Temple, TX 
South Temple Community Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #16 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 352ft.   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun

2-4    11/24/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: steady1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Open fairways, parking and signs good. Easy to get to on south side of town.
Cons: Vegetation in some spots. No bathrooms on back holes.
Other Thoughts: First course I ever played. Fun course to learn the game on.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Out In The Open

1    9/26/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course features 18 holes of good practice disc golf. I appreciated the fact that the course was mowed and manicured, excepting the weeds around the currently dry creek. It would be easy to lose a disc if a person were not careful with their throws. There are long tees as well as short tees. The only problem I could see was the wind and it was blowing this day. Very few obstacles to stand in your way. A good place to air some discs. I had few problems with navigation. I only consulted my map only once. That was for going between holes 6 & 7. My favorite hole here was 8. Long tee, you had to throw across the creek twice while getting over all the weeds. Short tee, just once. And the basket was protected by a big tree that has to be gotten around. Plenty of trash cans and interesting layout overall.
Cons: Too open and too easy in most respects. This course is an excellent practice course, especially for beginners to learn the game. I just cannot see where this would be much of a challenge for anyone above intermediate ranking. This course would benefit greatly if some weeds were mowed down around the creek area.
Other Thoughts: As I have mentioned before, this is a good practice course to get some good drives in. Lots of ace and birdie opportunities from the short tees. I just could not justify more than a 2.5 for this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little gem

5+    4/4/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: preton
Played: 94  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've never played a course that does more with less. At a glance, South Temple doesn't look like much. The land is mostly flat and featureless, with only slow, gradual undulations across the park, and none of the holes feature much in the way of tree coverage. The only other remarkable feature in the park is a creek that winds throughout from noth to south. What makes this course impressive is what the course does well with so little in the way of challenging landscape.

The course is expertly designed, squeezing every ounce of potential out of the sparse wooded areas, gentle slopes, the creek and wide open areas. Even the wind conditions are used strategically to add challenge to a course that could have easily have been less interesting and fun in the hands of a less skilled designer. Plenty of very good scoring opportunities greet you in holes 6-11, but the winds swirling through the trees keep things interesting, especially on 8, 9, 10 when the creek comes into play. The rest of course provides plenty of challenge to the average player, with few easy birdie opportunities, and many of the more challenging sections of the layout. 18 may be the toughest hole on the course, a 420'+ par 3 with a line of trees between the tee and the basket. What makes this hole consistently brutal is that the hole faces the large open area of the park, and a 20-25 mph (or higher) headwind greets you almost every day, making par a great score even for good players.

Most holes on the course also feature pro tees, which add a higher level of difficulty for more experienced players. While a couple of these tees do not greatly change the hole, some add a considerable level of difficulty. This is nowhere more apparent than on #14. From the short tees, 14 is a definate scoring hole with a good drive. From the long tee, it's a 650' beast dog-leg right, under low tree limbs and then over a creek, making even a par 4 a difficult proposition.

Tee pads are concrete on each hole, and are in very good condition, as are the two-layer chained baskets. The concrete paths that wind through the course help keep your feet relatively dry during most of the course on wetter days, and at least every other hole has a trash can at the tee pad. The trash cans are well maintained and are emptied often. The grass is also mowed often by the city, which is very much appreciated. The signs give hole number and distance accurately, and are free of graffiti.
Cons: As stated above, the park does not offer many interesting land features. The first three holes are not terribly difficult. Only two small saplings protect the #1 basket. They will make the hole much more fun in years to come, but right now the hole is really a tee and basket sitting alone in a field.

There are some areas on the course that have some undesirable plant species to watch for, namely poison ivy and bull nettle. Be careful when chasing discs into high grass or kneeling in shorts.
Other Thoughts: Based only on the holes making up the course, a 3 is a fair rating. What bumps this course up to a 3.5 is the details that make this course such a fun play. Well-kept grounds, few park patrons to worry about and high quality tee pads, baskets, paths, benches and trash cans make this course a very fun way to spend a couple hours, and a course deserving of a 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Other Temple Course

5+    6/21/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: thshistory
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners and intermediates. It is a stand alone disc golf course with the exception of a walking trail and a water park near hole one. There is ample parking and a board with the course layout near hole one. There are concrete pads and a number of holes have long boxes as well for added difficulty. There is adequate signage on each hole.

