Course Extinct
Santa Fe, NM 
St. John's DGC Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Looking For This Ancient Course!

1    4/1/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One needs to be a PHD in Archaeology in order to unlock the secrets of this course. it all starts with finding the course on this small college campus. The DGCR information sheet Local Directions state that the course is near the gym NW of the campus. There are no signs indicating where the gym is and the gym building doesn't look like a gym. It looks like....maybe a cafeteria or something. Next it states that the 1st tee is at the far end of the soccer field near track. There is no track. Just a large area with construction equipment, trucks and dirt. With much perserversance I was able to locate the missing first tee and basket. The tee sign was a color course photo which indicated that this particular hole was 90 YARDS (apparently these ancient ones measured disc golf course holes in yards). This sign was also lying on the ground. It had once been secured with a tiny 1/4" screw. Apparently these ancient peoples either hadn't discovered the process of manufactoring longer/stronger screws or perhaps metal was at a premium then. However, I now played and birded # 1. I briefly considered taking the color course photo sign as a guide. I would soon regret this decision. Having read that # 2 hole was lost to construction, I began the long trek around the construction zone looking for # 3. Alas, # 3 I never was to find. I did find a # 4 basket in the midst of some incredibly thick scrub forest. Through carbon dating and sheer luck I located the # 5 tee area complete with another fallen course map. It's a pleasent little 270' (90 yards in those ancient terms) downhill throw to a basket in the valley forest below. I did borrow this map for the rest of my expedition. # 6 was a blind throw into the thickest desert scrub I've ever encountered. I easily passed on it. I'm fiarly certain that # 7 has been lost forever to the construction going on. It might takes years of evacuation to uncover that tee area and the basket. I was unable to locate # 8 but I did stumble upon the # 9 basket. It looks like Whitney Houston's face after a Saturday night with a pissed off drunken/stoned Bobby Brown. Frankly, I don't see anything bringing it back to life.
Cons: Construction has taken away a large part of the course. Neglect has taken away another large portion. The lower desert area is some of the most inhospitable disc golf terrain I've ever encountered. The signage is mostly missing. Some baskets are missing or have been Whitney Houstoned.
Other Thoughts: The course is not beyond saving but if someone doesn't step in soon and put in a serious amount of work, this course will soon be another stop in New Mexico for the tourists along with the many ancient Indian Pueblos.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun college course

5+    6/18/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: some awsome shots that are hard to get to for even some who throws 430 feets u have tio be very accurate to shoot here its a fun course with some short holes like 1 3 and 7 and 8
Cons: i played this 5 times before i found every teepad and basket but after that i loved playing here they say its a private coursefor only people who go to schoo lthere but if u have discsw in your hand they wont bother u all the cops there have seen me there before and they dont care
Other Thoughts: the green strips of string mean the teepad the pink string means the basket is there
paly arryo chamsio and ashbaugh par when your in town 2

i have aced hole 3 wit ha star wraith on 11/14/09 for my 6th hole in one

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Getting Better I Think

1    6/3/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: Odaon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We were able to play all 9 holes. A group was putting up tree flags (Green = Tee, Orange = Pin) and working on a map that players can get inside the Student Activity Building before playing. Hole 3 is a fun shot as mentioned above and I also really enjoyed 7, it's down below the Pin and you have a pretty small window to shoot straight to the basket or you can try to go over.
Cons: As stated above, no real signs accept for the welcome sign at the bottom left corner of the soccer field (furthest from the road, also where the first Tee is). We did get confused trying to find the Tees for hole 6 and 9 (The maps will help this I assume). The 2nd hole looks like a great long one but there construction going making the hole unplayable from the Tee.
Other Thoughts: I will be going back now that there will be maps and I've played it once. It's a pretty fun course. Use bright discs and watch where they land carefully lots of trees and stuff for them to hind under.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bummer

1    9/12/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, then again I always have fun disc'n. A few good holes where you have some fun drives.
Cons: Virtually impossible to navigate. We got frustrated and left halfway through. No signs. We were looking for tee-pad 5 and found hole 9 instead. very easy to get lost there.
Other Thoughts: If you are just passing through, definitely play arroyo chamisos instead.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unmaintained

1    6/21/2008   2/24/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This mountain course has promise. There is a great shot on hole 3 off a canyon overlooking a creek.
Cons: NO signs, poorly marked, no tee pads to speak of, some holes had no real flight path because of thick trees, I stopped after 5 holes.
Other Thoughts: If I ever go back to Santa Fe I will try this one again, hopefully it will be kept up, the scenery is incredible but the course is not up to snuff. If you are in the area try Arroyo Chamisos first.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.