Vancouver, WA 
Glenwood Community Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I'll be back

2-4    5/23/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Conditions: The weather was good and there were only a handful of people on the course when we played.

I love how this course plays. There is a little bit of everything for a beginner like myself. There are holes where I can air out a few shots and holes where I get to practice the art of throwing from behind a tree or under a tree, etc. You can really practice techniques here

The chance of losing a disc is minimal.

There is no map and the tee boxes are not marked but that was ok for me. You don't really need them here. It took me about 5 minutes to scope out the course and get an idea of the layout. The baskets are marked which really helped. There is something nice about golfing a course that is not cluttered with maps and tee box signs, etc.

The tee boxes are concrete and face the baskets so there is no concern what direction you go in.

#1 and #9 are next to each other and right next to the parking lot.

The course is condensed into a small area but the holes don't conflict with each other. 5 of us were able to play a couple of times in a few hours
Cons: No map. I know I mentioned that it wasn't needed but it would be nice if there was something marking the first hole at the very least. I unknowingly walked in front of a few people trying to find it.

The only other con for me is that this course is too far from my house.
Other Thoughts: I think you could discretely post tee box markers on the trees. That or arrows pointing to the next tee box, etc. Honestly, this course doesn't need them but people seem to focus in on stuff like this.

Getting from #2 to #3 took several seconds to figure out but no worries.

There is something about playing on church property that made this different for me. I felt guilty when my tongue slipped and the typical trash talking didn't seem proper. I enjoyed this and we had a few good laughs about it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cool course, good for beginners

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Deadshot Jack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Good variety of holes
Good tee pads
Port o pottys
Lots of parking
Very low chance of losing a disc
Cons: A lot of the holes are short (not a con to some)
Can be windy
Other Thoughts: Don't have a lot negative to say about this course. Very well kept, with great variety between the holes, with some open, some really tight through the trees, some a bit uphill, some down, and a few nice ace runs! All in all, a very fun little 9 hole course! Great for beginners too, because the overall length and the openness of the course lessen the chance of losing a disc a great deal.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Reasonable Small 9 Hole Course

1    3/16/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Teepads
Some fun holes, and some variety in length
Ample parking
Port-a-potties
Well designed for the small space
Nice of the Church to install and keep open to the public
Cons:
Most holes are really short
Compressed space


Other Thoughts:
If I lived in the neighborhood I'd throw here sometimes. It's fairly well designed considering how small of an area it is, and the designer squeezed a lot out of the small area. There are plenty of ace runs, and a couple chances to air it out a little. It's really nice of the Church to keep it open to the public.

2.0 means "reasonable" and this course is very reasonable, especially given the small area it is allotted on the grounds. Fun, basic, reasonable. I know it has a lot of fans, but it's a 2.0 to me. Your mileage may vary.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Nine Hole Course in Vancouver, WA

2-4    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This well maintained nine hole course in Vancouver, WA is a lot of fun for a quick round. A great place to practice technique with a couple of wide open holes and a few winding through some Douglas firs.

The moderate elevation changes, along with the trees, add a little spice to another wise straight forward course. Working through those trees you can work on learning your lines with alternative shots (e.g. thumbers, tomahawks, and sidearms). You could experiment each round utilizing different throws for more challenge.

The freedom to experiment, with almost no fear of losing a disc, adds a lot to this little gem of a course.
Cons: Incredibly straight forward course. Last couple of holes lack excitement.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained course that is a blast for beginners and offers freedom for advanced players to experiment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 glenwood church review

5+    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Corey D
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: well kept landscaping , nice baskets , fun little course , mostly really short holes , some trees in play
Cons: church events sometimes , can get crowded on sunny days
Other Thoughts: port-a-potty onsite is a plus
please dont litter

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Sunday Throw

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tazzmann
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy parking, nicely kept fairways, a couple of smaller, challenging holes make this a great course for beginners, like me, or to help improve form and technique. Baskets and teepads are well maintained.
Cons: Parking lot a little too close for the 9th hole. I wouldn't park right next to the fairway unless you like dents in your car. Beer bottles and other trash on the course with some fellow DG'ers using profane language. This IS a church folks. Show some respect! The OB on hole #4 could be an issue. It is to the right of the hole and is separated by a barbed wire fence that looks like has been broken down in one place by folks going over to look for their errant discs. The holes are not marked well, including #1 and it took us a while (and my kids running all over looking at the baskets) to figure out what hole is what. It would be nice to have some small signs made up to point you in the correct direction for the next hole. Other than that, we played 45 holes here over the course of this weekend. Great for kids and beginners.
Other Thoughts: The course is closed during church functions, which is cool since it IS their course. Some people have said there were scorecards and maps, but we didn't see any when we were there. On hole one there were a couple of flyer boxes, but they had ads for church functions and no maps or scorecards.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not Great

5+    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes from the very technical front 5, to the long and open back 4. Great variety of elevation change and doglegs.

