Spring, TX 
Spring Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
-- / --   3 / 308ft.   3 / 488ft.   4 / 678ft. Par / Distance:
Hole P3 / T16



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bring your A game

1    4/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: shamgar07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was only able to play the finesse 18 but that was all I could chew. The holes are great and give a challenge. The course goes throughout the woods and the layout is great. Makes you think about what disc you want to use.
Cons: Just watch the water and some of the holes aren't marked very well.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course, yeah you have to pay 3 bucks but it is worth it. If you want a change of pace and want to wonder round the woods for a while this is a great course for that.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    6/6/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Sambo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: With the power 9 and the finesse course there is something for all disc golfers here. A lot of shade and some great hole setups. Well maintained course with a GREAT pro shop.
Cons: Wear some bug spray. There are a few places where you have to back track on the finesse course, I am thinking of 13,14,15 area.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $3. The proshop alone is worth checking this course out. Very friendly staff as well.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Spring on over to Spring Valley

5+    4/20/2006   5/21/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained course. 28 holes played in different orders. Great, rubber tee boxes. Pro shop has a good selections and gives good advice.
Cons: Ball golfers! Confusing layout at times. I heard they did away with the golf carts and the beer! It's been awhile since I played it. That sucks! Poison Ivy, coral snakes, mosquito, can't get your disc out of the drink!
Other Thoughts: I used to love this course, I hope it hasn't changed too much.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, needs work.

1    3/11/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: texas80
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a variety of holes on this course that can be challenging for any player. I prefer wooded courses over flat fields so this one's finesse course that is heavily wooded is pretty cool. There is an unusual collection of chairs/seats at almost every hole. The Pro Shop is fantastic! The course is mowed, trash cans and maintained. All in all a good course to play. The $3 is worth it.
Cons: The power course is the original course they offered, to me it's not so much fun as you play alongside ball golfers and the distance is a little ridiculous. The path from #6 to #7 on the finesse course is confusing, we got lost for a good 5 minutes following path after path. There were a lot of stagnant pools of water all around brimming with mosquito larvae. I noticed a ton of poison ivy on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: I miss the golf carts and the beer on tap that used to be there years ago. The course could use a little more direction on some of the paths.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  A Must Challenge

1    1/29/2009   1/30/2009
Review By: MichaelSamson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of challenging tee off points. The amount of trees around the course made up for the short distances for many holes. Very quiet during the weekdays, and a very friendly and helpful staff. The man I talked to said its packed on the weekends. So I would suggest going early or on the weekdays.
Cons: It is necessary to understand where you are going. The landing pads are phonomenal and the tee boxes are all labled. However, a compass (or taking your time to study the landscape before you go) could seriously help.
Other Thoughts: Once you get through the course once, you'll certainly want to come back and spend a cheap three bucks on a clean quiet course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    1/2/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first 18 are very challenging and require some skill. There are several holes that the risk vs. reward factor is high.

The pro shop is the best shop I have ever been in. It had a huge amount of discs and the guy working the front was very helpful.
Cons: I honestly didnt feel that the course was good enough to be charging the 3 dollar admissions fee. Especially since there are great courses 10 minutes away for free.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Valley

5+    8/30/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
To date I have only played the "Finesse 18" layout so my comments are mainly targeted at that portion of the course.

The concrete tee pads are very nice. The on-site pro shop is fantastic; offering a huge selection of discs, as well as restrooms and refreshments. There are a couple nets set up by the practice area to be used like batting cages to warm-up your drives. Distances posted on tee signs are pretty accurate.

The Finesse 18 layout is heavily wooded and most of the holes are fair. They require precise, well controlled drives, but do not offer a lot of approaches to the basket. Big arms will be easily frustrated by the lack of opportunities to air-it-out on the Finesse 18. Most of the tee shots are straight drives with a few hyzers and anhyzers mixed in. This layout is all about not hitting any trees.

