Northfield, MN 
St. Olaf College Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #18 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 445ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Beginner

1    7/25/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a college, in two different sections. The back nine plays close to a parking lot, and tennis courts, and the front nine has some basketball courts nearby; I could definitely see potential interferences at this course when school is in session.
- Front nine plays on the south end of the campus, which starts off with a pretty significant downhill bomber. The rest of the holes play amongst a variety of trees. #2 is a sharp dogleg right around a forest, and then through a tight grove of small trees. #3 also plays through this grove; the gaps are tight and low. #4 is a HUGE blind hyzer around a large gathering of pine trees, and #6 plays as a RHBH hyzer over rough or a FH flex left of some trees. These are pretty interesting holes, with some tough lines.
- Back nine plays on the north end of campus, which starts off amongst some big pine trees. The first three holes are very short, but are kinda hilly at least. #13 is a tough hole; an elevated tee through a very small gap. #18 is another cool one, a long dogleg left around the woods, that finishes with the pin on the right in front of some pines. The rest of the holes here play up and around a small ridge.
- Decent elevation changes here and there, #1 is a very cool downhill shot, #3 is pretty steep, and the holes on the ridge are uphill with sloping greens. Nothing crazy, but definitely noticeable.
- Front nine's baskets are pretty janky, there are no signs, the only things are 2x2 wood pieces marking the front of the teepad. Tough to navigate! Even with the map it took me some time to figure it out. Good luck. Back nine is better, baskets are much nicer, there are decent tee signs, much easier to navigate.
Cons: - Biggest con here is the absolutely insanely jacked up layout. The two nine hole layouts are over a 1/4 mile apart, for starters. There are multiple places with crossing fairways, teepads in mortal danger, backtracking, criss-crossing, blast zones, etc. etc. The back nine is especially bad in that regard. Navigating the front nine can be a nightmare, the only clues are destroyed wood markers and barely legible number plates on the baskets. Blech. Also, a ton of spots with safety issues for non-disc golfers as well.
- A lot of short holes here, with many around 200' or so, and with some weird lines. Plenty of holes are 'normal', and then others are seemingly from someone who has never played before. Maybe due to space concerns, but yikes.
Other Thoughts: - Well... it's a course. There are definitely some legitimate, fun and tough holes here, like #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #13, and #18, and the ridge holes aren't too bad, but the rest are very substandard. Definitely best suited to beginners, if only because of that. Still, the frustration outweighs almost all benefits. You really have to appreciate the good to enjoy this one.

 Bring a map

5+    1/10/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: laxgoalie88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 has a great first hole and is fairly challenging.
Back nine has a open spaces to practice driving.
Cons: Front 9 has no signs, wooden planks for tees, and is very confusing.
Back 9 has overlapping holes. The basket for hole 4 is missing.
Other Thoughts: If you are doing the front 9 for the first time, go with a friend or heavily study the course maps online, unless you plan on being lost. It is very fun though. I give 3 out of 5.
The back 9 can cause problems if other people are playing on the course due to the proximity of the holes. There are a couple of fun, long holes (like #3) but it is somewhat plain. I give it a 2 out of 5

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses.

1    10/11/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: lapants
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm splitting this review into two parts for the front and back nine as the are very different.

BACK NINE:
good signage that helped create well marked teepads.
baskets are in good shape.
good mix of holes, as well as use of elevation changes.
clean trimmed fairways.

FRONT NINE:
grass was well trimmed.
Hole one was fun to play
Cons: BACK NINE: Playing hole 4 a blind shot and when I got there the basket was completely gone.
Constantly had students with backpacks and people running through fairways while i was preparing to drive. (which is kind of expected)
some of the fairways played across each other which could pose a safety concern.

FRONT NINE: No signage whatsoever, constantly got lost trying to find dirt tees, even while using the course map from this page.
Basket are rusting out pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: The main killer for this course was the front nine and it's lack of signage, overall it was very average, but the front nine needs some work. i could not even find some of the teepads and the baskets are pretty rusty.

if your in the area check out the back nine, but don't go out of your way to play here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing and Showing Age

1    7/17/2010   9/15/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: The setting is nice, and the placement of trees adds to the course difficulty.

