Vineland, NJ 
South Vineland Park Share
Uploaded By: nuisance Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 277ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
We had fun

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: PhillyPhan69
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course in Cumberland County! I like wooded courses. Some very tight and challenging holes for a semi newbie. You will need patience to play this course or you will not have much fun. Very tight heavily wooded fairways, a few gullys to throw across, a good variety of distance with a few open holes thrown in for good measure.
Cons: Not visitor friendly (It might take a few minutes to find the start point...just prior to the parking area on the left. and be prepared to circle back if you miss a hole because half of the holes do not give directions to the next. Short tees have no pads.
Other Thoughts: Not sure about trash? I have seen a review where it says it was, but it was very clean today with an occasional bottle or piece of litter but very nice. Beautiful park even outside of the disc golf area. Bring the family and spend the day. Bring bug spray, they were not a major nuisance but they were a minor headache. It was very, very, windy today and some holes are difficult for someone like myself with a weaker arm...but overall I hope to hit this course monthly when we return to visit family.

*** On a second trip July 16-17, I found myself slightly disappointed and have lowered my rating from a 3.5 to a 3. This course is still fun as has a lot of promise with a little work. I really like the work out the terrain allows....however I did encounter a lot more trash this time particularly hole 11 which looks like some druken fisherman or local tees made the pad their local party place, shirts, cans, bottle etc. Hole 12 has an arrow that directs to the next tee that does not even point in the right direction (thanks). Holes 17-18 are about waist high in weeds so even if you know where your disc went it is not fun trecking to go get it, not to mention those 10,000 little black things embedded in my shoelaces and socks...not sure what they were? Once again I have played this course 3 times and never once seen another disc golfer out here, although the park seems to get plenty of visitors daily. So maybe there are no local here anyway? Another bummer was on back to back days the beautiful park with restrooms, had their restrooms locked....a shame I had to eave mid game and run down to Sherman Ave and hit a Wawa....I wouldn't have returned at all, but was having a solid game and couldn't bring myself to quit...Oh well.....a few improvements needed but still a fun course to play

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jersey Course

1    8/3/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two sets of tees
-Bathrooms and water fountains on premises
-This course I expected to be flat like most of NJ but it actually had some cool elevation changes. The course designers did use elevation to the best that they could.
-Water scenery is nice
-Some challenging holes due to trees in the way
Cons: -This course is about the only course in the area so I can see why some people think it's a good course. But if you compare it to PA or NY courses, it doesn't size up well.
-Many of the holes are chuck and hope holes with little fairway to throw through. I am all about woodsy courses, but a few of the holes had almost no space.
-Trash. Trash. Trash. There is lots of it all over, especially the last 7 or 8 holes.
-At one point in the course you actually have to walk past a trespassing sign so there's that....
-My biggest qualm with this course is the lack of incorporating the surrounding water. The website says there are a few water holes here, but you have to be way off line to hit the water. On many occasions the course could have had some memorable throws over the couple of lakes, but no such holes were here. They came close (30 yards) but not used to make it challenging.
-Hole 18 had no fairway so even a straight down the middle throw will cause you too look for 10 minutes in weeds with ticks and poison ivy.
-Navigation is tough on several holes even with the "next tee" signs
-No map to show how the holes lays out which takes away from the appeal for me a great deal since many baskets were not visible from tee
Other Thoughts: Overall this course wasn't horrible, it just needs a few tweaks to be a 3 or 4 out of 5. The changes wouldn't even take a great deal of money for things like signage with maps, cleaning up trash on several holes, trimming some trees in middle of fairways, mowing 18's fairway, and changing some layouts to incorporate water more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant surprise