Meticulously maintained by volunteers. Concrete teepads are of uniform length and width and all flat.

Great baskets that are repainted every year. Once again by volunteers.

Great flowing course with minimal walking to the next hole, and the next teepad is always easy to locate from the last hole.

99.99% Impossible to lose a disc here.
Cons: Closed Sundays due to church services.

Very easy to outgrow. The regular group I play with all has around 1 year experience and we no longer feel challenged by this course, regurlarly shoot 3-4 sometimes 5 under par.

8 and 9 are fairly boring and unimaginitive 250' straight shots, I've literally seen about 10 aces on these last two holes.

Very popular amongst the casual, and can become fairly crowded on nice days. Especially by large groups (5-6+)

Litter is starting to become a problem, lots of empty beer cans and bottles, which is inexcusable it's a f*cking church leave the beer at home Frat Boys.
Other Thoughts: This a good but not great course. I still manage to play here 3-5 times a week, 3-4 rounds a visit. The variety is what brings me back.

There isn't a better place in the area to learn the fundamentals of the game, practice new shots, tweak your form etc.

An easy to learn yet difficult to master course, if you play DG in Southwest Washington and haven't played here you truly are missing out.

Perfect your game here, but if you want a challenge try Pier or Leverich.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Glenwood Community DGC

1    5/2/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Glenwood Community Church DGC is a beautiful nine hole course located in Vancouver, WA, and is the second course in Clark County (WSU-Vancouver being the first). This course has nicely mowed fairways and a good mix of short and long holes. Elevation comes in to play on the majority of the holes, although nothing is too major. Course maintenance is excellent, with trees and bushes trimmed back, grass well manicured, and no underbrush. There is a Port o' Potty located near hole one, a few garbage cans for litter, and two metal wire baskets near the tee which hold spare discs for church goers and new comers alike. There is ample parking, and only 100 feet from the start.

The course design has the first five holes playing through the woods, with the remaining four more wide open. The majority of holes range between 240-447 feet, with the exception of hole #5 which is only 174 feet (all are Par 3). Every tee pad is the appropriate size, cement, and in good shape, much like the DISCatcher baskets. Navigation around the course is quite easy for first timers, although look for tee pad #2 to the left of pin #1 as tee #4 is to the right. This course is rarely crowded, which makes this place perfect for practice. However, if competition is what you seek, then you are better off heading 5 miles south toward Leverich Park.
Cons:
As some of the other reviewers have stated, the course lacks tee signs after hole #1 (although there are #'s on each pin), and some of the holes feel somewhat redundant. Also, holes # 8 and 9 seem fairly basic compared to the rest of the course, and lack much imagination. However, as a whole, I truly enjoyed my time here and found this to be one of the better nine hole courses I have played yet! Last, the OB to the right of hole #4 can be somewhat an issue, as the grass is quite thick and there is a barbwire fence separating the churches property from their neighbor next door.
Other Thoughts:
The designers of Glenwood Community Church DGC really did a fantastic job utilizing the land and elevation they had present. Even though this course was intended for novice players, it can be challenging for advanced players as well. The locals seem quite friendly, and have done a terrific job maintaining the course. Vancouver has a lot to offer in terms of disc golf, and is close to Portland too!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/15/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: RollingThunder
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained, concrete pads on every tee. A couple of long holes. Easy to ace on 8, and 9. Nice flow to each tee pad.
Cons: Lack of respect from other players. Swearing, and drinking on church grounds is lame. Becoming more popular.
Other Thoughts: Show respect! This is private property....upsetting to see people leaving beer cans, and bottles laying around. Don't ruin it for the rest of us.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood Community Church is a great little nine hole practice course on the side grounds of the Church, right next the giant parking lot. We were there during Sunday service and were able to play the course which is really cool. There are a lot of neat little technical holes in the trees and one or two longer holes. They did a really nice job with the layout, flow and navigation, there is even good baskets and concrete tee pads.
Cons: Sundays the parking lot gets jammed full of cars and it might be really hard to find a space anywhere near the course. There isn't a ton of challenge but the course is still fun to play, I would come here long before the WSU course a couple miles away.
Other Thoughts: There were these hanging basket things on a post near hole one that I thought was for plants but I was told it was for people who want to borrow discs to play, most likely Church members, this is a great idea. The baskets were empty, hopefully someone will donate some more discs there; I would have if I had known what it was for when I was there.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.