Athens, AL 
Sportsplex Share
Uploaded By: ChrisL430 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    6/11/2015   6/30/2015
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Athens Sportsplex course is a solid course in a city park setting. It features concrete tees, baskets that are in good shape, and excellent color tee signs with distances for the 2-4 possible basket locations on each hole. I appreciate the good variety of possible basket locations that would keep this course fresh and challenging for locals if moved regularly.

The course is mostly flat playing over lush grassy fairways and around a few trees. The biggest challenge here is avoiding the o.b. (water/creeks, roads, fences, walking trails, etc.) There is quite a bit of water in the form of creeks that come into play on several holes.
Cons: Disc golfers should be aware of the popular walking trail on the first few holes- lots of walkers the day I played and I was the only one playing. Lots of roads and parking lots come in to play as hole borders (not my favorite obstacle as you have to watch for cars, and landing on asphalt is hard on discs.)

Tees for 3 and 7 are somewhat close to each other and somewhat at each other, be careful if crowded.

There is a good deal of room for error or to play it safe on the drives for most holes, but then there is hole 18.... which is just a super narrow strip of land between the road and creek with the fairway sloping downward towards the creek- nearly impossible to land safely in bounds even playing it safe with putters- very tough hole and I question the design of it a bit (especially since there is a 19th hole that plays over the same creek- maybe these two could have been combined?)

Hole 14 is long just for the sake of being long, absolutely no obstacles whatsoever (unless you count the road and swimming pool that really do not come into play.) I always find wide open boring no matter what the length.

There were supposed to be 19 holes, but, when I played, hole 11 had no basket, and hole 12 had no tee and no basket. This was disappointing as I was really liking the course up to that point.

The back 9 is much different from the front (much longer and more open) and gives the impression that these holes were created at a different time than the front (rather than a unified 18 hole design).

I also thought the course could have used some bridges to get over the creeks. Not sure how one would get to some of the alt. tees and longer baskets without them other than wading through the water.
Other Thoughts: FYI- many of the tee signs were posted on objects other than tee signs, like large wooden benches, the wooden bridge (#4), and the protective wooden wall (#9).

Overall, there are some really nice, fun, and challenging holes here. Despite its many cons, it is worth playing if you are in the area, and if I was a local I would definitely play here regularly.

The course is really easy to get to from I-65, and, in fact, you can see baskets from the Interstate.

Be advised that playing on a hot sunny day in Alabama that it will be hot, and this course has almost no shade.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jeckl and Hyde

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Nashvillian
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Course well maintained and easy to navigate.

The front 9 has nice long shots that you must shape drives for dueces. Away from most park activity and not busy.

Great use of available trees and creek
Cons: The back nine is a series of long shots that end up in long putts. OB is really only challenge on last 10 holes. Still good use of space and seems like built the front 9 and afterwards addes more holes and didn't have a designer do those holes.

What's with hole 19?
Other Thoughts: All in all a good place to stop on a road trip . I suggest playing the front twice.

 Great Experience

1    8/1/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: randy.colwell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: -Holes are not on top of each other
-Doesn't feel cramped
-Beautiful creek flowing throughout the first few holes
-A few unique holes that really stand out
-Great place to practice power throws
-Peaceful park with very little pedestrian intrusions when there are no ball games being played
-right off the interstate
-a few drop zones and elevated pins
-beautiful color maps on every hole
-professional feel that will immediately welcome any amateur for a rememberable experience
-lots of benches throughout the course
Cons: -half of the course isnt in the shade
-LOTS of walking due to the holes being so spread apart, which isnt really a con in my book but I recommend playing the front 10, and then driving to the other parking lot near the pool and walking the remainder
-needs water fountains
-no course map
-first time you will wander aimlessly to find the holes
Other Thoughts: I pretty much mirror most of the positive reviews for this course. I will most def. come back. I was skeptical at first when I first arrived but immediately fell in love with it. With just a few minor improvements this could easily be one of the best in the N. Alabama area.

On a side note, I enjoyed the different layouts of the course most of the courses in N. Alabama are all heavily wooded so this is a welcomed change. Also, if you are playing disc golf and you live in Alabama, its going to be hot. I mean get real, its part of the game. My buddy and I played it today in 90 degree weather a nice breeze and had a blast. Don't bitch about Alabama sunshine if you play DG in the summer. Get out there and get acclimated to the weather early on, and for this course especially stay hydrated and take breaks

 The Plex

5+    6/27/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: ChrisL430
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course has a great mix of holes. length/varity of shot/ etc.
- Great Discatcher baskets
- OB everywhere ( i put this as a pro since it teaches you to throw controlled shots and helps with the mental part of your game)
- Mulitple tee pads and pin locations on almost every hole.
- The club moves the baskets monthly, so it keeps it interesting playing new holes
- The Recreation Department keeps the grass cut and the course looking fantastic
- Tee Signs show accurate distances
Cons: - Only bathroom on the course is next too the soccer fields that is behind a closed gate most of the time.
- Course can be a little hard to navigate the first time through
Other Thoughts: I don't think this course gets enough credit. It will help you learn a varity of shots, how to play in the wind, throw controlled distance shots, and helps with your mental game. One of my favorite courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun coarse

