Live Oak, FL 
Magnolia DGC Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #11 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 320ft.   4 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible design that makes more out of Florida terrain than I would have imagined anyone could. The problem with making wooded courses in Florida is that wooded areas tend to be very swampy. And judging from other reviews, it does get swampy here but based on my own experience, they either found a gold mine of a location or this course gets a ton of maintenance to keep the wilderness from creeping back. Looking at the rough, I'd be likely to guess the latter. These fairways are nicely carved with identifiable flight paths that while not overly tight, are narrow enough and long enough to provide significant challenge to almost anybody. Especially from the long pad. Man, those require some beastly throws.
The flow and navigation are perfect. One whole blends seamlessly into the next. Pathways from basket to tee are obvious and usually lined with branches to keep players throwing and not searching for tees. This is especially important for a course like this. It's not near a major population center but it is fairly close to the crossroads of I-10 and I-75, I'm guessing a lot of the traffic comes from discers passing through. While long, it's a fairly quick play from the red tees and as long as you don't end up in the shule, you should be back on the highway relatively quickly having experienced a high-quality round of golf.
While there is a constant look and feel, throughout the design, there is a wide variety of distances, with a bunch of par fours that really stretch the course. These holes are supplemented with shorter par threes that offer birdie ops but require technical drive to allow players a reasonable putt.
Magnolia is really my type of course. For those that like to see fairways rigidly defined, this course will bring out the best in you. When the tree line bends with the shape of the required flight-line, it helps me visualize what I want the disc to do. After a stretch of time playing park-style courses in Florida, this one is a panacea. Incredible vision. Massive achievement.
Cons: Still, while this course is very unique to the geographical region, to those that have played in North Carolina, it's not going to stand out much. I've played others like it and with more elevation, or more signature holes. This is one of those courses where everyone hole is good, but none are truly memorable. Overall a great experience, but not one that leaves you wanting to play it again immediately.
Shuletastic. Some courses have shule that is difficult to pitch out of. Others have shule that makes it hard to even find a disc. This one has shule that you don't really want to step into. That's a big part of what makes this course unfriendly to new players. There are tough courses that create a lot of scoring separation for top players but would still accommodate new throwers who want to slowly make their way through the course. I imagine newbs being miserable here, constantly high stepping through the underbrush as it gets really nasty within inches of the fairway in many places.
Other Thoughts: A course that calls for a 3.75 from me. It was a tough decision, but in the end I find it unfair to raise a course to an elite level without more elevation than is present here. Or a few carries. Or something that makes it standout. But it's one of my favorite courses in Florida, it's unique in the area and it's well worth playing for anyone that's remotely close to it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Magnolia DGC

2-4    5/5/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 79  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun woods course. Not too tight through a mix of open trees and tight trees. 5 hours south of IDGC the course is like a little sister of Steady Ed at IDGC. Long and short tees. Restroom close by parking area. Baskets are in very good shape.
Cons: Holds water in a few low spots and you never know what the conditions may be like. Watch out for bog on hole 2 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Plays very different in summer and winter. Grass gets very high in summer & rough is very rough. Also tends to be wet in summer. A real treat in winter. Still a great course that you just keep coming back to. I call it a 3.5 in summer. 4 or 4.5 in winter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Magnolia DGC

1    12/23/2013   4/28/2014
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As disc golfers, most of us are always on a quest to play as many courses as possible. Some are good and some are not so good. But occasionally we'll run across a real gem and it keeps the quest alive. And so it was at the Magnolia course at The Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park. What a treat. From the minute I pulled through the gate until the time I left, I just felt like this was a very special place.

Upon entering the park we were greeted by friendly staff who happily pointed the way to the course. There's a fee to play the course but it's small enough to be affordable for those with even the most modest means. The kiosk with the Magnolia course logo welcomed us near hole one as our anticipation built. We made a quick pre-round decision to play the long pads and we were off.

