Spring, TX 
Spring Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 555ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #6



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
awesome place

5+    11/23/2013   12/19/2013
Review By: rodeo_cwboy
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the difficultly of each hole. no open grip and rip unless you play the power 9.

The club house rocks with a great selection and the owners provide a friendly family atmosphere.
Cons: to me.. I wish I lived a little closer to play it more often.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/10/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First of all this course has the best selection of discs on the north side of town. It is easy to go in and spend $40-$50 on brand new discs.
-The concrete tee pads are great, the baskets are in wonderful shape.
-Most of the holes are shaded which can be a huge pro in the heat of summer.
-There are a few memorable holes. The front 9 of the finesse are all unique and can be exciting.
-All of the finesse holes are relatively short. This would be a good place to bring a new player so that person can see what a high caliber course looks like.
-The power 9 holes are VERY unique to Houston. You will not find too many courses where you have 800'+ holes and if you have the big arm this could add a bit of fun for you.
Cons: -Really, the only big con I can think of is the long walk from the clubhouse to the first tee and from the 18th tee back up to the clubhouse. It is unavoidable with the golf course being right there but it can be a bit of a walk.
-Holes 13-17 have over lapping fairways on a few holes which can really be problematic for a person who has never been here without a map. All tees have signs and all baskets have numbers on them. Just be aware of where you are and where you are shooting at.
Other Thoughts: This is a premier course for the North Houston/Spring area. With the high quality pro shop and a small green fee this course gives you a taste of what a high quality course looks like.

This is one of the best courses in the area and if you play Stonebridge Church less then 10 minutes away you can give yourself a fun filled day of disc golfing.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Theme

1    10/24/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Spring Valley DGC is very well worth the $3.25 green fee. The finesse 18 is a run through the woods with plenty of tight lines and punishing rough. Course is mainly flat, excepting boggy fringes eroded around a few of the holes. Fairways are often crowded with trees, and steep angles are necessary to cut the right lines. The tee pads were all concrete, and tees were marked with the distance on each. All baskets were in good condition. The flow was fairly easy to follow, and a course map/scorecard is available in the pro shop. The Power 9 is along the ball golf course. I only played 1 and 9, on my way to and from the Finesse 18, but it seemed fun and well laid out.
Cons: The mosquitoes were huge, bring bug spray. Maybe concerns about ball golfers interfering with play in the power nine, shouldn't be much of a problem elsewhere. Clearing some more brush and limbs could make the Finesse much less frustrating, but I liked the added challenge on the mostly short holes.
Other Thoughts: Spring Valley DGC should be your next stop if you are nearby and haven't played there yet. I found it to be a very fun course. Nice facilities, pro shop, and sweet overall disc golfing. Highly recommended to serious disc golfers in the Houston vicinity and otherwise.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 28 Holes, and a Pro shop...Need I Say More?

2-4    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
20 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 28 holes…concrete tees…some elevation - in Houston…water, trees, and distance…Pro Shop?!!! Okay bring it on Spring Valley. First, 28 holes divided into three distinct layouts with an extra hole either at Finesse #6 or the Total #14. In addition, each hole is adequately marked with each layout number and hole distance, and plays on concrete boxes. Although concrete is always a plus in my book, the 10' depth for runups is a little short for the longer holes. There is plenty of seating at each holes to take a load off if needed.

Okay, so the elevation changes are only on the Power/Total #1 as well as Power #9/Total#27, but it's always worth a mention in utterly flat Houston. There are plenty of ponds, creeks, and water ditches to lose your disc in - but conservative play should keep you pretty dry. If you do throw one in - don't plan on getting it back in the murky brown water with signs posted to stay out. Finally the Proshop. The one and only proshop on a disc golf in the greater Houston area - they have everything you need. I feel like I'm in Austin when I come here!!!

Out of 28 holes - the bread and butter of this course is surely the Finesse 18 front nine. These fantastically designed holes work right and left, combine tunnels and tight lines, and run along a creek away from everything else. The front nine is basically what a disc golf course should be, and is reason enough to pay to play. Plus, it's nice to know that you have access to the best holes on the course any time you want without having to compete with ball golfers. If you're playing the Total 27/28, I recommend picking up #6 from the Finesse 18 course to make it a full 28 holes. This was probably my favorite hole on course, so it was be a shame to miss it.

BEST HOLE/S: Finesse #6; #8
Cons: That'll be three dollars and blah blah cents. Okay, this is a minor grip for being the only pay course in the greater Houston area, but it's annoying to have change in my pocket when I'm ready to start playing. Call it nit-picky, but why can't they do like every other pay course I've ever played and round it off to the nearest dollar.

