Vancouver, WA 
Glenwood Community Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I'll be back

2-4    5/23/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Conditions: The weather was good and there were only a handful of people on the course when we played.

I love how this course plays. There is a little bit of everything for a beginner like myself. There are holes where I can air out a few shots and holes where I get to practice the art of throwing from behind a tree or under a tree, etc. You can really practice techniques here

The chance of losing a disc is minimal.

There is no map and the tee boxes are not marked but that was ok for me. You don't really need them here. It took me about 5 minutes to scope out the course and get an idea of the layout. The baskets are marked which really helped. There is something nice about golfing a course that is not cluttered with maps and tee box signs, etc.

The tee boxes are concrete and face the baskets so there is no concern what direction you go in.

#1 and #9 are next to each other and right next to the parking lot.

The course is condensed into a small area but the holes don't conflict with each other. 5 of us were able to play a couple of times in a few hours
Cons: No map. I know I mentioned that it wasn't needed but it would be nice if there was something marking the first hole at the very least. I unknowingly walked in front of a few people trying to find it.

The only other con for me is that this course is too far from my house.
Other Thoughts: I think you could discretely post tee box markers on the trees. That or arrows pointing to the next tee box, etc. Honestly, this course doesn't need them but people seem to focus in on stuff like this.

Getting from #2 to #3 took several seconds to figure out but no worries.

There is something about playing on church property that made this different for me. I felt guilty when my tongue slipped and the typical trash talking didn't seem proper. I enjoyed this and we had a few good laughs about it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cool course, good for beginners

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Deadshot Jack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Good variety of holes
Good tee pads
Port o pottys
Lots of parking
Very low chance of losing a disc
Cons: A lot of the holes are short (not a con to some)
Can be windy
Other Thoughts: Don't have a lot negative to say about this course. Very well kept, with great variety between the holes, with some open, some really tight through the trees, some a bit uphill, some down, and a few nice ace runs! All in all, a very fun little 9 hole course! Great for beginners too, because the overall length and the openness of the course lessen the chance of losing a disc a great deal.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Nine Hole Course in Vancouver, WA

2-4    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This well maintained nine hole course in Vancouver, WA is a lot of fun for a quick round. A great place to practice technique with a couple of wide open holes and a few winding through some Douglas firs.

The moderate elevation changes, along with the trees, add a little spice to another wise straight forward course. Working through those trees you can work on learning your lines with alternative shots (e.g. thumbers, tomahawks, and sidearms). You could experiment each round utilizing different throws for more challenge.

The freedom to experiment, with almost no fear of losing a disc, adds a lot to this little gem of a course.
Cons: Incredibly straight forward course. Last couple of holes lack excitement.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained course that is a blast for beginners and offers freedom for advanced players to experiment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not Great

5+    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes from the very technical front 5, to the long and open back 4. Great variety of elevation change and doglegs.

Meticulously maintained by volunteers. Concrete teepads are of uniform length and width and all flat.

Great baskets that are repainted every year. Once again by volunteers.

Great flowing course with minimal walking to the next hole, and the next teepad is always easy to locate from the last hole.

99.99% Impossible to lose a disc here.
Cons: Closed Sundays due to church services.

Very easy to outgrow. The regular group I play with all has around 1 year experience and we no longer feel challenged by this course, regurlarly shoot 3-4 sometimes 5 under par.

8 and 9 are fairly boring and unimaginitive 250' straight shots, I've literally seen about 10 aces on these last two holes.

Very popular amongst the casual, and can become fairly crowded on nice days. Especially by large groups (5-6+)

Litter is starting to become a problem, lots of empty beer cans and bottles, which is inexcusable it's a f*cking church leave the beer at home Frat Boys.
Other Thoughts: This a good but not great course. I still manage to play here 3-5 times a week, 3-4 rounds a visit. The variety is what brings me back.

There isn't a better place in the area to learn the fundamentals of the game, practice new shots, tweak your form etc.

An easy to learn yet difficult to master course, if you play DG in Southwest Washington and haven't played here you truly are missing out.

Perfect your game here, but if you want a challenge try Pier or Leverich.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    11/20/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tees and baskets. Good collection of open and tight holes. Good use of the little elavation they have there. There is a set of porta potties by hole one.
Cons: No tee signs or signs to next tee pad. The porta potties are off the farway on hole #1 so watch out you may hit them.
Other Thoughts: This small church course is by far on the of the better 9 holers that i have played around the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Lovely Little Throw!

5/23/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set up in a little wooded area next to the Glenwood church. It's just a very well designed little course. I thought the first seven holes were all challenging and enjoyable. Holes you want to go back and throw again. Nice teepads, ample parking. Golfers seem welcome there. I can see why the Vancouver community is so excited about having this little course.
Cons: After enjoying the first seven so much, I felt #'s 8 & 9 were a little boring, just straight 225' with no obstacles. I think at certain times, the church closes all or part of the course for church functions. You might want to call ahead before coming from too far.
Other Thoughts: It's a great little course for a practice round, to bring a newbie or your family. I'm sure the church community uses it for summer camps or retreat or youth groups.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

3/8/2008   3/8/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 158  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good teepads
-Fun course design
-Nice mix of short and medium with a couple long.
-Good baskets
-Discs available at hole 1 for ppl to borrow.
-Great place for beginners to get their feet wet.
-Events to participate in.
-Friendly atmosphere.
-Easy to navigate.
Cons: -Can't really think on any.
Other Thoughts: For the size available, this is a pretty well designed 9 hole course. It's fun for newer players and advanced players alike. There are plenty of opportunities to play safari golf here to make it more challengin, and everything is maintained very well.

Also, it's great to have a course like this for the Vancouver residents to practice on. Saves a ton of time not to have to cross the river for a practice round.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.