On one of the holes, a doe walked right in front of us.
Cons: We came to this course without a map, and it ended up a complete disaster. We couldn't find a parking lot close to the course, so we had a long perhaps quarter to half mile walk to hole 1.

The tee boxes are dirt, and there are no benches or trash cans. It is very hard to tell what is a tee because there are dirt patches everywhere. The baskets are old and rusted.
Other Thoughts: We didn't even know the back 9 existed, and didn't see them at all. Fairly disappointing.

  Learned on this course

5+    5/20/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: mholm815
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: This course is like home to me. Maybe that's not super helpful in a review. But I learned to golf on this course.
#1 is a fantastic length you can just let rip. Although I've seen people end up on the bball courts on the right or on the road on the left.
#2 is a sharp dog-leg to the right. I've seen some people hammer over the trees but it usually ends in hunting through the woods. RH Flick IO is my preference here.
#3 avoid the trees immediately in front of you and you're golden.
#4 you will need a spotter for this hole as it's through a thicket of evergreens.
#5 heavily wooded on the left and waist-high grass on the right, pick your poison
#6 is through some large tree trunks. i can usually manage an S-curve through to the pin but you can also kick out to the right and play on mowed grass
#7 rip a RH backhand and let it fall off to the left around a big bush
#8 i don't remember. sometimes i play from this tee to the 9th hole
#9 is a hole i never do as well on as i want. you tee off up a hill that's slanted off to the left so i usually try a RH backhand. keep it low for max distance.
Cons: the back nine sucks especially for the last 4-5 holes
Other Thoughts: Bring a hard plastic disc for the holes with lots of tree trunks (2,3,6) and a disc you can lose for holes (4&5)

  

5+    7/15/2010   7/11/2011
Review By: PPIrvine
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: -Fully dedicated course right on edge of campus. Never crowded but never empty either, good safari opportunities.
-Good mix of trees and prarie grasses throughout.
-Holes #1 and #9 feature nice elevation. #1 is a 400 ft+ basket you can actually throw for given a 100+ foot drop from the tee. One of highest elevated tees I've seen anywhere.
-Most holes require strong accuracy or involve a dog-leg to the basket. On holes #2 and #3 you will be fortunate to thread the needle through the trees.
-Hole #5 is a "narrow fairway" between thick forest and thick prairie. Disc loss / searches very possible although better players can probably nearly throw over prairie to basket.
-Very laid back and ultra quiet right on the edge of civilization. You will only see other disc golfers, mainly college students, and a few random locals.
Cons: -Nothing's marked, so be prepared for a few moments of confusion. There are a few alternate "official" versions of holes, depending on who you talk to.
-First timers may need a little back and forth to transition in and out of Hole #4. Because of tree growth, etc, over the years, the progression from hole #4 to #5 is no longer very intuitive, so be prepared. You actually walk all the way back to the #4 tee area and then continue towards Highway 19 for tee #5.
-Holes #6-#8 are super shady and can get muddy / buggy if there's been any recent rain.
-If you're playing in the evening be sure to bring bugspray. Like Raid Yard Guard. Forested areas near hole 2 and hole 6-8 are notorious.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course on and off since the late 1990's. The trees are taller and the baskets are starting to rust but the overall feel and enjoyment factor hasn't changed. Carleton has a solid 9-holes as well, put in around 2000, with overall more challenging longer holes smattered along the edge of campus. If you only have time to play one I'd go with Olaf.

