Chugiak, AK 
Peters Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #14
3 / 181ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great course in transition

1    8/28/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: mbaxter
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Drove in from California and found this excellent course. Lovely setting that really challenges your accuracy through the trees. On this late August Sunday morning there was plenty of parking and no bugs. No other players either. Nice field and gazebo at the end. This is one of my favorite courses of the last two years, out of 50+. Would probably rate it 4.5 but...
Cons: Another review mentions upcoming changes, and there is some info on the sign about what was taking place during the summer of 2016 (now?) to some tees and pin placements. But there is no map there as is stated, and the erroneous map on DGCR has not been replaced. A review from 2014 refers to 6-10 missing signs and being misnumbered. We were befuddled in that section as well. Early and late on the course it was more clear.
Other Thoughts: I realize that such courses are run and supported by volunteers, we do the same in San Jose. And it sounds like the volunteers have been taking care of new concrete tees, some tape arrows on trees, and general course maintenance. Thanks volunteers! And thanks to whoever empties 18 trash cans on occasion. But for a few items that appear to be a year or more in planning, I would have liked to have seen:

1. An updated map online
2. An updated map on the course sign
3. Baskets clearly numbered
4. Creek caution on tee 15

Hopefully new hole signs can have "next tee" indicators. And there are indications that the course name is, or is being changed to, Joel Fletcher Armstrong Memorial Disc Golf Course. Clearing that up would be nice.

Don't know how soon I'll be back since it is 3000 miles from home, but I will definitely be recommending this course to folks who will be in the area.

My Favorite Course in AK

5+    12/28/2015   12/28/2015
Review By: Lou Dogg 31463
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is just a short drive from Anchorage.

-It offers 18 holes in what was once a campground within a birch tree forest.

-This is also one of the cleanest courses in the State as all 18 have a garbage can.

-This course will force/teach you to throw straight.

-Tee boxes were put in just a couple of years ago. It was much needed.

-Alternate pins will be completed in the summer of '16.

-On rainy/sunny/windy days you'll be glad to be there.
Cons:
-Because it's secluded, a lot of the Yahoo's like to play there.

-Parking can be a problem during summer days.

-The bugs/mosquitos are a problem but who can you blame for that?
Other Thoughts: If there was one course I could put in my back yard it would be Peter's Creek. This course taught me how to throw straight and I will forever be thankful for this course as it taught me the sport.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good but unorganized

1    6/4/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: bwallander
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent technical course shooting through the woods for the entire time.
Cons: They must have just changed holes are because when you get between holes 6-10 there are very few signs and the numbers are off.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the better courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The "other" Anchorage course

5+    5/24/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 86  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2015
Pros: There are only two non paying courses worth checking out in the Anchorage area, this is one of them. It's a course that you don't have to bring a lot of discs for and hard to lose the ones you do bring. The holes are challenging for their length with good flow. There is lots of shade from the sun on hot days and it's relatively quiet with few distractions. It's also a great place to just pop in for a quick game because of the hole lengths, low usage, and its proximity to the highway. This course is the perfect place to learn how to control your shots. Wind isn't usually a factor in these woods. Since I last played this course concrete teepads were added and the layout changed a little, likely for the better overall. I especially liked the new hole 7
Cons: Bugs, it's bad. Worse than any course I have played before. It gets pretty muddy after a rain, which happens far too much in the summer unfortunately. These fairways are covered in tree roots that sometimes make approaches unpredictable and become big tripping/slipping hazards when wet. I found it hard to get a good stance or footing for throws because of it too. The directional signs aren't that bad, but the tee signs are a mix of permanent and laminated paper. Some baskets were a dangerously close the the teepad of the next hole. Hole 8 has no line or fairway. The fairways are tight and short with a lot of trees on either side, which isn't a con, but there aren't necessarily lines or fairways on some holes either.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes you have to be thankful for what you got. It's not Kincaid, but it does do a decent job as a short technical course. This is the type of course demands accuracy and patients. The course itself is very quiet and tranquil and it's a real full 18 holes, which is more than you can get at most of the other courses in Anchorage.

 Peters Creek DGC

5+    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: akguanja
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice lines and a few long drive par 3's The creek makes this course almost relaxing. the grounds keepers do a good job of keeping the course fairly clean and its always a fun course to play.
Cons: Tee's could be better marked and or pro tee's would be nice on some of the shorter holes.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on Hole 15 to not over throw your first or 2nd throw. its about 300' to a un see able drop off to the creek and death of your disc... unless you know the course and or scout the hole first.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Umshewa
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.5 Years
Pros: This course uses the grounds very well. Nice long holes make you work your arm to get par.
Cons: Like others have stated, it is quite muddy and you should be ready to get a little dirty. Nothing major as long as it hasn't rained recently. Lots of trees but that's the fun part...always fun to chop trees while playing golf. No really markers to tell you where the next hole is. Must take map if never played, it is easy to miss holes.
Other Thoughts: Great for the family and very popular. Lots of trees but that's the fun part...always fun to chop trees while playing golf.

  Good Course

2-4    8/16/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: kylescott91
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
Pros: Great setup, nice variation of holes. Very good use of the area.
Cons: Can be pretty muddy, easy to lose a disc if not watching carefully.
Other Thoughts: hole #8 really neat you end up playing over people. Go on a sunny day, that way the ground isn't so muddy. also a good amount of right banks do if your right handed good to use the tomahawk.

 

5+    7/14/2008   10/16/2009
Review By: CC35
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great setup and design. Not much to complain about.
Cons: Could have better tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Great design and beautiful location. On sunny days the sun peaks through the course in almost a majestic way. As you approach the last three holes the creeks roaring waters create a refreshing environment as you finish the course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Peters Creek Review

1    7/14/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Nord117
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course, Has a good mix of distance and controlled tee offs.
Cons: A couple signs are missing directing you to the next whole but most are self explanatory. Very wooded.
Other Thoughts: Is a great course for more experienced players.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.