Hole one's tight shot through the trees with a tough line was a pretty good introduction to what proved to be a challenging woods course. A steady dose of relentless, tight and long fairways punctuate the course with only a few shorter breather holes. There's a thoughtful design throughout the course with strait, left and right turning, and even some "S" fairways. There's not a lot of elevation changes along the course but with the challenge it presents you'll hardly notice. Precise shot selection and execution are a must to score well and halfhearted shots will surely be punished. Although at times luck can help, don't count on it. Bad choices will add to your score quickly.

Tee signs are on every hole with a map of the hole and distances. Obviously a Grateful Dead fan had something to do with them as each hole is fittingly named for a Dead tune. Duel pads, both being concrete, lend themselves to the diversity to the course as far as difficulty goes. Although I've only played the long pads, looking at the shorter tees gave me the impression that they could certainly shave off some strokes as opposed the longer choice. Multiple pin placements will also keep things fresh. Trash cans and benches were plentiful and were a welcomed addition. Probably one of the biggest treats is just the beauty of the course and the atmosphere of the park. It's just one of those things you can't really describe. It's just a great place to be and a great place to play.

Just off the course you'll find bathrooms, an eatery, a pro shop and even a convenience shop. You'll have everything on site that you'll need to round out your visit.
Cons: I'd have to really struggle to come up with any major cons here. I played this course in December so I didn't have any issues but evidently insects are a problem in the summer.

If wooded courses aren't your thing you may leave disappointed by not having any wide open bomber shots.
Other Thoughts: I had a higher expectation than normal coming to this course based on some stories from others along with some good reviews and I was not disappointed. It's a quick stop right off the interstate if you are passing through and makes a great place to take a breather if you are traveling. Similarly, The Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park & Campground makes a great overnight stop or even a weekend trip. The Park has lots to offer to keep you busy while not playing golf.

As others have mentioned the music festivals could close the park if you are not a ticket holder. It'd be worth a call to make sure the course is open before making a long trip to play the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gotta visit this one

2-4    9/16/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: koak1958
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Every other review was right. If you have never been go spend a couple days. Quite a place. Great Disc Golf -Laid Back atmosphere.
Cons: Naturally your in the south, very hot even in mid September. Lots of bugs
Other Thoughts: Great job of keeping under growth down so you can find a disc.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two tee pads, two pin locations
-benches at every tee pad
-plenty of trash cans
-Accurate hole signage and helpful directional signage
-Pro Shop, Camp store, and Cafe located at turn
-Beautiful course in a beautiful park
-Clean and Well Maintained
-Challenging
Cons: -Admission to park required
-Parts of course prone to flooding
-Heavily wooded (bugs)
Other Thoughts: This is an absolute gem of a course. Everything about it is a display of excellent design. There is a camp store which has discs for sale (among other essentials) and a cafe that sells excellent food with a full bar.

The course is pretty technical with not many wide open shots, yet the fairways are well maintained and easily identifiable. Good variety of left and right dog legs, some slight and some sharp turns. You will need a full bag of shots, flicks and hammers prove useful in many situations.

Hard to find anything to criticize about this course. The terrain can prove to be frustrating if you are having a bad day and are finding it difficult to stay on the fairway. However, the challenges provide a great sense of accomplishment when taken on. Bugs can be a problem, if mosquitos tend to really like you, take the appropriate measures. Admission to the park is required, so this is not a 'free' course.

The wooded nature also provides a unique experience. Course provides plenty of privacy, you can feel like you have the course to yourself even when there is another group on the next hole. The tree canopy also makes this course tolerable to play even on a sunny summer day, or in light rain.

There are a few low-lying areas that are prone to flooding, however most of the course stays dry even during the rainy season.

