Spring, TX 
Spring Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8
4 / 656ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole F7 / T7



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great, well organized course!

2-4    6/14/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Such a good course, Only got to play the finesse 18 though. Great signage and tee boxes. Very good mix of holes, elevation, distance and very wooded. I carry around 15 discs, and I used pretty much every single one. Also, can't stress enough how great having an on site pro shop is. The pro shop has everything you need. Also, unlike a lot of courses, there is water, which adds a nice rush to the game.
Cons: hate competing with ball golfers, but thats just the real life of a disc golfer. Wish the pro shop carried latitude 64 as well. But still is great, beggars cant be choosers. I wish they would also incorporate longer holes in the finesse course considering the power 9 is closed on weekends. Would have like to stretch some of my big gun drivers out.
Other Thoughts: The owners are really nice. It is 3 dollars to play. Also, there is a practice putting area. This place is MONEY! go play today!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course even though you have to pay $3

5+    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: ROCthrower
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of short/tight wooded shots along with long/open range shots. The course is well groomed and they have done quite a bit to make sure it is easy to walk between the holes. Even after a heavy rain, most of the holes are well drained. This course is not for beginners, but a great intermediate course!
Cons: If you're playing on a nice weekday or weekend, you'll have to compete with the ball golfers. They don't give a wink that you're out there on the course, so take cover! Its better to stay in the wooded holes anyway!
Other Thoughts: Make sure you bring money to check out the pro shop! This is one of the best if not the best selection of disc golf discs in Houston! They have everything and its reasonably priced! Plus they have a good assortment of used discs and bags as well!

Also be sure to check out the tournaments they have weekly!

The signage on T14, T15 and T16 are really hard to see...so make sure to ask about those in the clubhouse!

Other than that, have fun! Enjoy! And watch out for flying golf balls!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 28 Holes, and a Pro shop...Need I Say More?

2-4    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
20 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 28 holes…concrete tees…some elevation - in Houston…water, trees, and distance…Pro Shop?!!! Okay bring it on Spring Valley. First, 28 holes divided into three distinct layouts with an extra hole either at Finesse #6 or the Total #14. In addition, each hole is adequately marked with each layout number and hole distance, and plays on concrete boxes. Although concrete is always a plus in my book, the 10' depth for runups is a little short for the longer holes. There is plenty of seating at each holes to take a load off if needed.

Okay, so the elevation changes are only on the Power/Total #1 as well as Power #9/Total#27, but it's always worth a mention in utterly flat Houston. There are plenty of ponds, creeks, and water ditches to lose your disc in - but conservative play should keep you pretty dry. If you do throw one in - don't plan on getting it back in the murky brown water with signs posted to stay out. Finally the Proshop. The one and only proshop on a disc golf in the greater Houston area - they have everything you need. I feel like I'm in Austin when I come here!!!

Out of 28 holes - the bread and butter of this course is surely the Finesse 18 front nine. These fantastically designed holes work right and left, combine tunnels and tight lines, and run along a creek away from everything else. The front nine is basically what a disc golf course should be, and is reason enough to pay to play. Plus, it's nice to know that you have access to the best holes on the course any time you want without having to compete with ball golfers. If you're playing the Total 27/28, I recommend picking up #6 from the Finesse 18 course to make it a full 28 holes. This was probably my favorite hole on course, so it was be a shame to miss it.

BEST HOLE/S: Finesse #6; #8
Cons: That'll be three dollars and blah blah cents. Okay, this is a minor grip for being the only pay course in the greater Houston area, but it's annoying to have change in my pocket when I'm ready to start playing. Call it nit-picky, but why can't they do like every other pay course I've ever played and round it off to the nearest dollar.

Understand this is only a con if you're playing the Power 9 or Total 27/28 on a weekday, but get ready to compete with ball golfers. Each of the Power 9 holes run along, across, or right down the middle a ball golf fairways. And granted, even though most of these people are nice - many have little to no idea you or your sport exist and usually assume they have the right of way since they have a fancy cart. If you only hit the Finesse 18 - not to worry, there are no golfers in the woods, at least on purpose.

In addition, the Power 9 is simply that - opened up powerful drive after drive holes with little thought or creativity. I'm the type of person who wants to play every hole on a course, so I'll hit the Power 9 on weekdays as part of the Total 27/28, but I just have to keep in mind these are not "wow" holes, simply part of the overall package.

