Vineland, NJ 
South Vineland Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
3 / 239ft.   3 / 419ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pleasant surprise

2-4    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is definitely a more tight, short, technical course with average hole length around 290-300ish. There was great use of narrow lanes, hills and mounds to protect baskets. Water comes into play on a few holes which I dig--keeps you on your toes. For the yellow tees, there were rubber mat tees pads on most holes and for the pro tees without them, there was usually a segment of carpet instead which worked okay. There is a very cool pond/lake that the course plays around that was busy with people in small boats fishing. The course plays around the parking lot as well so you're never far from your car. I'm big on both aesthetics and good disc golf holes. The course gives you both, as it is very pretty, unique visually, and well designed for a technical play. The baskets were all very nice. The wooden signs pointing the way to both white and yellow tees were very helpful. There were also big yellow yard signs marking each hole with its number.
Cons: Navigationally, there were only a few difficult spots for me. Hole 3 I couldn't see the basket around and tucked in to the right, and I first threw far and across the road to 5's basket which I presumed was my target since it was too far to read the number 5 on it for my eyes.. Tee signs would prevent this occurrence in the future as the course is hopefully able to raise some money. I didn't see the typical wooden arrows pointing the way from hole 11 to 12, so this took some exploring but I got it in reasonable time. Lastly, 17 basket to 18 tee pad had me a little confused and doubting myself until I found it since it is a bit far away and through retry tall grass/flowers. Lastly issue was hole 17 and 18 in general. Shots directly in the fairway can get lost easily in the stuff this course has you playing through. I don't know if the wild flower fields aren't allowed to be mowed or what, but there needs to be fairways paths mowed here badly. I spent 10 minutes looking for my second shot which was right on a nice line to the basket but short about 50 feet. Some mowing on 17/18, tee signs, and tee pads on the few lacking and this is a great course.
Other Thoughts: I had known about this course for a little while now, but hadn't had the chance to get in the area to check it out. I had initially written it off as an okay local course, but once I gave it a go, I was hooked by hole 3. I played yellow tees, and hole 1 proved a difficult 3 with a blind shot around a bend to the left. Don't turn it over because your border on the right is the lake! There was a fallen tree across the fairway about 50 feet from the basket making par difficult. Hole 2 is a short narrow right turning line that could prove cumbersome for RHBH that aren't comfortable with anhyzers or flipping discs. Hole 3 is another short right turning blind shot with a protected basket making it a difficult birdie. For this hole, be careful not to shoot all the way across to hole 5 or 8's baskets which are the only 2 in sight. To be honest, hole 3 pad to 5 basket would be a cool tournament hole, but I digress. Hole 4 is one of the three long holes the course offers. It would be a relatively easy par 4 if it weren't for the power lines and telephone poles that you need to navigate through. For RHBH, you can't let your throw go high and left or you'll end up in the woods and you'll need to play out and rescue par or bogey. Hole 5 plays along the edge of the woods (on your right) with the basket tucked in the woods line on top of a mound, yet another right turning line. Hole 6 plays straight through a cool little ravine, nothing too tricky but aesthetically nice. Hole 7 is tight difficult tee shot to a dog leg left, one of the hardest tee shots at this course. There isn't much to offer if you try to take a back door line and cut off the dog leg. Hole 8 is a sexy dead straight slightly uphill shot through a narrow fairway protected by trees on both sides with a basket protected by low branches. Hole 9 is a unique hole that is somewhat open but you need to stay low under some low trees about halfway up the fairway. Hole 10 is the second of the 3 long holes and plays alongside the parking lot. If you reach 300+, this hole is very birdieable. Hole 11 is an 'S' curve fairway uphill. Disc up and power down an anhyzers that fights back out and fades. Behind the basket slopes off steeply to a pond, so be careful. Hole 12 is another uphill and right turning hole with some trees that could prove difficult for a direct shot toward the basket. Hole 13 is a tight tee shot through an initial tunnel that opens up slightly downhill and turns hard left. The safe play is an RHBH hyper placement shot of about 200 feet into the open area to setup a long birdie run or a safe shot in to guarantee par. There is room up high on this hole, which otherwise seems very tight if you are itching for the basket from the tee, but you risk losing plastic. Hole 14 isn't one of the 3 long holes I've mentioned, but it is the only other par 4 besides those. This starts off through an initial tunnel which opens up into a diagonally traversing ravine containing a number of trees that can knock you down. The basket sits 40 feet back at the top of the hill bordering the ravine. If you make it through the tunnel and keep it straight even with only 250 feet, you got a good safe birdie run. Hole 15 is nifty. It is very short playing from hilltop to hilltop across a small valley. A putter or favorite mid range disc for hyzer lines will suffice to try to land you up near the basket, but watch you don't come short and roll down. If you do, you can still save par. Hole 16 is a narrow right turning hole with a VERY protected basket on a narrow tall mound with steep sides. You almost have to drop it on the little room given to setup a tap in par. Otherwise, be very confident in your putting or expect bogey or double if you miss the putt. Hole 17 is unique. It plays out of the woods into a 'field' with some trees and bushes that form a grove to protect the basket. Keep the initial tee shot right with a fade in toward the grove and you're fine. SPOT YOUR LANDING, tall grass/weeds/flowers. Hole 18 is the monster. The yellow tee is on the path right next to where the woods end at the lake, which requires a little walk from 17 basket. You have a somewhat narrow lane from the tee--tall grass and trees to the left and the lake to the right, so don't turn it over! If you can get about 300 feet net straight, you have nothing in your way to toss the remaining 200 feet slightly uphill toward the basket. Be very careful on your 2nd (or 3rd) shot. The sea of tall grass and flowers that sits in the 200 feet leading to the basket is very thick and very difficult to find a disc in now. There's the play by play. A tough but fair par 58. I'm an intermediate/advanced player and I played very well my 2nd loop through the course and shot a 55. Rain had me at 60 my first run through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    5/18/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: rfury82
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out, has a steady mix of challenging holes. Really enjoy the feeling of the park, the scenery can be quite enjoyable.
Cons: Most tee stands need updating. hole 6 can apparently hold some water in the center making it difficult to play if it does fill up
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a bunch of different courses over my short time playing. I find this course to be one of my favorites. That may be because I've played this one more than most because of the location to my home. I've started to learn the ins and outs of this course. Your first time here may be a little confusing, but at the same time, you may enjoy some challenges.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sovi

