Hutchinson, MN 
South Park Share
Uploaded By: Krakken88 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 333ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
decent course

5+    10/8/2012   4/25/2013
Review By: generalgrant7
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, good signs and tees.
Cons: Busy park, only 9 holes,
Other Thoughts: Nice for a quick 9 if you are in Hutch. Going mid day is best.Not a lot of variety.Good for beginers to learn on or more advanced players to work on there short and mid range games.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intentions, Boring Course.

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Good Signage. I knew i was at a disc golf course the second i got to the park. The tee signs have hole number, distance, am/pro par, and a mini map.
2) Very nice tees, secure landscaping bricks, looks professional.
3) There is a good flow to the course, you always know where you're going next.
4) Some elevation change but not much so it's not a challenge, but at least it's not flat .
Cons: 1) Not much variety, whether in hole length, obstacles or throwing style, this course falls flat.
2) Hole 3 is missing basket(s)
3) Dual baskets, sounds nice, right? Wrong, there's a lot of guessing what position they are in, which in turn affects how far the hole is by up to 40 ft.
4) I hate throwing to or along the road and this course makes me do it on 5 holes.
5) For all the space and the long(ish) fairways, this course feels cramped and rushed.
Other Thoughts: Not a course i will go out of my way to play again but the only one around the Hutchinson area for miles.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable City Park Course With Friendly Locals!

1    7/20/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice city park course takes up one square city block. The park is built around the town's water tower which is fenced in and serves as an hazard. The teepads are building blocks and work very well. The signs give the A and B lengths and Pro and Am pars. The baskets are DISCatchers but without numbers which really aren't needed here. Most of the holes are in the neighborhood of 300'. Only # 6 is shorter than 267' and # 5 is the biggee at 383'. The designers did a nice job of cramming a fairly challenging little course into this space.
Cons: The design is pretty straight forward with not much variety in length. I liked this course but there really isn't a signature hole or one that stands out. The park is relatively flat.
Other Thoughts: A big storm with 80 MPH winds blew through here about a month before I played and uprooted a dozen or more mature trees. They were still down and some actually added to the challenge, especially on # 9.
The locals were having a Tuesday night league ($1 entry) and invited me to play. Thanks for asking guys but I had to be somewhere that night.
If I lived in Hutchinson, I'd play here all the time. The course was perfect for me and my skill level.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Discin' in a Park

2-4    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: owlontheground
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Is a quick play for those in a time crunch
~ Holes are not that long so it is a good course for beginners
~ Holes are well-marked with a map to the pin, directions to the next hole, and pro/beginner pars
~ Convenient to get to course
Cons: ~ Since you are playing in a park that was converted to a disc golf course, there are an abundance of trees and not a lot of variation with the holes
~ The map at Hole #6 does not accurately display actual pin placement, as the map would have one believe that the pin is the right, when in actuality, the in is straight out.
~ Could lose discs inside water tower fence
Other Thoughts: Overall, a well-maintained course and a decent play in smaller community. The trees offer challenge for more seasoned players while the length of holes makes it good beginner play.

Update: Played this course on 9/4 and it was extremely crowded with multiple groups of 6+ and youth galore. I am glad to see that kids are playing, but groups of that size are a major hindrance. Also, mosquitos were quite bad so pack your bug spray!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent local course

5+    4/7/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a park that gets little other use, so it's mostly disc golfers. There are very nice signs with maps and lengths along with nice chainstar baskets.

The course has some elevation change and has good length given the size of the park. The park is nicely mowed and trimmed so losing a disc should be fairly rare (could lose one behind the watertower fence on #2). There are some non-tree obsticles: Watertower fence on #2,bathroom building on #3, and utility building on #8.

The park is wooded, but not heavily so there are enough trees to challenge most players but not so many that you need to bring an axe.
Cons: Short length for advanced players. The design is pretty basic, it really has no signature hole and there is not apparent design strategy that I can see. Most of the lengths are the similar.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.