Understand this is only a con if you're playing the Power 9 or Total 27/28 on a weekday, but get ready to compete with ball golfers. Each of the Power 9 holes run along, across, or right down the middle a ball golf fairways. And granted, even though most of these people are nice - many have little to no idea you or your sport exist and usually assume they have the right of way since they have a fancy cart. If you only hit the Finesse 18 - not to worry, there are no golfers in the woods, at least on purpose.

In addition, the Power 9 is simply that - opened up powerful drive after drive holes with little thought or creativity. I'm the type of person who wants to play every hole on a course, so I'll hit the Power 9 on weekdays as part of the Total 27/28, but I just have to keep in mind these are not "wow" holes, simply part of the overall package.

Finally, have that map handy, because the layout becomes more confusing with the more holes you play. The shop didn't have a Total 27/28 map, and of course I forgot to print one - so I was not happy about forgetting the transitions between T13, T14, and T15. Watch the signs!!!

WORST HOLE/S: Power #4; #5
Other Thoughts: It's hard to rate a single course that plays in three distinct setups. The Finesse 18, which can be played at any time, hovers around a 3.5 with its decent signage, creative lines, concrete pads, and wooded atmosphere. The Power 9, which can only be played on weekdays, by itself is a 2.0 at best with the only challenge being its impressive length. However - that is how it's billed, so take it for what it's worth.

The Total 27/28 is also only available on weekdays, but becomes a strong 4.0 course and one of the best courses in the area. If you are serious about becoming stronger, better, and a smarter disc golf player, I recommend taking this choice if available.

I Admit, Spring Valley has never been high on my favorite Houston course list, but I have to respect that this is the only course in Houston that gives me 28 holes varied golf. Think of The LINKS at Quail Valley, Windwood Presbyterian Church, and River Grove DGC having a lovechild - it would be Spring Valley. This place tests your aim, your ability to choose correct lines and discs for the job, as well as your stamina. Bottom line, this course will fundamentally make you a better golfer.

20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 2 STARS??? This course deserves better...

5+    1/7/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: jsc430
Played: 122  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***This is a review for the Finesse 18***

Spring Valley DGC is one of Houston's premier courses situated on the outskirts of a beautiful piece of property which it shares with a 9-hole ball golf course. It is tight and technical with each hole having its (more than) fair share of obstacles making an even score very, very respectable. Hole distances average 300 but range from 200' to 375'. Spring Valley will challenge every player from, the noob to the seasoned pro. There are birdie holes and bogey holes. Water hazards and OB. Lots of trees and tons of (manageable) underbrush. Overall, it's a great disc golf experience but you better devote the better part of 2 hours to play it, not including time spent looking for errant discs.

There are concrete tee boxes on every hole along with benches/chairs on 9 of 18 holes and many trash cans for all your empties. All baskets are in good condition, most having a flag or orange tape to help first timers spot it. Also, there are cardboard signs at each tee, most of which are nailed to a nearby tree marking the distance and identifying the hole. There's almost always a neighboring nail at each tee box that you can hang your bag on.

There is a pro shop that has a HUGE selection from multiple manufactures including discs, baskets, towels, minis, etc.. You can even grab a candy bar/bag of chips/Gatorade and use the bathroom before you head out. They also have maps, scorecards and with distances, and pencils available for free.

This course gets regular TLC as there is a mini held there every Sunday by the Houston Flying Disc Society, with a portion of each entry going towards a course maintenance fund.

Overall, the course offers a lot of different hole layouts. A good score requires consideration and execution on every shot.
Cons: The biggest con for me is the long walk to the first tee box which basically means walking the cart path to the second ball golf tee box. Negotiating between ball golfers (as your as basically walking on their first hole) can be a pain because getting hit with a golf ball is no joke. However, if there aren't any ball golfers then think of it as a "pro" because it basically becomes a driving range that you can warm up on or try out the new disc you just bought.

Also, its about the same walk to back to the pro shop from 18. However, instead of walking it in try playing in 7, 8, and 9 of the Power 9. The tee box for P7 is 40 ft from 18's cage. If you do this expect to add 20-30 min to your round depending on how busy the course is.

Another common gripe with the course is the probability of losing disks. As far as I'm concerned losing discs is just a part of playing DG, esp at a high caliber, challenging course. Buy discs from the pro shop - Support the course!

Although the overall course design was well thought out, on holes, 1,5, and 15 you are potentially in the line of fire of an errant golf shot, so heads up! Also, bring old shoes, as a few holes (7,15) stay muddy from fall to spring and expect soft conditions if it has rained in the last couple of days.

It's a pay play for $3 plus tax (S3.41).
Other Thoughts: There is definitely an "out in the woods feeling" to this course that you don't, find at too many other courses in the area. Its unfortunate that many of Houston's great 18 hole courses are near major highways or interstates, but not here. Its quiet and peaceful as it is usually not very crowded esp. on weekdays. Even though it's a pay to play in my opinion, its well worth it and a minimal fee for a great DG experience. The course has a great website that can be found under the "Links/Files" tab of the course's homepage.

