Layout Extinct

Winona, MN 
St. Mary's College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: thor_freya Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 196ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best in Winona

1    7/16/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept, decent signs, variation of shots required, challenging terrain with water, steep hills and wooded as well as open holes. Didn't notice many bugs.
Cons: Shorter with many Mid Range/Putter drives, slightly hard to navigate without knowing holes and area, slip and slide rubber tees, signs are off slightly in comparison to playing out the hole and some erosion but being maintained with wood chips.
Other Thoughts: Nice downhill shot and friendly locals (played with us and guided through..) Best course in the area (played them all the same day) Good shoes needed!

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything...

2-4    10/17/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: Daveman3000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: So many different shots. More short holes with challenge. Than long Holes. the 500 ft. hole is harder than it looks, it down hill. tons of fun.
Cons: Signs are a off from the course. some major hills to be worrisome about. #4 watch out with the right bank. (it's steep)
Other Thoughts: Great course the college kids there are awesome! easy to find your way around and very fun... a must play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Near Perfection

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in the bluffs of Winona
Has a variety of holes in the woods and in open areas.
Most holes actually have you think about the shots before you make them.
The view from the 8th tee was marvelous!
Great elevation on this course.
The course follows a long a small creek in the woods which offers some tranquilty!
Cons: Some parts of the course can be a little confusing as to knowing where the next hole is.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Go to the website and print off a map and scorecard so you don't get lost:
http://www.smumn.edu/thewoods.aspx

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun college course

1    6/12/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 814  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a very scenic college campus, in an area that has very little interference from non-disc golf activities. There is some great elevation, with lots of small ravines and hills that come into play, and a couple holes that play up and down a large steep hill with a long bomb coming back down. There is a creek running through much of the course, and it adds some fun challenge and risk.

There is a fun mix of short technical holes through tight woods with good punishment for errant shots and some more open holes that let you air it out a little. The technical holes do a pretty good job of mixing up hole shapes and playing reasonably balanced for righties and lefties.

There are mostly level rubber pads on all holes that provide a fine tee surface. There are signs with hole layout and distance, and they seemed pretty accurate and helpful. The baskets were in good shape and caught well. The grounds were free of trash and vandalism.
Cons: The course gets a little repetitive at times, with lots of short wooded holes that all start to feel pretty similar, especially since they are all about the same lengt. The open holes mix it up a little, but don't add very much challenge, it's a pretty easy course overall.

There are some pretty long walks that aren't marked at all here, some friendly locals helped us out a few times, but if they hadn't it would have been pretty tough to find all the holes. The tees are small, and can be pretty slick, and a few are lumpy or not level. The ground is pretty compacted and gets quite muddy and slippery in the woods, especially around the stream.
Other Thoughts: This is a great campus course, with some fun and interesting holes, but not so much challenge that college students trying out the sport will be scared off. For new players the course will challenge them to make some different shots and learn how to control their discs. More experienced players won't find the course much of a test, but there are some fun holes. This one is worth a stop if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Extremely Fun!

1    8/1/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: thor_freya
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is awesome with varied terrain, and a nice blend of short technical shots and long range placement drives. In a nutshell, bring your short game expertise on the front nine, which highlights many short par 3 holes with no room for error. I had to retrieve a few discs from the creek. Almost exclusively used mid range of several of the tees. Don't let the short distance holes (some under 200ft) fool you; as the hole will be near the creek. The tee signs are very well designed and laid out, water is utilized on several holes on the front nine including one very awesome downhill drive with a great view of St. Mary's campus.

The back nine featured more short technical shots but also incorporated some tough 300-350 holes which allowed for some distance driving and placement, including some open areas with wind. Downloaded scorecard from this website included a map which was very helpful. The course included plenty of areas to sit and relax and numerous garbage receptacles and was easy to locate on the St. Mary's campus.
Cons: To be picky, the rubber tees needed to be a bit longer, especially on the back nine. I didn't mind so much on the front nine because I did a very short step on the drives, aiming for more placement than distance. The course could also use a few signs with arrows to next hole, but downloaded scorecard and map from this website provided my wife and I very little confusion.
Other Thoughts: I am giving this course a very high rating because of the varied terrain including some open areas, nice signage, water hazards, variety in length, complexity of driving and placement shots, and incorporating some distance driving. From my standpoint, the university did the best job possible in laying out the course, and has to be a true treat for the students. Speaking of students, I went there when class was out of session, and it was fairly quiet, but can imagine the course becoming busier come late August/early September when the students return.

