Course Extinct
Hico, WV 
Songer Whitewater New River Gorge Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 511ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Songer Disc Golf

5+    7/20/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Tone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hanging baskets, elevated baskets, ponds to throw over, camping on sight, you can even eat the black berries that are all over the place! The staff is very friendly & you might even play with a guide or two.
Cons: THORNS! Don't forget your jeans if your going to play here, and a can of bug spray won't hurt either. One hole does play through a camp area, but we would just move a bit over from the tee & still get most of the 589 foot hole.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back, there was nothing like stepping out of the tent walking 200 feet & being at a tee. Thanks for a great time Songer!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hike, throw and have fun

1    10/4/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: newsguru
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun basket placement like strung up between two trees or on top of a 8-foot pole - Well kept area through the woods and open space - Short distances for beginners and difficult lines for advanced players - Pro shop, bathrooms and practice basket at the start of the course - Free - Great to play with a few friends - Some holes have signs that indicate length and desired flight pattern - Very friendly staff and other disc golfers
Cons: Baskets don't seem to be regulation - Poor signage - No tee pads - No all baskets are easily seen or identified - No course maps - Glass by some holes - Can't play all of the holes at all times with campers nearby - Have to watch for campers and drivers while throwing near camp sites or roads
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. Yes it has poor signage and is difficult to find every hole without someone else's help BUT it's a awesome course to play.

I picked Songer for a rafting trip specifically because it has a disc golf course. I'd love to give it a higher rating but it needs improvements.

The course needs some minor changes to be better. Mainly signage. Some holes don't have signs, others don't have tee pad indicators and most have nothing to show people where the next hole is.

No matter what. It would be a fun course to play if you're in the area rafting, camping or just passing through. I would honestly recommend this to all levels of players. It's a self-esteem builder when pars aren't hard to come by and there's chances for aces.

The management needs to take the disc golf course attraction seriosly and invest $500 in it. PUT UP SIGNS AND CLEAR SOME TEE PADS!

Songer is a leader in rafting the Gauley and New Rivers. Hopefully, they can make some changes and become a leader in disc golf. Lets hope because this course has a TON of potential!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So Much Potential!

1    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Dunksmooth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: The property on which the course is laid out is perfect for disc golf. This will never be a professional level course due to the limited distance on most holes; however, there are many positive points.
The baskets are in good shape and several have been creatively placed (suspended between trees, elevated, etc). The general design is good. It has a decent flow and fairly well defined fairways. The maintenance of the course (brush, weeds, grass) would be considered fair to good. There are several elevation changes with no major uphill drives. Played on a Sunday afternoon but we were the only people on the course. The staff members at the clubhouse were very polite and helpful.
Cons: Signage was very poor to non-existant which made for a tough time finding holes (we actually missed a hole somewhere and only played 17). Tee pads were also non-existant - every drive was made from dirt. There were no benches or trash cans along the course once you left the crossover at hole 4. Campgrounds came into play on two holes which could cause problems during busier times. Most holes seemed to be between 150 and 175 feet long and would not be considered challenging buy a more experienced / talented player.
Other Thoughts: Despite the obvious problem areas I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course. With a little time and money this course could be one of the best in West Virginia. Tee boxes, signage and a few changes in hole length / difficulty would do wonders.

 So-so course...world-class rafting

1    10/4/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 1/26/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located on the site of Songer Whitewater, a company that gives whitewater rafting expeditions down the New River and Gauley River in West Virginia. The course itself is more like a complimentary feature to the Songer's expedition business and campsite. One "pro" for this course is the scenery. West Virginia is wild and wonderful and you really get to experience that walking from hole to hole. #16 is a straight shot through a forest of tall, upright pines. When I played the setting sun shined through and the path to the basket was glowing bright orange.
Cons: This course is not challenging. Many of the holes are (very!) short and straight. I ended up with a -4 and my friend shot -7 (playing everything as par 3).
Other Thoughts: While this is not a championship course, I would not rate it a 1 like the other reviewer did. I did not have major problems with tee boxes or bugs. As I said before, this is just one more activity built into Songer Whitewater's outdoor recreation campground. If you are planning to go rafting down some of the world's most exciting whitewater, choose Songer over the other expedition companies because they also offer free disc golf!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.