Indianapolis, IN 
Sahm Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 339ft.   4 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not bad for beginners

1    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of big trees to make it a harder pitch and putt. Good use of the land for a nine hole. dual tees to make it a little different the second time through.
Cons: Short holes and very old rusted baskets. Tee signs need a lot of help.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick play

1    11/23/2009   2/22/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat little corner of a park that is used only for disc golf so there isn't any interference with other park users. Most of the course plays through scattered mature trees with no underbrush and well-mowed grassy fairways. There are a couple holes with brushy rough off the fairway that add a little risk for errant drives.

There are dual concrete tees on each hole for 18 different looks. On many holes these alternate tees give you either a different line to hit or a different length, which makes the course a little more interesting. There is some variety of shots required if you want to take a run at each hole, but the course is open enough that a beginner with a limited shot selection can play the course and be successful.
Cons: The course is on a pretty run down little piece of property, with lots of muddy areas where the grass has been worn away and no elevation at all. The baskets are rusty and don't catch all that well, and nearly all the signs are broken or vandalized.

There just isn't enough variety here to keep it interesting for more than a round or two, with no punishment on most holes for bad shots, and no holes that make you think about how to approach them. Many holes play near one another, so watch for discs from other fairways. The problem is compounded when you have people wanting to play from both sets of tees to the same basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course for beginners and working on shaping lines in your short game. More experienced players won't have many challenges here, without any real length or risk, and many holes that play very similar to one another.

This course isn't worth going out of your way for, especially with James Dillon to the north and the Brookside/Washington courses to the south. It is very beginner friendly though if you want to play a quick round or introduce someone to the game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Brings down the neighborhood

1    9/10/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is in a nice area of town. It is indeed heavily wooded which demands a well-placed shot. Good for beginners to start learning the basics. There is one hole over 300, so there is the opportunity to open up a bit. I think the designers of the course used the small allotment given to them to the fullest. It is just tough to build a great course without much land to work with. You are never too far away from your car as the parking lot runs right up against the first fairway. Hole #2 is a fun little hole - it uses several trees as a barrier to entry. It makes you rethink they way you are going to approach it.
Cons: Not much going on here. Being only 9 holes hurts this course. I can only imagine how hectic it can get if multiple groups are out playing at the same time. It is certainly a putt & approach course. After the "front nine", my friends and I wanted to leave. But we decided to finish out the round. Baskets are in poor, poor condition. The tee signs are barely legible to be able to figure out where to throw next.

This place may as well be considered a swamp. There was no where else in Indy that was even a little bit wet, but Sahm seemed to absorb all of the water from those places. It was soaked. Then with still water comes the bugs. The lack of grass around the basket and tees did not help matters.
Other Thoughts: Sahm has potential if the nice neighborhoods surrounding the park poured some money into this eye-sore. There are too many great courses in Indy to drive to play this. If you live near Sahm, go out for a practice round. Hone your short game, try different shots. If I were living near here, I would hit this up quite often for a quickie round. Dr. James A. Dillon Park is not terribly far from here and I would recommend going there for a much better experience for those more experienced players.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Perspective from not-good but obsessed

5+    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Peachey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Mature Trees require some accuracy!
The distance holes have trees/a road/woods..these obstacles Will bite your disc. (I haven't hit a car..but...I Have had a car run over a bouncing disc..oops)
P Dept maintains the course well: grass is always cut.
Good learning course...beginners can try alternate approaches.
but still a test for good disc-ers...I think..I wouldn't really know til I am one..so nevermind.
LOTS of players..you are never alone
Cons: HEAVY use has an effect...dust or mud surrounds tees depending on conditions...recommend a habit of hanging your bag on tee signs.
While the tee signs are in such shape bad that replacement is the only option.. I couldn't care less about that.
LOTS of players..you are never alone
Other Thoughts: I may be wrong but I believe that Gary Gaskins help DB design this course...I'm thinking I read that on another site.

