Hutchinson, MN 
South Park Share
Uploaded By: Krakken88 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2010)
5 / 383ft.   3 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
decent course

5+    10/8/2012   4/25/2013
Review By: generalgrant7
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, good signs and tees.
Cons: Busy park, only 9 holes,
Other Thoughts: Nice for a quick 9 if you are in Hutch. Going mid day is best.Not a lot of variety.Good for beginers to learn on or more advanced players to work on there short and mid range games.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intentions, Boring Course.

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Good Signage. I knew i was at a disc golf course the second i got to the park. The tee signs have hole number, distance, am/pro par, and a mini map.
2) Very nice tees, secure landscaping bricks, looks professional.
3) There is a good flow to the course, you always know where you're going next.
4) Some elevation change but not much so it's not a challenge, but at least it's not flat .
Cons: 1) Not much variety, whether in hole length, obstacles or throwing style, this course falls flat.
2) Hole 3 is missing basket(s)
3) Dual baskets, sounds nice, right? Wrong, there's a lot of guessing what position they are in, which in turn affects how far the hole is by up to 40 ft.
4) I hate throwing to or along the road and this course makes me do it on 5 holes.
5) For all the space and the long(ish) fairways, this course feels cramped and rushed.
Other Thoughts: Not a course i will go out of my way to play again but the only one around the Hutchinson area for miles.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for beginners.

5+    6/23/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 47  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fairly nice city park, great for a stroll through the park while playing.
-Nice if you are taking the girlfriend out for a casual round of fun.
-Well maintained park
-brick tees make your footwork easy.
-Scattered, large trees make it just enough to have something to throw around.
Cons: -Not much of a challenge.
-No much hole variety
-minimum slope
-No water
Other Thoughts: I live in Hutchinson and can honestly say I play this course about 5 times the whole year. I love to disc golf but this course leave much to be desired in general. Great course for a beginner in a clean park, but a more experienced thrower will likely find this course more casual practice than worth going out of the way for. Nothing to get too excited about, but if you're in the area and want something to throw give it a shot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable City Park Course With Friendly Locals!

1    7/20/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice city park course takes up one square city block. The park is built around the town's water tower which is fenced in and serves as an hazard. The teepads are building blocks and work very well. The signs give the A and B lengths and Pro and Am pars. The baskets are DISCatchers but without numbers which really aren't needed here. Most of the holes are in the neighborhood of 300'. Only # 6 is shorter than 267' and # 5 is the biggee at 383'. The designers did a nice job of cramming a fairly challenging little course into this space.
Cons: The design is pretty straight forward with not much variety in length. I liked this course but there really isn't a signature hole or one that stands out. The park is relatively flat.
Other Thoughts: A big storm with 80 MPH winds blew through here about a month before I played and uprooted a dozen or more mature trees. They were still down and some actually added to the challenge, especially on # 9.
The locals were having a Tuesday night league ($1 entry) and invited me to play. Thanks for asking guys but I had to be somewhere that night.
If I lived in Hutchinson, I'd play here all the time. The course was perfect for me and my skill level.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/5/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice use of available space (the designer got the most out of the park as far as layout is concerned)
bathroom on site (open only in summer months. other wise it is locked up)
a relatively quick play (15 to 20 minutes if flying solo and not having to wait for groups ahead of you)
can be on the technical side if your into that (lots of trees but not especially thick like some wooded courses)
probably wont lose any discs here unless you do something crazy off the box on holes 2, 3, and 4 to end up in the locked fence area around the water tower