1    3/24/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots needed- after two 18s i think i had used all the discs in my bag and i was playing well.

Mounds- i enjoyed the use of sand mounds for elevated baskets on some of the wooded holes. I thought that they did a very nice job using what land and elevation was given to them.

Starting to put in arrows and directional signs- i could imagine this course being really rough and hard to navigate without the arrows i made being put in:)
Hole 1 alternate tee- if you want to you can play across the water on 1 and it adds like 200 of water shot.

Flypads- they have started to put in flypads for some various pro tees.

Water close enough- i often found myself thinking: could i get a bad rollaway and plunge into the water?

Steps- on some holes locals have put in steps which helps with footing getting up as well as erosion
Cons: This course does not live up to its full potential- locals have started to clean up the course and improve it, and i believe it os possible to make this into an awesome course if the had better amenities such as teepads, benches and tee signs.

Saftey issues- some holes on the front nine play really close together. Mounds in between holes help a little bit, bit make it harder to see a disc oming at you
Other Thoughts: Hopefully in the near future i will make my way back down to vineland and see this course grow and get better

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will test your technical game. There is some variety with long shots, overall I really remember strategizing the lines to throw. Water in play on a few holes.

Other Pros:
- excellent baskets
- nice risk/reward
- fun and challenging
- some elevation
- 2 tees make great distance options which is perfect for different level players
- unique holes
Cons: I'm not against natural tees but some were muddy ruts and I really don't like the sandy tees.