I absolutely Love this course for one reason: It's 5 minutes from my place of employment.
I play it at lunch.
I play it on my way home.
I've stopped on my way to work.
If you see a bald guy wearing a tie..looks like he left his suit coat in his trunk..say hi.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    8/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the park is nice. plenty of shade from mature trees. well kept grounds. the course is pretty fun. this is primarily an accuracy course. there are a few holes with more distance, but good shot placement is still key. its a fairly easy course. intermediate players should shoot well under par.
Cons: its only a 9 hole course with dual tees. the "back 9" tees only offer slight differences. it can get sorta crowded too. id bet this is the most popular course in town.
Other Thoughts: i like this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sahm history

5+    9/1/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great neighborhood course, good mix of distance, Concrete tees.
Cons: Some locals call it swamp park,after ANY rain wear boots. You will need them halfway down fairway #5,most of #6,#8,#9.Flat,with underbrush on #5-if you throw past basket-#6,#7. The tee signs are missing and or in need of repair. The baskets are MACH 1 and are need of maintence.
Other Thoughts: A little history; the course was installed in 93, the original layout was much better than what it is today. Over the years dead,dying,diseased trees had to be cut down. Rumor has it a redesign is in the works due to more dead, dying and diseased trees being removed soon. The parks dept planted trees, with NO consideration about how it would effect the course. Indy parks would not o.k. The expansion of the course into the woods. Rumors are a complete redesign will happen over the winter AND go into the woods. As of now its "Poor" but "Playable"

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Condition Course that's fun to play

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's a nice, clean park with mature trees as the description says, I enjoyed the natural/scenic aspect of this course.
- The people in Indiana are so nice! I found this to be true in the other courses I played here as well. Very forgiving and helpful and just overall nice people.
Cons: - The signs and baskets are all rusty and falling apart (I'll upload pictures when I get back from my road trip)
- Tons of people + only 9 holes = discs flying everywhere and lots of waiting and rushing = not too fun.
- The last 3 holes/baskets were right by a road with a lot of traffic. I was really worried about hitting the cars or landing on the road that I always completely messed up my shots. :/
-Didn't take advantage of the whole park. This park had potential, but it didn't really live up to it's potential.
-The dual tees don't really add anything to it. They're only about 10 feet apart.
Other Thoughts: I played this course after I played Dr. James A Dillon course and it's more wooded but that's about it...if you're in the area, go to JAD park and spend your time there. :)

Some pics of the park for those interested:
Basket 4/13. Pretty rusted and bad condition. :(
http://i26.tinypic.com/iyio7d.jpg
Sign 5. Again...bad condition.
http://i31.tinypic.com/2z9dsaa.jpg
View from 5th Tee
http://i29.tinypic.com/acfvr6.jpg

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Its ok

1    6/6/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: Airfishey
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee pads for each hole
-Variety of short and long holes
-A shelter and spot to grill in park
-Mature trees make for skill shots
-The multiple tee pads allow for 2 very different shots at the pin (the shorter tee is usually harder)
-A secluded feel even though it is next to a road
-Course can easily be played in half an hour
Cons: -Right next to a fairly heavily trafficked road
-Can be swampy in parts
-Possibility of losing a disc because you have long drives next to the woods(small chance though)
-People's drives often go onto the fairways of other holes which gets annoying
-No grass in some spots
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty decent for working on skill shots and straight drives. There are also a few holes that are definitely aceable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/16/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: OldAL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice wooded 9 hole course with dual tees to make 18. Couple of holes over 300 feet and a good course to practice for tournaments that have tight tree-lined fairways.
Cons: Baskets in need of repair and one basket had a car hose clamp to fasten the chains in place. Tee signs need work.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course that pros would not have trouble with, but if you are a hair off with your line, you will catch a tree early and the birdie opportunity goes by the wayside. Course is very flat also.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I Love This Course

5+    9/5/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: NoChinDeluxe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of trees make it a challenge in some places. Much more challenging for LHBH players (grouped trees on the left, a dog-leg left hole).
Cons: Only 9 holes (although there are dual tees which offer some alternative strategy on some holes). Awful muddy mess after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course as I live right down the street. I learned everything I know on this course and that's one of the reasons I love it. I think the more you play it the more fun it becomes. It will never give you the satisfaction of a Washington Park, but it offers some decent challenges on a tiny course that you can get through in no time. I'm a LHBH thrower and there are significant issues for LH players such as a dog-leg left that has a huge tree blocking your path to the fairway. Hole 2 also offers a LH challenge with a large group of trees blocking the hole from the left. Probably not that big a challenge for pros but it's a great place to "cut your teeth" as a beginner/intermediate player.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center