Wisconsin Rapids, WI 
South Park of Wood County Share
Uploaded By: carrioke Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very fun but busy 12 holer

5+    4/20/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course consists of 12 holes in a nicely maintained park along Lake Wazeecha in Wisconsin Rapids. There is a mix of nice level, decent sized cement tee pads and then 3 or 4 large black rubber mats on the holes nearest to the lake. Water comes into play mainly on 3 holes but could be a factor with a really errant shot on a couple others. There a mach 2 baskets on the majority of the holes with a few others having newer looking baskets just like the ones at nearby Robinson park. These caught just fine and were all in solid shape. The are large wood 4x4's by almost every hole making finding the pads a little easier. There is quite a few undulating hills throughout the park making for some nice elevation changes on a number of holes. The trees are the main obstacle but the wind off the lake can also be a huge factor too. Apparently the baskets are up all year which is nice. We went in late April and there were a ton of people in the park although it doesn't actually open until May 1st. There is a good mix of left, right and straight shots to be had here. The distances vary pretty nicely too. There isn't anything too short or long here. The pine needles on the ground can really make a disc skip adding a little extra challenge. The course is free to play too which is always nice. There are restrooms right by holes 3 and 4 which is always nice.
Cons: This course can get very, very busy on nice days. There are often times very large loud groups of teens playing very slowly. This gets pretty frustrating, especially when they don't let smaller groups play through. Also there is a large walking/biking path through the middle of the course which is heavily used. This is a big safety hazard if you're not careful. Also people fish and swim in the holes along the lake making you have to skip them or try to throw around them which is again dangerous. They could use some garbage cans throughout the course too to help with the beer cans and bottles everywhere. They have some like 2 gallon pails at a few holes which are overflowing with trash most times. There are no tee signs or next hole signs which can make it a little confusing on a few of the walks to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Even with all the cons listed it is still a very fun course. I would definitely recommend going to this course if you're ever in the area. This is a nicely designed course in a beautiful park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Silhouette
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i loved the highly cut pine trees that modeled the fairways! the needles would make it so your disc would skip more than a grassy green/fairway! it was a fairly easy course to follow. working through a park next to a lake. It makes for great views and calming sounds. no pay to play that i noticed!!! a great course for an easy/quick game. some fun elevation/plateau tee pads!
Cons: if you are looking for a challenge. this isn't the course for you!! there are some water hazards, control your shot. you will be fine.

it is located in a park. you will run into non dg people. people who couldn't care if they are walking in through your line!!!! got a little bit annoying!!! at some tee pads, i noticed a lot of broken bottles. the ground was soft, so i took my shoes off. only to put them back on, being inches from glass... please pick up after yourself! not asking for much!
Other Thoughts: i just happened to be in Wi rapids. so i looked up directions and played the course!!! if you are passing through the town and want to stretch your legs, stop here!!! you won't be upset

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 South Park - - You killed kenny

1    8/27/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) One of my favorite settings for disc golf . . . pine trees, with pine needles covering the ground (keeps weeds away because of the acidity) an it also softens your walk, but it still allows for skip shots too). I knew as soon as I drove in I would going to enjoy this course and it did not disappoint.

2) Scenery and the natural feeling of the course is just awesome. I really enjoyed my walk through the woods let alone the golf course.

3) There is some decent use of elevation on this course on a handful of holes. These small elevation changes also really come into play with skip shots and you really need to consider how your disc will finish its flight.

4) Nice concrete tees, alternate long tees are not concrete, just natural but there is also nothing marking the "long" tees so they might be slightly "unofficial".

5) Distance and Hole # on 4x4 posts next to the tees.

6) The additional 3 holes are excellent and greatly add to the variety of this course. All three of the holes bring water into play and there would have been no water if these holes were not added.

7) Nice shot shaping required on this course, where you need to go both directions and you also need to alter your height on a few of the holes to avoid the trouble spots.

8) Bathrooms and other park activities are available here.
Cons: 1) Sandy soil can play inconsistent where you might skip in one area and you might dig into the soft sandy soil in others.

2) The course plays right along a walking path that seems to be well travelled . . . with runners, roller bladers, walkers, and just general park users. This is dangerous and should be considered when throwing your discs.

3) Garbage in a few spots on this course.

4) Compaction and erosion are definitely an issue here because there is almost no ground-cover on most of the course . . . just pine needles (which I mention as a positive).

5) Signage is completely missing on this course and would be really helpful especially with a re-design.

Other Thoughts: What an exciting drive in to this course and an even better feeling while playing. It challenges you, it throws elevation changes at you, heavy tree area, water comes into play on 3 holes and is just plain fun to throw shots here. Just as enjoyable as the golf course is the scenery and the natural feeling of this course. It really feels like you are in the middle of the woods even though you are within a few hundred feet of a heavily populated lake park.

I gave this a 3.0 rating but I consider it to be at the top of the 3.0 rating like 3.25 because I had a lot of fun and enjoyed myself which is how I rate courses. If I was passing through I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this place even though the erosion and compaction are bad, there is garbage in a few spots on the course. It is simply beautiful and fun to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Straight shots through trees.