Occasionally water is released from an upstream lake which floods the creek that meanders through the course and/or adds to existing water hazards.

The owner of the property is very DG friendly and the employees are always welcoming and helpful. E.g. Recently, I went to play after they had let water down from upstream. Before I paid, I was offered the chance to take a cart down to the course and check the playing conditions.

There are not too many "wide open" holes on the finesse 18, if long bombs are what you're looking for you should check out the Power 9. Why not? Your green fees pay for access to the entire Total 27 (except on weekends when the Power 9 is closed to disc golfers)

Enjoy yourself, but don't lose focus because bogies lurk on almost every hole.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great total package

1    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long shots, short wooded shots, water, 27 holes, practice baskets and even a pro shop with bathrooms and drinks. A great place to play if you want a total disc golf experience. Every kind of shot you can think of. No bad holes, no wasted opportunities to use the land to its fullest.
Cons: WATER. There are creeks and ponds, and ponds under construction. I like a tough course, but there may be too much of a good thing here. Nothing worse than losing discs, and this course could hurt you bad. An errant throw off a tree will could cost you a disc on a number of holes. If you have discs to donate this is your course.

Ball golfers are close by. Be careful. I hear those ball golf guys are BAD people. Beware. Some of the long holes may not be playable due to these foul creatures.
Other Thoughts: A great experience. Play this course if you are in the Houston area.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in H-Yown to Improve Your Game

5+    11/27/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: ChaseTheAce
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First things first, the course has its own Pro Shop with an excellent selection of discs. There are food and drinks available for purchase as well. There is a practice basket outside of the shop to warm up with some putts.

The course starts HUGE with P1, almost 1000' long with elevation, OB on the left, and water hazards on the right. All power holes are over 400', allowing for a lot of bomb drives. The power holes are not just wide open shots, but rather, distance shots that require accuracy if you want a 3.

The finesse holes are a course of their own. EVERY shot requires delicate accuracy for any attempt at a birdie. Finishing under par is very much possible, but it requires you to be at the best of your game, throwing each shot with a purpose. The course requires a plethora of shots and provides plenty of water and OB to make any round there very challenging.

The variety of holes make for equally as good alternate shots or "dirty holes" as designed by some of the locals. These dirty configurations add 9 more holes to the arsenal of 28.

Concrete tee pads and great DGA Mach baskets!

The entire course, power holes especially, are always well maintained. This course is never overgrown or looking shabby.

The order of holes are perect. P1 starts at the pro shop and P9 ends back at the pro shop. It is also very easy to jump from power to finesse and play a mixture of holes.

The course has weekly Sunday minis and seasonal Wednesday minis.
Cons: If you are only playing the 18 finesse holes, the walk from the club house to the first hole is a bit of a hike.

When it rains extremely hard, Spring Creek sometimes floods causing much of the finesse holes to flood.

Snakes, spiders, and mosquitos! Keep in mind, Spring Valley is deep in the woods and on a creek, making it very common to see big snakes and spiders out there. Mosquitos tend to be bad after a good rain.

It's $3.22 to play a round and 50% off on Mondays. It's well worth the cost though.

On weekends, power holes are closed to ball golfers. On weekdays, ball golfers have priority on power holes. With simple communication, it is easy to tee off in between a group of golfers on a hole.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best course in the Houston area to really improve your game. The mix of power in finesse cover a almost every shot in the game.

Bring out your A game when you come to Spring Valley!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

1    4/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: shamgar07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was only able to play the finesse 18 but that was all I could chew. The holes are great and give a challenge. The course goes throughout the woods and the layout is great. Makes you think about what disc you want to use.
Cons: Just watch the water and some of the holes aren't marked very well.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course, yeah you have to pay 3 bucks but it is worth it. If you want a change of pace and want to wonder round the woods for a while this is a great course for that.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    6/6/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Sambo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: With the power 9 and the finesse course there is something for all disc golfers here. A lot of shade and some great hole setups. Well maintained course with a GREAT pro shop.
Cons: Wear some bug spray. There are a few places where you have to back track on the finesse course, I am thinking of 13,14,15 area.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $3. The proshop alone is worth checking this course out. Very friendly staff as well.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  A Must Challenge

1    1/29/2009   1/30/2009
Review By: MichaelSamson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of challenging tee off points. The amount of trees around the course made up for the short distances for many holes. Very quiet during the weekdays, and a very friendly and helpful staff. The man I talked to said its packed on the weekends. So I would suggest going early or on the weekdays.
Cons: It is necessary to understand where you are going. The landing pads are phonomenal and the tee boxes are all labled. However, a compass (or taking your time to study the landscape before you go) could seriously help.
Other Thoughts: Once you get through the course once, you'll certainly want to come back and spend a cheap three bucks on a clean quiet course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.