Hartselle, AL 
Sparkman Park Share
Uploaded By: nelgwoltrap Hole #15
3 / 95ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: randy.colwell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with lots of variety. Some holes are a blast to play. Literally minutes from my house so I play it all the time. Beautiful public park setting with tall pine trees for excellent shading without limbs hindering most of the shots. A great course to learn on which I learn something new everytime I play on the course. No longer multiple baskets to confuse you where to throw like it was a few years ago.
Cons: I'll mirror what everyone else has said about holes 4 and 5 not really fitting with the rest of the front nine. They are far too long and quite frankly incredibly boring not to mention horrible in the summer heat. There needs to be sort of obstacles that can entertwine both holes such as a group of trees and a few benches that can provide shade and a break from the long walk as well as an obstacle for those of us who don't throw 300+ from tee-offs. The rough around that is just that to say the least, which is incredibly overgrown and full of thornbushes. the creek that goes from one side of the park that involve about 8 of the holes is incredibly overgrown, with lots of trash built up from the creek washing out over and over again. Ive seen a lot of snakes in the water so be extremely careful when you pull a Randy and dump a disk in the deep part of the water. Holes 16-18 takes about 10 mins to walk from hole 15, and if the ballparks' gate is closed you will be forced to walk all the way around them to reach them. Lots of predestrians and children around the playground areas and when a pavilion is rented out you might as well go around because cars will be parked all through the course. Updated descriptions on each hole should be paramount especially on a good course, they are no longer prevelant and are more confusing than help. There also needs to be a course map at the beginning of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: The course no longer has multiple baskets at most of the holes and the footage for each hole needs to be reconfigured. Hole 13's pin has been moved about 100ft up the creekside making it further to shoot but easier for stray discs to not get OB in the snake infested rough. The course does feel like an original 9 hole course that was later added to a 18. With OB (busy road, walking paths, pavilions, water hazards, overgrown bushes) on every hole and mando's around the pavilions a 54 par is absurd. Hole 4,5,11,17 should be a par 4. This is a great course that I play about twice a week. The pro sides of the course far outweigh the downsides. In my honest opinion I recommend playing the course during the week in the morning or early afternoon during the week to avoid most of the pedestrains.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course with some correctable flaws

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good beginner course with a decent amount of shot variety and some challenges for novices/recreational players. Course is in a well maintained park and has made use of some nice features of the park. Only a few real long holes and a variety of pin placements for repeat plays. The longer holes are pretty wide open and "grip 'n rip". The water in play is a fairly narrow creek that is omnipresent on about 5 or 6 holes, but not real obstacle for most seasoned players.
Cons: Difficult to navigate. First 3 holes are easily found, but 4 and 5 take a second to locate. 6 was tricky as the signage wasn't exactly clear as to the direction the pin was from the tee box. While the variety available for pin placement is a plus, it is also a minus as the multiple options plus a disorganized course make it a challange to locate the correct pin at times. About every other tee box was missing a sign. None of the pins were marked with a hole number or even a target to indicate which tee box they were facing. Several holes criss-cross very near each other and make obvious tee-to-pin play difficult. No benches. No maps available anywhere online that I could find. There are spots that seem to hold water after rain that could be troublesome if they don't dry out quickly. As other reviewers have said, the course weaves in and out of a playground, ballfields, several pavilions and a walking trail. It wasn't especially busy when I played it, but I can understand how this could be an issue at times.
Other Thoughts: An online map or some permanent markings (arrows) on the tee boxes indicating direction would be a HUGE help to the playability of this course, especially with the holes 4 and 5 and 16-18 being somewhat seperate from the main body of the course. The signs that were up seemed fairly recent and were extremely well done. Likely part of a tournament.

The "flow" of the course is somewhat choppy with a little bit of doubling back at times moving from one pin to the next tee box and then of course the hike to play the last three holes on the south side of the ballfields.