Other Cons:
- fairways near water were very muddy
- saw lots of trash
- difficult navigation in a couple spots ("next tee" signs get you in the generall direction)
- holes across a road
- bathrooms were locked
Other Thoughts: #17 was my favorite hole, lake on the right with a tight fairway to the basket, raised on a hill to the left.

I took the Cape May Ferry (about 1 hour drive from the course) back home which was expensive but very fun if your with a group of friends and have designated driver.

I was pleasantly suprised with this course, it's not a destination course but a must play if you are near by.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  great for beginners

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: discaddict
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a lot of variety throughout the course. Hole 1 offers a water hazard. There are tight fairways on multiple holes across the course. There are wide open shots. There is elevation changes on holes 13 thru 17. Two sets of tees yellow for advanced and white for beginners.
Cons: Teeboxes are dirt pads maked by two colored bricks. No indicators on tbe distance from tee to basket. First time playing it can be hard to find some tees (13 and 4) as a new player thefact that water is not used much is good but could upset more advanced players
Other Thoughts: Very scenic course with a lot of nice views of lakes. The map on theis site is not 100% accurate. New players will have a good time using whit tees. Hole 1 is now thru the gates when you walk past the docks and around lake. It would be where tee 2 on the map is. After you walk thru gates to get to hole 13 make a right on the path. Overall a great course for variety

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Has Potential- Not Quite There Yet

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technically challenging wooded course with a few peaks out in the open. Located in a small township park with clean bathrooms on site, water and a pavilion area. Navigation is improved and relatively simple with a number of "next tee" arrows helping along the way. There are dual tee pads at each hole. All baskets work well. Holes are all numbered. Nice use of both natural elevation and man-made elevation, with railroad-tie tiers at several holes. Walkways between holes starting to get worn in and will become better. Pretty good variety here. The course is challenging enough for the advanced disc golfer yet manageable for less experienced types.
Cons: Better signage is needed here- some holes have temporary styrofoam placards while others have unappealing numbers painted on bricks. Most holes have natural tee pads. Bag poles and maps of each hole with flight path would be welcomed. Hole 18- a throw over the water- is a waste of time and a guaranteed "6" unless you have a cannon for an arm. A bit claustrophobic in spots (not a fan of hole 4 on either pad). Paintballers have stained areas of the course including a couple of baskets on the back nine. Throwing over the road on hole 5 not a good idea.
Other Thoughts: South Vineland is a good play, and its weaknesses are correctable. A renewed effort by a number of locals to get this place in great shape has helped considerably, although more work needs to be done. Some benches and permanent tee pads are slowly making their way onto the course. Flooding has hindered efforts to work on sections of the course and slobs who frequent the park and leave trash are a constant source of frustration. All in all however, a positive experience here and well worth the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Weird, New Jersey!

