Vineland, NJ 
South Vineland Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #9
3 / 257ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Jersey Course

1    8/3/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two sets of tees
-Bathrooms and water fountains on premises
-This course I expected to be flat like most of NJ but it actually had some cool elevation changes. The course designers did use elevation to the best that they could.
-Water scenery is nice
-Some challenging holes due to trees in the way
Cons: -This course is about the only course in the area so I can see why some people think it's a good course. But if you compare it to PA or NY courses, it doesn't size up well.
-Many of the holes are chuck and hope holes with little fairway to throw through. I am all about woodsy courses, but a few of the holes had almost no space.
-Trash. Trash. Trash. There is lots of it all over, especially the last 7 or 8 holes.
-At one point in the course you actually have to walk past a trespassing sign so there's that....
-My biggest qualm with this course is the lack of incorporating the surrounding water. The website says there are a few water holes here, but you have to be way off line to hit the water. On many occasions the course could have had some memorable throws over the couple of lakes, but no such holes were here. They came close (30 yards) but not used to make it challenging.
-Hole 18 had no fairway so even a straight down the middle throw will cause you too look for 10 minutes in weeds with ticks and poison ivy.
-Navigation is tough on several holes even with the "next tee" signs
-No map to show how the holes lays out which takes away from the appeal for me a great deal since many baskets were not visible from tee
Other Thoughts: Overall this course wasn't horrible, it just needs a few tweaks to be a 3 or 4 out of 5. The changes wouldn't even take a great deal of money for things like signage with maps, cleaning up trash on several holes, trimming some trees in middle of fairways, mowing 18's fairway, and changing some layouts to incorporate water more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/3/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: slvravn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Another course in South Jersey
- Some really tricky through the woods holes (#3 from the pro tee!)
- I really liked the trees near the basket on hole 9. Makes for an interesting putt if you overshoot the basket.
- Decent baskets
- 18 holes
- Tournament course for SJDG
- Good parking and restrooms are available
Cons: - Course needs to be maintained a bit more. Tee boxes were good on some holes and pretty bad on others. It looks like they are starting to redo some of the pro tees, but not all of them have been done or finished.
- Signage is ok at best for getting to the next hole and for hole info.
- There is a great deal of water here, but it never really gets put to good use.
- A good deal of trash throughout the course needs to be picked up.
- A wider variety of shots would be nice. A few of the holes feel repetitive.
- Some more benches would be nice
Other Thoughts: All in all it is a nice course, but I would only play it again if I was in the area and not make a special trip for it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 little tough to find

1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there was good mix of open to tightly wooded tunnels. nice park they have for being in an urban environment. other notables it didnt smell like a worked out armpit.
Cons: poor map, does not show the multiple tee pads. not really to any scale. when i played there was red arrows everywhere, little miss leading, which we decided later in the round were from a bike race or something. some of the baskets didnt have numbers. none of the gold tee boxes had numbers and the one that did was miss labled 8 it was 7. 17 and 18 not mowed. so there was no fairway what so ever.
Other Thoughts: i feel like this course could use some really cheap upgrade fixes and it could be much better. mark the all the tee boxes with the hole number, distance and perhaps some indication of the intended flight path. tag the none marked baskets i think 14 is one. a whooping $15 between spray paint and some path markers could make this course the 3.5 its claimed to be. when i went there was no street address listed. i updated it and it should get you there via a gps

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Safety Last

1    11/15/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: ENold
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This DGC is set in a large multi-use park close to fuel and food amenities. A few holes offer some cool shots and most require line-shaping to varying extents. Water comes into play on a few holes but only with a VERY errant shot. Further, the course has alternate tees, many of which change the hole entirely.
Cons: All teepads are natural. Some are sand and some are dirt but none are properly maintained and have become rutted. Even a few framed gold tees which seem fairly new. Baskets vary from new to old n' busted but being discatchers they aren't too bad. There are significant safety issues here: baskets next to baskets, baskets next to teepads, parralel fairways no more than 30' away from another, fairways crossing roads, and steep drop-offs just off the front of the tee(15.) navigation is an issue even though the locals are trying to remedy that problem we got turned around several times and more often struggled to find the gold tees.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course. With some time, money, and park cooperation my rating would jump atleast 1 disc but in it's current state I can't recommend it to anyone I'm on friendly terms with. Be sure to brush leaves and other debris from teepads or risk any errant shot or injury. I neglected to do so on 15 and fell off the front of the tee landing knee first on a root. Lastly, this course is not "moderately" wooded. In comparison, it's atleast as tight as Lums Pond in Delaware. There are some true poke-n-hope holes out there. Don't make a special trip here; drive an hour to play in Delaware or PA. If you're in the area stop by, play some golf, and try to have some fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth a long drive

1    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the holes had very cool woodworking done to spice them up. Some of the fairways obviously had a lot of work put into them. I'm from NJ and I really enjoyed the terrain. It was a good mix of that sandy dirt you find all through South Jersey.

I particularly enjoyed 5, 6, 7 and 12, although I could not find 12's tee. I improvised a tee along the road, based on the course map. #7 was a pretty cool tunnel shot with serious punishment if you left the fairway.
Cons: Currently there is a flooding problem on the course that results in some holes being unplayable. Beyond that, which I was expecting, I couldn't find most of the holes after 13. 13 is unplayable but I found its basket. According to the map, 14's tee should be near 13, but I could not find it even in conjunction with a little arrow tee marker.

The course would greatly benefit from better signs and tee markers.
Other Thoughts: There is a restroom next to the parking lot, but it was locked when I was playing the course in the middle of the day on a Saturday. There is a Wawa farther down 47S that has public restrooms.

Holes 5-12 are a good time and reasonably easy to find, especially with the help of the map included on this site. After I stumbled through the course, I replayed 5-12 pretty rapidly. This is how I would recommend playing the course until the flooding problem has been resolved.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bachelor Party fun!

1    9/27/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: mike
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great mix of tees....elevation and overall terrain. Some intense tunnel shots.
Cons: Green arrows all over are NOT for DG!! Teeing off over roads is not enjoyable either. Watch out for cars!!
Other Thoughts: lotsa land to use. Got there midday and course was covered by local scouts cleaning the course. Thank you guys!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.