All that said, there were some challenging holes for a pure recreation player like myself with a good mix of LH and RH shots and some multiple-choice drives (not just one way to play the hole). I think anybody with above average arm strength and average accuracy would birdie most of these holes. As Decatur doesn't have a course of it's own, the visiting player has this course of the variety in Huntsville.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/12/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets! Love the mixture of different types of holes. hard to loose a disc on the coarse
Cons: it floods easy on some holes. Wish they would provide coarse maps. It was hard to find hole 16-18
Other Thoughts: watch out for the mandos

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SNAC 2009

1    8/22/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets. They are nice Mach's.
-Tees. Nice concrete tees big enough to do everything I need.
-Signs. Good signs at every hole. I noticed they were movable, which seems good if the tee is moved.
-Nice shot variety. You'll use long shots and short drives, hyzers and flicks. Some holes are wide open and others are fairly wooded. #5 has and island green, which add challenge and character to the course.
-There's plenty of parking and restrooms are available along with some pavilions.
Cons: -Many pedestrians. The course has a nice walking trail entwined within it and there are generally lots of walkers on the weekend.
-The course flow has a few flaws. Holes 1-3 play in the same field and give a feeling of being cramped. Holes 16-18 are a pretty good ways away from hole 15's basket. They seem like afterthoughts.
Other Thoughts: This course is setting in a scenic park in a small town. It has a lot to offer as far as challenge and shot variety. With the rules for the SNAC tourney, there was lots of OB. Some of the OB comes from road and parking lots; other comes from the walking trail and small creeks going through. There's a fair amount of benches and trash cans. The course is pretty well maintained with the trees pruned and grass cut nicely. I was disappointed that the course wasn't closed during the SNAC. We had to wait on fivesome to play in front of us when we got to hole 1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could Use These Improvements!

1    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sparkman Park is a large multi-use large park and there-in there seems to be one of the problems with the course. That is the interaction between the disc golfers and it's many park users. The course plays over a widely used jogging/walking trail many times forcing us to sometimes wait for other park users to pass. The courses has some elevation, forces you to use many throws, has colorful but moveable tee signs and nice teepads. Many holes have multiple basket locations. I did have a little trouble navigating the course. See comments at this end concerning this problem.
Cons: Holes #4 and # 5, as brought up by previous reviewers are poor designs. The long walk to the last three is not a preferred option. There were 5-6 trees down on the course as the result of a windstorm. They affected the navigation of the course and also the play. I'm really surprised the parks department hadn't removed them yet as they appeared to have been down for quite a while.
Other Thoughts: I would have really enjoyed played this course more if with a few improvements were to be made.

1. Large, round, visible numbers atop the baskets. Man, this would really help the player navigating this course for the first time. If this is too expensive, see option two.

2. If # 1 is beyond the budget, how about a brightly colored strip of flourescent tape wrapped around the inner tube of the basket with the # of the hole written on it? At least, when I walk ahead I'd know what basket I was looking at!

3. Directional arrows painted on the teepads pointing to the basket. When I walk up to the teepad, it would nice to look down at the pad and know the direction of the basket. I 'm always nervous that those movable teesigns have been tampered with.

4. On holes with multiple basket locations, drill a 1/4 hole in the tee sign next to the A< B< C and insert a small bolt and nut with a washer (hopefully a brightly colored plastic one) into whichever hole ( A<B<C ) the basket is currently set. Tighten down with a wrench. Change bolt whenever basket location is changed. I've seen courses using this system and it's so very helpful . Make a couple of these improvements (especially # 4) and I could see this course being a 4. I enjoyed it and recommend stopping and playing it.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but too many cons

1    3/28/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is in a nice city park and is just a short drive off the Interstate. It has good concrete tees, very nice colorful tee signs, and multiple basket locations that are clearly marked on the tee signs. Most of the holes are in gently wooded park with a creek in play on several holes.