A creek runs through the middle of the course and comes into play on about 8 holes depending on what you want to call "comes into play". It is a primarily flat course with no real elevation challenges. There is a nice variety of hole length. Holes 7-11, sometimes referred to as Birdy Row, can help you gain a few strokes back with well thrown shots off the tee box. Most trees are shorter trees, not taller than 10-20 feet, with the exception of the trees around the creek.
Cons: There are not many "cons" to this course other than the fact that there are not many memorable holes. It is very well maintained by the City of Temple Parks Dept. and the local club Temple Disc Golf Association. It could use more trash cans and benches, though there are some. There are also no restrooms to speak of unless you can talk your way into the water park.

The design seems purposeful and as creative as possible given the natural terrain. The only truly uninspiring hole is #1 which is just a pad and basket in a large field.

There could be better signage in directing players to the next tee, but seeing how as a majority of courses do not have this, I can't exactly ding this course for not having it.
Other Thoughts: This really is a great course, well maintained, and in superb condition. I wish the course could attract more tournaments. The only reason it is not a 4 or higher is simply the design. It is a good design, very consistent and makes good use of the natural terrain. The ranking system says a 3.5 is "very good" and indeed this is a very good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 S. 5th Street

5+    2/15/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: backward_axis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to find within Temple City Limits. The entire park is flat with moderate trees in the fairway, which makes this one nice for any player not really wanting to have to exert themselves by hiking up and down through a hilly wilderness. It also plays relatively fast. So, if your looking for a fast 18, this park is for you. The course is really beginner-friendly in that, even if you don't have much of an arm, you can still go out and have fun. The ease of the park makes it a great one for anyone new to the game; as the majority of holes are under 300'. There is a creek that runs the entire length of the course that comes into play on numerous holes. #3,5,6,7,8,9,10,14 are all holes where your disc can easily end up in the always looming creek if you're not careful. And holes #8,10,14 actually involve you throwing across said creek. The tees all have signs with the par and distance and the entire park is very easy to navigate. Only a couple of next tees are confusing to get to (#7 from #6), and even then its only a matter of "Do I go Right or do I go Left? Oh no, #10 is left, I guess I'll go right." There is also a nice walking path that runs throughout the course going to the majority of holes; and being as it a dg course and not a multi-use park, there isn't usually alot of foot traffic. One really neat thing is that there is a water park right next to the course and, if playing in the summertime, you can always cool down with a nice splashing after a quick 18. The upkeep is pretty good in that all of the fairways are mowed and the only really tall grass/weeds/vines are along the creek. My personal favorite hole is #14: Because it takes advantage of everything the park has to offer, (you drive, big trees on both sides, you throw through the tree/vine/weed lined creek area and over the creek to the other side to a basket that is mostly obscured from view even in winter.
Cons: There doesn't seem to be much variety between holes. The majority of holes are all like variations of the same hole: (i.e. flat, a few big trees, a creek nearby, and more or less straight ahead. The scenery doesn't change very much throughout. The only bathrooms nearby are the ones at the waterpark; and if it is their off-season you are out of luck. My least favorite hole is #1: Out in the open, no obstacles, flat ground, and less than 300' away. I can see how it can be mistaken for a second practice basket by a first time visitor.
Other Thoughts: As previously stated, the course is moderately wooded. However, the only really dense plant-populated areas are along both sides of the creek for about half of its length throughout the park. Along both sides there are plenty of trees, throngs of thorny vines clinging to those trees, and a bunch of weeds approaching the vines. Not that I view that as really pro or con, I just think it's kind of interesting to not only see discs stuck in all of that mess, but also sees the tools of unsuccessful retrieval stuck up there as well. On a side note: until recently, the course was open 24/7; which made it the ideal course for night dg in the area. Now however, the course has a 9pm curfew and making the only course for night dg in the summer Lion's Park(11pm curfew), and which would probably end you up with a broken leg if you go dg-ing around in the dark.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 killeen area discers

1    5/6/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: michelsea
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty easy course hard to loose a disc on and good for beginers
Cons: No real scenery holes are bland and not a lot of variation.
Other Thoughts: This course is good if your just starting out but I wouldnt drive very far to throw this course. But there does seem to be some construction and hopefully improvements down the rode.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The "Other" Temple Course

1    3/13/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole lengths range from a 150' to over 650' depending on which concrete tee you decide to play. The long tees play almost 7000' in mostly open terrain, so players long off the tee who want to improve their play in the wind will really enjoy this course. Holes #3 and #5 play the drainage ditch while over a third of the course has a small creek running through it. All of the shorter holes play along the creek, so conservative play should keep you dry, plus the creek is small and disc can be retrieved in many of the areas.