2-4    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 44  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is definitely a more tight, short, technical course with average hole length around 290-300ish. There was great use of narrow lanes, hills and mounds to protect baskets. Water comes into play on a few holes which I dig--keeps you on your toes. For the yellow tees, there were rubber mat tees pads on most holes and for the pro tees without them, there was usually a segment of carpet instead which worked okay. There is a very cool pond/lake that the course plays around that was busy with people in small boats fishing. The course plays around the parking lot as well so you're never far from your car. I'm big on both aesthetics and good disc golf holes. The course gives you both, as it is very pretty, unique visually, and well designed for a technical play. The baskets were all very nice. The wooden signs pointing the way to both white and yellow tees were very helpful. There were also big yellow yard signs marking each hole with its number.
Cons: Navigationally, there were only a few difficult spots for me. Hole 3 I couldn't see the basket around and tucked in to the right, and I first threw far and across the road to 5's basket which I presumed was my target since it was too far to read the number 5 on it for my eyes.. Tee signs would prevent this occurrence in the future as the course is hopefully able to raise some money. I didn't see the typical wooden arrows pointing the way from hole 11 to 12, so this took some exploring but I got it in reasonable time. Lastly, 17 basket to 18 tee pad had me a little confused and doubting myself until I found it since it is a bit far away and through retry tall grass/flowers. Lastly issue was hole 17 and 18 in general. Shots directly in the fairway can get lost easily in the stuff this course has you playing through. I don't know if the wild flower fields aren't allowed to be mowed or what, but there needs to be fairways paths mowed here badly. I spent 10 minutes looking for my second shot which was right on a nice line to the basket but short about 50 feet. Some mowing on 17/18, tee signs, and tee pads on the few lacking and this is a great course.
Other Thoughts: I had known about this course for a little while now, but hadn't had the chance to get in the area to check it out. I had initially written it off as an okay local course, but once I gave it a go, I was hooked by hole 3. I played yellow tees, and hole 1 proved a difficult 3 with a blind shot around a bend to the left. Don't turn it over because your border on the right is the lake! There was a fallen tree across the fairway about 50 feet from the basket making par difficult. Hole 2 is a short narrow right turning line that could prove cumbersome for RHBH that aren't comfortable with anhyzers or flipping discs. Hole 3 is another short right turning blind shot with a protected basket making it a difficult birdie. For this hole, be careful not to shoot all the way across to hole 5 or 8's baskets which are the only 2 in sight. To be honest, hole 3 pad to 5 basket would be a cool tournament hole, but I digress. Hole 4 is one of the three long holes the course offers. It would be a relatively easy par 4 if it weren't for the power lines and telephone poles that you need to navigate through. For RHBH, you can't let your throw go high and left or you'll end up in the woods and you'll need to play out and rescue par or bogey. Hole 5 plays along the edge of the woods (on your right) with the basket tucked in the woods line on top of a mound, yet another right turning line. Hole 6 plays straight through a cool little ravine, nothing too tricky but aesthetically nice. Hole 7 is tight difficult tee shot to a dog leg left, one of the hardest tee shots at this course. There isn't much to offer if you try to take a back door line and cut off the dog leg. Hole 8 is a sexy dead straight slightly uphill shot through a narrow fairway protected by trees on both sides with a basket protected by low branches. Hole 9 is a unique hole that is somewhat open but you need to stay low under some low trees about halfway up the fairway. Hole 10 is the second of the 3 long holes and plays alongside the parking lot. If you reach 300+, this hole is very birdieable. Hole 11 is an 'S' curve fairway uphill. Disc up and power down an anhyzers that fights back out and fades. Behind the basket slopes off steeply to a pond, so be careful. Hole 12 is another uphill and right turning hole with some trees that could prove difficult for a direct shot toward the basket. Hole 13 is a tight tee shot through an initial tunnel that opens up slightly downhill and turns hard left. The safe play is an RHBH hyper placement shot of about 200 feet into the open area to setup a long birdie run or a safe shot in to guarantee par. There is room up high on this hole, which otherwise seems very tight if you are itching for the basket from the tee, but you risk losing plastic. Hole 14 isn't one of the 3 long holes I've mentioned, but it is the only other par 4 besides those. This starts off through an initial tunnel which opens up into a diagonally traversing ravine containing a number of trees that can knock you down. The basket sits 40 feet back at the top of the hill bordering the ravine. If you make it through the tunnel and keep it straight even with only 250 feet, you got a good safe birdie run. Hole 15 is nifty. It is very short playing from hilltop to hilltop across a small valley. A putter or favorite mid range disc for hyzer lines will suffice to try to land you up near the basket, but watch you don't come short and roll down. If you do, you can still save par. Hole 16 is a narrow right turning hole with a VERY protected basket on a narrow tall mound with steep sides. You almost have to drop it on the little room given to setup a tap in par. Otherwise, be very confident in your putting or expect bogey or double if you miss the putt. Hole 17 is unique. It plays out of the woods into a 'field' with some trees and bushes that form a grove to protect the basket. Keep the initial tee shot right with a fade in toward the grove and you're fine. SPOT YOUR LANDING, tall grass/weeds/flowers. Hole 18 is the monster. The yellow tee is on the path right next to where the woods end at the lake, which requires a little walk from 17 basket. You have a somewhat narrow lane from the tee--tall grass and trees to the left and the lake to the right, so don't turn it over! If you can get about 300 feet net straight, you have nothing in your way to toss the remaining 200 feet slightly uphill toward the basket. Be very careful on your 2nd (or 3rd) shot. The sea of tall grass and flowers that sits in the 200 feet leading to the basket is very thick and very difficult to find a disc in now. There's the play by play. A tough but fair par 58. I'm an intermediate/advanced player and I played very well my 2nd loop through the course and shot a 55. Rain had me at 60 my first run through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    5/18/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: rfury82
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out, has a steady mix of challenging holes. Really enjoy the feeling of the park, the scenery can be quite enjoyable.
Cons: Most tee stands need updating. hole 6 can apparently hold some water in the center making it difficult to play if it does fill up
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a bunch of different courses over my short time playing. I find this course to be one of my favorites. That may be because I've played this one more than most because of the location to my home. I've started to learn the ins and outs of this course. Your first time here may be a little confusing, but at the same time, you may enjoy some challenges.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

South Jersey Open

1    11/17/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a technical tight course that utilizes many different elements forcing accuracy on some holes and distance on others.
Cons: Dirt pad tee boxes.
The over water shots can lead to lost discs
One short hole has an extremely tight tube to shoot through.
Other Thoughts: Some shorts over large water and many risk reward options.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sovi

1    3/24/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots needed- after two 18s i think i had used all the discs in my bag and i was playing well.