This course is a shining example of excellent design and is managed and maintained by a group who takes pride in providing an excellent experience for all those who visit. SOSMP is one of the most beautiful places in the world, a champion level disc golf course is an added bonus. If you haven't been here, check it out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Suwanee Open

2-4    1/15/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Snailpowered
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played at the Suwanee Open in 2013 and I have to say that this is a Fantastic Course! In my opinion one of the top 5 in Florida. The course was extremely well kept (tho this was during a tournament) and the signs were well marked. As previously posted I would load your bad with Mids and maybe two drivers.
The park that the course is located in was great; clean, friendly, and easy to find. I would recommend taking a couple of days and spending some time in the park camping. Play the short pads the first day and longs the second so that you become familiar with the hole layouts.
Cons: Course calls for a Par 62, but a fair portion of the par 4's could and probably should be played as 3's; at least from the short pads. Distance on Pin placement seemed a bit off.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course and I hope to return here next year for the 2014 Suwanee Open. A word of advice for RHBH throwers... have a solid Anhyzer shot, good flick, or stellar turnover shot. If there is a type of shot that youre not comfortable with this course will exploit it... which I believe will make you a better rounded player.

There is also a dog memorial on hole .....3? I believe. So if your coming in from out of town a little gift would be cool, I know next time im leaving a home course mini marker.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 PLAY THIS COURSE

5+    1/26/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: Barenakedreterd
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great park! not just the disc golf park but the entire place. A great mix of shots. you can go out there and have a good time shooting under par from the am pads or you can go test every shot in your bag from the blues. so many Beautiful shots everywhere you look.
Cons: Cant think of many. some of the tee boxes seem to be facing in the wrong direction for the way the fairways go but other then that its all gravy

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Still beautiful course during wintertime.

2-4    1/27/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: MaxUFC
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tougher course with two tee boxes and two basket positions. Campground with a cafe, store and activities.
Cons: For first timer to look for next hole.

Not fun to look for lost disc during summer time.
Other Thoughts: Good to go during fall time and winter time.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a fine discination

1    1/19/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: Chuck6995
Played: 195  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is very fun to play from either set of tee pads, the signage is is clear and very accurate. two sets of tees on each hole with trash cans and benches. The front nine you get the mach 3 baskets as targets then on the back nine are innova disc catcher. Both front and back have a good mix of left to right and right to left doglegs thru-out the course,very enjoyable!!
Cons: no real real cons here, the people are friendly and willing to help in every way
Other Thoughts: I cant imagine how bad the bugs are in the summer but being from south east Georgia with sand nats and mosquitoes i would recommend bug spray here

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Technical!

1    1/14/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice property with previously mentioned store, bathrooms, and restaurant. The store has discs, but not really a selection. More like souvenirs with the course stamp.

Two good size concrete pads, tee signs, benches, and trash cans on every hole.

When I played there was no water or mosquitoes on the course. Overall it was in excellent condition, and navigation was very easy. Almost impossible to lose a disc.

Holes 2 and 18 are fantastic golf holes! If there were more holes like these, this would be an amazing course.
Cons: Distances on tee signs not correct for many holes, and the distances listed here are not correct. I think this is due to baskets being moved around, but it was difficult to judge the distances on several holes.

The red tees were way too short - at least 4 holes under 200 feet, and about half the holes were under 230. The real issue is that there was almost no line to the basket on several of these short holes.

I originally intended to play the blue tees, as the distance listed seemed more challenging. However, after standing on the first pad, I passed. The gaps (if you can call them that) are NARROW! Look at the picture of the teebox for hole 1. That is a 10 ft. gap at 75ft, on a 315ft. hole that turns right at the end. RHBH is impossible, maybe a RHFH if you have incredible control. It does not get easier from there.
Other Thoughts: This is an incredibly technical course. Leave your drivers in the car. You will need your driving putter and mid-range discs. There are maybe 4 or 5 holes that are long/open enough for a Teebird.

Overall, this was enjoyable round. I would not rank this course as high as many previous reviewers, and I would not drive from far away to play here. If you are passing through the area it is worth a stop. I think the locals must have all given this one some great reviews, as I can't imagine that passers through are rating this course over 4 stars.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.