1    3/30/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A much safer and friendlier environment than Landis Park in town. Sparkling Crystal Lake is a real jaw dropper. Some very unique holes here. Perfect stop for shoebies on the way to the shore. Has some wind, some water, some woods, some open, some elevation, and some character that makes it a bit different from other courses. There are some holes here that you will remember and want to play again after you have left. 2 tee areas per hole. Good use of unique terrain. Seems to be some dedicated volunteers whose passion has made this course a curiousity for disc golfers to wander too. Technical Holes are thrilling here.
Cons: Course needs to upgrade it's tees and a bit more on site information would benefit everyone. Some of the holes are memorable for the wrong reasons. Litter and paint ball mess ruin the beauty of holes 14-16. Not well marked, just bricks in the ground. This is fine and keeps the course from becoming an eyesore to the public, but with no maps or Kiosk available it can become a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: Not sure how to describe this course. It is different for certain. This is my assessment of the holes:
#1 a bad design too close to the entrance road or too dangerous over a dock...this hole invites double trouble by vehicles or parkgoers and does not reward with anything special to the basket
#2 A real gem shoots along the pristine lakeshore and up to a sweet protected elevated pin area...perhaps the best hole in all of Jersey.
#3 a nondescript flat wooded fairway, perhaps a bit too tight for it's length.
#4 an excruciatingly tight gauntlet that follows a bizarre undulating trail to a tightly protected basket...this hole is so awful that it is almost cool..it's impossible and unfair but will keep you interested because it is so challenging..I also love/hate this hole!
#5 an open chuck across the entrance road to a protected basket in the shallow woods across the street..again inviting vehicle trouble..a car could turn into the park and your drive could easily still be airborne and hyzer into a windshield!
#6 An open lefty drive across a field with the entrance road to the left and heavy woods to right..eventually you are treated to a work of art raised man made basket..sadly there is no chance to overshoot due to heavy vegetation behind the pin...if you could sail your shot well past the elevated pin this would be more fun!
#7 a very funland hole..a tight drive with banks on both sides of fairway to a basket on a bank straight ahead..almost like shooting through a baby canyon..neato!
#8 tucked snuggly between 6,7,9 a good woods hole but too close to other holes.
#9 not as good of a woods hole but again too close to 8 and 7.
#10 a good woods hole but again just too close to hole 7.
#11 a wonderful traditional disc golf hole..low ceiling options grass fairway to a basket tucked amongst some trees..its way too tightly tucked, with zero room for error and unfairly takes away putting lanes....kind of like goaltending here by the trees IMO. Some will love this and some will find it ruins the hole.
#12 a true accident waiting to happen...shoot 3/4 over the access road with the parking lot to the left..most natural shots will tempt fate with the lot or the road..very few can clear to the basket area....not a good enough hole to warrant such risk. I would rather this hole be scrapped and have the chance to stop by my car and then play the back 9.
#13 the fun begins premium golf hole here..drive a fairway where you are impeded by some slim trees...here you have to choose a lane up a bank to the basket..true fun here!
#14 again driving down through some tighter trees/perhaps too tight? and then up a bank to the basket.
#15 both tees offer fun one is a blast off the bank to the pin in the deep ravine below..the other offers a challenging shot to even make it to the ravine..basket is on ravine floor next to bank...I think it would be better raised above and up a bank on the other side to keep it from fairway of 16 and to raise the challenge and fun factor.
#16 a shot from one bank across a ravine to a bank on the other side. Weeee!
#17 A truly challenging yet fun hole....big pond to right and green is very fast with Crystal Lake behind her to add to the beauty, it's tight but very cool.
#18 take your time and find the tee..its back along the woods closer to the lake..a big slight uphill bomb to finish your day..beware if you throw anything understable as it may find it's way into the lake which is a hazzard to the right of half of this hole.
This course is worth playing...I would not consider it a destination for anyone outside of Jersey but it is worth the drive for Jerseyites and those who are passing through. I think some tweaking and perhaps getting rid of some of the blander and dangerous holes (1,3,5,8,9,10,12) and utilizing the backside of the lake beyond hole 2 and some more of the undulating terrain that is so much fun 13-17 that this could become a top notch destination course.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Fun!

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging holes that force you to be creative with your shots. Well maintained areas around baskets. I liked how they had stairs for the uphill walks (some are very steep). Holes have good variety. Some are long, short, tight and open. Baskets are all in very good shape. I liked how some of the tees and baskets were placed on small hills for a little more variety in the shot. This course really forces you to be accurate around the basket because there are trees and dropoffs right near the baskets.
Cons: Very hard to find majority of the tees. Even with signs pointing you in the direction of the next hole its hard to spot where the tees actually are. The tees are simply marked with painted bricks that are dug into the ground and often covered with dirt. No signs telling you where the hole plays so you will occasionally search for the next basket. Hole 18 took me at least 10-15 minutes to find (you have to walk down a path into a clearing the bear hard right.) I felt I spent a little too much time looking for the next tee. A few holes played straight thru a paintball war zone. Not sure how often that gets used but could be dangerous. Tee boxes are pretty much a mix or dirt and sand and footing on them is very poor.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun. It was just very frustrating spending so much time searching for the next tee box. After a round or 2 you should be able to remember where they all are. Very nice park. Very quiet and peaceful. Public bathrooms and a nice picnic area with overhang to eat lunch in between rounds if you desire.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 best in S Jersey

