Athens, AL 
Sportsplex Share
Uploaded By: ChrisL430 Hole #2 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 298ft.   3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 SNAC 2009

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Biggest pro: the benches are very big and nice.
-Unique nipple baskets, I call them. Explained more in the cons section.
-Holes 5 and 8 are pretty cool.
-The course flow is okay. It's wide-open enough to not cause much congestion.
-Restrooms available.
Cons: -Elevated baskets. There were two holes where the baskets were elevated about 7 feet from the ground. They will cost you some stokes.
-Course design is poor with little elevation changes, and little shot variety is offered.
-Very few unique holes.
-Fairways are not clearly defined on most holes. You are generally throwing into a wide open field.
-Zero trash cans.
-The tees could be a little longer and wider for the big throws you must make.
Other Thoughts: This just seems like a bad spot to put a disc golf course. The park is nice and all, but throwing across open fields with little obstacles is not much fun. Bring a long arm to the course and some stable discs b/c of all the wind. It was windy that day and I hear it is a lot of the time. Parking is adequate. The baskets are in decent shape, but I do not like the large yellow bands at the top.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy and Open!

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is layed out pretty well given the area they had to put the course in. There are a few really really nice holes to test your skills with the disc. Hole 5 is a big anny spike unless you have a sidearm that will cut hard. It is on top of a hill and the basket is tucked in the woods to your right a good distance away. The trick is it's almost a horseshoe shot. You have to go high and wide to make the cut around the trees to just give yourself a upshot for par. It's wayyyyyyy tougher than it sounds for sure. I was lucky enough to three it myself! Hole 8 is also pretty tricky as it's a low ceiling over a creek with a mando tree making you go right of the tree. Just after the creek and tree is a field with the basket WAYYYYYY to the left. This again will require a major "cut" of the disc just after the tree. Holes 2 and 14 are both elevated which makes for some fun putting with all of the wind in the area. All and all this course will test how well you can control your disc in the wind with a bunch of OB to punish you if you can't throw correctly.
Cons: There wasn't very many (if any) trash cans in the area. Course badly needs tee signs on poles to let you see where the next box is. I could see on a few holes where you would have no clue which way to go after playing a hole because there is only a concrete block in the ground with a tee sign laying/placed somewhere near by. All in all there isn't really a whole lot I have to say bad about the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area playing this course you should take the short drive down to Hartselle and play Sparkman park as well. It's worth the drive if you find yourself in this part of AL.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Windy and Not Real Exciting!

1    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a links style course set in a very large sports complex next to the soccer fields. Unfortunately much of the course feels as though you are throwing out in the middle of a soccer field. Like every previous reviewer pointed out, there's very little in the way of shade, so bring water. The wind was a factor the day I played. It sounds like it always is. Many baskets were placed close to creeks and streets adding to the overall challenge. The teepads provide for a nice runoff. I could've used about 300 ft. teepads on this course. I did see something here I've never seen before, some of the tee signs were screwed onto to large benches. Good idea guys. The course was pretty easy to navigate. The park and course was extremely clean and vandalism free.
Cons: I found this course almost totally lacking in personality. The only hole I really enjoyed was the one throwing a hyser across the creek (ditch?) where you have to keep it low under the branches. I played early in the morning so the Alabama sun wasn't a factor but the wind and the boredom was. Much of this course reminded me of some of more boring holes on the U of A Huntsville course.
Other Thoughts: My one true moment of excitement on this course was when some park maintenance men found a baby snapping turtle and showed me. My first Bama snapper!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 long and without shade

2-4    9/6/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to work on your long drives. There area lots of long, mostly open holes with OB (roads, sidewalks and a creek) present on many holes.

The tee pads are great, there's good signage, and some very nice benchs next to some of the pads.

When I was last there, pin extensions were used on two holes raising the basket 6ft off the ground. Definitely a fun addition which adds a new dimension and challenge to the course.
Cons: This course lacks shot variety. In fact, there is only one type of shot needed on most holes; long!

There is virtually no shade which is a problem due to how hot it gets in the summer so bring lots of water.

There are few birdie possibilities here because most of the holes are so long.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to work on your long drive and up shots. If that's not what you're looking for, I recommend playing some of the great courses in Huntsville.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.