Spring, TX 
Spring Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
-- / --   3 / 233ft.   4 / 611ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
T14 / (this is the only hole from T not included in F or P)



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Relaxing Spring

1    2/19/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: GFWilliams
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout with heavy use of trees to make even the shorter shots challenging.
Cons: My biggest problem with the course is with the massive amounts of thorned plant life in the area. It seemed like most of the probable trouble spots had either rose bushes or thorny vines hanging from the trees. This made some retrievals more than a little painful while not adding anything to the overall difficulty of the course.
Other Thoughts: It looked like it may retain water after a heavy rain. The pay to play price is reasonable, but unless your in the area, I wouldn't make a long drive when there are free courses closer. Overall a good course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course even though you have to pay $3

5+    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: ROCthrower
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of short/tight wooded shots along with long/open range shots. The course is well groomed and they have done quite a bit to make sure it is easy to walk between the holes. Even after a heavy rain, most of the holes are well drained. This course is not for beginners, but a great intermediate course!
Cons: If you're playing on a nice weekday or weekend, you'll have to compete with the ball golfers. They don't give a wink that you're out there on the course, so take cover! Its better to stay in the wooded holes anyway!
Other Thoughts: Make sure you bring money to check out the pro shop! This is one of the best if not the best selection of disc golf discs in Houston! They have everything and its reasonably priced! Plus they have a good assortment of used discs and bags as well!

Also be sure to check out the tournaments they have weekly!

The signage on T14, T15 and T16 are really hard to see...so make sure to ask about those in the clubhouse!

Other than that, have fun! Enjoy! And watch out for flying golf balls!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Pro Course In Every Sense

5+    9/12/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 101  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2015
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on and around a well kept secluded 9 hole ball golf course north of Houston in Spring, Texas. This course represents everything great about the disc golf scene on the north side of town. The first thing you will find is a fantastic pro shop decked out with any disc you could want from every major disc producer. A friendly helpful staff mans this fine shop and their love for the game is evident in everything they do. Make sure to pick up a map on your way out as this course has the widest variety of layouts and holes you will find in the Houston area. As you walk out you will find two practice baskets about 100 feet apart where you can practice all sorts of upshots and putts. I believe the baskets are Mach 3's, in great condition and do a decent job of catching discs. Each and every hole has a great concrete teepad and are marked by tee signs with distances and their alternate hole numbers (as mentioned in previous reviews this course has 3 different configurations, so pay close attention to where you are and what config your playing). The first tee you will find is Power 1 which sits atop a hill and is a 943 foot monster down and an actual ball golf fairway. It looks like a pretty simple shot down the hill for a first drive but beware this hole eats discs either by devouring them in the large pond to the left or the other pond to the right, your shot selection and execution better be spot on if you want to score well. This hole is a perfect microcosm for this course. Every hole represents the perfect balance of risk vs. reward and they challenge you to make the right decision or pay the consequences. There are many memorable holes on this course but for me the two that stand out the most are Finesse holes 4 and 18. I heard one Open player tell me hole 4 is the signature hole for this course and I could not agree more. It is over a well landscaped beautiful peace of land right next to Spring Creek. It requires a perfect sidearm or annyhyzer drive for birdie and is one of my all time favorite holes. 18 on the other hand is a great equalizer hole and getting a 3 is a triumph and something I have only done once, it is one of the most challenging holes Ive ever played. I can not overstate how well this course is kept and has only gotten better as time has gone by. This is a pro level course and the difficulty will test you in ways you wouldn't expect. If your dominating Bear Branch get out to Spring Valley it will humble you quickly.
Cons: There isn't a whole lot of bad I can mention when it comes to this course. Keep in mind before going that this is a pay to play course, but as they say you get what you pay for and this course is definitely worth every penny. I think the one thing I dislike the most about this course is the walk out to the course and the walk back from it. The distance you walk on this course is LONG and expect a good walk out to Finesse 1 and long walk back from Finesse 18. The course is along a creek and in is some dense woods. It has quite a few water hazards including ponds and sink holes and the rough can be very dense. Be prepared to do some digging or fishing for discs if you go off the beaten path.
Other Thoughts: I had been holding off reviewing this course for a while. The first time I played it, it ate my lunch and I think if I had reviewed it then I would have given it a much lower score. But as I have played it more, I have grown to appreciate it for being a challenging, well thought out, brilliant course. This place has so much variety and that's not even including the "dirty holes" that locals have come up with.When you head out there for the first time see if you cant get a local (or me) to show you these brutal alternates. Regardless of how you choose to attack this course you will be pleased with what you find. An exceptional pro level disc golf course and one of the best I've ever played.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, needs work.