The flow of the course pretty good from the long tees, but the map provided under links is a useful tool for first-timers. Note the transitions from #7, #8, and #9 as well as #11 to #12. Parking is ample by the water park, but can be very busy on a warm summer day. However, it's the perfect place to drop off the kids, while you get in a couple of rounds.

BEST HOLE/S: #14
Cons: Unlike a lot of hill central Texas courses - there are no real memorable holes here. The course is dead flat, so elevation junkies should stay at Lion's Park. I felt like I was back in Houston playing a longer version of Agnes Moffitt Park with a creek. Signage is average, but is not the high quality Houck signs that you can find on many of his courses. Also, given the light foliage, bring some water, because this place hot and dry in the summer.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Although overshadowed by much more impressive Lion's Park, South Temple community Park is an interesting mix of lightly wooded creek -lined holes. Built back in 2002, this Houck designed course is a good place for beginners and recreational level players. The short tees offer good ace runs, and the long tees are just challenging enough for the big arms. Although this is far from the many superior Houck courses in the Dallas and Austin areas, the interesting b lends of lines and flat terrain are just enough to make this an enjoyable experience. Experience Temple and combine this course with Lion's Park to make a fantastic day of disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/12/2005   3/12/2010
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
Pros: I think this is a great course. Like most have said there is a nice mix of long and short holes. Very well placed tees and baskets to get the most use out of the mature trees on the land. I would highly recommend this course to any body. Pros could even like this course because they can work on different shots from huge hyzer bombs, to rollers, and so on. Also the course is well taken care of as well.
Cons: I have no cons of the course. As for texas during the summer this place is very hot. Yes the wind might be blowing but it does nothing for you. Bring water better yet bring a golf umbrella for shade it gets hot. Lot of trees on the back nine help add some shade.
Other Thoughts: Since I haven't been there in several years there wasnt a water park located here. However still should be a great place to play some golf. Awesome tee pads, nice large creek when water is in it. Worth the stop to check it out.

 The stepkid

5+    2/11/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course and it doesnt seem to get played very often since I rarely see anyone here. Yes this course is mostly open and flat but there are some great holes here despite that fact. You will have to be able t throw many shots and be able to do so in a big wnd because the wind is always here. Now the navigation is not an issue as te course flows very well. This can be enjoyed by not only the newer players but also the more advanced and even the pros. The crrek and the path make good OB if your looking to make the course harder on you as well. The pads are concrete and once again the dual tees are a bonus. The waterpark is nice if your lady and kids dont want to play.
Cons: Windy and not much shade at all. Bring drinks cause it can get hot and its a long way back. Some of the rough is just that.
Other Thoughts: I hit these courses every time I go down to Llano and love to do so. There is a good mix of golf and it breaks the drive up. Both are really worth the stop and I think you will enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 South Temple Community prak

5+    11/30/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: vaderdave
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole disc golf course, with long and short cement tee pads, is very user friendly. A good mix of long and short holes, that allows you to blast a monster drive, and makes you "place " a good approach shot. "Birdie alley" is a mix of short, challenging holes in the middle of the course, with one "island type green" (hole 10). Designed by John Houck on a 50 acretrack of land, it has a creek that runs through the middle of it. Not much elevation or shade in summer time, so bring water, the city has just built a water park on site, so bring the kids and leave them in the lazy river while you play golf. The city of Temple and the TDGA takes real good care of this course. I play this course alot
Cons: Some trees, some water, very hot in the tx sunmmer, bring drinking water, no restroon and big mosquitoes in spring & fall
Other Thoughts: A great place to work on your game, and see our new water park,,,,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.