1    1/24/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Vineland Park is the nicest course in South Jersey, and one of the best in Jersey. The course is actually called Crystal Lakes DGC but it is better known by the name of the park the course is located in. South Vineland Park is a well manicured park located around a lake.
The course winds its way along the lake for the first few holes and then back into the woods for the later holes. Each hole features two tees (whites and yellows). Hole 1 from the yellow tees off across the lake to the pin set near the bank of the lake. Hole 2 plays parallel to the lake for a straightforward shot with some tree cover. Holes 3 and 4 are short holes but through dense woods making them very challenging. Hole 5 is open with the basket set in the woods. Holes 6-9 play thin fairways through wooded holes. Holes 6 & 7 feature nice raised baskets. Hole 10 is an open hole; enjoy it because holes 11- 17 play through dense woods with little or no defined fairways. They are all pretty short, but the difficulty of the dense woods make up for the lack of distance. Also none of the holes are too alike; there really is a lot of variation and elevation changes that makes each hole unique. The pin placement on hole 17 requires a well placed shot because its placed on a thin ridge with steep drop offs on either side. Hole 18 is an open shot to a tree protected basket, a nice easy finish to the challenging back nine.
South Vineland requires a wide variety of shots and accurate approach drives are paramount. The course is really taken care of and there are many upgrades being worked on that are really improving the course.
Cons: South Vineland could really use a few simple upgrades that would make this course an excellent course.
First tee signs would be a nice addition and help make navigation much easier. This is more preferential since most pins are easily seen from the white tees. The yellow tees are a different story unless you are familiar with the course they can be very difficult to find. Tee signs would help this a lot.
The tees are natural tees and since the ground is more sand than anything they are really dug in and rutted. Concrete tees (or some type of permanent tee) would add a lot to the course. This goes for both yellow and white tees.
As the course stands now, it is very difficult to find some of the tees especially the yellow tees. So if you are playing the course for the first time print a map to help find your way around.
Other Thoughts: The park has restrooms (closed during winter) and a pavilion with picnic tables. It is really a nice park and is mostly dedicated to disc golf. On the back 9 there are some areas where paintballers play. The park has installed a gated fence to keep cars off of the course and it has cut down on P-baller traffic, though from what I hear they are rarely a problem on the course. South Vineland is well worth the drive and will not disappoint. If the course designers continue to upgrade the course and add some the needed features this course has the raw potential to become the best course in Jersey.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best course In Southern NJ

2-4    6/29/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course In Southern NJ. The holes were varied, challenging and well thought out. Some of the narrow fairways on the front nine can be punishing. Excellent use of elevation on the back nine, driving up, down and across small valleys was great. Some of the front 9 (holes 7, 8, 9, 10) have very interesting terrain, shallow trenches and mounds that the fairways follow can lead to rolls that go either way. I enjoyed seeing the pins that have been built up on steps by the local club. 2 tees per hole added an additional challenge, some varying only in fairway ease, some varying greatly in distance, a few (1, 4, 14, 15) completely changed the look of the hole.
Cons: The tees. With all the effort that has been put into this course tee improvement is a much needed next step. Dirt tees are alright if nothing else, but at least put some signage in. Or posts to mark the tees. Nothing bugs me more (except for litter) then wandering around a course looking for 2 small bricks in the ground, which may or may not be covered with leaves and dirt. If you haven't played here before definitely print out the map. ***UPDATE*** Signs guiding to each tee have been added and are very helpful along with the occasional sign pointing out which basket to throw to (hole 8) Additionally, the bricks in the ground have been slightly elevated and cleared off to help with visibility. Excellent upgrade. Aside from putting in signage and maps at each tee, this is as good as you can get. Nice work.
Other Thoughts: Tees aside I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Anytime I'm passing through the area I will stop here and heck, will make some trips just for crystal lake DG.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.