Disc Golf Store
Live Oak, FL
Magnolia DGC Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #8 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 390ft.   4 / 590ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Spectacular

2-4    12/23/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: sosdgc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. It has everything you could possibly need right there in the park, store(which sells discs), restaurant and camping available. There are 2 sets of tees and they are both challenging in their own right. There are benches on all the short tees and most of the longs, lots of trash cans which makes this course one of the cleanest I have ever played. This is definitely my favorite course in Florida.
Cons: The mosquitos can be pretty bad in the summer months, not so bad this time of year. There can be some flooding during the rainy season which can make it difficult to play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best ive played

5+    12/12/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: chrisdefiant
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
I've played some of the best courses in the country and this is my favorite hands down. Two sets of concrete pads and bench on each hole. Two pin locations on the back 9 and a second location on the front 9 coming soon. Very challenging long pads. Well maintained course. (Hard to find even a cigarette butt on the course!) Lots of old pine, oak, and magnolia trees throughout the course. Lots of garbage cans. Amenities are in the park abundant including primitive, full hookup, and cabin camping. Country store with beer, food and discs for sale. (Country store also rents golf carts) Cafe with good food and reasonable prices. And both within 300 feet of hole 1! Don't forget to check out the pizza and ice cream shop in front of the country store...best pizza in suwannee county! Beautiful beach on the suwannee for cooling off.
Cons: Sometimes the park has music festivals and the course is only accessible to patrons of the festival. Call ahead if travelling any distance.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Golf Course

5+    7/4/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: caveman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Every hole has a concrete tee-pads, signs, the course is very well maintained by amazing disc golfers.
Cons: During the summer its hot and lots of mosquitoes, poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: The greatest disc golf course in the world !!!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Woods

5+    9/3/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: tree calculated
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tee pads for every hole. Course design is great, whether you play first 9 or back 9 you end up back at parking area after 9 holes. Park offers many amenities, cafe, country store (with discs for sale with park stamp on them), bathrooms, etc. Mostly wooded so it offers lots of shade. Challenging course at any skill level. Garbage cans throughout course so it is very clean. Benches at all the short tees and most of the long tees and some picnic tables in there too. An occasional beer or two is not frowned upon and pets are welcome as well. Every hole is named after a Grateful Dead song with the lyrics on the tee signs. There are not many other parks that offer as much as the SOSMP, golf carts, canoeing on the Suwannee, bicycle rentals, miniature golf, cabin rentals, etc. and the most awesome disc golf course in Florida.
Cons: There are not many cons here at the SOSMP. The mosquitoes and bugs can be pretty bad in the summer months but that is part of Florida.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to check the event schedule for the park. Their are many big festivals throughout the year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow, this place is awesome!

5+    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, the course is just part of an amazing, huge park! We camped, bought beer at the "Country Store", had dinner in the cafe, sang Karaoke and drank in the music hall at night, canoed and swam in the Suwannee River, watched the bats come out at night, and saw people riding horses.

The course is completely wooded, with lots of shade. There is a nice variety of pines, oaks, and magnolia trees that define the holes. The holes vary a lot from short and super-tight to very long and medium-tight. It's a great thing to have the two sets of tees, because the long tees are very tough. I shot 15 over par the first time I played from the long tees and that was playing pretty decent golf. There's nothing unfair about the holes and you don't need lots of power to do well, but if you miss the gaps, you will be punished.

Each hole is named for a song, with lyrics on the tee signs, which is really cool since it is a music park. The tee pads are nice cement and most holes have benches. Also, the course is really easy to follow without a map or a guide.

We played two rounds from the long tees and three rounds from the short tees in 3 days at the park. The course is very addicting. The woods are almost hypnotic and I always walked off the course feeling that I could improve on my score the next round and looking forward to it.

We even played one round with some locals that had their own golf cart, which was great for toting the beer cooler. There's no one on the course, except for disc golfers, which just adds to how chill the whole experience is. Also there are some cool novelties. There's a stuffed animal dog with his very own dog house that people leave random presents for. There's a stick figure called "that guy" and a funky log that looks like a bear, which is dressed up like a movie star with a purple boa.

We cannot wait to get back to this park again, hopefully for a music festival. We also heard that they have disc golf tournaments with live music at night.
Cons: The rough is very rough in places. Thorns, huge spiders, ticks, and poison ivy are waiting to get you in the rough. We were told that it's much nicer to play there in the winter months.

It's kinda weird that the front nine has mach baskets and the back nine has the Innova baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is my second favorite course, behind the Steady Ed course at the international center. Highly recommend this course to anyone visiting Florida.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = A musical modern day miracle!