Cons: can get crowded. I think that that is because of the lack of good courses to play within the Hutchinson area (Glencoe course sucks, Lake Dale course north of Dassel is laughable. the best alternative is to drive 40 minutes east and hit up the Crown College course just outside of St. Bonni or head north to St. Augusta or Annandale). If someone were to build a nice 18 holer within close proximity to Hutchinson then I think it would help to alleviate much of the problem (plenty of possible locations exist)

in the past I've come to notice that when playing holes 8 and 9 there is a house across the street that often has people hanging out in the yard who seem to have a taste for the wild side. lol. probably not a big deal but at the same time I can't help but to think that there activities might not always fall inline with that of the law (a minor distraction)
Other Thoughts: the 9 holes in the park provide very good entertainment and will challenge you to throw with distance while trying to avoid trees on the majority of holes (this is especially true on hole 5). hole 6 is your ace hole........PLAY IT!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Something for everyone

5+    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: blue_wraith
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners. Lots of manageable holes as far as distance but always technical for advanced players. A great blend of variety that caters to any play style and allows for various shots. Very easy to find and accessible; not really any serious hazards to consider except the possibility of throwing over the fence around the water tower near holes 3 and 4.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. If you're not local, try your luck in the Twin Cities or St. Cloud. Between 3 and 7 pm on weekdays you will be stuck behind large groups. This is my only real complaint about this course, as overall it's very comfortable and not intimidating.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find it forgiving, intermediate players a welcomed challenge, and advanced players a relaxing course with a lovely walk and shady grass with a good technical aspect to keep your game up. 6 of the in-laying pins will be moved summer of 2010.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Discin' in a Park

2-4    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: owlontheground
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Is a quick play for those in a time crunch
~ Holes are not that long so it is a good course for beginners
~ Holes are well-marked with a map to the pin, directions to the next hole, and pro/beginner pars
~ Convenient to get to course
Cons: ~ Since you are playing in a park that was converted to a disc golf course, there are an abundance of trees and not a lot of variation with the holes
~ The map at Hole #6 does not accurately display actual pin placement, as the map would have one believe that the pin is the right, when in actuality, the in is straight out.
~ Could lose discs inside water tower fence
Other Thoughts: Overall, a well-maintained course and a decent play in smaller community. The trees offer challenge for more seasoned players while the length of holes makes it good beginner play.

Update: Played this course on 9/4 and it was extremely crowded with multiple groups of 6+ and youth galore. I am glad to see that kids are playing, but groups of that size are a major hindrance. Also, mosquitos were quite bad so pack your bug spray!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent local course

5+    4/7/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a park that gets little other use, so it's mostly disc golfers. There are very nice signs with maps and lengths along with nice chainstar baskets.

The course has some elevation change and has good length given the size of the park. The park is nicely mowed and trimmed so losing a disc should be fairly rare (could lose one behind the watertower fence on #2). There are some non-tree obsticles: Watertower fence on #2,bathroom building on #3, and utility building on #8.

The park is wooded, but not heavily so there are enough trees to challenge most players but not so many that you need to bring an axe.
Cons: Short length for advanced players. The design is pretty basic, it really has no signature hole and there is not apparent design strategy that I can see. Most of the lengths are the similar.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

2-4    9/9/2008   3/29/2009
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun easy course with a decent amount of trees and obstacles.
Cons: All holes seem to be the same, there is no really difference in distance and they are mostly straight.
Other Thoughts: If in Hutchinson, this park is a great place to spend an afternoon.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    9/19/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee boxes and chains.
-Maps on every hole, no time spent looking for the hole.
-Challenging with no guaranteed birdies.
-No real hazards to lose discs on.
-Two basket locations per whole.
-Pretty clean, garbages here and there.
-Two shelters and a bathroom for amenities.
-Huge mature trees, it is nice and shady. A pleasant area.
Cons: -Holes are mostly all similar in length.
-Only 9 holes, wish it was longer.
-Heavy traffic in summer.
Other Thoughts: This course doesnt do anything that is overly original but it is a fun, relativly simple course. I have played it time and again simply because its in my home town. I would say it is more of a novice/amateur level and anybody too good might not find it interesting. It is quite easy to get 3s on this course but it takes skill to birdie multiple holes. The holes aren't really long or challenging but if you hit one tree you won't get a birdie. Worth a stop!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.