The town of Hartselle is a great small southern town that prides itself on Southern Hospitality.
Cons: The baskets aren't labeled and there were a few spots where multiple baskets are in view and pretty close to each other, which can make first timers unsure about which is the correct basket. Navigation from hole to hole was confusing a couple of times.

This park is very busy (at least it was on the weekends.) There is a walking trail around the perimeter of the course and runs very close to several holes. There is a picnic pavilion and playground near other holes where several small children were playing in the dirt right in the fairway. After waiting for several minutes and asking them to get out the way, their parents finally took some action and got them to move, but we were clearly inconveniencing them!

This course appears to me to have once been 9 holes and was later "upgraded" to 18 (or was planned out poorly.) I love 18 holes, but only if it adds to the course, and I feel Sparkman has some flaws. #4 and #5 are just very long wide open holes that are in an adjacent field across the creek that is not in the park. #5 has a great upshot over the creek, but the tee shot is boring as it is long, open, with absolutely no obstacles anywhere. #4 is just a tee and a basket very far apart in a wide open field (that is a field of mud if it rains.)

#16-18 are nowhere near the first 15 holes. You have to walk across the parking lot, down the road, and past the ballfields to find them
(There is no way to see them from #15. The only way you know they are there is you see #18 basket on the way in to the park.) #16 was unplayable because baseball games were in progress and people had parked there cars all over the fairway and surrounded the basket. #18 was completely flooded due to heavy rain, but I assume this is not like this all the time.
Other Thoughts: The overall appearance of the course is great, but it is just your average course, fun to play with a decent challenge for the average player. The many cons I mentioned are not a major deal, but it prevents me from rating this course in the upper half of the rating scale.

If you are looking to play a course on I-65 between Huntsville and Birmingham this will do, but the course in those two cities are by far better than Sparkman.

*Note: Zman44 and I played this course together on the same day which is the reason for the similar reviews.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tolerable...

1    3/28/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sparkman Park had solid tee pads and very informative signs. For, the most part the navigation was easy and the flow was logical. There were a solid variety of shots required. Course requires a blend of distance and accuracy. Bathrooms were available inside the baseball complex. Groundskeeping was good.
Cons: Holes 4 and 5 were thrown together. While 5 has a little design element to it as it plays back over the "ravine", hole 4 was a pin in a field. No obstacles...just a pin way out there in a field. These holes were extremely muddy. Hole 16 was nearly unplayable due to trucks being parked there for a baseball game going on. We made up a new tee box so as to not interfere with those watching the game.

Other Thoughts: I may be totally wrong about this but I would be willing to bet that Sparkman Park started out as a 9 hole course...and I bet I know what the added 9 holes were. When you have that perception of a course, it is usually not a solid course. There were some pretty nice holes at Sparkman Park. There were also some terrible holes. When the park is busy, there are a lot of non-disc golfing people around.

There was a toddler's birthday party at the main pavilion. 3 of them just played with one of the baskets. We asked the parents multiple times to keep them over by the pavilion while we played the hole. They didn't seem to care. We then explained that the discs were made of extremely hard plastic and would do some damage if they hit a child. They still didn't seem to care. After we stood there for about 5 minutes, I guess they figured we weren't going anywhere so they grabbed their kids and let us continue the round.

The holes that play along the creek were pretty well thought out. I liked the design of these holes.

Sparkman Park is your average course. Nothing stands out about it. There were some well-designed holes, and there were some horrendously designed holes. Add in a long walk to the finishing 3 holes and it balances out to an average/decent/typical course. All of the positive aspects that I see at this course are counteracted by an equally negative aspect.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 How far can you throw?

2-4    2/14/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to test how far you are able to drive off the tee and test how good your accuracy is on your upshot. This is true for 6 or so of the holes.

My max distance is around 310-320 and I was finding most of my shots were short. Just out of makable range.

