Live Oak, FL
Magnolia DGC Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #7 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Awesome Course, Challenging But Fair

2-4    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Magnolia DGC (MGDC) is a medium to short length course from the short tees (i.e., big arms aren't a huge plus), but the back tees are nasty and long (the scorecard even says "The Blue Tees are very difficult. It's highly recommended that most players play from the Red Tees"). I wholeheartedly agree.

MGDC sets up well for the finesse player with good control and a good bag of tricks. A birdie is a possibility on all 18 holes (as they have par marked). However, MGDC is still challenging. MGDC is moderately rolling (for Florida), heavily wooded and shady, but there is still the expectance that if you focus and stay within your capabilities you can improve your game and score. If you want to add some more challenge and length, just play the longer, blue tees (38% longer and positioned at a different angle). The blue tees present a totally different look and bring more trees into play (i.e., you better have a long, tight drive dialed in). The staff have really kept the place open yet heavily wooded. So, there are lots of trees, but they are more mature (i.e., the canopy is closed off) with very light understory.
Cons: There really are no complaints that I have for Magnolia DGC. That being said, I would give Magnolia 5 stars if all the tee boxes were concrete. However, even the carpet is in great shape and the tee area is level.
Other Thoughts: Magnolia DGC is a must play if you are anywhere near Live Oak, Florida. I drove from my home in Tallahassee with a friend to just try it out (89 miles one way), and all can say is I will be back again soon. Currently, I would say it my favorite course. This is the eleventh different course I have played (2-24 hole, 7-18 hole & 2-9 hole courses), and it is hands down the best balance I have found. I love this course, and all I can say is whoever laid out the course did a great job.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Technical Challenge in Florida

5+    10/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really makes players think and play golf. The fairways are fair and bad shots are punished. The course requires the ability to hit tight lines and shape shots, including many opportunities to throw "S" shaped shots.

Strategy and the ability to scramble are put at a premium. Players will have many opportunities to decide whether or not to roll the dice. Those that make poor decisions will make big numbers.

It's a beautiful walk through the woods whether you're an advanced player, a beginner, or a spectator. A herd of deer can frequently be spotted running across fairways. Fairly low chance of losing plastic. Easy to navigate.

The 700 acre park is an outstanding place to get away for a couple days. Canoe/kayak rentals are available to traverse the Suwannee River. Cabins, RV sites, and primitive camping are great. There's a cafe, a country store, horseback riding, live music most weekends in the music hall, etc., etc., etc.

While I agree with Innovadude that the blue tees are very challenging, 80% of players should take advantage of the red tee option.
Cons: As Innovadude mentioned, there is some poison ivy on the course. There are also a few lower areas that can get muddy following a big rain.

In the summer months ticks and huge banana spiders are in abundance. It can be oppressively hot in the summer when the air's still. The course gets overgrown in the summer. The optimal playing season is October through June.

During major music festivals (5 weekends per year), the course is only open to ticket holders. Please be sure to call and check with the park before heading out.
Other Thoughts: The blue tees have been designed such that an even par round of 63 will be about a 970 rated round.

The red tees have been designed such that an even par round of 63 will be about a 900 rated round.

The course plays a bit harder than those numbers at present, but will continue to get a bit easier over time as we continue to trim a bit and grind up stumps in fairways.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 I'm surprised the designer hasn't reviewed it yet.

1    10/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It will challenge and force every level of player to accept that they are mortal men. Par is set at 63 and could be set higher in my opinion.
-Long AND tight, allowing for some smooth tunnelly drives but mostly shorter accuracy and placement shots with intent to have a good place to throw an upshot or two, or three, from.
-Well cleared fairways for how new it is, brushhogged'.
-Many cement tees, the rest carpet which does the trick.
Cons: -Small but widespread ivy on a few holes that is unavoidable you will land in it.
-Still not all cement tees
-Signs do not yet indicate where the hole is, you have to scout ahead a lot
Other Thoughts: Worth checking out now, soon to be on the area's best and tournament level course for all players. Tests every shot and ability, and is unrelenting in it's difficulty.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.