Disc Golf Store
Mobile, AL 
Springhill Hobbit DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Play it while it lasts

2-4    4/5/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome variety of holes
Convenient location
Usually not crowded
Scenic year-round
Elevation!
Cons: No facilities/water fountains
Watch for broken glass on the hillside
Not a beginner course (I say that because there's more than a few holes that play very close to the water, and there are many places to lose a disc without even trying)
No signage, no map - the only thing that would qualify are the tee stones - stones taken from the creek. Unless you're willing to spend several hours learning the course by means of wandering, consider asking to tag along with someone who's played it before.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing I can really add that hasn't been said already so I'll try to just keep this to impressions and throw in some tips -

awesome course - there's great variety of holes here - the front 9 has a bunch of gripper 'n' rippers and - the real treat - ELEVATION. Holes 7 - 10 crisscross the big field, then the rest of the back 9 is more like other Mobile courses with shorter, tighter holes among the trees.

Holes 10 & 17 are blind shots - good fun and nerve-wracking

Holes 11 & 16 use the same basket

Tee 18 is nowhere to be found, I usually just pick a spot near 17 and throw from there.

Also, it was very strange but this time out some genius had decided to place some, well, let's say scat on the tee stones of 7 & 11. Bigfoot?

No bag holders (if that's your thing), only two benches, at tees 3 and 4, and just a couple garbage bags/can on the front 9, none on the back.


The course is almost unplayable now - already too overgrown - the last time I was out it was beautiful with new growth and flowers, lots of color (lots of brambles) - but give it one more week and it'll probably be done until pretty much winter. Not sure how often it gets cut during the summer but I don't think it's more than 1 or 2 times, if that. The creek is a near constant threat, but hey, no hazards at all can get boring. The biggest drawback is its seasonal status - though I could see how that and the total lack of signage could be done by design - if you made it too nice it'd get too crowded - indeed, I didn't see a single other person playing yesterday (granted it was threatening to rain all day) I give it 3.5 simply because of its seasonal status (its biggest drawback), and its lack of facilities/amenities). That being said, its precisely that bare-bones nature that adds a lot of charm to the place - it doesn't need all the extras, and if the course had them it'd probably be worse for it anyway.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A little elevation on the coast

2-4    12/30/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mobile is a land-o-plenty in terms of disc golf but there is one thing that is sorely lacking among the multitude of courses available and that's elevation. With The Hobbit at least on the front 9, you get some serious elevation change. This is also the only course in town that requires distance on the vast majority of holes in order to score well. It's definitely not a pitch and putt so bring your drivers and be prepared to throw a few legitimate approach shots. The other nice thing about this course is the variety of shots. While it is a long course, relatively open it does still require accuracy off the tee. The design uses the existing foliage and water hazard very nicely forcing you to have more than just a long arm in order to score low. One other nice thing depending on how you like to golf is the fact that because of its difficulty it is not a highly trafficked course. You can easily go out to this course and be the only player for your entire round which makes for a kind of serene experience.
Cons: The number 1 problem with the course is the fact that it is virtually unplayable during the late spring, summer and early fall. Despite being open, the grass is not frequently cut and so very heavy overgrowth makes trying to find your disc even in the wide open very difficult. The course is also very difficult to navigate for first time players. I would highly recommend playing with someone who knows the course for your first trip as the tees are simply rocks on the ground with red painted numbers and not all the transitions are intuitive. The last con I'll address are the tee pads themselves. They are all natural pads which for shorter courses is not necessarily and issue but here, when you're often throwing holes over 500ft the need for more stable/grippy pads is a must.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice complement to the others in the area providing the only true opportunity to unleash from the tee on nearly every hole. One unique aspect of the course is the vastly different feel of the front and back 9s. The front is more of the bomber aspect of the course and also holds the bulk of the elevation change. The back is more traditional Mobile flat and requires a little more precision off the tee. Overall this is a very good course which with a few tweaks here and there course truly be an amazing championship caliber course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mobile's Hidden Gem

2-4    9/20/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: BamaBlake
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great changes in elevation, Well layed out and designed course. Good change in distance and shot variety.
Cons: Very hard to find tee pads if not familiar with the course. No actual tee pads, it is just two rocks with the hole number painted on them. Hole 18 is very hard to find. Discs can be easily lost either in water or extremely thick brush. Stays overgrown during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Just played the course today (9-20-11). It has been freshly mowed, and was very pleasant to play. I am a local, and am familiar with the course, but anyone who is not familar will have a tough time finding the first few tee pads.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Summer Course!!!

2-4    8/2/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: AvengerTruth
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation!!! The holes on top of the hills can really make you feel like a man if you let loose on them. Also mostly open so you can feel free to crank on some drives without fear of losing your disc to the woods(for the most part). There is a pretty large water hazard, which I visited my first trip here (RIP Avenger SS, names on it if washes up, call me!!). It has a pretty good cushion between it and the course though to prevent losing discs unless you really mess up (this guy)
Cons: THE GRASS!!!!! It was the only place to find shade, it was THAT high. The only reason I would suggest going to this place in the summer is to find potential lost discs in the forest that is the "field". The tee box for #2 was extremely dangerous and horribly overgrown. Not to mention almost impossible to find, as is the rest of the course due to lack of signage.
Other Thoughts: This course is not far from me loving it. Just needs a good grass cutting more than once a year. Would like to see some kind of signage put up for newcomers to this course and some better tee boxes. This place just needs somebody who cares about it. Until then I will stick to my home course in Fairhope and keep my Mobile trips to USA, Bogue, Chickasaw and Cottage Hill

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/25/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: RollDat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout with fun holes, very challenging. The hidden gem of Mobile, AL.
Cons: hard to navigate, need better teeboxes.
Other Thoughts: The course was cleaned up recently and there is hardly any brush anymore, writing is now on the stones that mark the teeboxes.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Much different from other Courses in Mobile. Includes elevation, which i've yet to see in Mobile

2) Provides an open area to play in

3)While the course does run along the creek, there is a nice buffer between it and the course

4)Probably the only water Hazard in Mobile you can see your disc in the water

5) A New experience for those who Mostly Play in Mobile.

