Disc Golf Store
Vineland, NJ
South Vineland Park Share
Uploaded By: nuisance Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  best in vineland

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: sinned8517
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: great coarse. many tight fairways, you can tell people did a great job putting this coarse together.
Cons: one hole is over a little bit of water others next to water. hole 18 was hard to find and is in heavy brush up to your knee and thighs.
Other Thoughts: i will be back on this coarse as soon as i can, lots of fun.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will test your technical game. There is some variety with long shots, overall I really remember strategizing the lines to throw. Water in play on a few holes.

Other Pros:
- excellent baskets
- nice risk/reward
- fun and challenging
- some elevation
- 2 tees make great distance options which is perfect for different level players
- unique holes
Cons: I'm not against natural tees but some were muddy ruts and I really don't like the sandy tees.

Other Cons:
- fairways near water were very muddy
- saw lots of trash
- difficult navigation in a couple spots ("next tee" signs get you in the generall direction)
- holes across a road
- bathrooms were locked
Other Thoughts: #17 was my favorite hole, lake on the right with a tight fairway to the basket, raised on a hill to the left.

I took the Cape May Ferry (about 1 hour drive from the course) back home which was expensive but very fun if your with a group of friends and have designated driver.

I was pleasantly suprised with this course, it's not a destination course but a must play if you are near by.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  great for beginners

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: discaddict
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a lot of variety throughout the course. Hole 1 offers a water hazard. There are tight fairways on multiple holes across the course. There are wide open shots. There is elevation changes on holes 13 thru 17. Two sets of tees yellow for advanced and white for beginners.
Cons: Teeboxes are dirt pads maked by two colored bricks. No indicators on tbe distance from tee to basket. First time playing it can be hard to find some tees (13 and 4) as a new player thefact that water is not used much is good but could upset more advanced players
Other Thoughts: Very scenic course with a lot of nice views of lakes. The map on theis site is not 100% accurate. New players will have a good time using whit tees. Hole 1 is now thru the gates when you walk past the docks and around lake. It would be where tee 2 on the map is. After you walk thru gates to get to hole 13 make a right on the path. Overall a great course for variety

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

renewed VIGOR

5+    1/17/2013   12/15/2010
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: WE WILL BE HAVING MONTHLY TOURNAMENTS..SOME NEW TEE MATS HAVE BEEN INSTALLED..NEW TEE BOX FOR 11 IS LEVEL AND BUILT TO LAST..
Cons: DON'T COMPLAIN WE NEED ALL THE HELP PLAYERS AND MONEY WE CAN GET..
Other Thoughts: PLEASE COME TO ONE OF OUR MONTHLIES OR PDGA EVENTS

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Has Potential- Not Quite There Yet

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technically challenging wooded course with a few peaks out in the open. Located in a small township park with clean bathrooms on site, water and a pavilion area. Navigation is improved and relatively simple with a number of "next tee" arrows helping along the way. There are dual tee pads at each hole. All baskets work well. Holes are all numbered. Nice use of both natural elevation and man-made elevation, with railroad-tie tiers at several holes. Walkways between holes starting to get worn in and will become better. Pretty good variety here. The course is challenging enough for the advanced disc golfer yet manageable for less experienced types.
Cons: Better signage is needed here- some holes have temporary styrofoam placards while others have unappealing numbers painted on bricks. Most holes have natural tee pads. Bag poles and maps of each hole with flight path would be welcomed. Hole 18- a throw over the water- is a waste of time and a guaranteed "6" unless you have a cannon for an arm. A bit claustrophobic in spots (not a fan of hole 4 on either pad). Paintballers have stained areas of the course including a couple of baskets on the back nine. Throwing over the road on hole 5 not a good idea.
Other Thoughts: South Vineland is a good play, and its weaknesses are correctable. A renewed effort by a number of locals to get this place in great shape has helped considerably, although more work needs to be done. Some benches and permanent tee pads are slowly making their way onto the course. Flooding has hindered efforts to work on sections of the course and slobs who frequent the park and leave trash are a constant source of frustration. All in all however, a positive experience here and well worth the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What a mess!

