Germantown, WI 
Spassland DGC Share
Uploaded By: ylfgd85 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Beginner Course

5+    5/27/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It is a great course for my home town
-Holes 1, 3, and 9 have a few obsactles
-Has cement tee pads that are in great shape
-Clear sighns with great directions and they say the distances.
-Great course to test out new discs because it would be very hard to loose a disc here
-Great course to bring kids to
-The course is almost never crowded
-Open year round
-The park is kept clean
Cons: -Extremly short holes
-Doesn't provide much of a challenge
-Most holes have little to no trees
-Small tee pads

Other Thoughts: Its a great course to have in my hometown. Its not worth traviling from far away to play on it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Boring and open

1    5/23/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small, flat neighborhood park. The course is grassy, with nice thick grass that's well-maintained, and a few scattered small trees on a couple holes to add some minor obstacles. The course is clearly designed as a beginner course, with shorter distances and mostly open shots with no rough, so it's a great place to try out the sport or bring younger kids to play.

There are concrete tees on all holes, and all were in good shape and level. The tee signs are plenty descriptive with hole layout and distance. The flow of the course is obvious, so navigation is never a problem here. The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: The course is just 9 wide open and short holes, so there isn't any challenge or variety to be had here. There is no elevation or really any trees that come into play, so the course doesn't force any different shots at all, meaning that even as a beginner course it won't teach players to work on different types of throws. Because all the distances are pretty close, all the holes kind of run together.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok course to let someone try out the game, but even for a beginner course it's lacking in variety and challenge. If more trees were brought into play so that the course required a little bit of shot shaping, the short distances would make it a great place for newer players to learn, but as it stands the course is just a place to practice wide open approach shots. If you just want to add to your tally, make a stop here, otherwise, there are tons of better courses around that are more worth your time.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Clearly, for Beginners

5+    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Too start, this is my home course. I'll try to keep bias out of it.

- This course is obviously a great one for beginners. It suits it's commmunity well because of the family atmosphere. This is where I started the game and I believe it serves me well, at least better than a Brown Deer, or Dretzka.

- There are a few fun holes. Specifically 1,3, and 9.

-As previously stated, a great one to bring the kids to.

-Great signs, clear with distance

-Good location, in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. Not too many wierd People. Also, next to no vandalism.
Cons: - Short, very very short. 155- 236.

- Mostly wide open holes
Other Thoughts: - I would not call this a terrible course just because of it's target audience.

- For those of you who may want a challenge, we have been experimenting with alternate tees and there have been talks of alternate baskets.

-Take this course with a grain of salt.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner / Kid course.

5+    8/22/2009   1/26/2010
Review By: Trashthrasher
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a nice clean park that has good tee signs & concrete tees. Maintenance is usually top notch & the tee signs / pads are in great shape as they are rarely vandalized. I would recommend beginners & younger players to play here to get a feel for the game. For the more seasoned player it's good for a warm-up or practice round before playing a full round at the nearby larger courses. This course is open in winter.
Cons: Short holes (155 - 236 ft), straight open shots, & lack of multiple placements. You can go through this course twice in an hours time & it's a multipurpose field in which you might run into other park users.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's not a terrible course, it uses the available space fairly well, only rarely crossing into other park activity space (baseball diamond & running track). I'd recommend this course to a beginner / younger player or as a practice area for more experienced player.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 hole course for the family!

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage. Decent tee pads, though they are small. This course is located in a wonderful park with lots of great playground equipment, and even a shelter with picnic tables. Holes 1 & 9 are decent, as they have some trees to navigate, but the rest of the holes (for the most part) are pretty wide open shots in the realm of 200 ft. or so.
Cons: Holes are short. Typically 170 ft.-230ft. for all nine. This takes the challenge out of the game for alot of us.
Tee pads are roughly 6 ft. X 3 ft., so they are definitely on the small side.
Other Thoughts: Let's look at this course for what it is. This is not a course where you set up a league, and a bunch of guys come and have a tough competition week after week. You can go down the road to Dretzka if that's your cup of tee.
This is a park that serves a wonderful purpose for the game. Families can come here, and learn what this game is all about, without worrying about their speed of play affecting others. Course is easy to navigate, and the signs do a nice job of filling you in on hole location, and next tee pad location.

Plan a picnic with the family here, and play some discgolf. The kids will have fun, and if they get bored, they can walk back to the picnic area at any given time, as the course kind of goes around in a circle. You never really find yourself too far away from anything else in the park here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course, good for practice

5+    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: ylfgd85
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course for beginners. Not many obstacles to make it easy to get use to how to play. Tees are paved and have good signage. The holes are shorter distances.

Also, very good for more advanced players to practice on their aiming and short game.

The course is very well maintained. Grass is kept nice and short. Little to no garbage laying around. If signs are missing or broken, they are replaced fairly quickly.
Cons: For more advanced players, the holes are a bit too short and easy.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 short, open, easy

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is made for beginners

well maintained and a great place to take kids along to

all holes have good teepads and signs
Cons: extremely short and open

2 holes have minor trees in the way, other than that it is point and shoot and then tap it in for an easy birdie

not much for elevation except one gentle slope
Other Thoughts: beginner course that is nice to have in the neighborhood, but is nothing worth traveling to

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

2-4    5/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 family course

1    3/13/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 73  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very beginner course where novice disc golfers can practice.

The signs, teepads, and pins are in good condition.

This course is open for winter, which is nice since most of the courses in the area close for at least part of the winter months
Cons: There are about 6 trees as obstacles on the entire course. All of the holes are less than 240 feet. Nothing too complicated...or too fun for non beginner golfers
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be a family oriented, beginner course. That is exactly what it is. It almost seems too easy, if I was just starting disc golf I think I would want at least a few more challenges than this course has to offer.

Don't expect anything from this 9 holer - unless you're just beginning disc golf and need an easy course to help practice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 begin away...

1    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -decent signage
-nice cement tee pads
-new baskets
Cons: -nine holes(given)
-nothing technical
-open pin placements
-short
Other Thoughts: A nice little nine hole course in a community park in Germantown. Not much to really write about. All holes are between 180 and 230. Bring a mid range and a putter. All nine holes are straight shots with the exception of hole 1 where you have to slightly bend it around a tree or two.

This is the epitamy of a beginners course. Set up for a quick play(did it in under 20) and a place to teach and/or practice. It is in pretty good shape and shouldn't be mistaken for a poorly maintained course, because it's not. Kudos for the people who got this little setup in a community park where there was previously only open fields and a baseball diamond.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.