Temple, TX 
South Temple Community Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #18 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 427ft.   3 / 427ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun

2-4    11/24/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: steady1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Open fairways, parking and signs good. Easy to get to on south side of town.
Cons: Vegetation in some spots. No bathrooms on back holes.
Other Thoughts: First course I ever played. Fun course to learn the game on.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 S. 5th Street

5+    2/15/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: backward_axis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to find within Temple City Limits. The entire park is flat with moderate trees in the fairway, which makes this one nice for any player not really wanting to have to exert themselves by hiking up and down through a hilly wilderness. It also plays relatively fast. So, if your looking for a fast 18, this park is for you. The course is really beginner-friendly in that, even if you don't have much of an arm, you can still go out and have fun. The ease of the park makes it a great one for anyone new to the game; as the majority of holes are under 300'. There is a creek that runs the entire length of the course that comes into play on numerous holes. #3,5,6,7,8,9,10,14 are all holes where your disc can easily end up in the always looming creek if you're not careful. And holes #8,10,14 actually involve you throwing across said creek. The tees all have signs with the par and distance and the entire park is very easy to navigate. Only a couple of next tees are confusing to get to (#7 from #6), and even then its only a matter of "Do I go Right or do I go Left? Oh no, #10 is left, I guess I'll go right." There is also a nice walking path that runs throughout the course going to the majority of holes; and being as it a dg course and not a multi-use park, there isn't usually alot of foot traffic. One really neat thing is that there is a water park right next to the course and, if playing in the summertime, you can always cool down with a nice splashing after a quick 18. The upkeep is pretty good in that all of the fairways are mowed and the only really tall grass/weeds/vines are along the creek. My personal favorite hole is #14: Because it takes advantage of everything the park has to offer, (you drive, big trees on both sides, you throw through the tree/vine/weed lined creek area and over the creek to the other side to a basket that is mostly obscured from view even in winter.
Cons: There doesn't seem to be much variety between holes. The majority of holes are all like variations of the same hole: (i.e. flat, a few big trees, a creek nearby, and more or less straight ahead. The scenery doesn't change very much throughout. The only bathrooms nearby are the ones at the waterpark; and if it is their off-season you are out of luck. My least favorite hole is #1: Out in the open, no obstacles, flat ground, and less than 300' away. I can see how it can be mistaken for a second practice basket by a first time visitor.
Other Thoughts: As previously stated, the course is moderately wooded. However, the only really dense plant-populated areas are along both sides of the creek for about half of its length throughout the park. Along both sides there are plenty of trees, throngs of thorny vines clinging to those trees, and a bunch of weeds approaching the vines. Not that I view that as really pro or con, I just think it's kind of interesting to not only see discs stuck in all of that mess, but also sees the tools of unsuccessful retrieval stuck up there as well. On a side note: until recently, the course was open 24/7; which made it the ideal course for night dg in the area. Now however, the course has a 9pm curfew and making the only course for night dg in the summer Lion's Park(11pm curfew), and which would probably end you up with a broken leg if you go dg-ing around in the dark.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    3/4/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: wtafro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Wide Open
- Pretty Flat
- Can take some chances
- Many long drives
- Only thing at park is disc golf
- Creek is only main place to lose a disc
Cons: - No trees to block wind, makes it hard on windy days
- Can get pretty torn up if you do not throw in the fairway
- Not very scenic
Other Thoughts: I have only been playing for a few weeks, but have played this course probably three times a week. The first few holes are very good to test your throws and new discs on. This course is much easier for beginners than Lion's Park in Temple, but it isn't as scenic.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course # 1

5+    11/9/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: joeyr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Designed by John Houck. A fun course that you can develop your arm at. Good long open holes but lots of hazards. Short boxes and "Birdie Alley" fun for beginners who can stay on the fairways.
Cons: Trees that bite, and a mean creek.
Other Thoughts: We have relocated hole # 1 due to the new Family Aquatic Center which is being built. This added a little more to the overall length of the course. We also made 2 tee boxes for this hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.