1    6/22/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: carrioke
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, good use of space, restroom available, sign posts in place for signs, decent flow of play, kept fairly clean despite lack of garbage cans.
Cons: Signs were stolen & have not been replaced so sometimes difficult to navigate, no places for trash, no benches, most shots look the same.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course and my dad's first time playing period and we really enjoyed it despite the rain. Many of the shots look exactly alike - through trees mostly straight (1 hooks right, 2 hooks left & 7 uses the lake). Wednesday is league night and the players were friendly and they set up portable baskets to make the course 18 holes. It will warrent a better score with more use, more baskets (to complete the 18 holes) and replaced signs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with nice views

1    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays in a small part of a large lakeside park. Many holes have great views of the lake, and the last few holes bring the lake into play for some great risk reward. My favorite hole on the course plays along the lake with the basket on a raised point on the water. There are trees around the basket, but there's a line out over the water if you hit a gap in the trees. Otherwise there's a decent bailout route that keeps you away from the water but doesn't offer a real ace or birdie chance, just great hole design in my opinion. There are some small elevation changes here, and they're used on nearly every hole to keep the course interesting throughout. There's a good mix of uphill and downhill holes, with some great roll away greens.

Most of the course plays through mature trees, with only scattered underbrush. An errant drive may cost a stroke, but it's easy to follow your shot and find your disc. There are enough trees that the fairways are well defined, and force a decent mixture of shots. There are a couple longer holes where most players will have to have a solid drive and a long upshot through the trees to have a look at a 3. There are long tees marked out for a little more challenge, and many change up the shot quite a bit. There are decent hole signs, with both tees and multiple pin positions marked. The tees are concrete, and have a good surface on them. The baskets show some wear, but still catch just fine.
Cons: The course is a little scruffy, with trash scattered around, graffiti on tee signs, and several tee signs missing or broken. There is no grass on most of the fairways, so erosion has taken its toll leaving lots of muddy spots. There are a couple of places where the flow is not obvious, so you might have to wander a little your first time through to follow the course. The pin position isn't marked on the signs, so you have to walk ahead on several holes if you want to know where to throw.

It can get pretty crowded with players here, so don't be surprised if you find yourself waiting on other groups. The walking path can come into play as well, so watch out for pedestrians on a few holes. The water only comes into play at the end of the course, and only on the right side of the water holes, it could have been used a little better.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play, with some nice views and a few really good holes. It's only 12 holes, but it has good variety and a little bit of challenge, so it's definitely worth playing if you're passing by. It's a great beginner course, with lots of trees, but mostly reasonable distances. More experienced players won't really be tested, but it's a fun place to work on mids and putters through the trees, and there are a couple memorable holes where you do have to hit a good line.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Willow Run - a better 9'er

5+    9/2/2008   9/2/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of the better 9'ers out there (now 12 holes). It should be considered a mostly wooded course with decent elevation utilizing some ridges in the park along the lake. There is very decent balance of shot selection from right, left, long, and very short holes. It is definitely an ace race course.
Cons: Only 9 holes (technically 12, but I mainly played the 9 hole layout). Not extremely long or great distance. Some short holes are far too short. Trash and traffic are very high here due to it being a newbie-friendly course. While it is right on the lake, it does not come into play, what a negative! While the use of ridges is decent elevation, it lacks extreme elevation. The greens are not risky, and mostly wide open.
Other Thoughts: I simply can't rate it higher due to it only being 9 holes and I try to review from the perspective of a travelling player. It is definitely worth a shot if you have extra time, but not worth a special trip without hitting up a better course in the area. The location, woods, shot selection, etc are all very sound. It would be great 18 hole course if the lake also came into play more. Swimming afterward is nice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  For Noobs Like Me...

5+    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: chain banger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires varied shot selections, but nothing outlandish. Only hole #8 could be considered 'long'. Very slight elevation changes in a very well maintained park. A couple of definite ace runs, also...
Cons: Currently, there are only 12 holes. Holes #7 and #8 are right next to the lake, so discs will be lost if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: This course is really good if you are just learning the game or honing your skills. Nothing here hasn't been done before, but for a casual round, it's hard to find anything to complain about

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Southwoods softy

5+    9/12/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right on lovely lake wazeecha..accross the water is red sands beach where WI Rapids host the water ski show every year..A nice easy play that has recenly expanded from 9 holes to 12..cement tee boxes for those 12 but if you want to play a full round they have dirt boxes playing at the original nine to switch it up..nice park with swings and trails..a couple ace looks..
Cons: too easy and short..cant ever really unleash..couple more miles and you can make it out to standing rocks or yulga instead..
Other Thoughts: good warm up course for the Steven Pt courses..Matt Roberson does some nice work on the course there..DiscKing will get some love..Sponsor me Little Robey! Remember when they had dingers out there?? Anyone??Long b4 those fancy baskets..

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The course I cheat on my home course with.

6/1/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: wishingtan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. The water is seen from a distance on most holes, and the way the sun shines through the trees make for a shady yet wonderfully light speckled experience. Also very fast with some terrain changes and elevation. Pavillion and grilling for an all day outing.
Cons: Pretty easy. Don't come here for the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Zen course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

4/18/2008   4/18/2008
Review By: Mars Volta
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded terrain forces you to make a lot of technical shots. Varying levels of terrain also add to this courses' appeal.
Cons: Short holes for the most part, Alts aren't cement.
Other Thoughts: Been playing this course for 5 years. I used to ride my bike out there every day after school. My home course.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.