5+    4/14/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: KeepRaving
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good balance of easy and challenging holes, nice baskets, concrete tee pads, multiple tees and different basket positions
Cons: creeks can take your discs, almost always windy, the need to put up new bridges
Other Thoughts: nice coarse would recommend to everyone.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SNAC 2009

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Biggest pro: the benches are very big and nice.
-Unique nipple baskets, I call them. Explained more in the cons section.
-Holes 5 and 8 are pretty cool.
-The course flow is okay. It's wide-open enough to not cause much congestion.
-Restrooms available.
Cons: -Elevated baskets. There were two holes where the baskets were elevated about 7 feet from the ground. They will cost you some stokes.
-Course design is poor with little elevation changes, and little shot variety is offered.
-Very few unique holes.
-Fairways are not clearly defined on most holes. You are generally throwing into a wide open field.
-Zero trash cans.
-The tees could be a little longer and wider for the big throws you must make.
Other Thoughts: This just seems like a bad spot to put a disc golf course. The park is nice and all, but throwing across open fields with little obstacles is not much fun. Bring a long arm to the course and some stable discs b/c of all the wind. It was windy that day and I hear it is a lot of the time. Parking is adequate. The baskets are in decent shape, but I do not like the large yellow bands at the top.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy and Open!

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is layed out pretty well given the area they had to put the course in. There are a few really really nice holes to test your skills with the disc. Hole 5 is a big anny spike unless you have a sidearm that will cut hard. It is on top of a hill and the basket is tucked in the woods to your right a good distance away. The trick is it's almost a horseshoe shot. You have to go high and wide to make the cut around the trees to just give yourself a upshot for par. It's wayyyyyyy tougher than it sounds for sure. I was lucky enough to three it myself! Hole 8 is also pretty tricky as it's a low ceiling over a creek with a mando tree making you go right of the tree. Just after the creek and tree is a field with the basket WAYYYYYY to the left. This again will require a major "cut" of the disc just after the tree. Holes 2 and 14 are both elevated which makes for some fun putting with all of the wind in the area. All and all this course will test how well you can control your disc in the wind with a bunch of OB to punish you if you can't throw correctly.
Cons: There wasn't very many (if any) trash cans in the area. Course badly needs tee signs on poles to let you see where the next box is. I could see on a few holes where you would have no clue which way to go after playing a hole because there is only a concrete block in the ground with a tee sign laying/placed somewhere near by. All in all there isn't really a whole lot I have to say bad about the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area playing this course you should take the short drive down to Hartselle and play Sparkman park as well. It's worth the drive if you find yourself in this part of AL.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Windy and Not Real Exciting!

1    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a links style course set in a very large sports complex next to the soccer fields. Unfortunately much of the course feels as though you are throwing out in the middle of a soccer field. Like every previous reviewer pointed out, there's very little in the way of shade, so bring water. The wind was a factor the day I played. It sounds like it always is. Many baskets were placed close to creeks and streets adding to the overall challenge. The teepads provide for a nice runoff. I could've used about 300 ft. teepads on this course. I did see something here I've never seen before, some of the tee signs were screwed onto to large benches. Good idea guys. The course was pretty easy to navigate. The park and course was extremely clean and vandalism free.
Cons: I found this course almost totally lacking in personality. The only hole I really enjoyed was the one throwing a hyser across the creek (ditch?) where you have to keep it low under the branches. I played early in the morning so the Alabama sun wasn't a factor but the wind and the boredom was. Much of this course reminded me of some of more boring holes on the U of A Huntsville course.
Other Thoughts: My one true moment of excitement on this course was when some park maintenance men found a baby snapping turtle and showed me. My first Bama snapper!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2009   3/1/2009
Review By: Justin L
Played: 49  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.9 Years
Pros: A long open course great for working on your drives/approaches. OB streets/water come in to play, especially with the constant wind. Tournament play here can be outstanding with we placed rope OB. If you want to work on your wind game pick a breezy day and head to this course!
Cons: Only suitable for players who love wide open courses. Lack of trees/shade can make for grueling rounds during the summer time.
Other Thoughts: There are two elevated pin placements on this course.

 long and without shade

2-4    9/6/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to work on your long drives. There area lots of long, mostly open holes with OB (roads, sidewalks and a creek) present on many holes.

The tee pads are great, there's good signage, and some very nice benchs next to some of the pads.

When I was last there, pin extensions were used on two holes raising the basket 6ft off the ground. Definitely a fun addition which adds a new dimension and challenge to the course.
Cons: This course lacks shot variety. In fact, there is only one type of shot needed on most holes; long!

There is virtually no shade which is a problem due to how hot it gets in the summer so bring lots of water.

There are few birdie possibilities here because most of the holes are so long.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to work on your long drive and up shots. If that's not what you're looking for, I recommend playing some of the great courses in Huntsville.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.