dangerous situations if a bad shot is made.
Other Thoughts: Even though this isn't the greatest course I have ever played it is still a fun place to stop for a quick round. This course is in need a quite a lot of maintenance, and said maintenance would really help to improve this course. If you are in the area and looking for a quick round this is a decent place to stop, but unlike the page says don't really expect a full 18 hole course rather nine holes with two teepads per hole.

 Could use some maintenance.

5+    11/14/2010   4/6/2011
Review By: bluto61
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Good for a quick game.
Lots of trees, which provide shade and a variety of opportunities to work on different shots.
Cons: The course is getting old, and it shows. The signage is deteriorating/missing, and the numbers on the baskets are wearing off.
Absolutely terrible drainage. Any solid rain in the area creates a lasting puddle on 8/17, and the course stays muddy for a long time.
Not much variety. No elevation changes or water hazards (the puddle almost counts).
Other Thoughts: For the area the park is in, you'd expect better upkeep. The ball golf course right next to it seems to be in decent shape. I'm not far away, so I still drop by for a quick round every now and then, when I want some change from my regular courses, but if you're not from central Indy, and you're looking for a course in the area, drive the extra 5-6 miles to Dr. James A. Dillon park.

 Boring Course

5+    4/6/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 9 hole course with 18 large, concrete tee pads in a well-maintained park setting. The course features many mature trees and little underbrush at all. There is ample parking extremely close to Hole #1. From there, the course is easy to navigate and has good flow with very little backtracking.

The course features 9 older baskets but has 18 tee pads allowing you to play 18 "holes". For the most part, these alternate tees are not substantially different from their counterparts but do provide slightly different lines, looks and/or distances.

This is a good course (for the most part, though see below) for beginners, as it is relatively easy and has few chances for one to lose a disc.

The signature hole (at least in my opinion) is Hole #4 which features a very narrow fairway and many large trees. This same fairway from tee pad #13 is also the only anhyzer drive on the course.
Cons: The course is very boring and monotonous. It is pretty much flat, requires almost nothing but straight shots and has little risk or reward opportunities. The distances are in a fairly narrow range as well. And while I apprecaite the 9 extra tee pads, all they really do is provide more of the same.

The course is an aging one with baskets that are old, dented, and, in the case of Hole #9/18, missing parts that make it defective. The signs are also showing their age. The course lacks amenities such as a water fountain or bathroom facilities, and features only one bench in 9 holes.

While I said above that this is a decent course for newer players, it also can be bad for those types of players on a few holes. Hole #1/10 brings the parking lot very much in play, especially for an errant rhbh hyzer shot. The same is true (but even worse) on holes 7/16, 8/17, and 9/18 where the same kind of typical-new-player-shot ends with a disc on or over a busy road. Again, this same shot will end with a disc in the woods on holes 5/14 and 6/15 where there IS quite a bit of undergrowth.

Additionally, there is some degree of fairway interference, especially with holes 5/14 and 8/17.

Having played this course many times in late winter and early spring, I can also say that it gets and stays pretty muddy, including a seasonal "pond" on Hole #8/17.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing particularly special or disconcerting about this course. It is fairly vanilla. It seems, however, to receive a lot of play as there always seems to be someone there.

I don't know the history behind the course and what land they were allowed to use, but I would have loved to have seen some holes carved out of the adjoining woods. Even three holes there would make the course far more interesting and could yield a 12/24 hole course.

Bottom line: this is a course I neither love nor hate.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/10/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good for a quick round
-Navigation through the course is pretty easy
Cons: -Most holes are rather short, not much variety in distance
-Only 9 holes (dual tee pads don't alter the play much)
-Not much variety in holes, shot types

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Trees= fun

2-4    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of trees but not overly excessive. Trash cans and signs are good. Open coarses but trees are well placed to get just in the way. Quick fun
Cons: Along side a busy road which is kind of annoying. When it rains, the place gets flooded. Not too many very long shoots needed

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.