6) Not a very crowded course, unlike many of the courses in the area. This is the course i've started playing on the weekend when the other courses ( Cottage Hill, Municipal, and USA Campus) are over-crowded.
Cons: 1) Overgrowth- lots of it when you're not in tournament season

2) Hard to Navigate-holes 1-6 are relatively easy to find. (once you find hole 1's tee) holes 7-10 go up and down (7 and 9 go up, 8 and 10 come down the hill) Hole 11 runs along the river. Holes 12-16 make a loop on the far end of the park (after completing hole 11, keep going straight, hole 12's tee will be on your right near some trees. Hole 17's tee box is right back by hole 11's basket. Hole 18- Well I've still yet to find the tee in 3 rounds at Hobbit

3) Very Little parking

4) Some tee boxes missing (1,8,and 18 I believe)

5) Often dogs being walked in this park. Watch your discs!
Other Thoughts: Great course, but needs better tees (tee boxes, signs, distance markers, ect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Freakin' brutal

5+    9/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite simply, the Hobbit will kill you if you're not ready for it. It is so different from any other course in Mobile that even the locals have trouble mastering it. First of all, a lot of the hoels have elevation in play, which is good since most of our courses here do not have elevation. For example, the first tee has you throwing off a 80-100 foot bluff for about 400 or so feet to the left on a floodplain. Right out of the gates, this course will test your arm strength, so much so I'd say beginners should avoid it until they can throw at least 350 consistently. One of the great things about it is that it's desolate. There is rarely anybody out there, partly because it is such a difficult course that is really tucked out of the way. There are ltos of technical distance shots with grave consequences, namely an ugly riprapped creek with plenty of shule that runs along the entire length fo the course. You'll have to throw hyzers and anis, uphill and downhill, accurate and wide-open. Designed by a pro, the course really has that pro feel to it that can be intimidating to some ams and definitely novices. The elevation holes are beautifully drawn up, I get a lot of pleasure from launching a Destroyer from on high and watching is glide half a mile.
Cons: It is a huge park with only one or two guys who keep it up, so in the summer, it is usually unplayable. There is go-awful shule almost everywhere you look, and the chances of losing a disc are very high. I almost lost a Champion Boss the last time I played there, but luckily the spot of the creek it went into had a sandy bottom and I was able to wade in after my disc. Lots of wildlife there because it's secluded, you can see turtles and lots of fish in the creek just cruising along as you play. Nice waterfall in the creek as well that makes for a peaceful break area. I've never had anybody hassle me there before, but the area on the opposite side of the creek can be sketchy. Grass gets too high at times and the tees are impossible to find if you don't have a map or a guide. Kind of difficult to get to if you don't know your way, may want to get a Google map before setting out.
Other Thoughts: The Hobbit has so much potential, but because we have so many courses locally, the few dedicated guys who keep them up are stretched pretty thin. If you can catch the Hobbit in winter or early spring, it will definitely make a man out of you. It is not beginner friendly, really not am friendly to be honest, but it's playable and challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

2-4    11/14/2008   7/1/2009
Review By: jknapp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challanging course that makes you throw tough shots. There is quite a bit of elevation which is rare to find as far south as mobile. The water and the brush makes for potential disc losing hazards which forces you to play smart golf.
Cons: This course is a little tricky to navigate due to lack of signs and grass tee pads. Try to go with someone who has played or get a solid map.
Other Thoughts: This is not a good course for beginners or ones who have big arms with little control. This courses appearance is not great but it plays incredible, a true diamond in the rough.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 bring throw away discs

2-4    4/18/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: polingtravis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some holes with tons of elevation.
Cons: Tons of brush. Several baskets placed within 15 feet of water. Lots of walking. Can be extremely overgrown. Major disc hazards.
Other Thoughts: I have lost six discs on the course and i have only played four times. My buddy has lost four in two games. Its not just the water, i have lost two discs in the thick brush. I mean i saw where they went roughly and still couldn't find them. So thick you cant even walk through it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/21/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for experienced players. Blue level pros can expect to shoot around par, but it is a tough course, so you will have to earn your score. The design is very good, with a lot of variety and interesting shots. The course makes good use of the rough and the little elevation change, that will make you think twice about some of the throws you are about to make.
Cons: The tee pads are natural and there are no tee signs. There are 2 big stones that mark each tee pad, but they are not marked. You will either need a guide or a good map in order to play this course for the first time. Based on what I've heard, the rough can get very rough if you play this course during the spring/summer months, so keep that in mind if you plan to play this course. Even when clean, this course is not beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: This is a tricky course to review for me because I have only played it during, or right before tournaments, when it is in it's best condition. The course is pretty awesome once you know your way around and it is in good condition. However, I have heard some of the horror stories of how bad this course can look in the summer when it is not being taken care of by anybody. There are a few select pros who take care of the course when they can, but with so many courses in this great disc golf city, there is only so much that they are able to do. Basically, it is a great course design in a bad situation. I will glady up the rating of this course once it has tee signs and good tee pads and the course is taken care of more consistently. It is a fun and challenging course to play, but I would only recommend it for experienced players and even then, I hope you catch the course when it is in good condition.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.