1    10/30/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: pinochle
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with great potential to be a nice course.
Cons: What a mess! Hole 1 is nowhere to be found. Holes 13-17 are nowhere to be found. On top of that, there is a huge "No Trespassing" sign right next to a sign for hole 13. But the basket is nowhere to be found.
Other Thoughts: This course can be really beautiful. However, it's an absolute mess! Hopefully a little TLC will make it a better experience in the future.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth a long drive

1    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the holes had very cool woodworking done to spice them up. Some of the fairways obviously had a lot of work put into them. I'm from NJ and I really enjoyed the terrain. It was a good mix of that sandy dirt you find all through South Jersey.

I particularly enjoyed 5, 6, 7 and 12, although I could not find 12's tee. I improvised a tee along the road, based on the course map. #7 was a pretty cool tunnel shot with serious punishment if you left the fairway.
Cons: Currently there is a flooding problem on the course that results in some holes being unplayable. Beyond that, which I was expecting, I couldn't find most of the holes after 13. 13 is unplayable but I found its basket. According to the map, 14's tee should be near 13, but I could not find it even in conjunction with a little arrow tee marker.

The course would greatly benefit from better signs and tee markers.
Other Thoughts: There is a restroom next to the parking lot, but it was locked when I was playing the course in the middle of the day on a Saturday. There is a Wawa farther down 47S that has public restrooms.

Holes 5-12 are a good time and reasonably easy to find, especially with the help of the map included on this site. After I stumbled through the course, I replayed 5-12 pretty rapidly. This is how I would recommend playing the course until the flooding problem has been resolved.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  1st Review

5+    9/10/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: Swamprat73
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is something here for everyone. Lots of trees and changes in elevation and a lake as well as other small bodies of water. White tees are a good start for the beginner. While the yellow tees will still challenge the more advanced players.
Cons: The only thing I don't like, is playing across the road on hole five. Some cars just come flying around that corner and it's only a matter of time before disc goes into a car...or worse.
Other Thoughts: I talked to the course designers and they are going to put up signs at the tee boxes, and they got the approval to add some more holes. Which is only going to make this course better.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 C'mon!

5+    5/23/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees, Elevation and a Lake! All of the things to make a great course! Nice location (didn't need to pack heat) Course gets better each time I visit from out-of-state. Hole 17: Beautiful!
Cons: Use the freakin' lake! For a finishing hole, 18 is a boring bomb. Anyone can put a basket and tee at opposite ends of a field. And what happened to the uphill shot on the backside followed by the downhill throw over a part of the lake? These were two great holes that needed only baskets to make them perfect.
Other Thoughts: There is so much area that need to be utilized better.

Scrap # 1 and #18.
This opens up the two on the backside that got taken out during the conversion to baskets. # 17 can now be #18; a great finishing hole. Perhaps, the signature hole for this course.
Unless with further design we get a super bomb across the section of lake visible beyond the current 17 basket. (from right to left with a basket near the current long tee for 18) There's room for 27 holes here....is that the plan?

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unfinished Business

1    4/18/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting and challenging front 9. Not quite pitch and putt. We played only from the whites. Not crowded for mid day on a Saturday. Most tees were fairly easy to find and each basket had an arrow pointing you in the direction of the next tee box.
Cons: Some tee boxes are difficult to find, but the map helps. A lot of idiots in the parking lot of this multi use park. Driving at reckless speeds in the parking lot with dozens of small children wandering about.
Other Thoughts: I had the whole family, I mean the whole family with me; my three kids, their spouses and my grand kids. Also my wife and my step son. 14 of us altogether! Only 4 of us were actually throwing discs. Unfortunately we had to leave before we finished our round, hence the unfinished business. Some benches and trash cans at or near the tee boxes would not only make them a little easier to find but are always a welcome sight to take a quick break. Looking forward to my next trip to NJ to finish a complete round at this fun little course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.