 Fun if not a little confusing

1    6/3/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Bubbajoe
Played: 143  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded & open holes
Good use of elevation
Signs on the back nine
Back nine flows well
Maps available online
Cons: Dirt tees are getting rutted
The front nine's layout is a disaster
There's enough separation between the front and back nine it almost makes sense to call them two separate courses
Parking is at a premium
Long walk up hill from #9 on the front back to your car/back nine.
The pin for hole #4 on the back nine was missing while I was there
Other Thoughts: It's hard to think of these two nines as one course so I'm going to address each separately

Front nine: There's some great shots here. From hole #1's down hill bomb on to #2's dog leg right into a Plinko approach, each of the front nines holes are a blast to play. While the baskets are getting a little worse for the wear and the tee's a bit rutted the biggest problem the front nine has is layout. It's ridiculous. Even with the map it took a chance meeting with some locals to get squared away. The tees for both 3&4 are right in the middle of #2's fairway. That's annoying, but what set me off is after you finish holing out on #3 (awesome sweeping hyzer) you have to walk back around the evergreens you just played around back down #2's fairway past the tee for #3 and then tee off for #4. I wouldn't be as hung up about this if there was some obvious reason for it, but there wasn't that I could see. Just to add to the head scratching #9 ends several hundred yards away from the first available parking. It seems to me that a lot of the front nines feng shui issues could be resolved by eliminating #4 and adding a new #9 that played up the hill back towards #1. This way you're only teeing off from #2's fairway once(!).

Back Nine: The back nine is fairly new and feels so compared to the front. The fist three holes are short and technical and things open up a bit. The course plays around the embankment of an athletic field that's lined with mature trees and both are used to good effect. The drives here are much more open than the front nine and all in all it's a much easier layout. New signs coupled with a more sensible layout makes the back flow much better than the front, although some of the fairways do cross. The baskets are all new and in good shape with the exception of #4 which was missing at the time of my visit. Parking was much easier here than in the front.



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements needed

2-4    11/7/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -On a campus so it promotes the game.
-Good elevation and amount of trees.
-Hole 1 with big elevation drop
-Not too crowded
-Good and challenging layout.
-Trees are placed nicely as well as elevation.
Cons: -No tee signs on front 9
-Tees on the whole course are dirt, unlevel, and have many roots and such
-Navigation can be hard if you haven't played, especially on the front 9
-Baskets are getting old, they still serve their purpose though.
-You might have to watch out for people walking around or doing other activities, more on the back 9 but a little on both.
-No signs on the front 9
Other Thoughts: This course has a good layout but the tees and lack of signage on half of it bring the rating down. It should also probably be listed as two 9 hole courses instead of one 18. Although they are on the same campus they are at least a half mile apart.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overhaul Needed

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 322  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only able to play the original front 9. Beautiful piece of land with elevation changes and trees of all species. Potential abounding. 1st hole downhill over 425 was fun. Baskets were older but serviceable.
Cons: Grass/dirt teepads not so bad as they are level and it was dry on this date. No tee signs to indicate what hole was which. Tees 3 and 4 were next to each other which was odd. Poor flow from hole to hole on holes 4,5 and 6. No line to pin 4 thru or over beautiful evergreens.
Other Thoughts: The front nine of this course needs a redesign as this course has been in exsistence for 11 years where lines are now altered from its original design.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice afternoon of play

2-4    8/8/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: starwraith3215
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) The course had a good combination of open and technical holes.
2) Course site is very helpful with maps and diagrams of holes (go prepared)
3) Elevation changes and trees make for very interesting holes when least expected
4) Signs are posted but only on the back 9, pins on the front 9 have hole numbers (scouting required)
5) #1 front hole was a great opening hole. big 400+ foot drive downhill around 50 - 75 feet at least.
Cons: 1) Dirt tees can be very slick after a rain
2) Tees not marked on the front side
3) #4 tee box on back needs a railing removed. There is a 3 foot rail that is 15 feet in front of the tee box on a already difficult drive. Person I was plaing with went 4 for 5 hitting this rail on his drives
4) Basketball court (#1 front) and tennis court (#4 & #9 back) come into play.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun to play. Do not get discouraged if you are having trouble finding the first holes for the front and back. First tee on the front is just at the top of the hill on the left by the basketball courts. First tee on the back is all the way across campus right off the road by a parking lot. I highly suggest doing a little pregame scoutting so that you do not get lost.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.