Hartselle, AL 
Sparkman Park Share
Uploaded By: nelgwoltrap Hole #13
3 / 291ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: randy.colwell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with lots of variety. Some holes are a blast to play. Literally minutes from my house so I play it all the time. Beautiful public park setting with tall pine trees for excellent shading without limbs hindering most of the shots. A great course to learn on which I learn something new everytime I play on the course. No longer multiple baskets to confuse you where to throw like it was a few years ago.
Cons: I'll mirror what everyone else has said about holes 4 and 5 not really fitting with the rest of the front nine. They are far too long and quite frankly incredibly boring not to mention horrible in the summer heat. There needs to be sort of obstacles that can entertwine both holes such as a group of trees and a few benches that can provide shade and a break from the long walk as well as an obstacle for those of us who don't throw 300+ from tee-offs. The rough around that is just that to say the least, which is incredibly overgrown and full of thornbushes. the creek that goes from one side of the park that involve about 8 of the holes is incredibly overgrown, with lots of trash built up from the creek washing out over and over again. Ive seen a lot of snakes in the water so be extremely careful when you pull a Randy and dump a disk in the deep part of the water. Holes 16-18 takes about 10 mins to walk from hole 15, and if the ballparks' gate is closed you will be forced to walk all the way around them to reach them. Lots of predestrians and children around the playground areas and when a pavilion is rented out you might as well go around because cars will be parked all through the course. Updated descriptions on each hole should be paramount especially on a good course, they are no longer prevelant and are more confusing than help. There also needs to be a course map at the beginning of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: The course no longer has multiple baskets at most of the holes and the footage for each hole needs to be reconfigured. Hole 13's pin has been moved about 100ft up the creekside making it further to shoot but easier for stray discs to not get OB in the snake infested rough. The course does feel like an original 9 hole course that was later added to a 18. With OB (busy road, walking paths, pavilions, water hazards, overgrown bushes) on every hole and mando's around the pavilions a 54 par is absurd. Hole 4,5,11,17 should be a par 4. This is a great course that I play about twice a week. The pro sides of the course far outweigh the downsides. In my honest opinion I recommend playing the course during the week in the morning or early afternoon during the week to avoid most of the pedestrains.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SNAC 2009

1    8/22/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets. They are nice Mach's.
-Tees. Nice concrete tees big enough to do everything I need.
-Signs. Good signs at every hole. I noticed they were movable, which seems good if the tee is moved.
-Nice shot variety. You'll use long shots and short drives, hyzers and flicks. Some holes are wide open and others are fairly wooded. #5 has and island green, which add challenge and character to the course.
-There's plenty of parking and restrooms are available along with some pavilions.
Cons: -Many pedestrians. The course has a nice walking trail entwined within it and there are generally lots of walkers on the weekend.
-The course flow has a few flaws. Holes 1-3 play in the same field and give a feeling of being cramped. Holes 16-18 are a pretty good ways away from hole 15's basket. They seem like afterthoughts.
Other Thoughts: This course is setting in a scenic park in a small town. It has a lot to offer as far as challenge and shot variety. With the rules for the SNAC tourney, there was lots of OB. Some of the OB comes from road and parking lots; other comes from the walking trail and small creeks going through. There's a fair amount of benches and trash cans. The course is pretty well maintained with the trees pruned and grass cut nicely. I was disappointed that the course wasn't closed during the SNAC. We had to wait on fivesome to play in front of us when we got to hole 1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 How far can you throw?

2-4    2/14/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to test how far you are able to drive off the tee and test how good your accuracy is on your upshot. This is true for 6 or so of the holes.

My max distance is around 310-320 and I was finding most of my shots were short. Just out of makable range.

The hardest holes on the course would have to be #4 , # 5 , # 17. If you can get a 3 on these holes you are in good shape. # 4 is 520' I think, throwing into a wide open field kind of up a hill. If it's rained lately at all it will more than likely be muddy and will have bad foot placement for your next shot, which will have to be right on the money for a 3. Hole # 5 is 585' and it's throwing down a slight incline toward a ditch. You have to throw a drive to lay up in front of the ditch, if you throw short you will have to get closer so you can get a good shot across the ditch. The basket is another 100' on the other side of the ditch with OB up from it and trees on the backside of it. A very tough shot.

OB is in play on i'd say 13 or so of the 18 holes. It's everywhere, on the left, the right, and behind the basket. If you get a good drive on one of those birdie holes and hit a tree there's a chance it might kick it over the walking path!

Movable tee signs on every hole with pin positions, routes, footage. Multiple concrete pads on every hole.
Cons: The walk from 15 to 16

Holes 4 & 5 are not really relative to the course and kind of a mental confidence killer if you don't shoot well on them.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course. Playing this course can only make you a better player no matter how challenging it is. I look forward to playing it again. If you are shooting par on this course you are doing something!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/14/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all players. There are good tee pads on every hole and good tee signs on most every hole. The course is tightly packed into a small city park, so you are never too far away from the parking lot. There is almost no shule and even though there are 2 small ditches with water in them, you can retrieve your discs fairly easily.

Design wise, it is a very good course that will test most shots in your game and is fair for all skill levels. There are plenty of trees, with a nice design forcing hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, all of varying degrees, as well as long throws, short throws, and medium range throws. The balance is good and the challenge is also very good. The walking path that weaves around the course plays as OB, with several baskets sitting within 30' of this OB. This path, along with the 2 ditches playing as OB add some extra difficulty to the course and put a premium on shot placement. Shooting under par is a pretty good score and very achievable for experienced players.
Cons: The course had Mach V baskets, which are normally decent, but these were terrible. I played 3 rounds and had 3 dead center putts spit right out and watch the baskets also spit several other players' putts. Holes 4 and 5 get very muddy when it rains and hole 4 is just a terrible hole in general. I realize there is not much other room to place another hole on this course, but a 500' wide open shot with nothing to hit is just plain boring. The bathrooms were "winterized" so the only bathrooms was this single porta-potty after hole 6.

Talking with a local, the tee sign on hole 12 was stolen recently, but after playing hole 11, back track across the bridge for hole 12. There is a long walk from 15 to 16 across the large parking lot and around a fence near the baseball fields.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed playing the course, but it just doesn't seem to have that wow factor, yet it is a good course that can be enjoyable for all skill levels. I would recommend playing this course if you are ever in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2/9/2008   2/24/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course with such a limited amount of space. The course provides a variety of options off most tee pads. The design puts a premium on accuracy as it only has three hole over 400 ft, two of which are brand new temporary holes. These provide for a different look off the tee than any of the other holes and are a nice addition to the course. Its a very fun course and family friendly.
Cons: The tee pads are extremely small and have number plates on the back end that can make for some slick approaches especially if its a little muddy. The basket for holes 3 and 10 as well as the tee pad for hole 4 are all within about a 60 ft radius of each other. The walk from hole 13 to 14 is very long (but thats mainly due to the size of the park itself; not a big deal)
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a few times and have always enjoyed it. Its a great course to play if you're crunched for time but want to play a quick course or you're with family. Also a great beginners course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center