Germantown, WI 
Spassland DGC Share
Uploaded By: ylfgd85 Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Beginner/Kid Course

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nice descriptive tee signs. These help to identify which basket you're throwing to, since on a few tee pads you can see more than 1 basket.
2. Nice level concrete tees. They're a bit shorter than standard tees, but not an issue since zero run-up/follow-through is required on any of the holes.
3. Holes #1-3 and #8-9 use the minimal elevation available as best as possible.
4. Hole #5 has the only real significant rough to deal with off to the left, and going in deep could cost you a shot.
5. Some amenities on site; specifically, port-a-potties and vending.
6. Only significant challenge was the wind when I played. There are sparse trees, but hitting one--and actually having it affect your next shot--is only a slight possibility.
Cons: 1. Boring, bland, pretty much wide open.
2. All the holes are really short; you can play the entire course with a putter and/or midrange.
3. The flat areas obviously do not drain too well, making for a soggy round after a decent rain.
Other Thoughts: This course plays through a nicely kept multi-use park with a playground and other athletic activities on site. It's nice to see little beginner courses like this in subdivisions, as they potentially introduce a lot of new players (especially children). Due to the wide open design and short holes, I would only recommend this course for kids or beginners learning the basics and disc golfers who happen to live in/around Germantown and can't travel to the much better courses nearby. I hate giving courses such a low rating, since obviously some thought went into the design here and the course was really clean when I played. It was nice to see all the tees and signs were sponsored by local businesses/families, so make sure to thank them for introducing the sport to this town if you happen across any of their establishments. Overall, it's not worth the drive unless you're looking to add to your "Courses Played" stats (precisely why I made the journey).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Boring and open

1    5/23/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small, flat neighborhood park. The course is grassy, with nice thick grass that's well-maintained, and a few scattered small trees on a couple holes to add some minor obstacles. The course is clearly designed as a beginner course, with shorter distances and mostly open shots with no rough, so it's a great place to try out the sport or bring younger kids to play.

There are concrete tees on all holes, and all were in good shape and level. The tee signs are plenty descriptive with hole layout and distance. The flow of the course is obvious, so navigation is never a problem here. The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: The course is just 9 wide open and short holes, so there isn't any challenge or variety to be had here. There is no elevation or really any trees that come into play, so the course doesn't force any different shots at all, meaning that even as a beginner course it won't teach players to work on different types of throws. Because all the distances are pretty close, all the holes kind of run together.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok course to let someone try out the game, but even for a beginner course it's lacking in variety and challenge. If more trees were brought into play so that the course required a little bit of shot shaping, the short distances would make it a great place for newer players to learn, but as it stands the course is just a place to practice wide open approach shots. If you just want to add to your tally, make a stop here, otherwise, there are tons of better courses around that are more worth your time.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 short, open, easy

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is made for beginners

well maintained and a great place to take kids along to

all holes have good teepads and signs
Cons: extremely short and open

2 holes have minor trees in the way, other than that it is point and shoot and then tap it in for an easy birdie

not much for elevation except one gentle slope
Other Thoughts: beginner course that is nice to have in the neighborhood, but is nothing worth traveling to

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

2-4    5/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.