The hardest holes on the course would have to be #4 , # 5 , # 17. If you can get a 3 on these holes you are in good shape. # 4 is 520' I think, throwing into a wide open field kind of up a hill. If it's rained lately at all it will more than likely be muddy and will have bad foot placement for your next shot, which will have to be right on the money for a 3. Hole # 5 is 585' and it's throwing down a slight incline toward a ditch. You have to throw a drive to lay up in front of the ditch, if you throw short you will have to get closer so you can get a good shot across the ditch. The basket is another 100' on the other side of the ditch with OB up from it and trees on the backside of it. A very tough shot.

OB is in play on i'd say 13 or so of the 18 holes. It's everywhere, on the left, the right, and behind the basket. If you get a good drive on one of those birdie holes and hit a tree there's a chance it might kick it over the walking path!

Movable tee signs on every hole with pin positions, routes, footage. Multiple concrete pads on every hole.
Cons: The walk from 15 to 16

Holes 4 & 5 are not really relative to the course and kind of a mental confidence killer if you don't shoot well on them.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course. Playing this course can only make you a better player no matter how challenging it is. I look forward to playing it again. If you are shooting par on this course you are doing something!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/14/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all players. There are good tee pads on every hole and good tee signs on most every hole. The course is tightly packed into a small city park, so you are never too far away from the parking lot. There is almost no shule and even though there are 2 small ditches with water in them, you can retrieve your discs fairly easily.

Design wise, it is a very good course that will test most shots in your game and is fair for all skill levels. There are plenty of trees, with a nice design forcing hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, all of varying degrees, as well as long throws, short throws, and medium range throws. The balance is good and the challenge is also very good. The walking path that weaves around the course plays as OB, with several baskets sitting within 30' of this OB. This path, along with the 2 ditches playing as OB add some extra difficulty to the course and put a premium on shot placement. Shooting under par is a pretty good score and very achievable for experienced players.
Cons: The course had Mach V baskets, which are normally decent, but these were terrible. I played 3 rounds and had 3 dead center putts spit right out and watch the baskets also spit several other players' putts. Holes 4 and 5 get very muddy when it rains and hole 4 is just a terrible hole in general. I realize there is not much other room to place another hole on this course, but a 500' wide open shot with nothing to hit is just plain boring. The bathrooms were "winterized" so the only bathrooms was this single porta-potty after hole 6.

Talking with a local, the tee sign on hole 12 was stolen recently, but after playing hole 11, back track across the bridge for hole 12. There is a long walk from 15 to 16 across the large parking lot and around a fence near the baseball fields.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed playing the course, but it just doesn't seem to have that wow factor, yet it is a good course that can be enjoyable for all skill levels. I would recommend playing this course if you are ever in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, Nice Mixture

2-4    12/12/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course situated in nice city park. Conrete tee pads and signage on every hole add to the round. There's also multiple pin locations and pads on a few holes, which adds variety to the course. There's certainly birdies to be made, but I've also seen some pretty good players lose concentration and make a big score.

Hole 12 long is a well designed, really solid golf hole.
Cons: The walk from 15 to 16 is a little long, and it can be confusing navigating the course for the first time. Holes 4 & 5 feel like they just don't belong with the rest of the course. They are both out in an open field, and get very muddy after a rain. Hole 5 has a wide open drive, but it does have a good approach over some trees, a creek, and OB just past the basket. So I can live with it, but 4 is completely wide open and frankly, was quite boring. This park also tends to get crowded with non-golfers, so you really must be aware of people on the paths, and people/children near the pavillion/playground area along hole 12.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is good course and definitely worth playing if in the area. There are only 3 holes that have a lot of length (all +/- 500ft), and two of them (4 & 5) are out in an open field, which takes away a bit from the rest of the course. However, the other long hole, 12, is a great hole with water all along the right and trees/playground area to the left. The course has plenty of birdie opportunities, yet still provides a good challenge.

Favorite Holes: 3 long, 9, 12 long, 17

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.