For recreational players such as my wife and I, be ready to get a little muddy in retrieving "wet" discs so wear old shoes. However, I would not recommend this course for beginners. Despite being very tough, we had a great time and recommend it for anyone looking for a challenge. Pack plenty of fluids on a hot day because you will do some hiking. Insect repellent recommended, but didn't seem to be too much of a problem. My wife and I had a fantastic time at St. Mary's and can't wait to return. Winona has three distinctly different disc golf courses, which makes for a great day trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course!!

2-4    5/16/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: fergy4life
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well kept laid out nice....fun good elevation changes......challenging yet rewarding!!
Cons: none really......
Other Thoughts: lots of water hazards kinda cool not when ur favorite disc goes in the drink and you have to wade in up to ur chest tho lol

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simply a Great Course

2-4    6/14/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Tall__Paul
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept course, nice sign at start and score cards

Awesome wooded area to play through, many early holes play alongside a creek

The area has some good elevation changes so you get to shoot many different shots

The layout of holes was execellent the biride holes are fun and the long holes challenge your placement

Cons: The layout is a tiny bit confusing to walk the first time you play. There is a nice map when you start and although we didn't grab a scorecard believe another review said the cards had maps, grab one

The tee pads really hurt this course from being a 4.5

They are rrubber which is normally ok but they needed to be at least 2-3 feet wider and 2 feet longer.

On the longer holes where a bigger run up is needed you had to start off the pad and run onto them which made some of the longer holes harder then they needed to be
Other Thoughts: This course was a true treat to play. The start of the course Holes 1-5 vary but have danger such as a creek on the side or a steep valley, easy to lose a disc or over throw into the creek. Hole 8 is the signature hole at 500ft and on top of a big hill, was an awesome hole to throw and take a minute to enjoy the view up there its wonderful. The back half of the course is where the longer 300-350ft holes come in Holes 11-14, 16, 18 are all around 300-350ft and although more open, pad placements and pin locations challenge your longer range shot placement.

I could write so much more about each hole, but I'll simlpy say that this course is worth taking a trip to go out and play

It has a very nice variety of holes and shots and even just walking the course is enjoyable, heck there is a waterfall between hall 9 and 10. Take the time and go play this course you will enjoy it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Challenge

1    4/21/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: stiz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is extremely well kept, and is designed to be a challenge. I am always looking for a tougher course to play, and so far this one takes the cake. With water in play on several holes tight fairways on most of the holes it fulfills my need for a harder course.
Cons: If you are just an average player or just starting I would stay away from this course. You will probably loose discs right off the bat. If you don't have a consistent throw stay away from this course.
Other Thoughts: Hard but extremely fun course. This course is worth the drive to play. Remember to bring your A game though, otherwise your in for a long day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tiger's Woods?

1    7/19/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Treewacker9
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging wood holes with doglegs & elevation changes. The stream comes into play on some holes. Signs with par ,map, & yardage are a nice touch. Scorecards with map are available at the path on the first tee.
Cons: Navigation is tricky without the scorecard which has a map on it. Rubber tees were ok but can get a little slick at times. A couple of the more open holes had no mown fairways or putting zone, just a large walking path. Very easy to lose a disc in this stuff if you're not watching. Newbies will struggle at this course. Oh, and bring the DeepWoods OFF. Them skeeters are hungry!
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing at The Woods. This is the most challenging layout I've played & I've played most within a 40 mile radius from my home. Being somewhat of a novice, it tested my skills to the max. I will be going back, hopefully when I can throw a bit straighter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.