Mounds- i enjoyed the use of sand mounds for elevated baskets on some of the wooded holes. I thought that they did a very nice job using what land and elevation was given to them.

Starting to put in arrows and directional signs- i could imagine this course being really rough and hard to navigate without the arrows i made being put in:)
Hole 1 alternate tee- if you want to you can play across the water on 1 and it adds like 200 of water shot.

Flypads- they have started to put in flypads for some various pro tees.

Water close enough- i often found myself thinking: could i get a bad rollaway and plunge into the water?

Steps- on some holes locals have put in steps which helps with footing getting up as well as erosion
Cons: This course does not live up to its full potential- locals have started to clean up the course and improve it, and i believe it os possible to make this into an awesome course if the had better amenities such as teepads, benches and tee signs.

Saftey issues- some holes on the front nine play really close together. Mounds in between holes help a little bit, bit make it harder to see a disc oming at you
Other Thoughts: Hopefully in the near future i will make my way back down to vineland and see this course grow and get better

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/3/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: slvravn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Another course in South Jersey
- Some really tricky through the woods holes (#3 from the pro tee!)
- I really liked the trees near the basket on hole 9. Makes for an interesting putt if you overshoot the basket.
- Decent baskets
- 18 holes
- Tournament course for SJDG
- Good parking and restrooms are available
Cons: - Course needs to be maintained a bit more. Tee boxes were good on some holes and pretty bad on others. It looks like they are starting to redo some of the pro tees, but not all of them have been done or finished.
- Signage is ok at best for getting to the next hole and for hole info.
- There is a great deal of water here, but it never really gets put to good use.
- A good deal of trash throughout the course needs to be picked up.
- A wider variety of shots would be nice. A few of the holes feel repetitive.
- Some more benches would be nice
Other Thoughts: All in all it is a nice course, but I would only play it again if I was in the area and not make a special trip for it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 little tough to find

1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 37  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there was good mix of open to tightly wooded tunnels. nice park they have for being in an urban environment. other notables it didnt smell like a worked out armpit.
Cons: poor map, does not show the multiple tee pads. not really to any scale. when i played there was red arrows everywhere, little miss leading, which we decided later in the round were from a bike race or something. some of the baskets didnt have numbers. none of the gold tee boxes had numbers and the one that did was miss labled 8 it was 7. 17 and 18 not mowed. so there was no fairway what so ever.
Other Thoughts: i feel like this course could use some really cheap upgrade fixes and it could be much better. mark the all the tee boxes with the hole number, distance and perhaps some indication of the intended flight path. tag the none marked baskets i think 14 is one. a whooping $15 between spray paint and some path markers could make this course the 3.5 its claimed to be. when i went there was no street address listed. i updated it and it should get you there via a gps

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great course in South Jersey

1    2/16/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -A good challenging course
-A place where you have to use all your shots in your arsenal
-Good use of elevation
-Great signage
-Multiple tees
-Clean bathroom facilities
-The General Mills plant across the street makes the course smells like cereal
Cons: -Some (1 or 2) very tight alleys that are above my playing level
-Wish that water was used more in the course design
-First tee isn't very close to the parking lot
-Some long walks between holes
Other Thoughts: Sure is great alternative to sketch Landis Park. Would love to play tournaments here. The locals are taking great care of this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Safety Last

1    11/15/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: ENold
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This DGC is set in a large multi-use park close to fuel and food amenities. A few holes offer some cool shots and most require line-shaping to varying extents. Water comes into play on a few holes but only with a VERY errant shot. Further, the course has alternate tees, many of which change the hole entirely.
Cons: All teepads are natural. Some are sand and some are dirt but none are properly maintained and have become rutted. Even a few framed gold tees which seem fairly new. Baskets vary from new to old n' busted but being discatchers they aren't too bad. There are significant safety issues here: baskets next to baskets, baskets next to teepads, parralel fairways no more than 30' away from another, fairways crossing roads, and steep drop-offs just off the front of the tee(15.) navigation is an issue even though the locals are trying to remedy that problem we got turned around several times and more often struggled to find the gold tees.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course. With some time, money, and park cooperation my rating would jump atleast 1 disc but in it's current state I can't recommend it to anyone I'm on friendly terms with. Be sure to brush leaves and other debris from teepads or risk any errant shot or injury. I neglected to do so on 15 and fell off the front of the tee landing knee first on a root. Lastly, this course is not "moderately" wooded. In comparison, it's atleast as tight as Lums Pond in Delaware. There are some true poke-n-hope holes out there. Don't make a special trip here; drive an hour to play in Delaware or PA. If you're in the area stop by, play some golf, and try to have some fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.