The Finesse 18 layout is almost completely shaded so in the hot Houston summer it's a welcome break from the sun.
Cons:
The "Power 9" holes are closed on the weekend due to priority given to ball golfers. It's a long walk from the clubhouse to the first F1 tee. It's a long walk from the last F18 basket back to the clubhouse. Golfers are not allowed to retrieve lost discs from ponds. The claim is that employees periodically search the ponds and return discs to the lost & found bin. Bring bug spray after it has rained. Grab a map from the pro shop. The transition from F13 to F14 isn't obvious.
Other Thoughts:
Spring Valley is a confusing course with regard to layouts. There are 28 total baskets on the course. They're typically played in one of three layouts, none of which use all 28 baskets. Holes are labeled with an "F", "P" and/or "T" in addition to the number to indicate which hole it is on a particular layout.

The longest layout is the "Total 27". This layout uses all nine of the "Power 9" holes, a connector hole: "T14", and 17 of the 18 "Finesse 18" holes. (Skips F6.)

Due to the "Power 9" being closed on the weekend, the most common layout is probably the "Finesse 18" which uses baskets F1-18, skipping T14 and P1-9.

The "Power 9" layout uses baskets P1-9, skipping T14 and F1-18.

While Spring Valley is a ball golf course as well, don't expect a Country Club atmosphere. It does offer more amenities than a typical park it, but a golf resort it is not.

Other reviews have mentioned lots of water hazards on the Finesse 18 layout. I've played this course only in the summer and the water is pretty minimal. There's a creek to cross on F1, creek to the left of F6 and right of F18, and a couple puddles back in the F14-F16 area. Other than F1 there wasn't much significant water.

On the Power 9 layout the ball golf greens play as OB; please stay off of them.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My 2nd Home

5+    8/23/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: Stevo
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of tight and long open bombs. Every shot in the bag needed to post a good score. Challenging, but can also be very rewarding for all skill levels. Well stocked pro shop, friendly locals, well maintained, trash cans, benches, I could go on and on...
Cons: Prone to flooding with heavy rain, but considering the area, completely understandable. One specific pond seems to enjoy my discs...Could use another trash can or two between #s 8 and18. Can be confusing the first few times out - take a map with you
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough good things about this place. Its close to home and is well worth the $3 for all day. The course improves constantly (maintenance-wise)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, Long, Well-rounded Course

6/15/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: White Lobster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging and lengthy. This course provides holes to challenge strength and finesse. It also has enough length to give a descent workout. The Power 9 are beautiful and well-maintained and great water hazards, including a large creek, throughout the course add to the scenery.
Cons: The course is not forgiving to bad shots especially hole 1 on the finesse course (this is where I lost a frisbee). The pro actually told me to watch out for this hole, now i know why. Some of the course lacks greenery and could potentially become a mud trap so be careful if there has been heavy rain previous to your trip. Also be careful of snakes, I saw a cotton mouth on my trip. Since there are so many holes on this course navigating them can be tricky, so follow your course map carefully. I played some holes out of order the first time i was here but this last time i found the map easier to follow.
Other Thoughts: One of the best features of this course is the pro-shop. It has one of the best disc selections in the Houston area and the pro can provide some beneficial input to you disc golf questions. Also they have refreshments to beat the HOT Houston weather.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Tall Pines, Loads of fun

5/11/2008   5/12/2008
Review By: martin_t_18372
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tall pines, lots of holes around 300 on the Finesse course. Good variety of lefty and righty holes. A few blind shots and generous concrete tee pads. Definitely good use of water. Pro shop full of discs, drinks and a few snacks. $3.00 to play all 27. Had a blast and will be back when in the area again.
Cons: The tee pads could be cleaner. Found a lot of mud on the pads. Signs after the hole that shows direction to next hole would be nice. A couple holes had small putting areas. The 9 on the ball golf course is only available on the weekdays. Pretty muddy and lots of snakes and creepy crawlers. watch where you walk and when you are reaching down.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.