Finally, have that map handy, because the layout becomes more confusing with the more holes you play. The shop didn't have a Total 27/28 map, and of course I forgot to print one - so I was not happy about forgetting the transitions between T13, T14, and T15. Watch the signs!!!

WORST HOLE/S: Power #4; #5
Other Thoughts: It's hard to rate a single course that plays in three distinct setups. The Finesse 18, which can be played at any time, hovers around a 3.5 with its decent signage, creative lines, concrete pads, and wooded atmosphere. The Power 9, which can only be played on weekdays, by itself is a 2.0 at best with the only challenge being its impressive length. However - that is how it's billed, so take it for what it's worth.

The Total 27/28 is also only available on weekdays, but becomes a strong 4.0 course and one of the best courses in the area. If you are serious about becoming stronger, better, and a smarter disc golf player, I recommend taking this choice if available.

I Admit, Spring Valley has never been high on my favorite Houston course list, but I have to respect that this is the only course in Houston that gives me 28 holes varied golf. Think of The LINKS at Quail Valley, Windwood Presbyterian Church, and River Grove DGC having a lovechild - it would be Spring Valley. This place tests your aim, your ability to choose correct lines and discs for the job, as well as your stamina. Bottom line, this course will fundamentally make you a better golfer.

20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 2 STARS??? This course deserves better...

5+    1/7/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: jsc430
Played: 124  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***This is a review for the Finesse 18***

Spring Valley DGC is one of Houston's premier courses situated on the outskirts of a beautiful piece of property which it shares with a 9-hole ball golf course. It is tight and technical with each hole having its (more than) fair share of obstacles making an even score very, very respectable. Hole distances average 300 but range from 200' to 375'. Spring Valley will challenge every player from, the noob to the seasoned pro. There are birdie holes and bogey holes. Water hazards and OB. Lots of trees and tons of (manageable) underbrush. Overall, it's a great disc golf experience but you better devote the better part of 2 hours to play it, not including time spent looking for errant discs.

There are concrete tee boxes on every hole along with benches/chairs on 9 of 18 holes and many trash cans for all your empties. All baskets are in good condition, most having a flag or orange tape to help first timers spot it. Also, there are cardboard signs at each tee, most of which are nailed to a nearby tree marking the distance and identifying the hole. There's almost always a neighboring nail at each tee box that you can hang your bag on.

There is a pro shop that has a HUGE selection from multiple manufactures including discs, baskets, towels, minis, etc.. You can even grab a candy bar/bag of chips/Gatorade and use the bathroom before you head out. They also have maps, scorecards and with distances, and pencils available for free.

This course gets regular TLC as there is a mini held there every Sunday by the Houston Flying Disc Society, with a portion of each entry going towards a course maintenance fund.

Overall, the course offers a lot of different hole layouts. A good score requires consideration and execution on every shot.
Cons: The biggest con for me is the long walk to the first tee box which basically means walking the cart path to the second ball golf tee box. Negotiating between ball golfers (as your as basically walking on their first hole) can be a pain because getting hit with a golf ball is no joke. However, if there aren't any ball golfers then think of it as a "pro" because it basically becomes a driving range that you can warm up on or try out the new disc you just bought.

Also, its about the same walk to back to the pro shop from 18. However, instead of walking it in try playing in 7, 8, and 9 of the Power 9. The tee box for P7 is 40 ft from 18's cage. If you do this expect to add 20-30 min to your round depending on how busy the course is.

Another common gripe with the course is the probability of losing disks. As far as I'm concerned losing discs is just a part of playing DG, esp at a high caliber, challenging course. Buy discs from the pro shop - Support the course!

Although the overall course design was well thought out, on holes, 1,5, and 15 you are potentially in the line of fire of an errant golf shot, so heads up! Also, bring old shoes, as a few holes (7,15) stay muddy from fall to spring and expect soft conditions if it has rained in the last couple of days.

It's a pay play for $3 plus tax (S3.41).
Other Thoughts: There is definitely an "out in the woods feeling" to this course that you don't, find at too many other courses in the area. Its unfortunate that many of Houston's great 18 hole courses are near major highways or interstates, but not here. Its quiet and peaceful as it is usually not very crowded esp. on weekdays. Even though it's a pay to play in my opinion, its well worth it and a minimal fee for a great DG experience. The course has a great website that can be found under the "Links/Files" tab of the course's homepage.

Occasionally water is released from an upstream lake which floods the creek that meanders through the course and/or adds to existing water hazards.

The owner of the property is very DG friendly and the employees are always welcoming and helpful. E.g. Recently, I went to play after they had let water down from upstream. Before I paid, I was offered the chance to take a cart down to the course and check the playing conditions.