1    12/29/2011   1/16/2012
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Here is what I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses (over 215 played so far):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A+
(With the combination of multiple airway routes to chose from and narrow gaps to hit (or miss if you get too aggressive or careless), there is plenty of punishment to be had on this wooded gem of a course. One thing I really liked was that it is rough enough to spank you hard in its punishment, yet open enough to offer lanes for heroic recovery tries if/when you get off the fairway. If you are not a solid Blue level player or above it is very possible you might feel that many gaps are too tight and the lengths are too long to be a fair test of your skills. You will be right…..and rightly so since from the Blue tees this course is unapologetically a test of real Blue level DG skills done to perfection!)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A+
(Other than maybe 1-2 holes, this course's length (and length to width ratios) center perfectly around my skill set. A few holes are too long for me to realistically want to go for in "responsible" stroke play, but are worth "going for" either to have fun or if my back were up against the wall in a tournament situation. With the combination of the risk/reward merits of the course, I found myself excited to throw on almost every single tee….and begging for a do-over when I messed up, or cheering for myself when I succeeded. It is a rare experience for a course to provide that non-stop euphoria throughout the round….and Magnolia had me on that high the entire round!)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography. == A
(To repeat for the 3rd time: this course is absolutely right up in my wheelhouse! The only reasons I did not give Magnolia an A+ in this category is it is actually too wooded and could use maybe just a little more variety in having a few holes with a different vibe than the redundantly wooded holes. Obviously a small complaint….and one I do not recall ever making in any review I have written. The other shortcoming of this course is that it is flat…..no one to blame that on except maybe Plate Tectonics. But the design of this course overcame that short-coming to the point that Magnolia has edged out Castle Hayne (Wilmington NC - Harold Duval designed) as my new favorite flat course.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(Seclusion is wonderful on this course as you see very little civilization for most of the course and the little that you do see has a rustic unobtrusive feel. The course is very tidy feeling, but I imagine catching it in December as I did was probably prime-time in this department. It is not necessarily gorgeous beauty-wise, but is very very nice. One thing I rarely factor into this part of my rating is the ambiance of the property and the amenities……but, I would have to say that the whole down-home folksy music festival vibe (which is magnified by the cool lyrics adorning the tee signs) did rub off on me and take me to a happy place. A unique experience for me so far in my DG adventures for sure.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == 3 bonus points for this.
(Lots of spectacular par-4's on this course! True 2-throw holes where placement on the drive is key on many just to have an opportunity to attempt a challenging and rewarding upshot for a birdie 3 putt attempt. And, on others reward is to be had by taking more risk by trying to push the drive further up the fairway. Unfortunately no par-5's….although on a couple of the holes my scoring average would certainly be on the north side of 5!)

PS: I grade courses on a school grading system…60-100 with no F's and the average/center point being a B-….been doing that for a long time and started transferring my ratings list to the similar 11 level rating system here when this cool/amazing site came online.
I gave this course a grade of 96….which is the low end of an A+, but a 5.0 on the DGCR scale.
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (215+ 18-hole, 120+ 9-hole as of late 2011), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Playing in the Forest!

5+    6/8/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: insaneforchains
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We are locals that have the pleasure of playing this beautiful course every day. The course layout is great, 9 and 18 bring you back to the parking area which is right behind the General/Country Store. The store is conveniently located where they sell everything you could need including discs with maps of the course. You can also pick up scorecards in the store with a map printed on the back. There are many other amenities that are available in this park such as the SOS cafe, homemade ice cream, canoeing, camping and much more. This is a very challenging course from the blues or the reds which requires a definite variety of shots all around and don't forget to bring your bag of tricks. All the tee signs have been updated or replaced recently so navigating the course is not a problem. It is a beautiful course under a tree canopy for the majority of the course and is well maintained. Benches have been put in at every hole for the red tees not all of the blues have been done yet. There are garbage cans at every other tee so let's keep the park clean!!!
Cons: This course gets a little rough in the summer months, it is the forest. Bug spray is a requirement in the summer as it takes care of the mosquitos, ticks, biting flies, etc. You can't do much about the poison ivy, oak and sumac or the banana spiders. It is a pay to play course although the price is reasonable, $2 per person or $5 per car. There are a few weekends throughout the year that they have music festivals and other events where it is more to enter the park so be sure to check on that. If you have not made it to a music festival here I would highly suggest checking it out www.musicliveshere.com.
Other Thoughts: Other posts indicate that it is difficult to find the course once inside the park as it is not marked well. The people that work at the booth where you pay to get in are very helpful and maybe this will be helpful as well. After you leave the booth where you pay to get in, look to your left and you'll see a big building (Music Hall) turn into the parking area just before that building and follow around to the back side, at the end of the little wooden fence look to your left again and you will see the wooden sign with course map just off into the woods that is where tee pad 1 is.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Technical Challenge in Florida

5+    10/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really makes players think and play golf. The fairways are fair and bad shots are punished. The course requires the ability to hit tight lines and shape shots, including many opportunities to throw "S" shaped shots.

Strategy and the ability to scramble are put at a premium. Players will have many opportunities to decide whether or not to roll the dice. Those that make poor decisions will make big numbers.

It's a beautiful walk through the woods whether you're an advanced player, a beginner, or a spectator. A herd of deer can frequently be spotted running across fairways. Fairly low chance of losing plastic. Easy to navigate.

The 700 acre park is an outstanding place to get away for a couple days. Canoe/kayak rentals are available to traverse the Suwannee River. Cabins, RV sites, and primitive camping are great. There's a cafe, a country store, horseback riding, live music most weekends in the music hall, etc., etc., etc.

While I agree with Innovadude that the blue tees are very challenging, 80% of players should take advantage of the red tee option.
Cons: As Innovadude mentioned, there is some poison ivy on the course. There are also a few lower areas that can get muddy following a big rain.

In the summer months ticks and huge banana spiders are in abundance. It can be oppressively hot in the summer when the air's still. The course gets overgrown in the summer. The optimal playing season is October through June.

During major music festivals (5 weekends per year), the course is only open to ticket holders. Please be sure to call and check with the park before heading out.
Other Thoughts: The blue tees have been designed such that an even par round of 63 will be about a 970 rated round.

The red tees have been designed such that an even par round of 63 will be about a 900 rated round.

The course plays a bit harder than those numbers at present, but will continue to get a bit easier over time as we continue to trim a bit and grind up stumps in fairways.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.