1    3/11/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: texas80
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a variety of holes on this course that can be challenging for any player. I prefer wooded courses over flat fields so this one's finesse course that is heavily wooded is pretty cool. There is an unusual collection of chairs/seats at almost every hole. The Pro Shop is fantastic! The course is mowed, trash cans and maintained. All in all a good course to play. The $3 is worth it.
Cons: The power course is the original course they offered, to me it's not so much fun as you play alongside ball golfers and the distance is a little ridiculous. The path from #6 to #7 on the finesse course is confusing, we got lost for a good 5 minutes following path after path. There were a lot of stagnant pools of water all around brimming with mosquito larvae. I noticed a ton of poison ivy on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: I miss the golf carts and the beer on tap that used to be there years ago. The course could use a little more direction on some of the paths.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    1/2/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first 18 are very challenging and require some skill. There are several holes that the risk vs. reward factor is high.

The pro shop is the best shop I have ever been in. It had a huge amount of discs and the guy working the front was very helpful.
Cons: I honestly didnt feel that the course was good enough to be charging the 3 dollar admissions fee. Especially since there are great courses 10 minutes away for free.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Valley

5+    8/30/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 199  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
To date I have only played the "Finesse 18" layout so my comments are mainly targeted at that portion of the course.

The concrete tee pads are very nice. The on-site pro shop is fantastic; offering a huge selection of discs, as well as restrooms and refreshments. There are a couple nets set up by the practice area to be used like batting cages to warm-up your drives. Distances posted on tee signs are pretty accurate.

The Finesse 18 layout is heavily wooded and most of the holes are fair. They require precise, well controlled drives, but do not offer a lot of approaches to the basket. Big arms will be easily frustrated by the lack of opportunities to air-it-out on the Finesse 18. Most of the tee shots are straight drives with a few hyzers and anhyzers mixed in. This layout is all about not hitting any trees.

The Finesse 18 layout is almost completely shaded so in the hot Houston summer it's a welcome break from the sun.
Cons:
The "Power 9" holes are closed on the weekend due to priority given to ball golfers. It's a long walk from the clubhouse to the first F1 tee. It's a long walk from the last F18 basket back to the clubhouse. Golfers are not allowed to retrieve lost discs from ponds. The claim is that employees periodically search the ponds and return discs to the lost & found bin. Bring bug spray after it has rained. Grab a map from the pro shop. The transition from F13 to F14 isn't obvious.
Other Thoughts:
Spring Valley is a confusing course with regard to layouts. There are 28 total baskets on the course. They're typically played in one of three layouts, none of which use all 28 baskets. Holes are labeled with an "F", "P" and/or "T" in addition to the number to indicate which hole it is on a particular layout.

The longest layout is the "Total 27". This layout uses all nine of the "Power 9" holes, a connector hole: "T14", and 17 of the 18 "Finesse 18" holes. (Skips F6.)

Due to the "Power 9" being closed on the weekend, the most common layout is probably the "Finesse 18" which uses baskets F1-18, skipping T14 and P1-9.

The "Power 9" layout uses baskets P1-9, skipping T14 and F1-18.

While Spring Valley is a ball golf course as well, don't expect a Country Club atmosphere. It does offer more amenities than a typical park it, but a golf resort it is not.

Other reviews have mentioned lots of water hazards on the Finesse 18 layout. I've played this course only in the summer and the water is pretty minimal. There's a creek to cross on F1, creek to the left of F6 and right of F18, and a couple puddles back in the F14-F16 area. Other than F1 there wasn't much significant water.

On the Power 9 layout the ball golf greens play as OB; please stay off of them.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Tall Pines, Loads of fun

5/11/2008   5/12/2008
Review By: martin_t_18372
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tall pines, lots of holes around 300 on the Finesse course. Good variety of lefty and righty holes. A few blind shots and generous concrete tee pads. Definitely good use of water. Pro shop full of discs, drinks and a few snacks. $3.00 to play all 27. Had a blast and will be back when in the area again.
Cons: The tee pads could be cleaner. Found a lot of mud on the pads. Signs after the hole that shows direction to next hole would be nice. A couple holes had small putting areas. The 9 on the ball golf course is only available on the weekdays. Pretty muddy and lots of snakes and creepy crawlers. watch where you walk and when you are reaching down.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.