There are not too many "wide open" holes on the finesse 18, if long bombs are what you're looking for you should check out the Power 9. Why not? Your green fees pay for access to the entire Total 27 (except on weekends when the Power 9 is closed to disc golfers)

Enjoy yourself, but don't lose focus because bogies lurk on almost every hole.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Beware

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: snotgiggle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Other Thoughts:
**Finesse 18**
This course is well-designed and offers a variety of obstacles, distances and other challenges. HOWEVER, this is NOT a beginner course, as the $3 fee should tell you. This course is a good example of good design but bad implementation.

The official course description sorely misrepresents the number of water traps throughout the entire course (and not just "around the perimeter"), ALL of which are stagnate breeding grounds for mosquitoes. I lost count of the number of trees I hit, partly because I am a beginner but mostly because there are so many that it is impossible not to hit them. Be warned, the course is not well kept and if you rogue a disc into the bushes or even slightly off the fairway, be prepared to crawl through thorny, muddy terrain to get it (wear pants, not shorts and proper shoes).

On the plus side, it was a great adventure and if I hadn't lost two discs to this course on my first time out I might actually go back sometime. If you are a seasoned pro this course will offer you a great challenge and if you're a beginner prepare to be frustrated. However, everyone makes mistakes and on this course that means you had better be willing to lose a disc.

**Power 9**
A much more preferable course for me.

The first hole is pretty intimidating as its the longest drive, weighing in at 956'. After that it gets quite a bit more manageable, averaging about 550' for the remaining 8. This course should easily be a Par 4 course so expect to shoot over par, unless you can drive 400 feet consistently.

Every hole is wide open considering how far each drive is so each drive is a chance to really wing it, but it still has plenty of trees to present a challenge - especially if a rogue disc ends up on the outskirts of the fairway. There is still a chance to loose a disc because of the retention ponds and creeks that take up a large margin of fairway error on holes 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9. (According to the course map 4 and 5 shouldn't have water traps, but this course holds a lot of water so expect extra water and plan accordingly)

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great total package

1    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long shots, short wooded shots, water, 27 holes, practice baskets and even a pro shop with bathrooms and drinks. A great place to play if you want a total disc golf experience. Every kind of shot you can think of. No bad holes, no wasted opportunities to use the land to its fullest.
Cons: WATER. There are creeks and ponds, and ponds under construction. I like a tough course, but there may be too much of a good thing here. Nothing worse than losing discs, and this course could hurt you bad. An errant throw off a tree will could cost you a disc on a number of holes. If you have discs to donate this is your course.

Ball golfers are close by. Be careful. I hear those ball golf guys are BAD people. Beware. Some of the long holes may not be playable due to these foul creatures.
Other Thoughts: A great experience. Play this course if you are in the Houston area.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in H-Yown to Improve Your Game

5+    11/27/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: ChaseTheAce
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First things first, the course has its own Pro Shop with an excellent selection of discs. There are food and drinks available for purchase as well. There is a practice basket outside of the shop to warm up with some putts.

The course starts HUGE with P1, almost 1000' long with elevation, OB on the left, and water hazards on the right. All power holes are over 400', allowing for a lot of bomb drives. The power holes are not just wide open shots, but rather, distance shots that require accuracy if you want a 3.

The finesse holes are a course of their own. EVERY shot requires delicate accuracy for any attempt at a birdie. Finishing under par is very much possible, but it requires you to be at the best of your game, throwing each shot with a purpose. The course requires a plethora of shots and provides plenty of water and OB to make any round there very challenging.

The variety of holes make for equally as good alternate shots or "dirty holes" as designed by some of the locals. These dirty configurations add 9 more holes to the arsenal of 28.

Concrete tee pads and great DGA Mach baskets!

The entire course, power holes especially, are always well maintained. This course is never overgrown or looking shabby.

The order of holes are perect. P1 starts at the pro shop and P9 ends back at the pro shop. It is also very easy to jump from power to finesse and play a mixture of holes.

The course has weekly Sunday minis and seasonal Wednesday minis.
Cons: If you are only playing the 18 finesse holes, the walk from the club house to the first hole is a bit of a hike.

When it rains extremely hard, Spring Creek sometimes floods causing much of the finesse holes to flood.

Snakes, spiders, and mosquitos! Keep in mind, Spring Valley is deep in the woods and on a creek, making it very common to see big snakes and spiders out there. Mosquitos tend to be bad after a good rain.

