Canton, IL 
Spoon River DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #5 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 396ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/6/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: smithwb
Played: 62  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: -Nice scenery with mature trees
-Fairly open with good distance on some of the holes, so it could be nice to practice long shots.
Cons: -The navigation of the course is horrible. No next hole signs on the baskets. After we found the tee for #4 we spent 10 minutes looking for the basket until we realized it wasn't there.
-The tee signs aren't accurate in distance or where the basket is at times
-The grass was tall enough that even a disc in the open was hard to find if you didn't watch the line closely
-Grass tee pads
Other Thoughts: Practicing long throws is about all I would do at this course since there are so many problems. Although if it requires traveling over 25 miles then it wouldn't be worth the time. I wish I would've played at Big Creek again instead of going to this course.

 Ehhh

2-4    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: Spoon River has a nice arboretum where the disc golf course is located. The old trees provide cool obstacles to throw over, around, or under. Aside from the trees, the land is exclusively used for disc golf and the grass appears to be mowed often.

The baskets all have bright yellow flags above them with the hole number printed on them, which eases navigation.
Cons: I parked by 8's basket on the far north side, and played 8 and 9, couldn't find 1 or 2, played 3, and then just got super lost. Navigation is a huge problem because there were missing baskets and tee signs.

The basket set is mixed (Machs, DisCatchers, etc..)
Other Thoughts: I only spent 30 minutes here, and all in all I would say it wasn't worth it to come out here and play. The other reviewers have it right when they say that it's a good compliment to the 18 holer that's 5 minutes away, but this is not an attractive course as it stands alone. I don't think there's a community here that cares about this course though, otherwise this could be a lot more fun.

 Nice little 9

1    12/22/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had pretty much all new baskets or at least looked pretty new. There was some trees that defaintly come into play, some minor elevation change, various length holes, wide open to just throw and not worry about losing a disc.
Cons: All the baskets didn't match, which doesn't hurt, just makes it not uniform. I question the distances on some of the tee signs, some too short, some too long. Number 4 said 270, but seemed much farther. I walked off number 6 that said 230' but was 63 steps so couldnt be more than 200'. Number 7 sign was no where to be found. The last hole ends near the number 2 fairway and there is no easy path back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was not that bad, at least not as bad as the previous reviews led me to believe. It was pretty cold and windy the day I went, but would really want to play again when it is nice out. Would be nice if some of the woods around the course could have been utilized.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 the little couse that could have been

1    9/7/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 364  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety in length of holes (250-600)
-Hole 1 is a nice short hole that ends in a hard dogleg right
-most holes over 300' (not really a beginner course, making it a potentially nice complement to the other park (big creek(http://www.dgcoursereview.com...php?id=1008))
-nice powder blue machs on 6 of nine holes
-decent land use of a small area
-grass was better maintained since the first reviewer played with one exception (see cons)
Cons: -grass teepads that have a board to show the end of the pad on some, but not all
-no facilities (no bathroom, water, or shelter)
-sign missing on hole 7
-no baskets for holes 4 and 8, and 7's basket was badly mangled
-grass around basket 1 hasn't been cut all summer
-no tree trimming has been done so holes like 7 (which should be a tight straight shot through the trees ends up being a big hyzer around the trees)
-the tee for hole 6 stands right behind (5 ft) a massive, low branched tree (a relic of no tree trimming I think).
-I found the sleeve for hole 8 and it is dangerously close to the exit of a walking path through the woods, but I doubt that the path gets a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: -Overall, I'm glad I hit this course as Canton is 30 miles off the interstate and it would have been a waste to not get more than 1 round played in the area, but if I come this way again, I'll skip this and play a few rounds at big creek.

If baskets and tee signs had all been there, and tree trimming was accomplished this would be a decent course, I felt like there were enough trees to make it challenging, especially with the length. However I agree for the most part with the previous reviewer that the course could be redesigned easily to make it a good, fair, tough course.

Also, I'm guessing that alot of the problems are probably symptoms of the recession, I doubt the college has a lot of money to throw at grounds keeping and maintaining the trees for a DGC that doesn't get much play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wasted Potential

1    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Cobra165
Played: 101  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) It's only 9 holes
2) The land still has potential for a decent course
Cons: 2 missing baskets, 1 badly-damaged basket, lack of trimming has allowed weeds to grow up into the basket and chains, 1 tee blocked by a tree, hard to navigate (and not just because of a missing tee sign),
Other Thoughts: When I pulled in I was encouraged--the course is situated in the corner of the campus of Spoon River College. And from the street, it was a beautiful setting. The course started well--hole 1 was a nice, tough left-to-right around a corner of woods. But when we arrived at the basket we noticed that no trimming had been done, and the weeds were growing up into the chains. Couldn't gripe about it at that point because it actually helped my putt stay in the basket, but by the time you've played 2 or 3 holes like that, it gets old quickly. Once the holes started moving into the interior of the property, the navigation also got a bit difficult to follow or even understand. The property is bounded on two sides by woods and on another side by a road. A better solution might have been to stay along the edges as long as possible to add more challenge and interest to the holes, as well as to improve the ease of navigation. The basket for hole 4 is missing, the basket for 7 was mangled, probably by a negligent groundsperson on a big mower, and the basket for hole 8 was also missing. That might have actually been a blessing, however, because according to the distance on the tee sign, that would have put the basket near the entrance/exit of a walking trail! Dangerous combination there, and could have easily been avoided.

I believe that there is still hope for the course. It's a decent piece of land, very flat and kind of boring, but decent enough to hold a solid 9-holer with some lengthy, challenging holes. Since there are no concrete tee pads to ensure these holes stay where they are, I suggest a re-design with better flow, and replacing the missing/damaged baskets. That plus a minimum of TLC (like taking 30 minutes to trim under the baskets) might even entice the students on campus to start playing and caring about the future of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.