It's $3.22 to play a round and 50% off on Mondays. It's well worth the cost though.

On weekends, power holes are closed to ball golfers. On weekdays, ball golfers have priority on power holes. With simple communication, it is easy to tee off in between a group of golfers on a hole.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best course in the Houston area to really improve your game. The mix of power in finesse cover a almost every shot in the game.

Bring out your A game when you come to Spring Valley!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    10/4/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: Hostel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Everything. There was not one thing that I did not like about this course. This is by far my favorite course. There is nothing that I can say about the course itself that has not already been said.
Cons: The walk to the first tee and back from the last tee on finess 18 is long but I still did not even care because of how awesome the course was.
Other Thoughts: Incredible course. I cannot say this enough.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Pro Course In Every Sense

5+    9/12/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on and around a well kept secluded 9 hole ball golf course north of Houston in Spring, Texas. This course represents everything great about the disc golf scene on the north side of town. The first thing you will find is a fantastic pro shop decked out with any disc you could want from every major disc producer. A friendly helpful staff mans this fine shop and their love for the game is evident in everything they do. Make sure to pick up a map on your way out as this course has the widest variety of layouts and holes you will find in the Houston area. As you walk out you will find two practice baskets about 100 feet apart where you can practice all sorts of upshots and putts. I believe the baskets are Mach 3's, in great condition and do a decent job of catching discs. Each and every hole has a great concrete teepad and are marked by tee signs with distances and their alternate hole numbers (as mentioned in previous reviews this course has 3 different configurations, so pay close attention to where you are and what config your playing). The first tee you will find is Power 1 which sits atop a hill and is a 943 foot monster down and an actual ball golf fairway. It looks like a pretty simple shot down the hill for a first drive but beware this hole eats discs either by devouring them in the large pond to the left or the other pond to the right, your shot selection and execution better be spot on if you want to score well. This hole is a perfect microcosm for this course. Every hole represents the perfect balance of risk vs. reward and they challenge you to make the right decision or pay the consequences. There are many memorable holes on this course but for me the two that stand out the most are Finesse holes 4 and 18. I heard one Open player tell me hole 4 is the signature hole for this course and I could not agree more. It is over a well landscaped beautiful peace of land right next to Spring Creek. It requires a perfect sidearm or annyhyzer drive for birdie and is one of my all time favorite holes. 18 on the other hand is a great equalizer hole and getting a 3 is a triumph and something I have only done once, it is one of the most challenging holes Ive ever played. I can not overstate how well this course is kept and has only gotten better as time has gone by. This is a pro level course and the difficulty will test you in ways you wouldn't expect. If your dominating Bear Branch get out to Spring Valley it will humble you quickly.
Cons: There isn't a whole lot of bad I can mention when it comes to this course. Keep in mind before going that this is a pay to play course, but as they say you get what you pay for and this course is definitely worth every penny. I think the one thing I dislike the most about this course is the walk out to the course and the walk back from it. The distance you walk on this course is LONG and expect a good walk out to Finesse 1 and long walk back from Finesse 18. The course is along a creek and in is some dense woods. It has quite a few water hazards including ponds and sink holes and the rough can be very dense. Be prepared to do some digging or fishing for discs if you go off the beaten path.
Other Thoughts: I had been holding off reviewing this course for a while. The first time I played it, it ate my lunch and I think if I had reviewed it then I would have given it a much lower score. But as I have played it more, I have grown to appreciate it for being a challenging, well thought out, brilliant course. This place has so much variety and that's not even including the "dirty holes" that locals have come up with.When you head out there for the first time see if you cant get a local (or me) to show you these brutal alternates. Regardless of how you choose to attack this course you will be pleased with what you find. An exceptional pro level disc golf course and one of the best I've ever played.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing...

5+    6/30/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: davidlbeadle
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is challenging, but it is challenging AND fun. The power holes are simply clever, and the finesse holes are genius. Every shot counts, because this course will eat anyone alive. Some shots look impossible at first. The pro shop is awesome, with just about every disc you need.
Cons: On the power holes, you have to keep an eye out for golf balls, because both share the green. getting from one finesse hole to another can be a little confusing at first. I would have to scrape the bottom of the barrel to think of any more cons.
Other Thoughts: Only a couple of holes into this course, and anyone can see that major planning went into the design. If anyone is wanting to prepare for a major tournament, this is the course to do so. There is a good amount of holes for every shot. The green fee is more than worth it. Favorite course!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.